Dublin Bus

• 21-01-2002 01:52PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭

im collecting stories of peoples experiences while traveling on dublin bus.
    Im sure most of you have funny, sad, scary stories from traveling to and from work each day. So move in closer, speak up and share with the group. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Headcase

i was getting the bus from heuston station to O'Connell street one day and the bus hit a taxi. bit of a surprises!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Nitelink.... sitting down the back with bunch of friends, girlfriend beside me, 2 lunatics start rumbling in the seat in front.... I'm sitting there laughin' as they smash glasses over each others heads and kick each other in the face right beside us. I was too drunk to give a shít, quite funny.

There's plenty of other stories - generally it's a loon on the bus.
    A friend's sister, was on the bus when the driver (not his fault) hit a pedestrian, she felt the thump as the body went under the wheels, apparently there was blood all over the wind screen.... the driver was in serious shock :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BattlingCheese

Have a gander at the forum here http://www.busrage.com/

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Having complete strangers pass you a spliff on the 46a is always interesting...

There's nothing funnier than when the driver takes a wrong turn - happened on the 75 on my way to work one morning - it's supposed to go into the industrial estate in Sandyford and he didn't. 50 people screaming what an idiot he is brought an evil sneer to my face :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

On the Nitelink to Ballinteer years ago, just after the service started, about 3a.m. a girl at the front of the bus upstairs decides she can't wait any longer, hikes skirt up, knickers down, and has a nice satisfying shit on the floor. Charmed I'm sure :)

These days it's all knackers hassling anyone black as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

there's a woman on the 150 route who eats here breakfast cereal on the bus in the morning. v.odd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭ramius

33 going through Lusk, narrow road just before turning at murrays pub and the left side of the bus started rubbing against the wall breaking the windows on the upper level, had to ages for another bus to come along to pick up everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭ramius

I heard that it took a bus 3 hours to get from town to clondalkin one day last year,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Apparently on the 75 there's a handicapped guy who gets on every morning and sings the same song over and over (he plays it on his walkman as he sings) for the whole journey, and dances too. Sounds sad, but hey, he's happy :)
    Mate of mine pretended to have some sort of fit upstairs on the last 65 into town one night. Cleared out the entire top floor, while we pi$$ed ourselves laughing.
    Saw a guy pull a cigarette out of the mouth of the biggest scumbag ever. Was all talk, until the scumbag informed him that he was getting out at Pearse St! roflmao :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Figment

brilliant, keep them coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

lol,

This is good shít!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

Between 10 and 12 there's always an influx of OAP's on the 19A, so one day i was headin into college and sat in one of the seats at the front of the bus.. This crowd of oaps get on, and start telling me how the youth of today have no respect for elders and those front seats are exclusively for over 60's.. I was glad when i got to Dcu. Talk about intimidation.. I never sit in the front seats anymore....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Baldy

I remember when i was about 11 my eldest sister and took the bus route which went through Darndale (dont ask me what she was thinking) which has now been cancelled. But as the bus pass a certain knacker encampment (i dont know which one so many to choose from) a brick was hurled through the window and hit a really fat lady. I late found out that that lady was pregnant and had a miscarriage (because of the shock i suppose) which is strange because it hit her in the legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

Single decker travelling on the Malahide road many moons ago. Pulling away from a set of lights, cement chute comes free from the cement truck in front, takes out drivers windscreen and leaves driver and bus showered in glass. After a few minutes to compose himself, driver continues route as normal to the terminus, before taking bus out of service.

As a schoolkid, 27A with driver who didn't know the route. No adults apart from driver on bus. We got him as far as Balgriffin (3 miles wrong direction and heading for Malahide) before some git at a bus stop pointed out the error of our ways.

Oh yes the 33 bus route a quality one. This particular story was told to me by a rush woman i recently made the aquatance of.

