The perils of commuting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Ruaidhri wrote:
    ...what's the P.C. way of saying they wore Burberry caps, were hard to understand, left school after junior cert and have penchants for starting fights?.. Anyway about 8 of them in the back of the bus hassling some girl.

Scumbags is the word I think... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Scumbags is the word I think... ;)

I was leaning towards genetically challenged but since you put it nice and eloquently...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

I got thrown off a bus once for offering my seat to a down-syndrome person.
    She was tiny and had a huge bag on her back. I initially thought she was a school-girl and told her she could have my seat.
    When I offered her my seat she flipped at me, screaming that i was taking the mickey out of her for her disability! The guy sitting beside me was laughing his a$$ off, which did not help things.
    The more I tried to explain the more she screamed and the more people looked at me with disgust.
    The bus driver stopped the bus and threw me and off :eek:

Lesson: Don't bother offering your seat to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭zefer

On the 77 bus from Tallaght to town at about 2 in the afternoon, when a junkie gets on the bus, heasds straight down the back of the bus upstairs where he decides to then shoot up..

As soon as that started, I was straight down to the bus driver who politely told me to "F*ck off" that he wasnt doing anything about it. Yer man ended up getting off in Town and walking out in front of a car and getting smacked by it :D another happy ending me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I got thrown off a bus once for offering my seat to a down-syndrome person.
    She was tiny and had a huge bag on her back. I initially thought she was a school-girl and told her she could have my seat.
    When I offered her my seat she flipped at me, screaming that i was taking the mickey out of her for her disability! The guy sitting beside me was laughing his a$$ off, which did not help things.
    The more I tried to explain the more she screamed and the more people looked at me with disgust.

Oh jesus that's awful!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,841 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Downstairs on the 145 on the way to Bray and this junkie (Irish) gets on in Skankhill with a fcuking lit joint in his hand. He goes past the driver (Irish) who says: "you have to pay" and shouts "fcuk off", as you might expect, and goes upstairs.

Then, when the bus was just coming into Bray, this "mid-lifer" (Irish) comes running down the stairs up to the bus driver and starts going on about three lads (Irish) beating the sh!t out of some other guy (Irish) upstairs. The fcuking bus driver just turns around to the guy and goes "yeah, so..."!

So the guy says "the chaps bleeding pretty bad, he's taken a good few head-butts to the face", at which point a woman (Irish) in her thirties comes downstairs crying (as in tears) and shaking like a leaf.

Bus driver: "what do you want me to do about it?"
    Guy: "Call the police?"
    BD: "do you want me to call the police?"
    G: "Eh...no...yeah, em yeah"

Next thing, the guy who was the "victim" comes stubbling down the stairs covered in his own insides and jumps off the bus, shortly followed by my junkie mate from earlier on, who says to me "did a lad jus' gerroff dis bus?" to which I tactfully said "Eh, I think so" (as if I wasn't paying attention). Not to be outdone, he pursued: "are the gards coming?" and I told him I imagined they would be along in due course.

So he crosses the road after yer man and sticks his boot in him a few more times before legging it off to whatever other business he had to attend to.

Bus drives on, no sign of gardaí, two lads upstairs who just beat the fcuk out of some unwitting innocent!

Oh the vicissitudes of Dublin Bus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Set the scene, a cold, dark wet morning nearing Christmas of last year. I was waishing at the DORT roish in Blockrock (sorry) when a DART approached from the South heading towards town. As it stopped and the doors opened releasing a plume of exhaled garlic-ey air (it was JAMMED with snottery pubescents, horny old men, weary commuters and a veritable plethora of randomers all nose to oxter with it being so packed) and in the midst of all this was a middle-aged woman, face covered in blood, swaying from side to side, so I took her hand and she literally collapsed into my arms on the platform. Transpires she had fallen and banged her head at the previous stop and was suffering concussion so phoned for an ambulance and waited with her until it arrived. Barely conscious she was really disorientated and looked like an extra from Shaun of the Dead what with all the blood. Thing that struck me though was that whilst waiting with her, ONE PERSON, yes that's right, ONE SINGLE SOLITARY RANDOM PUNTER COMMUTER on the platform asked if we needed help while everyone else looked on moronically.:confused:

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,841 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Aghast I am!

I hate the mass apathy bug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

What's this "mid-lifer" craic?

Dunno, just saw it in another post and thought that seeming as we're all on high PC alert, thanks to MrJoeSoap, I'd use it.

