What Do You Do In The Evening's With Your Partner?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

eo980 wrote:
    Funnily enough she's not too big into TV, a bit of a pain in the ass. I have slowly been turning her into a film buff though, and she got her UGC card last sunday! Woo Hoo! But that has to be more of a weekend thing though.
    Ok then,what does she enjoy that you don't?Try that out and get her to try things that you like and she doesn't,with you.
    And read a book together,how romantic. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

How about going to the theatre or some live music?

Also, don't be together all the time! If you're constantly around each other you'll eventually get pissed off. You can have too much of a good thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Ok
    And read a book together,how romantic. ;)

Man: Turn the page
    Woman: Hold on a sec
    Man:Ah come on turn the page
    Woman: will you give me one second, your allways at this, your so impatient, this reminds me of the time that you said to Mary....................

Say in knacker scooter tone NAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Do an evening class together?

I hear relationship counselling is supposed to be good fun.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

joejoem wrote:
    Man: Turn the page
    Woman: Hold on a sec
    Man:Ah come on turn the page
    Woman: will you give me one second, your allways at this, your so impatient, this reminds me of the time that you said to Mary....................
    Better than , "no you turn the page"x10 until a page is turned...every damn time ;)

eo980 wrote:
    What Do You Do In The Evening's With Your Partner?

She could give you head while you watch porn???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

me and my boyf and housemate were bored recently so we headed up to smiths and bought trivial pursuit and scrabble its great craic.
    Its a bit unhealthy that she wont let you have your own hobby or play video games? In the evenings im usually finished work at 5-30 but then head up to the horse til 9 or 10. my boyf works 3 late evenings so that suits grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Beruthiel wrote:
    buy her some books
    everyone should read!

Thanks B. We do already. We have almost an hours journey into town in the mornings and an hour back again, so plenty of reading gets done then.

And read a book together,how romantic.
    Hmmmn that's an idea alright, but not sure of how successful it might be. She's Polish, and while her english is fine, she just doesn't enjoy reading english books, it's too much of a chore. (I'm working on my Polish, so it might happen yet!)
    Also, don't be together all the time! If you're constantly around each other you'll eventually get pissed off. You can have too much of a good thing!

Good advice. Hmm the theatre, I had been thinking about that. I think we both might enjoy it. I'm embarassed to say I've never actually been to the theatre. As for live music, where's the best place to read up on who's coming to town. Anyone know a good website?

Joe- No offense, but your just not being helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭protos

Reading is good.

Also chess - if neither of you know how to play - learn.
    If one of you know you can teach the other.

Great game, chess !! if you're into gaming its basically the same as a turn based
    Command and Conquer.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

We could start a boards.ie "Wife Swap" evening!!

Each sit with the others missis for an evening.

For friendship... and maybe more...

Does she like anal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

We could start a boards.ie "Wife Swap" evening!!

Each sit with the others missis for an evening.

For friendship... and maybe more...

Heh, can you really see your partner going for that!!! I can't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

Start doing juggling and acrobalance stuff.
    Juggling is something you can do anywhere. With two people you can do passing, etc...
    Acrobalance is really good fun to do with someone else, good for increasing strength and flexability, and can lead to some very interesting positions =0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

protos wrote:
    Reading is good.

Also chess - if neither of you know how to play - learn.
    If one of you know you can teach the other.

Great game, chess !! if you're into gaming its basically the same as a turn based
    Command and Conquer.

Go is more interesting, but it can take people ages to get into it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Well tonight we went for a long walk and then went bowling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I don't partly own a business with anyone, so I don't have a partner or partners. So the answer to the original question is that I do nothing with my partner in the evening, because, and I presume it is the same for most people here, I don't have a partner. Maybe some of you do run a business with others and have time out with them some evenings, but I presume the majority of us don't.

Now, here is a question for everyone: What do you all do with your boyfriend/girlfriend/spouse in the evening?

Lovemaking
    Watching a movie
    Having a romantic candlelit dinner
    Going to the pub
    Going to the cinema
    Taking a walk
    Having a hobby

???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Flukey....
    part·ner Audio pronunciation of "partner" ( P ) Pronunciation Key (pärtnr)
    n.

1. One that is united or associated with another or others in an activity or a sphere of common interest, especially:
    1. A member of a business partnership.
    2. A spouse.
    3. A domestic partner.

4. Either of two persons dancing together.
    5. One of a pair or team in a sport or game, such as tennis or bridge

To the OP, I'm not very familiar with the Balbriggan area so I can't suggest places to visit or local things to do but you could always try photography or painting. A lot of my other suggestions (taking up an instrument etc...) have already been said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

joejoem wrote:
    Does she like anal?

warning. dont be an idiot.

Sorry, too much sugar yesterday............................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

Got myself into trouble for something similar - every time i tried to type ' anal' it came out as 'anal' - them I realised the ' ' button on my omputer was broken. :D

Ann Elk wrote:
    Got myself into trouble for something similar - every time i tried to type ' anal' it came out as 'anal' - them I realised the ' ' button on my omputer was broken. :D

Just a simple slip of the tongue can leave a bad taste in anyones mouth

True Joe Soap, but nevertheless, if someone came up to you with someone else 10 or more years ago and introduced the other person as their partner, the first question you would have asked them would have been "What business are you both in?" The general interpretation of partner has changed in recent times, and people often use it as a way of keeping their actual status with an individual as private, which they are entitled to do.

Language is changing. Another related one is "single". Normally, and still officially, it refers to someone who has never been married. So you can be single and still be going out with someone. Nowadays in general conversation, it has come to mean someone who is not involved in any kind of relationship. We all start off as single and the next step is married, before we can go on to being widowed, divorced or separated. So while you may have a girlfriend or boyfriend and may even be living with them, until you get married, you are still single. So in the reverse effect to partner, if you want to keep secret as to whether you are involved in a relationship or not, saying you are single no longer does so, as people now assume you are not going out with anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Yeah I see what you mean but when I read this thread title I in no way assumed it was anything to do with a business partner, I'm sure very few people did. Anyways, its OT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Start doing juggling and acrobalance stuff.
    Juggling is something you can do anywhere. With two people you can do passing, etc...
    Acrobalance is really good fun to do with someone else, good for increasing strength and flexability, and can lead to some very interesting positions =0)

Now at least we know what gay couples do

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    when I read this thread title I in no way assumed it was anything to do with a business partner, I'm sure very few people did.

Well as you now see, that is my very point. Language is always changing. Another related one is that at one time saying you were going to meet someone had a very innocent meaning. In recent years, although it seems to have receded a bit again, it took on a whole new meaning. For me, I am single - I am not married, I don't have a partner - I am not in business with someone, and I do occasionally meet people - get together with them.