Worst Job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

does collecting turf in a bog when younger count. The back would be sore for days after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Fluffer on a bestiality pr0n film :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

wexhun wrote:
    picking stones out of fields!
    I have done that many many times when I was younger. I got my first summer job when I was 12 working on a large farm. I was making the princely wage of 1 pound an hour and I did all sorts of manual labour. I actually enjoyed picking stones on the corn and wheat fields. Back in those days (18 years ago) there was no such thing as protection for underage workers. I would often work 60hours a week in the summer and I never got one days holiday. The thing is I loved every minute of it, even when I was up to my neck in muck picking carrots because it was too wet to get the machinery in the field.

The job I hated was years later when I worked in a meat factory. No windows, boring as hell, it was soul destroying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

Paperboy... summer 2000. Had to be in at 7am six days a week (including Saturday) and got paid a measly 20 pounds a week. I quit after two weeks or so anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Alana wrote:
    Then I worked in the bakery, ants EVERYWHERE...very hygienic
    Actually ants are fussy, the much prefer to occupy clean places than dirty places.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

lol im in one 3 years now, 3 long, tedious, annoying, years. somebody kill me now!

worst job i ever had was working in a kitchen, didnt mind the work, it was the going down to the fishmongers, getting 2 buckets of live lobster, bringing them back to the restaurant and having to cook them alive. you used to be able to hear them screaming in the pot but then i realised it was their skeletons cracking from the heat

Yet you love it so much you left and then came back ;)
    poor lobster's :(

I worked in a Centra store once since I was stuck for money, boss was a wanker and in the end I basically told em to f*ck off and stop treating their staff like ****e.
    Good feeling overall :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

We had to clean toilets with no gloves, and clean right inside, using the same cloth we used for the sink etc. We found some really disgusting things in the bathroom bins like condoms stuck to the bottom and had to pick them out without gloves.

Yeah I don't know but that would have made me quit straight away.
    OLDYELLAR wrote:
    Makes me realise how lucky I am now.
    Putting 8000 dices into 8000 games of monoploy daily really didnt motivate me.

Hmm I wounder where you worked :v:
    *cough* Hasbro *cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭soph

faceman wrote:
    I worked in a adult theatre in brussells. I didnt have half a degrading job as the "jizz moppers" did. They go into the boothes every hour or so when there are no punters in them.

that is ACTUALLY worse than my old job ! you win in my books! FAIR PLAY... yeuuuckkkk. magine the smelll. .euuuww

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

faceman im speechless after reading that - yuck!!!! I worked in a butchers and constantly stank of blood. At 15 I worked in a shop and was left in charge of opening up, deli, working the tils, stock ordering and taking, newspapers - basically everything!! Worst of all they made me work on the night of my leaving cert results

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I did this thing one summer where you go round with a big heavy sports bag full of cheap merchandise and try and flog it in industrial estates, pubs basically anywhere they would let you past the front door... It was a complete scam, the ad said "Opertunity to Earn €200 a day" which looked great but unfortunately nobody would buy the bloody stuff so I made about €8 for probably the hardest days work Iv ever done :confused: My legs were hanging off by the end of it.. Not nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭masteroftherealm

^^ProSales^^
    Th evilest people on the planet!!

working for eircom selling talktime enough said!!!!!!:(

galwaydude wrote:
    try working for a certain call center company in swords
    which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

The guy who stands between the escalators at the top in a shopping centre looking down making sure people aren't messing on it!!! Now thats gotta be soul destroying!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

How can you fcukers quit jobs after 3 days and just walk into a new one? Its no wonder nowhere wants to employ an Irishman unless they have to, you lazy fcukers have been poisoning our reputation for years.

Ive served my tour of duty in McDonalds AND I work in a call centre. Call centre is a bit boring at times but the pay is animal. I actually do feel sorry for our customers, the company isnt the best ran, and our abillity to help them over the phone can often be hampered by the fcuking search function on the computer database not working properly. Dont think Id use the company tbh. Just wondering but do any other CC operators like it when an Irish person calls? Most of our customers are English/Scottish, but about 3% of calls are Irish, and the Irish generally like to have a bit of a laugh and a joke on the phone.

Its all good until you lose the run of yourself 2 mis into the convo and start talking to some lad from the northside like a mate because thats the way hes talking to you, and the supervisor overhears you saying "yeah no problem bud" or something like it :D

Then occasionally you get caught with a caller who tells you her life story and you cant manage to change the topic to anything relevant, its like a 12 hour episode of Gerry Ryans show.

Mackers is tiresome, hard enough work for sh1t pay and little managerial respect, but the craic you have there is mad.

BTW Im not naming names, I dont want to lose my cc job, it pays too well (as well as confirming to me that 3rd level is a pile of bollix, most of my work crowd have degrees etc and theyre on my wage level)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Tha Gopher wrote:
    How can you fcukers quit jobs after 3 days and just walk into a new one? Its no wonder nowhere wants to employ an Irishman unless they have to, you lazy fcukers have been poisoning our reputation for years.

(as well as confirming to me that 3rd level is a pile of bollix, most of my work crowd have degrees etc and theyre on my wage level)
    I went to college for 5 years, I have 2 HND'S and a degree, they weren't handed to me, I worked for them, and you can be damn sure I am not gonna waste my time in a job I don't like, why should I?
    So that I don't make irish workers look bad? What? Surely the only person I need to worry about looking bad is myself?????

