Fat People Have To Pay for 2 Seats on Planes Why Not Buses??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

cant afford one!! poor college erasmus student here!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Vikings

Ah but you are all missing the point here. To us fat people your "two" seats is just one seat to us, therefore we pay for one seat, and duly take up that one seat. If two lesser beings could fit in it so be it.

Does this mean that small people (cruelly dubbed "midgets") should only have to pay half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

What about the blacks.. I think they should have to pay more too

Dont be such an ignorant f**ck.

How about we devise some sort of plot to rid the world of Mc Donalds, Burger King et al? You know this is the problem right? Fat fúckers everywhere. When I was a kid, I don't remember this many fat people being around. Stop stuffing your faces you fat bástards!

Its not the fast food places that are the problem they just allow lazy fat people to get their food faster. if there were no fast food places they would just go to a restaurant and fill themselves up.

As per the origal point of this thread i would not think someone should pay twice. If someone is taking up some of your space tell them to move over. Dont just sit there and say nothing. Turn and say "Sorry could you move over a bit im squashed here." They will move whether they like it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

Dont be such an ignorant f**ck.
    I believe personal abuse is against the rules here.. You should have a read of the forum charter before posting again. :v: :v: :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

so is racism. You should have a read of the forum charter before posting again. :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v: :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

ok enough of the pac's!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

so is racism. You should have a read of the forum charter before posting again.

I think the original post was something called sarcasm. Like, why not make 'fatter' people sit at the back of the bus, and if a 'normal' person like us has no seat, then they have to give their seat to us. And old people too, they depress me... and handicapped people cause so much trouble, they can slow the buses down terribly....

Get a life all you health nazis, if someone wants to be fat, then that's their choice and they have to freedom to be and do whatever they please without being treated as second class citizens or subhumans.

Fat people aren't the problem with Ireland, it's the abundance of jumped up little knob heads thinking they're better than everyone else. Oh, and greed. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

These larger individuals should just be aware of their size, trying to squeeze into small seats and crushing little 'ol me. Then again i was pancaked against the window the other day by a particularly humongous lady... she smelled really strongly of fried chicken, i left the bus starving.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Kernel wrote:
    I think the original post was something called sarcasm. Like, why not make 'fatter' people sit at the back of the bus, and if a 'normal' person like us has no seat, then they have to give their seat to us. And old people too, they depress me... and handicapped people cause so much trouble, they can slow the buses down terribly....

Get a life all you health nazis, if someone wants to be fat, then that's their choice and they have to freedom to be and do whatever they please without being treated as second class citizens or subhumans.

Fat people aren't the problem with Ireland, it's the abundance of jumped up little knob heads thinking they're better than everyone else. Oh, and greed. ;)

Bang on there.

Hughly over weight people on a bus can be annoying but hey they need to get around too. I hate the snobby little ****ers on busses that think they deserve a seat for their bag or ****. Also when you do ask them to move ther stuff and get by all the under the breath muttering and tutting you have half their crap at your feet, wreach at the smell of their cheap overly layed on perfum and have to listen to them talk on the phone about how they simply 'cannot believe' she would sleep with him. yada yada yada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,006 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Kernel wrote:
    Can we place a duty of some kind on being a fat ba$tard then? As a smoker I have to pay a duty due to the increased health risks associated with my chosen vice (a duty which subsidises everyone else's healthcare btw), why shouldn't fat people pay for the increased costs their blubbery bodies force on the health system.

Good health is not simply a personal benefit.

And yes, of course someone should pay for two seats if they're taking up two seats. As the OP was talking about long-distance bus journey's (i.e. bus eireann rather than Dublin Bus) they ARE talking about a service where you pay for a seat rather than merely standing room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sleepy wrote:
    And yes, of course someone should pay for two seats if they're taking up two seats. As the OP was talking about long-distance bus journey's (i.e. bus eireann rather than Dublin Bus) they ARE talking about a service where you pay for a seat rather than merely standing room.
    Of course, who decides who must pay for two seats, and who doesn't? Do we hire new inspectors to follow fat people onto busses and charge them more if they take up too much space? Or do bus drivers stick a tape around everyone's waist and charge them if they're over a certain circumference.