I assume it pertains to a middle-agèd person, but it has a fresh, contemporary buzz about it, just so they don't feel old like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Nedermeyer

Okay, so we've all seen our fair share of junkies, young lads smoking joints fights, etc. etc. but the worst i've ever seen was on a night link to ballymun one night(i was destined for phibsboro) after work,I was sitting upstairs and an argument broke out between two fellas. it was getting pretty heated and all of a sudden one lad picked up the other and threw him head over heels over the rails and down the stairs.:eek: All the way down. The noise was horrible.How yer man survived is beyond me. He got up, blood streaming all over his face. Dragged the other lad off the bus and the two of them went hell for leather outside the bus!!!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I got the 25n home a few weeks ago. The crowd on it were fairly rowdy. Usually no problem with that. Then they started kicking the window and managed to kick a window out (the last side one at the back of the bus). I got off a stop or two later only to see some one hanging out the widow. My friend who got the bus home to the last stop said he was forced out by his mates. I wish I had mates like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

An old guy threatened to rape me on the bus once (he claimed to have a gun.)
    When sitting on the back of the bus once, beside two lads smoking herion, a scangy girl decides to start a fight with them and attempts to get me involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,727 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Getting on the 39 on Abbey street a few years ago (1996) and I see this guy putting his hand in an old woman's bag and try pull the purse out. But it was getting caught in her handle and he kept dropping it again and trying to lift it again.

I wasn't sure if he was with her or not so kept watching and then realised he was backing off her if she moved so I knew he was not with her.

So I tap him on the shoulder and say "just leave it alone and move on" he then looks at me and says "I wasn't stealing anything" ok i said "don't get on this bus and it will be grand" at this point I notice him putting his hand in his pocket and i started thinking maybe he has a needle or a knife or something and he said to me "you will pay for this" when i decided to head butt him as hard as i could and jumped on the bus.
    The driver closed the doors and called me a dope for even tackling the guy. Anyway I turn around to see him with a stanley knife screaming in the bus telling me i was going to die.And blood running down his head !!!

The bus driver let me on for free and I went to the old woman who's purse i saved and said it to her and she said i was a silly young man and that there was no way he could have stolen it as she would have felt it !!!!

I get home and my Mam is sitting in the kitchen and she says "why did u head butt that man trying to get on the bus ?" !!!!!

I never noticed but 2 of her friends were on the same bus seen all that happened but thought I just picked on the guy fro no reason !!!!

Why did i even bother !!!!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

I was on the numer 7 in from the RDS a few months ago and the man sitting next to me started to shake a bit, proceeded to have some sort of fit, which I suppose was a heart attack and the bus driver wouldn't believe the young lad who asked him to stop the bus and get help.
    Eventualy I had to clamber out over the man, who I think was dead at this stage and go and tell the driver. Everyone else just sat there, looking at the man. So the driver stopped the bus and said to some teenager to run up there and fetch that Gard. The Gard arrived and told us all to get off the bus, unless we were travelling with the man. I had to give them a statement, because I'd been sitting next to him.
    "He started shaking and then he sort of half slid off the seat with his arm in the air"
    "Did you know what was happening?
    "No"
    "Thanks"

It was the worst journey I've ever had on a bus, but not as bad for me as for the man who died. Poor man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 snatch

On the commuter train into the city one morning and the heat was unbearable. Needless to say everyone was jammed in like sardines. Its not unusual for someone to faint on the train but this particular morning...six people passed out in our carriage including one man who was about 6ft tall and there was no where to lie him down to come round. Not a good start to the day...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Miss Fluff wrote:
    Set the scene, a cold, dark wet morning nearing Christmas of last year. I was waishing at the DORT roish in Blockrock (sorry) when a DART approached from the South heading towards town. As it stopped and the doors opened releasing a plume of exhaled garlic-ey air (it was JAMMED with snottery pubescents, horny old men, weary commuters and a veritable plethora of randomers all nose to oxter with it being so packed) and in the midst of all this was a middle-aged woman, face covered in blood, swaying from side to side, so I took her hand and she literally collapsed into my arms on the platform. Transpires she had fallen and banged her head at the previous stop and was suffering concussion so phoned for an ambulance and waited with her until it arrived. Barely conscious she was really disorientated and looked like an extra from Shaun of the Dead what with all the blood. Thing that struck me though was that whilst waiting with her, ONE PERSON, yes that's right, ONE SINGLE SOLITARY RANDOM PUNTER COMMUTER on the platform asked if we needed help while everyone else looked on moronically.:confused:

That really bugs me. Same thing happened to me on the 20b a while ago, i was upstairs, and the bus seemed to have stopped for an inordinatley long time, when the driver came upstairs and said 'are there any doctors or does anyone have any medical knowledge here? An old man has collapsed downstairs'. What do you think the punters did? Sat stock still, barely even looked around. Noone said anything til i said 'sorry i dont think so' and went doenstairs and offered to call an ambulance. I was pretty disgusted..especially with all those slack jawed gawkers who, despite having said nothing, were more than happy to crowd around the stairwell to get a good gawp at what happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

ciaran76 wrote:
    Getting on the 39 on Abbey street a few years ago (1996) and I see this guy putting his hand in an old woman's bag and try pull the purse out. But it was getting caught in her handle and he kept dropping it again and trying to lift it again.

