Galway

• 09-06-2002 11:22PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭

i'm going there this weekend, and i was wondering if anyone knows of anything good happening over the weekend? any festivals? or any good places to go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

Well there are a good few of us on here from Galway, including myself. But to answer your question without getting in to a "I think this venue is better than others" arguement, will you tell us what kind of stuff you want to do.

What type of music do you like (or would you like to hear)?
    How many of you are going?
    Are you a quiet drinking person, ie. going to a club wouldn't be on the agenda?
    Do you drink Guinness?
    How long are you staying up for (is it just the weekend)?
    What age are you?

Let us know the above, and I'm sure I could pretty much have you sorted in no time.

;-phobos-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

1. anything but dance music, but will tolerate it if i have to- the others i'm going with like it. live music, rock especially would be good, but if there were any festivals, that'd be cool aswell.
    2. lots! abot 10ish, but i'm not looking for big group activities, everyone's gonna do their own thing, so probably only a few at a time.
    3. quiet drinking is good, but not for this weekend! quiet drinking possibly during the day, loudness in the evening!!!!
    4. no to the guinness!
    5. just the weekend
    6. 20

cheers for any info- i knew there was a large galway contingent on boards, specifically rock-types, so rather than rely on tourist information sites, i thought it would be better to get my info from the experts! even a "this venue is better than this venue" debate would be fine. also any nice , and CHEAP restaurants would be good!

(edit) p.s. i've just realised i'm gradually giving out more and more info about myself on boards as time goes on, so nobody stalk me and try and kill me!! please!! (edit)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

This coming Sunday, there's something good on.

Diptheria and Primal Dawn are playing O Malleys bar, Prospect Hill.
    About 9:30.

While I'm at it, if you see this:

AngelWhore.jpg

Please say "BWAP!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

As regards night clubs in Galway for non-dance(of any description), it's crap. What I recommend you do is check out places like Sally longs on Abbeygate St, or do as Angelwhore says and try O'Malleys (I didn't actually know they had live bands).

Dance is more of my thing, so the dedicated dance (oriented) places would be GPO, Raddisson (or Le Metero as the know it all's like to call it), and possibly Cuba. But the good thing about Cuba is that it has 3 floors which vary in styles of music (which is always good if you want to please a crowd). After that it's all commercial cheese, where anything can go.

One recommendation to you is to avoid the places I've mentioned above (if you don't like dance), and also CPs (central park). The reason CPs, is not because of the music, but because every redneck from Co. Mayo, Co. Clare and anywhere else sheep can be bought goes there. The club has a pack them in and take their money policy (especially during the summer), and also 3 bar men were done for spiking drinks about 2 weeks ago.

After that you are left with:
    The Alley (Oh God forbid, commercial cheesy dance/etc, a bit of a mixed bag, and it smells of puke)
    The Warwick (Actually this is probably the best club you could go to for your type of music, but it's in Salthill as opposed to town).
    Cuba (downstairs bar, or top floor, but not the middle floor [it's dance music])
    Church Lane Anytime music is not my reason, this is an OK place to chillax, on the top floor.

The rest of the clubs are in Salthill, and I would recommend keeping away from there, unless you like to hang around with kids.

Apart from that I recommend you bring ID, to save yourself hassle. I don't care how big or old looking you are, just bring it just in case. My mother got asked for ID a few months back, and she's 41. :)

Also if you don't know Galway that well (your way around, that is), don't separate from your group of friends. The reason I'm saying this is because too many young people who weren't from the city went missing after nights out, just like the ones you've planned. They all ended up dead in the water, under unsolved mysterious circumstances. So all I'm saying is be careful, because it's been 3 or 4 in the last few months. Be vigilent, and I don't care if you're from Dublin, because one or two of the lads that went missing actually were.

Apart from that, have a good weekend. :)

;-phobos-)

Sally Longs on Wednesday night.
    GPO on Mondays.
    O Malley's on some Sundays.
    Upstairs in Cuba is good.

Other than that, I wouldn't reconmend anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

that blue drink looks like one of the ones i was drinking at the boards beer .

it was nice ...

dont go to cuba its sh!t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Mercury

cheers lads for all the help!

i remember a few of the names you mentioned from the last time i was in galway last year, but we tended to go to the cheesy touristy places, cos the all-ireland final was on, so this time, i wanted to go someplace with decent music, so i'll try some of the places you recommended!

also thanks muchly for the advice on ID and staying safe- i had almost forgotten about the strictness of the ID situation in gaillimh. it's a good policy, though! is it just me, or are galway bouncers the nicest bouncers in the country? i've never experienced such polite and reasonable bouncers anywhere else, especially not dublin. (maybe it was because we were a group of girls, obviously just there for the weekend- lets see how the lads fare this time round!)

as regards getting around, i've warned the others already never to go anywhere alone! it's generally an easy city to navigate, correct, and all of us have mobiles, so if anyone does get lost, it should be ok, right? i've also checked where the garda stations are.

remind me never to try and organise things like this again!
    STR-ESSSSSS!!

ooh! i just suddenly rermembered!
    some of the people coming with me to galway are gay, so does anyone know of any good gay bars/clubs in galway?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i've never experienced such polite and reasonable bouncers anywhere else, especially not dublin.

er.. well they don't scream in your face or spit on you, so I guess in some regards they are nice. but some of the bouncers are the most unreasonable ****es I've ever seen, the CP's ones for example.

won't accept passports as Identification....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

oh re the gay thing er.. I think there's one on dominic street? beside the blue note? .. on the corner .. near lanfest...

i haven't a clue what it's caled, and I'm terrible with directions :) but afaik one exists

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Gay pubs are Zulus and Stranos. Stranos is where Mordeth was talking about - Zulus is not far from it, but a little difficult to describe unless you're on the street and I'm giving directions :)

Liquid in Salthill is a Gay NiteClub on Firday nights (this is upstairs - downstairs is Angels lapdancing club).

