jury duty summons

• 17-02-2006 12:49PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭

I got a summons for jury duty in the post this morning, it was the last thing i was expecting. I'm a full time student and i was hoping that i could use that as an excuse, or say i have exams at the start of may and i need to attend college as a reason for not doing jury duty? Its not exactly something that i would be enthusiastic about. How do they actually select people for jury duty summons?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I think anyone without a criminal record gets called at some stage, they dont specially select people, unless its something like the Jacko trial... I think if you have a good excuse such as exams you can bow out of it but I could be wrong..

I wont be getting called :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Turn up pissed, wearing rags, mumbling about hating all races and gardai.

Just like the judges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Full time students get off.( Check the leaflet ye get with it)Was studying part time last year and working full time, got called, did it. Well I turned up for the four days, was never called. Got myself four days off work.
    Loads of people never turned up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭andrew1977

i got called last year to do jury service,didnt fancy doing it, got a letter from my boss in work saying i was unable to attend due to busy time in work and people on holidays etc i was needed to cover the workload
    it wasnt a busy time in work at all but saved me the bother of jury service .i am sure your college will help you out with a letter to excuse you ,
    other than that, a doctors note will suffice and you will be excused

could be an interesting few days but if you decided to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

I'd love to do jury duty over the summer or something. You get paid to judge people!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

You may not even get chosen. The defence gets to reject certain jurors so look like you're a hard ass, judgmental type and you'll probably get the boot anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

just read the leaflet, it looks as if full time students are indeed excused. chuck norris is on the list under Persons excusable as of right. my mother opened the letter as soon as it arrived, thinking i'd done something illegal, so i hadn't bother to read the leaflet in any great detail taking her word for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

ah students,is there anything we cant get out of doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

do you get paid for dury duty ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

I'll see that Quimby boy hanged for this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

depends on how many people they call and how big the case is, they picked 12 outta about 250 the first time i went, so i didnt even get called (names outta a hat thing)

They had to remake the jury 2 days later though and i got called up again

This time i got called (as only about 40 of the people turned up)

The problem is if you want to make an excuse they dont let you do it until you are just about to be sworn in. (Literally until you have the bible in your hand, I think its to intimidate you)
    I told them i'd just started a contract position (which i had) that was only gonna last a few weeks, so they let me off.

its a pain in the ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

get a letter from your tutors or get a letter off your doc saying you cant do it as your easily stressed or claustrophobic i know loads of people used that to get off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭gibo_ie

i would love to do it too, sooo unfair :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

You can't put it down as an excuse not to attend the panel, but if you get called up tell the judge you are a full time student and can't afford to miss classes. I saw a good few people let go because if it in the central criminal court. If it's the circuit court you might not get off so easy as the cases tend to be alot shorter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

besty wrote:
    You may not even get chosen. The defence gets to reject certain jurors so look like you're a hard ass, judgmental type and you'll probably get the boot anyway

Both the defendent and the accused get to dismiss jurors... its really hard to tell who's gonna get dismissed

so even though full time students are exempt i'll still have to turn up on the day of trial? its in wicklow so would i stand a better chance of being picked, than say if it was in dublin?

maybe i should turn up wearing a tshirt with 'you're guilty' on it to dissuade them from picking me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

wave at the accused, pretend you know them

to be honest i probably would know them:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I'm sure you'll be allowed to continue then. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭foggy

There is a form you have to fill in with the letter you got, you fill it in saying that you can't do it as you are a full time student with exams coming up. You post it back to the court and you'll get a letter excusing you. You don't have to turn up in court at all.
    I got it about two weeks ago but got excused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭impr0v

Or wear a T-shirt saying 'this juror is for sale' with your phone number underneath.

I'm not sure if you can be prosecuted for primia facia criminal contempt of court if it's not yet in session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Does anyone know if you have an immediate member of your family who's a garda can you still get called ? (I mean you'd obviously be more likely to not question any evidence given by a garda)

Nephew wrote:
    my mother opened the letter as soon as it arrived, thinking i'd done something illegal,
    Jesus, the nosey fuking bitch. She breaks the law because she thinks you did? She could be done for that if you reported it. I think in some states in the US it would be a few years in prision, dunno what you would get here.

If my mother did that I would send her a fake summons and have a mate she doesnt know serve it to her. Then tell her I would drop the charges under a few conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

you'll get out of it handy enough. Post the letter back explaining you're a full time student and you'll be except. I went for duty about 2 weeks ago. Time off work was grand but it was a bit boring to be honest. Watching people getting sent to jail is a bit of a weird experience.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

your employer or the state (not sure which) will pay you for the day so if you're bored with work you might as well do it.

BTW if you do go along and you get me I am innocent, I was seeing that labrador for ages before I took things further...

And it was a female dog before you sickos get any ideas :v:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭pcwares

full time student are exempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

hahah :D That would be a funny one.

Out of interest what happens if your dismissed? Like is it just go home & head into work the next day, or do you still get the week off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

rubadub wrote:
    BTW if you do go along and you get me I am innocent, I was seeing that labrador for ages before I took things further...

And it was a female dog before you sickos get any ideas :v:

that just reminds of the episode of Boston Legal last night on living tv, a mans wife was seeking an annulment of the marraige because her husband was in love with a cow, she said he even called her the cows name while making love to her. i missed a bit but i think it got physical between him and the cow!! was quite funny especially when he was being cross examined and said that the cow reminded him of his wife.

I wouldn't mind been called up for jury duty i'd love the paid time off work!! No matter how boring it is, I'd be kinda interested given i wanna be a solicitor eventually!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Tony Danza

Get a letter from the college saying your a full time student and post it back with the form they give you. It says what to do on the leaflet. I went for jury duty a while ago, what a load of shít, if I get a called again I'm definately getting out of it.