Come on people, a bit of cop on here. On a bus, if a big ****er is taking up too much room, you switch seats. How often do you see a grossly overweight person (and I'm talking fat fold in their legs overweight) in this country on a bus?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

boneless wrote:
    Some people get turned on by that sort of thing...

Anyhow, I'm a portly gent who pays my busfare, so I deserves a seat... you young folk and trendies ruin my journeys with your electronic boom-boom devices and the funny smelling smoke... and laughter!! I hate the sound of laughter....

fat b*stard :v: :v: :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

If they're taking up two seats, they should have to pay for those two seats as each seat is only made for one person and also there's one less seat for a passenger if the bus is packed. So someone is standing because some fat fecker is taking up two seats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I see where this is going. It's a classic case of a smokescreen to hide a true objective.
    This is a plot by the International League of Skinny Fookers trying to get discounts on buses because they take up less room.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Fat people shouldn't be allowed on busses. They should be made walk so that when they lose the pounds they will be rewarded by being allowed onto a bus. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭strassenwolf

a good point, pornapster. If they walked, the pounds would fall off them. They'd be taking exercise and they also would be so busy walking that they wouldn't have time to stand around bus stops munching on crisps and chocolate.

Anyway, shouldn't this be in commuting/transport? Or is there a Freight forum
    for issues like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

Fat people shouldn't be allowed on busses. They should be made walk so that when they lose the pounds they will be rewarded by being allowed onto a bus.

In fact fat people should be charged to be refused bus service, due to the insentive to lose weight that it provides...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭beachbabe

I am heavily pregnant so have to occupy a large ammount of space on buses at the moment, Should I pay for more seats as I am the equivalant of 2 people? glad it is not twins or this could become very expensive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Hey don't matter who was sitting next to me on a bus.

I would be embarassed regardless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

beachbabe wrote:
    I am heavily pregnant so have to occupy a large ammount of space on buses at the moment, Should I pay for more seats as I am the equivalant of 2 people? glad it is not twins or this could become very expensive...

a heavily pregnant beachbabe.............. ok :D

when i rule, pregnant woman will be excempt, you're fat for a reason.

i think the OP was refering to obese people who are fat because they consume far too much food than they need.

i wonder how many people who voted option 2 are salad dodgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

beachbabe wrote:

From the bus Eireann Website.
    One child under three years of age will be carried free if accompanied by and in the charge of a fare-paying passenger

It seems they do charge for twins.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

It was between two responses for this thread:

1) "Public transport is for loosers"
    2) "Fat People Have To Pay For Two Seats On Planes (Why Not Buses)" that sounds like a new Meat Loaf song or something... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

paperclip wrote:
    a heavily pregnant beachbabe.............. ok :D

when i rule, pregnant woman will be excempt, you're fat for a reason.

i think the OP was refering to obese people who are fat because they consume far too much food than they need.

i wonder how many people who voted option 2 are salad dodgers

I'm not fat myself, but you're being hugely insulting and degrading to people with your attitude and your 'salad dodgers' comments. Admittedly you're not the only one, but how do you think an overweight or obese person would feel reading such things?

Your stupid rule of pregnant women being fat for a reason, does that apply to people with hormonal or glandular problems? Or those who are overweight from a disability and cannot exercise?

I believe in freedom, and I don't look down on people who are different to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

Have been reading this thread and have to say grow up the lot of ye. Been overweight is not a crime and nor should "fat people" be outcasted.Have none of ye friends, parents, cousins that are fat. Have a bit of respect. Oh and before anyone asks im not overweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Eh, I thought only a handful of minor American airlines charged extra for fat people, and only when there were no free seats on the flight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Dont ryanair? .... horrible bastids charge my 3 year old daughter full adult rate as well ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

sinecurea wrote:
    It was between two responses for this thread:

1) "Public transport is for loosers"

LOSERS

I always insist on sitting on the outside seat - makes it easier.

Kernel wrote:
    and handicapped people cause so much trouble

The same people that don't even pay for their tickets?

F'UCK THOSE GUYS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

i think the more important point here is leg space on buses. I'm only 5' 11" /6' but my legs are always twisted behind the seats, with my knees planted firmly into the back of the seat infront of me.

WHY THE HELL ARE ALL BUSES like this, its a very rare occasion that you get decent leg room, so your usually the person with one leg out in the aisle and the other twisted around some way. Those bastards just went and got the average leg length probally around 50years ago. Time to update you dicks.