Unce Unce Unce Unce Un-un-un-un-Unce!

• 25-11-2005 12:26PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭

What is it with techno/hardcore/garage or whatever you want to call that drivel that makes the reebok-wearing Peugeot 206-driving fraternity love it so? Is it that its viewed as being "mad"? Personally I wouldn't listen to that sh1te even if I was e-d out of my bin, but what I can't fathom is listening to it first thing in the morning on a sunday for instance.

Does anyone else understand it?

"Dance" Muzak.. what gives? 44 votes

Its bleedin rapid! unce unce unce unce un-un-un-un-unce
    0% 0 votes
    I like it when chewing my jaw of in the worst depravities of an extasy binge
    59% 26 votes
    I am a techno anorak and own every seminal 80s detroit white label
    22% 10 votes
    Turn that fcuking sh1te off PLEASE
    18% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

Nice to see an unbiased poll once in a while

Am i a great person?

A)yes
    B)most definitely
    C)absolutely
    D)pure legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Bit harsh there maggie, are you having a bad morning?
    anything uncle medi can do for you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

TimAy wrote:

Am i a great person?

A)yes
    B)most definitely
    C)absolutely
    D)pure legend

Im going to spoil my vote for that particular poll... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

I like to listen to Dance music when I'm dancing...

I'm strange like that...

but i hate crap dance music... its crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

magpie wrote:
    What is it with techno/hardcore/garage or whatever you want to call that drivel that makes the reebok-wearing Peugeot 206-driving fraternity love it so? Is it that its viewed as being "mad"? Personally I wouldn't listen to that sh1te even if I was e-d out of my bin, but what I can't fathom is listening to it first thing in the morning on a sunday for instance.

I'm none of the above, but I do quite enjoy it, I also enjoy classical music, rock, pop, nu-metal and many other musical forms. (pretty much anything but indie ;))

For me I find it energizing, love to dance and I enjoy the beat. I don't listen to it at home very often, although I did in my teen's, but out in a club / driving I do like to hear a fast beat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Nice to see an unbiased poll once in a while

Am i a great person?

A)yes
    B)most definitely
    C)absolutely
    D)pure legend

A definite "D"
    Bit harsh there maggie, are you having a bad morning?
    anything uncle medi can do for you?

Can you ban the sale of Hi-Fi equipment capable of generating earth-rumbling bass frequencies to people who think having a record collection involves owning all the Judge Jules compilations?
    pretty much anything but indie

Then your opinions are worthless ;)
    I like to listen to Dance music when I'm dancing

Me too, preferably a nice Minuet or Viennese Waltz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

Of course dance music is a load of s***e, but it's still fun to prance around to when one is drunk or e-d out of one's wee mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

Wot is your problem with Pug 206's?????

Do you label everyone who owns a Pug 206 to be a reebok wearing muppett????

I own a 206 and i do listen to some Dance music, as it happens i enjoy most types of music not just dance........so am i a " reebok wearing muppett"???????

i think not..as i for a start i don't wear that crap plus i don't wear a cap at at 75 degree angle

Nope, but practically every Reebok-Wearing Baseball Cap-balancer drives a Peugeot 206.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The vast majority of techno sucks. I hate when clubs play it. Gives me a headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I use the beat to visualise beating the dj/culprit to death with a bat.
    Smack, smack, smack, sm-sm-sm-smack,smack..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭Slaanesh

Gkelly2002 wrote:
    Wot is your problem with Pug 206's?????

I own a 206 and i do listen to some Dance music, as it happens i enjoy most types of music not just dance........so am i a " reebok wearing muppett"???????

i think not..as i for a start i don't wear that crap plus i don't wear a cap at at 75 degree angle

Ah you do though, come on, admit it ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

magpie wrote:
    Nope, but practically every Reebok-Wearing Baseball Cap-balancer drives a Peugeot 206.

