Last Chance Saloon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

"Fashionable" = head up their own hole

really?

is that your opinion or a stated fact in the law?

what you mean is 'i dont like fashionable people becuase i cant afford to be fashionable, so im going to be completely biased. in fact, i have my head up my own arse'.

that is what you meant wasnt it......?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭BigArnie

not insecure are we?

Hold your horses there, pal. First of all you don't know me from Adam so don't make any ill-found, churlish judgements on my character please.
    do these people intrude on your life and bother you so much that you have to deliver such a vitriolic opinion on these people?

Yeah, I spent years dealing with them when they were drunk in certain Dublin bars. I have very well founded opinions on some of the "Irish social elite" - can you say the same or are you just defending them to be a troll?
    does sitting in some 2-bit sh1t hole of a pub with people who have no suntan, have no 2 pennies to rub together and have no fashion sense at all make you feel more adequate?

I wouldn't know. Maybe you should ask someone who drinks in sh1thole pubs and doesn't have 2 pennies to rub together. :rolleyes:
    if it does then fine, but i tend to find that people who hate other people for no good reason, are usually just jealous of them.

Why would I be jealous of them? I'm in the fortunate position of being a decent earner who can afford nice things - I just don't let them define me as a person. I always treat people with respect unless they give me a reason not to. And I can tell you from vast experience, that many (but not all of course) of the aforementioned are nothing more than shallow, vapid snobs. Gavin Lambe Murphy is included in that one too. One of most disgusting, rude people I've ever had the misfortune to meet.
    and after all, if you have fashion and money to be trendy and beautiful, who wouldnt be jealous of that?

Jealousy isn't in my vernacular mate. I've never been jealous of anyone in my entire life and I can say that without any hint of doubt. If someone has something that I would like, then I'll do something to help myself achieve it. The same as any sensible person.
    of course, if you just feel that having a few scoops with your mates down the local is vastly different to having a few 'brandy and sodas' in town with your mates, then perhaps you may just need to re-evaluate they way you percieve people?

Again, you're putting words into my mouth. Silly way to get your point across. I drink in The Bailey, Café en Seine and places like that from time to time. Just because I encounter a disproportionate number of snobs in these places shouldn't call for an attack on me. It's simply what I've experienced.
    i mean, you wouldnt want to be seen to have stupid opinions formed by stupid preconceptions, would you?

Like I said, experience. Not a preconception. If you want to debate a point the least you could do is wait for the evidence and facts in my argument before making stupid comments and putting words into my mouth/making unfounded judgements about me (drinking in kips, being insecure, etc.)

A bit pathetic really.

BigArnie wrote:
    Hold your horses there, pal. First of all you don't know me from Adam so don't make any ill-found, churlish judgements on my character please..

not at all like your generalisation of 'the fashionable crowd'.....

my, you are very angry. must be all those brandy and sodas youre not drinking these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

really?

is that your opinion or a stated fact in the law?

what you mean is 'i dont like fashionable people becuase i cant afford to be fashionable, so im going to be completely biased. in fact, i have my head up my own arse'.

that is what you meant wasnt it......?

Well first of all,their mostly self appointed,i wouldn't consider them fashionable.

But if the people who brand themselves "fashionable" are what the youth of today are supposed to look up to,then we really are in a sorry state.
    Completely consumed by materialism,commercialism and the "celebrity" lifestyle,it's all about one-upmanship.
    Rude,arrogant and not a thought for their fellow man/women.

Not that i have to explain myself to you,but i can far from "not afford to be fashionable" as you put it.

not at all like your generalisation of 'the fashionable crowd'.....

As a mod I'd have thought you'd be a bit more adept at debating rather than resorting to the "you're wrong because you're generalising" argument. I see you've ignored the rest of my post. Convenient.
    my, you are very angry. must be all those brandy and sodas youre not drinking these days.

