Man dies after taking Magic Mushrooms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

pdunno wrote:
    But the other side of the coin is that if he hadn't taken the mushrooms he would never have attempted to 'fly' off the balcony.
    Yeah, he may have committed suicide in some other more conventional and popular way, like getting drunk and driving a car into the wall. The gardai will call it death by misadventure in either case, so the families and friends do not have to cope with it being branded suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Tha Gopher wrote:
    I thought those stoner magazine things posters were either a real mag or an ad by Cannabis Ireland Alliance oir that crowd, theyre fcukin hilarious:D Anti stoner messages NEVER hit home to smokers- thats why me and my mate broke our sh1t laughing at a Herald headline reading "Priest Gave Hash to Children" (it was the actual headline made us laugh- the story was the rather unfunny one of how that bastard in Wexford had got kids drunk and stoned before molesting them)

Still, "good thing we didnt live near that ****, we`da got fcuked!" as my mate remarked :eek:

Re the ads, the chat up lines you wont recall when stoned has me laughin, rather reminds me of the time we went to Waterford on a college rag week bus trip. Me and my mate in some nightclub, surrounded by beautiful women.....and too utterly stoned to give a sh1te :D In the whole night there Id say we bought two drinks, we spent most of the rest of our time runnin down the back every 15 mins to skin up, it was animal

Shrooms do odd things to people. Dont dp them myself (cant stand the taste long enough), but after a long night of drink, coke and a load of shrooms at a house party my mates cousin became convinced a poster of The Notorious BIG, which had a mean look on his face, was threatening him, to the extent we had to take it down to prevent him attacking the wall :D

And lastly on that magazine, "girls who do hash are losers"? Bollix. Girls who spend a few hundred per night on poxy coke are losing out. Christ I wish Id never spent a penny on the stuff, I take the exact amt as my mates and they think its the dogs nads, but...well.....its sh1te! Its great for what, 20 minutes? And even in that time, its more good than great. Cokes more overrated than Kanye West tbh. Idiots sniff it. Geniuses sell it. Bring back the days when yokes were plentiful, now there is a proper buzz (unfortunately its hard to regularly come across in the last 12 months)
    most self incriminating post EVER?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

ferdi wrote:
    most self incriminating post EVER?

Best way to be!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

I don't know what's more annoying, the gimps rallying against mushrooms, or the gimps comparing drugs to alcohol and cig's, and moaning that they're not being banned.

If you're so afraid of mushrooms getting banned, then why don't you do something about it and get in touch with your td's, start some kind of campaign to get alcohol banned. Instead of coming onto internet forums and moaning about conservative propaganda.

Or maybe you're too afraid you're mammies will find out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I agree with Col, the amount of boring **** who live on the internet and preach their beer is evil, hash was sent from God himself is unbelieveable

98% of stoners drink. Most of them drink alot. Probably about 50% of smokers do other drugs.

So be quiet

if that was aimed at me....

i'm not calling for drink to be banned, what i said is that there would be no logic in banning mushrooms while a far more dangerous drug (alcohol) is legal. I personally do not want drink,shrooms or smoke to be illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

Tha Gopher wrote:
    I agree with Col, the amount of boring **** who live on the internet and preach their beer is evil, hash was sent from God himself is unbelieveable

98% of stoners drink. Most of them drink alot. Probably about 50% of smokers do other drugs.

So be quiet

so eh, what part of the thin air did u pull that stat from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭keevita

as long as people arent hurting anyone else, then its up to them if they want to hurt themselves. or just get all trippy. whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Tha Gopher wrote:

So be quiet

And most people pull facts from their asses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭pdunno

rubadub wrote:
    Yeah, he may have committed suicide in some other more conventional and popular way, like getting drunk and driving a car into the wall. The gardai will call it death by misadventure in either case, so the families and friends do not have to cope with it being branded suicide.

Suicide - The act or an instance of intentionally killing oneself.

Trying to fly off a balcony, while being incredibly stupid, does not mean he deliberately tried to kill himself. He was just ****ed out of his mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

The title of the thread should really be changed. The title works the same as "Man died after taking really big gulp of air" or "Man died after drinking excessively"

yeah the title is misleading and provocative

I wouldn't be suprised if mushroom's played no part in the death of this man. The guy's at the sun probably had nothing else to write about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

The title is a reflection of the tabloid headline I saw. Yes it's misleading and provocative but then so are tabloid headlines.

Debate is what we need here - the thread title encourages it I think.

Muhahahaha

Cactus Col wrote:
    I don't know what's more annoying, the gimps rallying against mushrooms, or the gimps comparing drugs to alcohol and cig's, and moaning that they're not being banned.
    Whats most annoying is the hypocrisy, thats what people are moaning about. BTW why do you think these people have disabilities? nobody has mentioned being crippled so far.

pdunno wrote:
    Suicide - The act or an instance of intentionally killing oneself.

Trying to fly off a balcony, while being incredibly stupid, does not mean he deliberately tried to kill himself. He was just ****ed out of his mind.

Yeah but you can't rule out that it was suicide. If he was just pissed and jumped there would be no person saying "He obviously thought he could fly".
    It may or may not have been suicide. Taking drugs before topping yourself is a convenient coverup, there are lots of suicides listed as "death by misadventure" due to considerate people commiting suicide, or considerate gardai/doctors who report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

rubadub wrote:

Yes - once again a suicide is swept under the carpet.