I wasn't sure if he was with her or not so kept watching and then realised he was backing off her if she moved so I knew he was not with her.

So I tap him on the shoulder and say "just leave it alone and move on" he then looks at me and says "I wasn't stealing anything" ok i said "don't get on this bus and it will be grand" at this point I notice him putting his hand in his pocket and i started thinking maybe he has a needle or a knife or something and he said to me "you will pay for this" when i decided to head butt him as hard as i could and jumped on the bus.
    The driver closed the doors and called me a dope for even tackling the guy. Anyway I turn around to see him with a stanley knife screaming in the bus telling me i was going to die.And blood running down his head !!!

The bus driver let me on for free and I went to the old woman who's purse i saved and said it to her and she said i was a silly young man and that there was no way he could have stolen it as she would have felt it !!!!

I get home and my Mam is sitting in the kitchen and she says "why did u head butt that man trying to get on the bus ?" !!!!!

I never noticed but 2 of her friends were on the same bus seen all that happened but thought I just picked on the guy fro no reason !!!!

Why did i even bother !!!!:o

Mad!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

:D Looks like everyone here has had their fair share of drunks, headcases, junkies etc. to cope with on public transport!
    I was on a packed nightlink one night down the very back upstairs where two mates sat down either side of me. After a while they produced a crackpipe and sent it back and forth to each other to take drags out of it, each time offering me some. I politely declined each time. They actually seemed nice enough and I was chatting to them a bit so it wasn't all bad.
    Another time a few years ago, I got off one of those old-school trains with the handle you have to open by sticking your hand out the window. I had gone a few steps on the platform when I hear someone shout "Wait!". I look back and there's an old lady struggling with the handle. The train starts to move so I run back to get the handle for them. Her and her friend (also old) are forced almost Indian Jones-style to leap from the moving train. Luckily they both manged to dismount ok (i.e. they didn't fall over) but it was still a bit scary nonetheless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Ragazza

Font22 wrote:
    sorry....i shudnt laugh at that last post but its so funny. lucky u werent hurt though.

Don't worry, I was laughing later that day. I had sore armpits for a week tho!
    I could have slapped the little s**t that was on the bus pointing and laughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

The worst would probably be when a guy started **** in the seat beside me on a crowded rush-hour 49.

See that I can understand if it's a long bus journey and he has nothnig to do, but for God's sake, he should have at least been discreet about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,764 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Piste wrote:
    (about choking your chicken on the bus) See that I can understand if it's a long bus journey and he has nothnig to do
    :D Ahh, sure haven't we all done this on public transport. <NOT!>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,019 ✭✭✭✭tk123

my bro was going into town t'other week and this guy (with Downs) sits down beside him. The guy starts asking my bro maths questions - adding numbers etc. Then he asks
    Where are you going?
    Bro - I'm just going into town to meet my girlfriend
    Guy - And what will youz do in town
    Bro - Ah we'll prob go shopping
    Guy - Have youz being going out long
    Bro - Yeah a few years
    Guy - Do youz have sex
    Bro - Ah buddy you cant ask questions like that!

I could just imagine everyone on the bus tuning into the conversation waiting for my bro's answer lol!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Some fecked up stories here.

Was getting the bus into town one Saturday - warm summers day and bus packed with traffic hardly moving.
    Was standing at the stairway and this guy was standing in front of me facing the row of seats that are closest to the driver (the ones just inside the door to the right).
    I noticed he was very pale and seemed to be nodding off while holding on to the pole.
    All of a sudden.... *BLEAUGH* the poor bloke puked up all over the 4 people sat on the row of seats -the phrase "projectile vomiting" comes to mind.
    The guy just got of the bus at the next stop without saying a word (he looked Eastern European), leaving the other passengers to attempt to clean themselves up.
    One was a girl who had an interview... 2 were on their way to the airport.
    The smell was feckin unbearable!
    The driver had a roll of tissue paper and I had a bottle of water.. everyone got cleaned up and ended laughing about it... and we were actually concerned for the sick guy than anything else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

Honestly man, I live in Cork and the bus drivers are utter asshats

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Ruaidhri wrote:
    My personal fav. tho is some dozy git who ran his car into the back of a parked bus. yes, PARKED 52 seater bus. go figure :D

I can go one better - I was on a bus that ran into the back of a parked car. What made it all the more amusing was that it happened outside the British embassy, and the car in question was unmarked Special Branch. We all had to get off the bus and wait for the next one that came along. The driver took a bit longer to make it into town, I imagine, as the Gardaí were not altogether amused.