Angry? Not at all. More assumptions. Again, from a mod I would have expected a little more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I did not make a personal attack on anyone, or at least that was certainly not my intent, I believe I made an observation based on what I saw last night in Break for the Border.

I have no deep-rooted hatred of people over 35, and I hold no objection to them socializing together.

I also know women, and men over 35 who look great and live enviable lives.

However, me, personally, I do not want to be 35+ and single and frequenting these locations, so single or not I simply WONT frequent these venues.

In the same way the some of you don't indulge in the nightclub scene now, I don't intend to do it when I am older.

Also, I was not comparing the Irish Social Scene to one from a TV show, my point was, the Sex in the City girls were hailed as wonderful role models for the 30/40 something woman, however, their life styles are not so easy to imitate and the average joe soap cannot expect to live those life styles, hence the lack of glamour amongst the punters - It just isn't realistic.

I apologise if I haved caused anyone offence., it was not intentional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

Oh cop on ffs bigarnie, this thread has descended off topic into sh1t just because of petty hangups:rolleyes:

Well first of all,their mostly self appointed,i wouldn't consider them fashionable. .

i wouldnt have thought so. glossy magazines like vogue and FHM tell us whats fashionable.
    stores like brown thomas or any high end high street strore tell us whats fashionable.

fashionable is whatever is selling right now. its whats popular. if wearing certain styles or brands is popular, then its fashionable.

But if the people who brand themselves "fashionable" are what the youth of today are supposed to look up to,then we really are in a sorry state..

why? becuase its awful to be successful and hang around with other successful and 'fashionable' people?
    Completely consumed by materialism,commercialism and the "celebrity" lifestyle,it's all about one-upmanship.

i dont think we can really put a general characteristic on types of people. i wasnt aware that fashionable now means you are a celebraty.
    perhaps if you can stop changing your description of the types of people youa re talking about, or do you just not like anyone at all?
    i dont think you can say they are consummed by materialism. thats just a stupid statement to make.
    Rude,arrogant and not a thought for their fellow man/women..

well, boards.ie must be full of fashionable people so! in fact, i know hundreds of rude and arrogant people. and not all of them are in the 'fashionable' set.

unless you feel that the poorer you are, the more down to earth you are?is that how it works on your planet?
    Not that i have to explain myself to you,but i can far from "not afford to be fashionable" as you put it.

well, according to your last statement, if you have a bit of money, you are automatically in the fashionable set. so maybe you do know more about the people than i do?

Oh cop on ffs bigarnie, this thread has descended off topic into sh1t just because of petty hangups:rolleyes:

Ah stop will you. I was merely defending my character from an attack by a mod. Which I shouldn't have to do.

BigArnie wrote:
    Ah stop will you. I was merely defending my character from an attack by a mod. Which I shouldn't have to do.

ahhhh, im a mod, i must be abusing you!

help help im being oppressed!

or perhaps im just questioning your opinions that you feel that every 'fashionable person' is a coked up materalistic idiot, and you dont like that fact.

i dont think i ever said anything about your character. i may have questioned it in trying to find out why you have such an irtrational dislike towards other people, but i dont think i have called you anything.
    BigArnie wrote:
    As a mod I'd have thought you'd be a bit more adept at debating rather than resorting to the "you're wrong because you're generalising" argument. I see you've ignored the rest of my post. Convenient..

what has being a mod got to do with anything?
    does that mean that i also am not allowed to have an opinion?
    i ignored the rest of your post becuase i thought it was pure tripe. what more can i say?!
    you call it convenient, i just dont think it was worth mentioning.
    BigArnie wrote:
    Angry? Not at all. More assumptions. Again, from a mod I would have expected a little more...

you make a lot of assumptions yourself.

actually, id like to see this proof of the coked up materliastic fashionable people that you dont like.

i think you have an irrational dislike towards people of a certain ilk, and you are cant actually rationalise it because it just isnt rational. say what you want, but you have offered no proof except 'oh, i know some people, and i dodnt like them much' is hardly damning evidence that any one who drinks a brandy and soda, or shops in a certain store is a coked up materliastic idiot.

i mean what more can i say? i think your opinion is rubbish, and i think your reasons for holding are rubbish. apart from that, there isnt really anything more to say is there.

im not going to try and change your mind, why bother. if you appear to eb that sort of person that just doesnt like someone or a group of people for no good reason, then so be it.

ahhhh, im a mod, i must be abusing you!

help help im being oppressed!

