Parade tomorow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Watching it on RTE - here in Stillorgan I could see the fly pasts out the window a few minutes before they flew past on TV

I was hoping that the Air Corps "flying-in-step" was better than the Army's marching-in-step which was a bit ropey. Don't want one of these landing on the roof thanks very much http://www.military.ie/aircorps/pilatus_pc9m.htm :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭blueshirt

pork99 wrote:
    Watching it on RTE - here in Stillorgan I could see the fly pasts out the window a few minutes before they flew past on TV

I was hoping that the Air Corps "flying-in-step" was better than the Army's marching-in-step which was a bit ropey. Don't want one of these landing on the roof thanks very much http://www.military.ie/aircorps/pilatus_pc9m.htm :)
    You were really impressed with the fly past? I thought it was a joke. Go see a proper fly past, with real Aircraft. RAF for instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

anyone watch it on tv?

thought it was pretty cool. didn't realise our army had such good equipment. excluding the air force. it's sad when the most impressive thing flying was the government lear jet (stuffed with belgian chocs i assume)...

and why in the name of jesus do RTE always manage to plant their camera's in front of parades, very close to collision (one the APC's radar things hit the camera)? it's the same thing on paddy's day too...

ChityWest wrote:
    Didnt he show up and stop the Dublin Riots ? He may return as a special guest or something.
    You mean Robocop? He only attacks harmless hippies, he wont go near drunk Celtic supporters.

Im going..

Its our duty to the men of our past to do whats right

Also a clever stunt by FF but hey we need patriotism;)
    Ever see FF in Bodenstown? What about the two idiots in the brown overcoats and hats, carrying the flag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

...(one the APC's radar things hit the camera)? it's the same thing on paddy's day too...
    That was a radio antenna/flexible pole with a little pennant on it. Didn't hurt the army kit, but it would have been gas to see a nice star crack appear on the camera lens :D

As regards the TV coverage, I wish they'd kept the studio commentary to a minimum, toned down the volume on the bands, and let us hear the MC on the reviewing stand.

I'm still undecided on my position as regards the current political motivation for the parade and the historical justification of the whole thing, but it was great to see our Defence Forces on show. They do wonderful work both at home and overseas, and some sort of regular showcase event along these lines is long overdue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

I was impressed by the whole thing, glad to see the DF getting a day out in front of the public and getting the recognition they deserve. They do an incredible job with the limited resources they get from the government.

Fair play lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

blueshirt wrote:
    You were really impressed with the fly past? I thought it was a joke. Go see a proper fly past, with real Aircraft. RAF for instance.
    Im sorry I must be confused, were those not planes that were FLYING in the sky today, does that not count as real aircraft. I suppose that you think the british army has better guns too, and that there willies are twice as long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭DaSilva

Damn I missed this, anyone know where I could see it again? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Your Man

its on rte tonight i think.

tba wrote:
    Im sorry I must be confused, were those not planes that were FLYING in the sky today, does that not count as real aircraft. I suppose that you think the british army has better guns too, and that there willies are twice as long.
    I suppose you could call them planes, but I would not like to see them up against a real fighter, like a TORNADO for instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

tba wrote:
    I suppose that you think the british army has better guns too, and that there willies are twice as long.

Bigger ones certainly as this was the largest I could find a pic of on the Irsh Army website. ;)

There does not seem to be any numbers on either site about the respective sizes of their willies though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

i thought it was brilliant. but then again i am biased!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

robinph wrote:
    Bigger ones certainly as this was the largest I could find a pic of on the Irsh Army website. ;)

There does not seem to be any numbers on either site about the respective sizes of their willies though.
    We can rest assured that we have at least Willie 'in' our Defence Forces that will strike fear into the hearts of our foes-
    http://img499.imageshack.us/img499/462/makemyday29xs.jpg

Sorry, I couldn't resist :D

Rovi wrote:
    I'm still undecided on my position as regards the current political motivation for the parade and the historical justification of the whole thing

ah sure it makes the Chinese feel at home :p

(joke!)
    Rovi wrote:
    We can rest assured that we have at least Willie 'in' our Defence Forces that will strike fear into the hearts of our foes-

lmao
    did you see him today? his tash looked like it was curling up at the ends a bit... i think that signifies "excitement"

blueshirt wrote:

Well militarily out of the countries within Europe we could probably only take on Luxembourg or Iceland and win. But that's not the point of today's parade.