My favourite spots are Sally Longs, The Blue Note, Taffes and Munroes. Nightclub wise, I'd be headed for Cuba probably or maybe, if posessed by demons, The Warrwick (in Salthill). Actually, I live 5 mins away from the Warrwick, so going home is no bother from there and I tend to have a good night when I get out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Acidflash

Originally posted by phobos

and also 3 bar men were done for spiking drinks about 2 weeks ago.

This is complete bullsh1t.It's a stupid rumor that's going around. I think i would have noticed if people i work with were done for spiking drinks. :mad:

...Says someone called AcidFlash! :p

Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,436 ✭✭✭Doodee

Yea,
    It wasnt a rumour, I'm in the bar trade myself and I also got the same info.

your alright in Galway aslong as yee do remain in a group or atleast in 2/3's, if you do get split up though I wouldnt reccommend continueing to drink until you have Met up again and watch your drinks.

If you do go to the bathroom and leave your drink somewhere where none of your friends can keep an eye on it then I wouldnt bother to drink it, just leave it, Its only a few euro as opposed to the possability of not waking up.

you should have a good time and I wish yee the best of Luck!

Doodee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

I said it before and i'll say it again :Keep away from galway,it's a scum hole,the whole county is.
    if you can go see cradlejack..good musicians,entertaining good choice of music(led zeppelin) i'll try find out where they are playing this weekend if i can
    other than that go to see Diphtheria and Primal Dawn on sunday(saw both before both really good and both are death metal)

Originally posted by Doodee
    your alright in Galway aslong as yee do remain in a group or atleast in 2/3's, if you do get split up though I wouldnt reccommend continueing to drink until you have Met up again and watch your drinks.
    If you do go to the bathroom and leave your drink somewhere where none of your friends can keep an eye on it then I wouldnt bother to drink it, just leave it, Its only a few euro as opposed to the possability of not waking up.

pretty much like any other club in the country! i've always found that you're gonna be alright no matter where you go, as long as you keep your wits about you and remember not to separate from your group for too long! the drink-spiking thing is just common sense- i always watch my drink wherever i go!

(i'm guessing this has gotten completely off-topic!)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Originally posted by Ruaidhri
    I said it before and i'll say it again :Keep away from galway,it's a scum hole,the whole county is.
    if you can go see cradlejack..good musicians,entertaining good choice of music(led zeppelin) i'll try find out where they are playing this weekend if i can
    other than that go to see Diphtheria and Primal Dawn on sunday(saw both before both really good and both are death metal)
    I have to disagree there mate - this town rules!
    Cradlejack suck ass - who wants to see a covers band in this day and age? Fluck that! However, the afore-mentioned gig in O'Malleys will be a goodie. Dyptheria are well cool and Sherman M4 are also added to that line up. I've never seen Primal Dawn, but I've heard very good things about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

My, oh my AcidFlash, if its true that you do work in CPs, you obviously aren't in the know. Since alleged cases of drink spikings have been reported to the Gardai in Mill Street, the guards have spoken to Ted Roberts (owner) and Declan Farrell (manager) with a view to increasing security and allowing a regular Garda undercover presence.

By the way, CPs is now called Spikies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I live in Galway and like it.

The cool thing about Galway is that in town almost any pub is within walking distance of most others. My preferred clubs are Cuba (upstairs - especially with a croud of mates) and the GPO tuesdays and wednesdays. Theres plenty of cool pubs around and the best thing is that its only 2 or 3 minutes to move most of the time.

I've lived in Galway for 4 years now and have never personally had trouble with thugs but I'd advise any visiting people to make sure they don't get seperated off on their own. Theres been a few nasty murders of late where visiting lads turned up dead.

One other thing I've seen from time to time is visitors who at 3am outside Supermacs are trying to work out where they are supposed to be staying asking people if theyy know where such and such a place is. If you get someone to write down the correct address before you go out the taxi will get you home no matter how pissed/lost you are.
    that blue drink looks like one of the ones i was drinking at the boards beer .

it was nice ...

Its hardly another one of Kens famous vodka <edit>softies</edit>???

Originally posted by leeroybrown
    Its hardly another one of Kens famous vodka smoothies???

It's a "Vodka Softie" you tit! :D
    And no, you'd never catch me with one of those again... It was quite leathal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

*sigh*
    /me trundles off to get the Dreft™

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Acidflash

Originally posted by Buckfast
    My, oh my AcidFlash, if its true that you do work in CPs, you obviously aren't in the know. Since alleged cases of drink spikings have been reported to the Gardai in Mill Street, the guards have spoken to Ted Roberts (owner) and Declan Farrell (manager) with a view to increasing security and allowing a regular Garda undercover presence.

By the way, CPs is now called Spikies

Read the front page of this week's City Tribune. The guards dispel stories of spiked drinks as an urban myth and state no one has been arrested, let alone any of the bar staff from CP,because there is no evidence of drinks being spiked anywhere in Galway. BTW Ted Roberts isn't the owner of CP nor is Declan Farrell the manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Maurice Gillen if my memory serves me correctly!

I don't know much about the rumours (legitimate or otherwise) so I won't comment on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

In my mind anyone who goes to Cp's needs there heads checked....

The place is the hole amongst holes in Galway:p