Putting words in my mouth again. Very mature. Don't be too surprised if you don't collect any gold statues at this years Moderator Awards.
    or perhaps im just questioning your opinions that you feel that every 'fashionable person' is a coked up materalistic idiot, and you dont like that fact.

I made it abundantly clear in the post that you didn't want to reply to that I don't think that everyone who drinks in The Bailey, etc. are coked up idiots. But there are quite a few. I also said that I drink there myself from time to time. But you didn't feel any of that was worth replying to, did you?
    i dont think i ever said anything about your character. i may have questioned it in trying to find out why you have such an irtrational dislike towards other people, but i dont think i have called you anything.

Yes, you did question it. Alluding to insecurity, being the type of person who drinks in dingy pubs and not having 2 cents to rub together. Silly really seeing as you know relatively nothing about me.
    what has being a mod got to do with anything? does that mean that i also am not allowed to have an opinion?

An opinion is one thing - putting words into people's mouths and making attacks on their character doesn't seem befitting of someone who's meant to be moderating the boards. Or maybe that's not your job. I don't know. You tell me.
    does that mean that i also am not allowed to have an opinion?i ignored the rest of your post becuase i thought it was pure tripe. what more can i say?!

I'll just have to assume that you chose to avoid the argument.
    you call it convenient, i just dont think it was worth mentioning.

As I said - how convenient for you.
    actually, id like to see this proof of the coked up materliastic fashionable people that you dont like.

Oh please. Proof? I have anecdotal evidence. If you choose not to believe me then there's nothing I can do about that.
    i think you have an irrational dislike towards people of a certain ilk

Well you think wrong I'm afraid. I take people as I find them and have no irrational hatred of anyone of any particular ilk. It just so happens that I've had the misfortune to work in an environment surrounded by a considerable number of rude idiots with plastic D4 accents and didn't quite like them. Some of them were grand. Trying to paint me with the 'you hate them all - you're generalising' brush is just a sad and pathetic road to drag this debate down.
    say what you want, but you have offered no proof except 'oh, i know some people, and i dodnt like them much' is hardly damning evidence that any one who drinks a brandy and soda, or shops in a certain store is a coked up materliastic idiot.

Again with the proof :rolleyes: I guess I should have taken my camcorder to work with me all those years.
    i mean what more can i say? i think your opinion is rubbish, and i think your reasons for holding are rubbish. apart from that, there isnt really anything more to say is there.

Well it's not my opinion. It's simply a fact born from experience. If you don't accept it or you don't believe me, then that's fine by me.
    im not going to try and change your mind, why bother. if you appear to eb that sort of person that just doesnt like someone or a group of people for no good reason, then so be it.

You can't change my mind about disliking certain people. I would never dislike an entire group of people but, as I said, from my experience I had to deal with a lot of rudeness and nastiness from "Dublins finest" and it definitely didn't leave a good taste in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Savman
    Please define.

More fashionable people would be people who wear designer clothes, appear a lot on Dublin's 'fashionable' social circuit and in social magazine columns, ie anywhere Gavin Lambe Duffy tends to frequent, come on you must know what i mean by this?!

By fashionable,i was refering to ireland's self appointed "fashionable" people in this explanation.

i wouldnt have thought so. glossy magazines like vogue and FHM tell us whats fashionable.
    stores like brown thomas or any high end high street strore tell us whats fashionable.

fashionable is whatever is selling right now. its whats popular. if wearing certain styles or brands is popular, then its fashionable.