Rovi wrote:

scares the living cr~p out of me anyway :D

pork99 wrote:
    Well militarily out of the countries within Europe we could probably only take on Luxembourg or Iceland and win. But that's not the point of today's parade.
    We would have a problem against Millwall supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

pork99 wrote:

Think it might be pushing it a bit to try and take on Luxembourg though. Iceland don't have any miltary though, even though they are part of Nato (!?!) , so might be a fairer match.

Although the Irish navy could probably beat Luxembourg's navy though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Lads ,we need some practise on military parades for the big one in 2016.I missed the reading of the Proclimation.Was it coherent,not a Dail mumble? The flypast was a joke.The things were so high as to be almost invisible,apart from the fishery patrol aircraft.Was expecting them down around the spike height[400/500ft?] and line abreast down O Connell St.It is ridiculious that we are still flying and went back to propellor aircraft,when even third world countries in Africa can muster up a few crappy MIGs for their country.

The commander of the army salute[old chap in the Landcruiser] to the president and assembly wasnt exactly snappy.Didnt see much "eyes left" order to the troops on march past the reviewing stand,some manual of arms drill with the sword wouldnt hurt some officers,and color parade here doesnt belive in dipping flags as a mark of respect to the VIPS and the memory of the occasion when passing the reviewing stand.RTE could lay off the commentary as well.It sounded like somthing from a tin pot dictatorship TV.[Hmm,well maybe that is appropriate to here?].
    Still the units scrubbed up well,so fair dues to them on that.WTF were the Irish rangers driving???It looked like a Ford pickup?

robinph wrote:
    Think it might be pushing it a bit to try and take on Luxembourg though. Iceland don't have any miltary though, even though they are part of Nato (!?!) , so might be a fairer match.

Although the Irish navy could probably beat Luxembourg's navy though. ;)

It's a bit beside the point to speculate on who we could beat, the Irish Defence Forces' main functions are

1. Aid to the civil power at home

2. Peacekeeping abroad

Actually going to war and doing the politically incorrect traditional military functions of killing people and breaking things is a very unlikely prospect. The DF are maybe more comparable to the French Gendarmerie or Russian Interior Ministery forces.

WTF were the Irish rangers driving???It looked like a Ford pickup?

that's exactly what they were driving. chechien rebel style

Heavily disguised as the dukes of hazard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

The rangers are an elite force and are trained in hijackings etc and do have some serious kit. The rest........well:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

blueshirt wrote:
    Heavily disguised as the dukes of hazard.

ROTFLAMO:D :D:D:D:D
    I thought it was a "personal"from Mogidishu or somthing they had captured out in Liberia.
    Sheesh!!!What next??
    Darkman.Dunno if I want to be around them.If they are trained to"hijack" things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

ROTFLAMO:D :D:D:D:D
    I thought it was a "personal"from Mogidishu or somthing they had captured out in Liberia.
    Sheesh!!!What next??
    Darkman.Dunno if I want to be around them.If they are trained to"hijack" things.

Preventitive measures..........I hope:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

tba wrote:

Well, our willie is pretty small...http://www.willieodea.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I enjoyed it :) I was impressed with the equipment, vehicles, etc., that the army had, actually. I'm sure they're not at the same level as militant countries, but none the less, it was fancy enough :p

Got some pictures, but photobucket's actin the bollix, so I'll try again tomorrow, to upload them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Hal1 wrote:
    It wont be the same without the Fuga's ahh I remember those flying when they where training at baldonell, they used to pass over the house and the fookin noise of them. :D

Ah yes, remember when the Irish Air Corps actually had jet-propelled aircraft?

Hell, the Irish Air Corps display team (The Silver Swallows) even *beat* the RAF Red Arrows in a 1998 championship using the then 30-year old Italian Foughra's.

But then the Government thought that rather than investing in new jet-aircraft, the Air Corps would be better used as a) a ministerial taxi service so that off-licences and new branches of Centra could be opened with minimal interruption to the ministerial day and b) a free flying school for Ryanair.

Today's fly-past was cringeworthy, but that's no reflection on the professionalism of the Air Corps who had to make do with the little they had.

The same was true with the Army, having to sell of barrack-property in 2004 in order to buy new armoured personnel carriers.

Shameless.

I think if we truely wanted a parade to reflect the true priorities of the current government, we should have had a parade consisting of PR consultants, the publicans lobby group and property developers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

I think if we truely wanted a parade to reflect the true priorities of the current government, we should have had a parade consisting of PR consultants, the publicans lobby group and property developers.
    See, now THAT would truly represent the legacy of 1916 in a much more realistic and pragmatic sense!