Oh, and I can't speak for other 3rd level graduates, but I know I am paid considerably more (5k more) then those without a degree. Don't know if thats the case everywhere, but it is here.

Another bad one was my last job actually... Working in a finance company in the Revenue department.. In a prefab in the middle of a building with no natural light, no air conditioning, no internet, no email, no MS applications whatsover, just a set application for data entry, no mobile phones,.. We werent even allowed have a pen in the room for security reasons.. All our PC's where protected by finger print ID.. It was like working for the CIA only not as interesting.. Suicidal stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Place the DVD in the box, repeat.

It sucked, but paid the bills when I was in Oz.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I worked for a plumber and he had a big job on the refit of the UCI cinemas in Tallaght.

He disconnected the urinals, I thought to replace them. But instead it was for me to wash the connecting pipes that came out of the urinal.

Some of the piss settles there or what ever and leaves a residue. These toliets had about 5 years of residue build up. It was disgusting! The smell alone made me wretch. This went on for a couple of nights. I dunno how I didnt get sick (prob cause I couldnt eat anything after the first time!).

And all of this was part of my work experience for 4th year. The only saving grace was I got paid £200 pw (for about 6 weeks!) for it which was about £190 more than every one else got!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭annR

I cleaned toilets for a while in Germany. Anything involving other peoples bodies etc is tough . . . ..I think the toughest job ever would have to be emergency services who have to clean up after car accidents etc. And the one about the incontinent old lady . . .nursing etc must be hard sometimes.

annR wrote:
    I cleaned toilets for a while in Germany. Anything involving other peoples bodies etc is tough . . . ..I think the toughest job ever would have to be emergency services who have to clean up after car accidents etc. And the one about the incontinent old lady . . .nursing etc must be hard sometimes.

Yes Id say that must be one of the hardest jobs on the planet (nursing) but also rewarding... Iv always admired nurses they must have the patients of saints..

Cleaning toilets wouldnt be great either.. fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭satchmo

I spent a summer in an American town full of white trash vacationers, cleaning public toilets beside a beach during a seafood festival.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

xzanti wrote:
    I've always admired nurses they must have the patients of saints..

lol

lol

No pun intended there... Just lousy spelling :rolleyes: Ooops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I honestly don't know how any of you stayed in those crappy jobs longer than a day or so...particularly the girl who worked for crap money in a crappy hotel in a crappy little village in one of the crappiest countries in the world, France. For an entire summer! This isn't the 1980s, no-one can say they can't get a fairly decent job in Ireland, can they?
    I'd never have stuck with any of the jobs some of you have worked, but if I had started one that suddenly changed for the worst, or the manager spoke to me in a manner I didn't appreciate, I'd be happy to leave without a moment's regret. Life is too short to deal with any of that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Worked in a paper recycling plant one summer. Job consisted of sorting through paper on a conveyor belt. There was always the odd 'diaper' bag that had been thrown into the recycling bin by mistake. The only job i ever counted in minutes (all the way through the 8 hour shift) and the only job where time seemed to go backwards.

Second worst job has to have been for a telemarketing firm in Dublin (BMR). We had to ring up people and read them a ten minute questionaire about something stupid. This same survey had to be repeated over 6 hours per day. The 'best' survey was on banking - try ringing up people and asking them about their banking habits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

working for eircom selling talktime enough said!!!!!!:(

i feel your pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I worked in busstop beside the Stephen's Green Centre for two days. Quit after that. Awful awful job.

I honestly don't know how any of you stayed in those crappy jobs longer than a day or so...particularly the girl who worked for crap money in a crappy hotel in a crappy little village in one of the crappiest countries in the world, France. For an entire summer! This isn't the 1980s, no-one can say they can't get a fairly decent job in Ireland, can they?
    I'd never have stuck with any of the jobs some of you have worked, but if I had started one that suddenly changed for the worst, or the manager spoke to me in a manner I didn't appreciate, I'd be happy to leave without a moment's regret. Life is too short to deal with any of that...

Yeah in Ireland you can do that. In other countries you can't. I had to work in France as part of my degree and it was the only job I could find. People were telling me I was lucky to have found anything at all cos unemployment is so high. There were loads of French students working at the hotel, some of them getting paid next to nothing, working until 11pm in the kitchen, because there were no other jobs to be found. There was a maid working with us who detested the job and had been doing it 10 YEARS but couldn't leave because she wouldn't get another. People don't appreciate how easy they have it in Ireland, to be able to just walk out and get another job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

My worst was my summer in Supermacs, in previous years I had been a lifeguard & swimming teacher but that year my pool was closed for renovations.
    It was terrible in that kitchen, we had a really abusive "head manager/part owner", he used to just come into the kitchen and start screaming at us cursing constantly. He seemed to think that having everyones nerves on a knife edge made us perform better, almost all of us quit because of him. He didnt care everyone was replaced quiet quickly. We were also treated like idiots by the customers, they seemed to think that just because we worked in fast food we were slow.

Funnily enough I had a great job a few months ago when I was working at a chinese restraunt, I was just filling in for regular staff who were back in china. I was getting paid €8 an hour while all the chinese were getting €5 an hour. The guy in charge seemed to want to practice his english so I spent the day working at my own pace & talking with him. My girlfriend hates working there though (see €5 an hour & being worked harder)