Agreed anyone can be fashionable in that sense,you don't need money and you don't need to shop in brown thomas,it's about style.

why? becuase its awful to be successful and hang around with other successful and 'fashionable' people?

Of couse it's not,how are these people successful though.Most of them are famous for being famous,that won't get you very far.

i dont think we can really put a general characteristic on types of people. i wasnt aware that fashionable now means you are a celebraty.
    perhaps if you can stop changing your description of the types of people youa re talking about, or do you just not like anyone at all?
    i dont think you can say they are consummed by materialism. thats just a stupid statement to make.

I didn't give the definition,i only took it from the thread.

well, boards.ie must be full of fashionable people so! in fact, i know hundreds of rude and arrogant people. and not all of them are in the 'fashionable' set.

unless you feel that the poorer you are, the more down to earth you are?is that how it works on your planet?

well, according to your last statement, if you have a bit of money, you are automatically in the fashionable set. so maybe you do know more about the people than i do?

It's got nothing to do with money,it's a mindset.Although you probably have to have a bit of money to be in.

You mean pretentious, materialistic cokeheads who are so incredibly shallow that they need to be sunbed-tanned and wearing two grands worth of Prada from Alias Toms before they can feel adequate? Yeah, they're a great laugh.

vs
    Some of them were grand. Trying to paint me with the 'you hate them all - you're generalising' brush is just a sad and pathetic road to drag this debate down.

and
    I made it abundantly clear in the post that you didn't want to reply to that I don't think that everyone who drinks in The Bailey, etc. are coked up idiots.

I'm not surprised you're confused. Maybe in the first quote if you can tell me who you think I'm labelling then it might become clearer. Did I mention any specific groupings of people? No, didn't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

*yawn*

Savman wrote:
    *yawn*

You said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

I did not make a personal attack on anyone, or at least that was certainly not my intent, I believe I made an observation based on what I saw last night in Break for the Border.

I have no deep-rooted hatred of people over 35, and I hold no objection to them socializing together.

I also know women, and men over 35 who look great and live enviable lives.

However, me, personally, I do not want to be 35+ and single and frequenting these locations, so single or not I simply WONT frequent these venues.

In the same way the some of you don't indulge in the nightclub scene now, I don't intend to do it when I am older.

Also, I was not comparing the Irish Social Scene to one from a TV show, my point was, the Sex in the City girls were hailed as wonderful role models for the 30/40 something woman, however, their life styles are not so easy to imitate and the average joe soap cannot expect to live those life styles, hence the lack of glamour amongst the punters - It just isn't realistic.

I apologise if I haved caused anyone offence., it was not intentional.
    you say the sex in the city girls are hailed as wonderfu role models for the 30/40 something woman but i dont think people meant they were good role models because they wore certain clothes or went to certain places rather it was for their independence and attitudes to life,the clothes and the restaurants are irrelevant and if anything people become less materialistic in their 40's as they realise that what you wear or where you go doesnt define who you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,192 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I don't see the point of this whole argument..there are several different types of social circles, which of course will consist of certain stereotypes, it dosen't mean they're true, and of course there's a mix of every different type of individual in every type of social circle..stereotypes are the perceptions of "outsiders" to these groups...which makes them the least qualified people to comment on how they behave...like i said, every group has mixed personalitys...you can't tar any groups with the same brush. You can just know where to find them!!

*Goths who dress in black, are brooding and drink in Eamon Dorans or down staris in bruxells...

*Culchies (:D) who work as either a nurse or a guard, and drink in flannery's...

*Knackers and slappers...who wear ben sherman shirts, jeans and runners, and the woman wear belts for a skirt and have hoop earings...they drink in Club M ...

*Tourists, usually a british hen night or a american family...they drink in gogerty's or the temple bar...

*Shapers...they wear expensive label clothing, usually went to private school and are posh..they drink in the bailey, the odeon, 92, annabells...

