Can GAME do this?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Last month I bought a PS2 game in GAME, played it twice, didn't like it, chanced my arm to see I could change it last week (with receipt) and I got an exchange no bother.

In the store (Dawson Street) there were at least three signs on the counter explaining their refund policy after Christmas which was mentioned earlier in the thread and from what I remember it never exempted PC games from this exchange policy.

IMO this is bad form on GAME's part, shows a lack of common sense and shows that they are not consistent with their policies. Don't give up on it OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Hobbes wrote:
    On the other hand Game have on occasion put boxes out that have the CD key visible. Can't remember if it was HL2 or WOW (mentioned it in a post before).

that's right. this is why publishers now put the cd keys in the booklet (though i've seen in xtravision that they take the cd out of the box but not the booklet - they don't have a clue about how PC games operate)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

The main problem with GAME is that they shockingly take all shrink wrap off the games that they sell. If they could implement a better security system, then they would be in their right to refuse returned goods that are opened (and possibly used) as well as leaving the lovely wrapping to the buyer (I doubt I'm the only one who loves unsealing new games.)

Hate buying games there to have the disc pulled out of a drawer and thrown into the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The branch of GAME where I work has started putting security tags on the empty boxes of PC games with CD keys inside the box which keep the boxes closed...

Dunnes and tesco , who ironically on sell a few dvds, seem to have th ebest idea with their big sealed boxes that keep the whole package inside because you cant get near it. It also means that the dvd is in an as new and sealed state when you get it.

Unfortunately they take up a lot of space and are probably unworable for the likes of virgin. Maybe they should look into a system of only having one display box and the stock locked away under the racks. They could have a coupl eof people just working the floor that get you a brand new seale done from under the rack.

It's just unfortunate that there are so many filthy thieving scumbags to warrant the use of all this security and takeing stuff out of boxes.

On another note does anyone remember when dvds first came out andf you had to sign a sheet in xtravision to say you were getting an unscratched disc.?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Undercoverguy

BrynW wrote:
    Listen mate, get your facts straight. I worked in a music shop for nearly 3 years so i know what the people in the shop have to put up with. There is NOTHING in the law stating it is illegal to not give a refund, the only way that rule applies is if the good/product is faulty.

TWAT... Go back to Golden Discs and let the grown-ups talk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

4Xcut wrote:
    of course you can use it on another computer. possibly not online play but to say that you can never install on another machine is incorrect. what if you upgrade computer. also the cd-ROM and DVDROM are read only so how could it record that the cd key had been used.

of course you can put it in another computer, but with hl2 for example, you have to log onto the internet to activate it before it works. if someone else has bought the game, registered it in their name then returned it, it wouldn't work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Hobbes wrote:
    On the other hand Game have on occasion put boxes out that have the CD key visible. Can't remember if it was HL2 or WOW (mentioned it in a post before).

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

The main problem with GAME is that they shockingly take all shrink wrap off the games that they sell. If they could implement a better security system, then they would be in their right to refuse returned goods that are opened (and possibly used) as well as leaving the lovely wrapping to the buyer (I doubt I'm the only one who loves unsealing new games.)

Hate buying games there to have the disc pulled out of a drawer and thrown into the box.

i love unsealing games too. it's like christmas. the tention mounts as you can't get the damn stuff off.

anyway, don't go to xtravision if you dislike discs being taken out of a drawer. they treat games like this

conversation with me & district manager:
    him (dumping discs on floor before putting them in slips to be put on shelf in back: "ah sure it'll be grand"
    me: no, they'll scratch. they're just discs
    him: they're versitile
    me: you're lobbing them on the ground!
    him: there's a customer out there

end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i think all the stores should do some sort of system where when you want a game, instead of just picking up the box your going to get the game in, instead have blank boxes with a picture of the game and a ref code aswell, so that then the staff member just gets the sealed box from behind the counter, so that they then have some case, that the box has been opened.
    And it also assures that when a game is returned, its unopened and hence the product key is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