The actual worst thing that ever happened on public transport while I was on it was the time a woman on the Dart threw up all over the shop. It was really hot and stuffy on the train and it was absolutely jammed. It must have all gotten a bit much for her and she let rip. Anyone within about five feet of her (which was quite a few people) got hit. Fortunately I was further away and avoided the mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭highdef

Slight variation on the car crashing into the back of a bus:
    A few months back, I passed a car and bus outside Kilmainham Gaol - car had rear-ended the bus. What made it so funny (I wish I had a camera phone!) was that the ad on the back of the bus said "tailgating causes accident - keep your distance" - Absolutely priceless!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭celticwarriorjb

One time I (Irish) was getting the bus to the gym where I used to live in South East London with my friend (half scottish/puerto rican) when 3 guys (looked Jamaican) roughly our age (19) got on smelling of weed, we were in the back and they sat around circulling my friend not realising we were friends as we were quite a bit apart. They started asking him were he got his chain from, my friend explaining that it was his dads who had died when he was young (which is true), they asked to let them see it, while one of them put their hands in his pocket and took his mobile. they kept saying you best give me that chain and one of the guys grabbed him and punched him in his face. I was so angry that I didnt think of the consequences and grabbed the guy who punched my freind and repeatdly headbutt him while grabbing him towards me for extra impact, i was in the zone and blood was all over his face If I kept at it I woud have killed the guy, the other two grabbed me off him and i felt a number of blows to the side of my head , then one of them pulled a knife out on me saying your gonna die you honkey bitch (racist slur). My friend was shaking and telling them not to hurt me. I was like kill me then you ****, people on the bus (mostly African) were telling them to calm down when a big man (African) persuaded him that im not worth it!!(WTF!) and to leave it. The guy pushed me away and put the knife back in his pocket, they managed to get my friends mobile but luckily not his chain and ran off the bus with the guy who I had headbutt with blood all over his face and clothes saying I'm gonna kill you when I find you, i swear to God. All the people on the bus acted like nothing happened, and the bus started moving again without anyone calling the police!. Yes I certainly miss getting the 136 bus in London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

I got beaten up pretty badly on the 7 bus in Sallynoggin a few years ago. I'm suprised no-one else has any stories from the 7, I've lost count of the times I've heard of teenagers, old people and even priests getting beaten up on it.

In my case a few scumbags got on the bus in Dún Laoghaire, at first I didn't take notice of them but quickly did as soon as they started pulling my hair, pouring 7up over my friend and the worst bit, they whipped my friends hat off his head and threw it up the aisle (my friend had cancer at the time and his hair had fallen out from the chemo). They found this hilarious and went to further efforts to humiliate my friend. His brother was there with his son and they swung for him and were as close to hitting the 5 year old. At that stage we all moved up a few seats because in fairness, we were all 15 or so and none of us were about to do anything.

It all calmed down for a while until we were in Sallynoggin and I was suddenly getting absolutely smacked in the face, getting my hair violently reefed around and basically getting the shít beaten out of me. They got a good few punches to my face before I managed to put my head in my hands and they broke my nose pretty badly. It required surgery last year to fix the septum because I couldn't breathe through it. I think they broke it in two seperate places. I had actual bruising on my scalp from how hard they pulled my hair too. They were right cowardly little fúckers because they snuck up behind me and just hopped on me. I'm not saying I would have done anything apart from run away if I had known they were coming for me, but still.

The absolute worst part was that apart from my friends and one other guy who stood up, the packed upper deck sat there and did nothing but try their utmost to not get involved. The girls who were with the scum told them to stop, and my friend got involved with his skateboard (quite a viscious weapon if needs be) and they got off in Sallynoggin.

As I got off the bus in SuperValu Killiney, my face streaming with blood, the bus driver did the same as the people upstairs and stared straight ahead. There wasn't much he could do, but christ he could have at least made an effort to make himself appear that he cared.

Just one of the reasons why I hate Dublin Bus with a passion and avoid it whenever I can. All the stories here have only served to reinforce my opinion of it. Blech!

Funkstard wrote:
    Just one of the reasons why I hate Dublin Bus with a passion and avoid it whenever I can. All the stories here have only served to reinforce my opinion of it. Blech!
    Here here