*The gays! Usually camp and can be heard commenting on everyones cloths in the taxi rank, and laughing like a woman (or a man if it's a butch misses :p)...they drink in the george.

*The arty farty Beatnicks...Usually wearing eco-warioresq clothing and smoking herbal (yeah herbal) rollies and can be found drinking in temple bar...usually sitting beside their mate who's busking in the square. Get a job hippie!

*The student...usually poor and drink in all places displaying the sign "Buy 1 fat frog, get one free...shots from €2" ...they drink in D2, the pav, or can be a combination of some above categories.

That's all stereotypes...but 99% of it is bull****. Plus it was kind of fun to think about :p

exacccctly. sure evryone knows well *almost* everyone, that you could get a knacker and a culchie, whos really a fashion boy deep down, while also a student propping up the bar in the pav, the george, the temple bar lillies bftb, coppers wherever.

Of couse it's not,how are these people successful though.Most of them are famous for being famous,that won't get you very far.

in that case, youre probably talking about 3 people...

there are no IT people in ireland dahlink! being famous for simple being famous just isnt doable in ireland. for a start, there arent too many other famous people that will want to hang out with you!
    BigArnie wrote:

blah blah blah, you disected my arguement so i dont like you anymore blah blah blah.

whatever.

although its humourous for you to turn around and then say that some of them were grand. 3 posts ago, they were all coked up twats.

as for the mod arguement, sad. come on, its been done before. think of a new one. if thats all you have to argue your opinion, then shame on you.

at least make it interesting for me.

from what i can see, you are a person that just makes broad accessments of people from limited contact. thats fine.

just dont come here and broadcast your experiences and opinion as fact. becuase its just not.

not everyone in the 'fashionable set' are on coke. but you have said that they are all doing it. i mean, even at that point, youd lost any arguement. but it was enjoyable seeing you defend your bigoted opinion.
    maybe we can have a pint in cafe en seine some day. although, i suppose, i'll have to pay, and leave my friends at home....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

eh.. am I the only one who got it?
    sillysausage, if I'm wrong, please correct me, but....
    it's not dissing 30+ people for going out drinking, or enjoying themsleves, it's the hunt. They are just so obvious about it that they are looking to pull, which is fair enough if they want to pull, but it's the way they go about it. Not being able to relax for 10minutes with friends because they are too busy looking around with hawk eyes trying to find their next victim. They try to dress seductively to make themselves more appealing and maybe find a guy, but all they are doing is finding the wrong kind of guy. This means they are getting older and still single, which increases the desperation, lowers the top, shortens the skirt and increases the amount of make-up on.

Noone should be dissing sillysausage for noting it, because to be honest, in the pub I was in in Cork, although my friend was saying it out loud, I had already though it myself, all you could see was girls eyeing eachother up and down with evil looks because they were competition and when they weren't looking at each other, they were falling over themselves to get the attention of guys.

I hope to be honest that I'm not in the same boat either, I hope that I will find a nice guy, of course, but if I am single at 30+, I hope that I won't think that wearing clothes that I wore at 16 will help me find a guy...

eh.. am I the only one who got it?..

no. but apparently its not ok to want something better. otherwise you become fashionable or something....
    it's not dissing 30+ people for going out drinking, or enjoying themsleves, it's the hunt. They are just so obvious about it that they are looking to pull, which is fair enough if they want to pull, but it's the way they go about it. Not being able to relax for 10minutes with friends because they are too busy looking around with hawk eyes trying to find their next victim. They try to dress seductively to make themselves more appealing and maybe find a guy, but all they are doing is finding the wrong kind of guy. This means they are getting older and still single, which increases the desperation, lowers the top, shortens the skirt and increases the amount of make-up on...

yes, but as long as its not the fashionable set, then thats ok. i mean, thats whats being said here. because apparently they would all be beautiful, but unfortauntely theyd be wearing prada and high on coke...