And yet every few months we have journalists writing newspaper articles wringing their hands about the 'stigma' of suicide and the fact that no one ever wants to face up to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭pdunno

I might be wrong but it seems that the majority of people who commit suicide, do it while alone. It hardly seems likely that if you were going to kill yourself you'd do it at a party surrounded by people.

But then again I suppose in any instance of this occuring it's reported as drug/drink related and not suicide. OK point taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭BadAcidStudios

Same story only wine this time. I read this from the sky news website last week.

Basically some Austrian guy gets wasted on wine and jumps out a 4th floor window thinking hes superman, follow the link to read more.
    I dont think the Austrian government will be banning wine anytime soon

http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,91059-13453542,00.html

Sky.com wrote:
    Authorities said the man appeared to have drunk several bottles of red wine before attempting the jump.

He appeared on a window ledge and shouted: "I am Superman. Nothing can happen to me."

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

adonis wrote:
    so eh, what part of the thin air did u pull that stat from?

I think I learned it while enrolled in the univeristy of real life

*attempts to resist hurling abuse*

The proportion would vary of course. In my college class, id say about 40% are current smokers, and maybe a quarter of these use other drugs

In my other workplace, the proportion who use hash AND harder drugs would be 80-90% of the Irish staff, maybe 50-60% of the East Europeans and none (afaik) of the Chinese, whos only vices seem to be heavy cigarette smoking and a love of gambling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭CrazyTalk

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    The ground has destroyed lives and families. Anyone who disagrees is basically supporting terrorism.

Both posts are legendary:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Tha Gopher wrote:
    univeristy of real life
    In my college class

Stop talking through your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

mushrooms should be banned. i tried to commit suicide after taking them in the phoenix park by jumping from a big tree but all i could do was fly around the air laughing at leaves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭Panda

i got some mexican truffles from the galway head shop.
    also known as philosophers stone (aka psilocybe cubensis).

i have three words.

six hour high

the only down side was a bit of paranoia.
    colours were more vibrant, patterns melted and swirled, there was clouds in the floor tiles + swirling words. and the sky that night was purple.

no hangover. no next day stupor that you get from hash/weed.
    did i mention that they're legal?

as for the guy who jumped,
    i blame "The Matrix".
    films these days. shocking stuff....

there are people out there that have chemical imbalance in their ceann
    and all it takes is a little push to knock them over the edge. (no pun intended :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Stimulant

Ban the shroom!

While i was taking mushrooms.I thought i was walking on a world made of plastic forks.Then i fell off and hit the ground.
    Luckily i was sitting on a chair and not on a balcony.

Id be dead now if i was sitting on a balcony!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Same story only wine this time. I read this from the sky news website last week.

Basically some Austrian guy gets wasted on wine and jumps out a 4th floor window thinking hes superman, follow the link to read more.
    I dont think the Austrian government will be banning wine anytime soon

http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,91059-13453542,00.html

On a similar vein, I was reading some tabloid at work this morning that was running with the mushrooms story, and on the front page was the story about those guys in Clare(?) that died in when their 4x4 plunged over a cliff, with an insinuation that they were all well gargled...okay so drink driving is already illegal here, but these deaths by misadventure are also deaths through alcohol (allegedly)....but it's tragic and life goes on...no calls for rural pubs to stop serving booze....meanwhile the (frankly, editorial) piece on the mushrooms calls for immeadiate ban and quotes politicians out the ass about the evils of this substance and the legal loophle that leaves them legal.
    I hate double standards...almost as much as I hate a tabloid awareness campaign :mad:

Stimulant wrote:
    Ban the shroom!

While i was taking mushrooms.I thought i was walking on a world made of plastic forks.Then i fell off and hit the ground.
    Luckily i was sitting on a chair and not on a balcony.

Id be dead now if i was sitting on a balcony!!!

I bet you weren't responsible while using them and didn't do any research into them.

Awareness is a hell of alot better than banning.

Panda wrote:
    i got some mexican truffles from the galway head shop.
    also known as philosophers stone (aka psilocybe cubensis).
    The proper term is sclerotia. The would have been Psilocybe mexicana or Psilocybe tampanensis. Cubensis are the mushrooms, there are 100's of species but cubensis are the easiest to grow. Psilocybe semilanceta is the common liberty cap that grows here, very difficult to cultivate indoors (or outside)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Insane to think because of one idiot..throws himself off a balcony that banning the shrooms is the right thing to do.
    FFS what about all the people that get into drunken fights and end up in the mortury as a result..or hop into a car and drive drunk..killing themselves /and or others.
    Do we ban drink ??, nope..but one idiot that throws himself cause a plant that grows naturally to be banned..well this is the most fupping stupid and dangerious idea ever.

What will lots of people do when they cant buy them in town?, the'll go to howth head or somesuch place and pick the wrong fooing schroom and end up dead.

Banning shrooms in a country where the grow naturally along side their lethal cousins is foolhardy, reckless and far far far more likely to cause deaths (in a horrible slow way too i might add) than allowing them and allowing for the fact that some retard will occassionally do this and rid the world of another set of weak genes.

My sypathies for family and frieds, but banning shrooms will make a mockery of his death and imho most definately lead to far more deaths than allowing shrooms.

Finally, shrooms are not addictive, they can't be!! , unlike coke , weed alcohal etc..if you take shrooms every day ..within a week all you will feel is a bad taste in your mouth as the body rapidly becomes immune to the psilocybin (take em every couple of months for max effect *allegedly*).