*raises an eyebrow*

Cop on before you get yourself banned mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

usually around xmas people are more lenient. If its in the plastic wrapper - fair enough they shoul dtake it back but if the plastic wrapper has been removed you gotta see their point how do they know you havent played it for 2 weeks and got bored or that you havent copied it? I used to buy CDs, copy them and then exchange them 2 days later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭bullrunner

You are in absolutely no way entitled to a refund because you changed your mind or got two of something. Any returns policy operated by a shop in regard to these returns is purely a gesture of goodwill, however if the goods are faulty within the first twelve months you are entitled to a refund as the goods are technically no longer fit for the purpose for which they were sold.
    WRONG!

If you got two of something then one is clearly unsuitable ...and hence you are entitled to a refund (with receipt)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Tony Danza

Think that guy was right, I could be wrong, but I always thought that if there was something the shop did wrong (like sell a damaged game or whatever), then you are entitled to a refund, in the op's case, it wasn't the shops fault, so they don't have to give a refund, but usually I would have thought the shop would give a refund/credit note, just as goodwill gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Thanks for the back up guys. I have a funny feeling this guy might now who i am tho........seeing as i never mentioned which shop i worked in but yet he knew :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

They were always allowed to refuse exchange on products if there is nothing wrong with them. It in the "Sales of Goods and Supply of Services act 1980" As long as the product is fit for its purpose and of reasonable quality etc then they do not have to accept the return but they normally do to keep up a good relationship with their customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

bullrunner wrote:
    WRONG!

If you got two of something then one is clearly unsuitable ...and hence you are entitled to a refund (with receipt)

No, you are wrong. It's not the shop's fault you were bought two of the present. It would be nice of them to give you a refund, but you're not entitled to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I once had a guy bring me back gran turismo 4 because it was faulty. all good. took a look at the receipt... it was FOUR MONTHS old. he didn't even deny that, he still wanted his money back! clearly a case of someone having cleared the game and chancing his arm...
    But legally he can get a cash refund!, I have brought back cds I misplaced to HMV after 2 YEARS and got a cash refund. there was not a mark on the cd, had the receipt, my excuse? it doesnt work in my PC (very believable these days of copy protection), the guy played it in the store player, worked fine, he says "it works fine", I go "great, can I bring home the player?", got my cash back...
    grasshopa wrote:
    If there is a fault with the goods it is the shop owners perogative to either have it repaired or to give you a refund. Any refunds where the goods are not faulty are based on good will.
    NO, it is the consumers perogative whether it is repaired/replaced/refunded. They can always demand a full cash (or credit card) refund on goods that were bought faulty, they do not have to accept a replacement/repair/credit note.

Argos also exclude certain items from the 16 day return like digital cameras and games. I have successfully got cash refund on these items too, just said the camera didnt connect to my pc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,408 ✭✭✭Ardent

I had a problem with GAME a little over a year ago where I went to return an X-Box that was an unwanted present. It was never opened or taken out of the box and I had a receipt on the back of which stated I could return items within 10 days if not happy with them.

They wouldn't take it back claiming they had a no return policy on consoles? I was very close to bringing them to small claims court before someone on boards.ie bought it off me for almost what it cost me.

They a shower of bastids and don't want to take anything back. Simple as. Never buy there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Ardent wrote:
    I had a problem with GAME a little over a year ago where I went to return an X-Box that was an unwanted present. It was never opened or taken out of the box and I had a receipt on the back of which stated I could return items within 10 days if not happy with them.

They wouldn't take it back claiming they had a no return policy on consoles? I was very close to bringing them to small claims court before someone on boards.ie bought it off me for almost what it cost me.

They a shower of bastids and don't want to take anything back. Simple as. Never buy there.
    should have said it didnt work, or break it yourself (take the fuse out of the plug) then they HAVE to give a full cash refund. you can still do this, if it is not used. I am not sure if there is a time limit on returns. my excuse for HMV was that I work 7 days a week and cannot get to them so there was a 2 year delay in returning the cd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

jesus lol ]tbh.