You're forgetting the Celtic jersey and Addidas wearing Toyota drivers...
    And before anyone takes offence, I'm not giving out about either Celtic, Addidas or Toyotas, it's only when they're all combined and driving around town playing techno music at full volume with all their windows open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

What about Honda Civics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

I use the beat to visualise beating the dj/culprit to death with a bat.
    Smack, smack, smack, sm-sm-sm-smack,smack..

lol, this should be post of the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭garthv

magpie wrote:

You really need to get out more
    Dance music isnt all pill heads and peugeot 206's
    Listen to some Dj Shadow or Pete Tong's Essential Mixes and then come back to me fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

what a moron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Blisterman wrote:
    The vast majority of techno sucks. I hate when clubs play it. Gives me a headache.
    your in a club, you're there to rave it out, what do you expect them to play?

what i hate is clubs playing RnB, its so unbelievalbly ****. and alot of clubs play it all the feckin time, just to fecilitate all the girls in the place who get up and do their little handbag dance in groups, cursing men and attempting to dispaly their sexy sophistication and independence.

also when they play music such as 50 cent - a club full of white guys doing cringe-worthy gangster hand signals while the white girls do their best (read embarrassingly awful) 'bitches n' hoes' dance routine.

If i'm in a club i want a pounding beat, a great build up and well worked break down. I'm in the club in order to rave and have a laugh and for this, a bit of unce unce unce is perfect. of course there is bollox dance music, just like in every genre but even this has its place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

its only possible to enjoy that music if your off your trolley on pills. thats why its lost on the rest of us who aresnt seeing stars and chewing our gums off

Listen to some Dj Shadow

I've been listening to DJ Shadow since you were (I suspect) in short pants - Endtroducing came out in 1996. You'll find however that this is Hip Hop, an altogether different beast.
    Pete Tong's Essential Mixes

No thanks
    come back to me fool

How very BA Baracas of you

To clarify, I've no problem with dance music in clubs - that's what its for. I do have a beef with people listening to it all the time, blaring it out of cars or shuddering the house walls with it at 11 O'Clock on a sunday morning. The difference is I'm not subjected to it once its in a club, as I know not to attend venues called things like "Spirit" "Klub:Edukate" "Desert Storm" etc etc etc

ok, i do believe that the people who play it in their zooped up 'Punto S' at high volumes are mainly doing it to be heard. their cars are crap so they have to let you know how mad out of it and 'ard they are by blarring out the chewnzzzzz!

and also, i can rave it out to dance music pills or no pills

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

GaRtH_V wrote:
    Listen to some Dj Shadow or Pete Tong's Essential Mixes and then come back to me fool.

DJ Shadow is deep house. Thats not dance music. Its f*cking sh!te.

Pete tongs essential mixes??...im assuming you amassed your impressive knowledge of "real music" from the Golden Discs album of the week poster...

Come back to me when you come up with a real arguement...instead of flaming someone and mentioning some names. f*cking n00b.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

On a lighter note. yes most of the music they play is absolutely sh!te. most of them listen to happy hardcore or trance (the music with women singing badly). its f*cking terrible.

they have to let you know how mad out of it and 'ard they are by blarring out the chewnzzzzz!

Exactly

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

dj shadow and stuff is acceptable.
    choons are just awful. They hurt me so.
    Unless it's the motal kombat theme :v:

mortal combat theme rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Where's the "Atari Jaguar" option?

Seriously though - I don't like most of that (bleedin') dance (shyte) that's on the radio, but there is some good music out there that probably goes under the heading of "Dance", such as Atari Teenage Riot. Even some of the Prodigy's stuff is good.

[EDIT]As Tar. says, proper dance music can be good, choons are awful[/EDIT]

Just nipped out for coffee and crossing the street saw a Peugeot 206 with 4 guys in baseball caps blaring out a delightful chewn which along with the usual unce-ry had someone shouting "This is the good sh1t right here...this sh1t is the most hard etc etc etc". I'm sure someone from the dance forum could identify this work of genius for me. Suffice to say there was much nodding of heads/passing of spliff/revving the 1.1 litre engine going on.

Slaanesh wrote:
    Ah you do though, come on, admit it ! :)

LOL:D , no i don't
    magpie wrote:

i would have to disagree with you, there are a few Reebok-wearing drivers but they also drive other car's
    its like anything in life there is always one to ruin it for everyone.......ha ha
    .........sorry if i am turning out to be a moan, its just that i take pride in my car and will defend it to the end.........lol:p

magpie wrote:
    Just nipped out for coffee and crossing the street saw a Peugeot 206 with 4 guys in baseball caps blaring out a delightful chewn which along with the usual unce-ry had someone shouting "This is the good sh1t right here...this sh1t is the most hard etc etc etc". I'm sure someone from the dance forum could identify this work of genius for me. Suffice to say there was much nodding of heads/passing of spliff/revving the 1.1 litre engine going on.

LOL :D:D that just sounds so funny

what the real issue here magpie? it seems a little unlikely you'd get your knickers in a twist at something as unimportant as a few lads playing loud music in their cars/