it says so right here on these pages...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

no. but apparently its not ok to want something better. otherwise you become fashionable or something....

yes, but as long as its not the fashionable set, then thats ok. i mean, thats whats being said here. because apparently they would all be beautiful, but unfortauntely theyd be wearing prada and high on coke...

it says so right here on these pages...
    Apologies, I generalised...
    I've seen ladies/women/girls also, perfectly fashionably dressed, whatever that is, also acting like total desperado's... it's almost embarrassing to see it, although, it's not as noticable if they aren't wearing tops that show their cleavage and little skirts or trousers that are too tight, maybe it is harsh to say because they are not well dressed that they come across that way, but they are more obvious.

in that case, youre probably talking about 3 people...

there are no IT people in ireland dahlink! being famous for simple being famous just isnt doable in ireland. for a start, there arent too many other famous people that will want to hang out with you!

whatever.

although its humourous for you to turn around and then say that some of them were grand. 3 posts ago, they were all coked up twats.

as for the mod arguement, sad. come on, its been done before. think of a new one. if thats all you have to argue your opinion, then shame on you.

at least make it interesting for me.

from what i can see, you are a person that just makes broad accessments of people from limited contact. thats fine.

just dont come here and broadcast your experiences and opinion as fact. becuase its just not.

not everyone in the 'fashionable set' are on coke. but you have said that they are all doing it. i mean, even at that point, youd lost any arguement. but it was enjoyable seeing you defend your bigoted opinion.
    maybe we can have a pint in cafe en seine some day. although, i suppose, i'll have to pay, and leave my friends at home....

You're clutching at straws now. It's getting boring. Let's leave it at that.

youre the one that wont argue, instead using the time honoured 'youre a mod and therefore cant debate my opinion' arguement.

but i have no problem holding your opinion like i said, even if i do think its based on irrational reasonings :)

although, i suppose i best go and find me a dealer now and get some coke, just to fit your stereotype.....
    come to think of it, im going to have to get me some prada, i dont own a single thing from them, and i also need to start drinking brandy and soda.
    so much for your generalisation....

youre the one that wont argue, instead using the time honoured 'youre a mod and therefore cant debate my opinion' arguement.

You admittedly chose not to reply to my thread claiming that 'it was a load of rubbish' therefore refused to participate in the argument and instead sling mud. It's over. You lose. Let's just leave it now, shall we ;)

BigArnie wrote:
    You admittedly chose not to reply to my thread claiming that 'it was a load of rubbish' therefore refused to participate in the argument and instead sling mud. It's over. You lose. Let's just leave it now, shall we ;)

well, since i havent actually been arguing with you, merely questioning your reason for your opinion, i find it hard to believe ive 'lost' an argument i was never having.
    but if it makes you feel good about yourself, you go for it!

although, i think we both know that your generalisation of a group of people is actually wrong. but like you said, sure we'll leave it there while im winning eh ;)

I thought the troll was sleeping:D Seriously every time someone attempts to get back to the topic this voice starts again

Dizzyblabla I think people get that point, unfortunately if you want to get away from that desperate fisher kind of niteclub you dont have many options. God forbid you go somewhere fashionable because you might fall into a coke pit... according to some

Apologies, I generalised...
    I've seen ladies/women/girls also, perfectly fashionably dressed, whatever that is, also acting like total desperado's... it's almost embarrassing to see it, although, it's not as noticable if they aren't wearing tops that show their cleavage and little skirts or trousers that are too tight, maybe it is harsh to say because they are not well dressed that they come across that way, but they are more obvious.

oh to be honest, i wouldnt notice. im blind as a bat with regards things like that. i tend to spend far too much time either chatting with my friends or olooking at breasts and getting drunk to notice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭mad m

Look Sachs will re-open soon and the droves of 35-40's will be relocating/dislocating their hips to the tune of "kung fu fighting" back down there. Now where did I leave my jag keys so I can throw on the bar,so the laydees will flock and oogle me!!!:)