The story goes that this lady and two friends were passing between the town of lusk and rush when a drunk managed to crawl upstairs, two or three stops after he got on the bus. Anyway the three were having a laugh when the drunk came up to this lady (Vicky) and started shouting at her to slag him to his face. Whether or not they were is another story. But the drunk emptied his can of Dutch Gold (a quality beer........lies) on Vicky and this started a fight as the bus driver wouldn't move the bus unless the drunk got off so some lads from Lusk bet the head off the drunk yobo until he left quite a funny story wish i had been there :)

Originally posted by Occidental
    Single decker travelling on the Malahide road many moons ago. Pulling away from a set of lights, cement chute comes free from the cement truck in front, takes out drivers windscreen and leaves driver and bus showered in glass. After a few minutes to compose himself, driver continues route as normal to the terminus, before taking bus out of service.

Ah you just cant beat the quality 42/42N route ah i'm going all nostalgic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

And one I forgot.

Old double decker with open platform at the back. Local hardman decides to leave the bus before it reaches the bus stop(this was a common practice, where you jumped and landed running) but just before hitting the ground, he impacts an ESB pole mid-flight. Much to the intrigue of everyone on the platform, we then watched as he slowly slides down the pole(cue Looney Tunes music) and ends up out cold on the ground, with his legs still wrapped around the pole.

what about stuff you have overheard on the bus?

I once caught a bird rubbing her boyfriend on the bus. So as he began to pitch his tent I say aloud "Could you imagine gettin caught giving your boyfriend a **** on the bus" needless to say i laugh my ass off when notice that i had said this to my MALE friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

I always enjoy it when drunk people fall down the flight of steps from the top floor.

Also, i remember one time when i was the one drunk(i think dbc was there too, drunk also), and there was a young woman sitting in front of use reading a book, abd i began to read from the page out loud. dbc was in hysterics while i just sat there with a level toned voice, reading calmly from some book about Celtic Dolmuns or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Architeckt

ah yes drunks fallin down the stairs. the last time I saw that happening he got arrested passing crumlin garda station after blaming everyone else on the bus first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I remember some guy talking unbelievably loudly on his mobile. It was at about 5 o clock when the bus was jammers and everyone was too wrecked and pissed-off to make any noise, so needless to say, he was all we could hear for about 15 mins. Then he goes;

'WHAT? WHAT!? I CAN'T HEAR A WORD YOU'RE SAYING!!'

And the entire top floor of the bus cracked up laughing. Needless to say he got off at the next stop, bright red :D

keep them coming.
    Its all to gather information for an animation that im working on. Here is a rough screen of it.

screen.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Uphamizer

I was cueing up in a shop waiting to buy something as a bus stops outside, the doors open (no bus stop for 2-3 mins) the busdriver bursts out the door, runs into the shop pushes everyone out of the way and buys 20 smokes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Wow, I can't wait to see the animation for Castor's story about the bird crapping on the floor...

A lad i know also pissed in a plastic bag on the bus but he also wet himself in first year. So i dont know if this counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Puck

On the 56a in the morning and evening (when I was going to and from work) there was usually this aould git (about 60/70) who would always cough with his mouth wide open. It was one of those rotten coughs full of phlegm that only old heavy-smokers can manage. Anyway he would never ever cover his mouth and would be all the time it was disgusting.

When I used to get the 77 (always eventful) there awas always this nutter waiting at the bus stop . First he used to just walk up and down with a vacant smile on his face then he'd snap and just start pointing and shouting as if he was arguing with someone. It was a bit freaky at first and I didn't know whether to punch the guy or just edge slowly away from him and wait for the bus. After a while anyway I figured out he was just a bit of a "special case" so I ignored him but you'd see the new people jumping everytime he'd shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

my dad used to be a bus inspector... he kicked me and mates off the bus when we were like, 10 years old miles away from home!

A few weeks ago on my way to work someone rang the bell but the bus didn't stop. Bus driver said bell didn't ring because sign didn't light up. Driver won't stop for passenger. Passenger rings bell again but light doesn't light up. Driver doesn't stop. Passenger hits emergency button and hops off the bus. He didn't even thank the driver either! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Originally posted by Clain
    One evening an old man turned to me and started to give me riddles that would tell me his name (I didn't ask!) They were along the lines of 'I am younger than time, but older than the sea' and such. Nice.
    Must have been Henry Kelly from Going for Gold... sounds like him anyway.

Funniest bus journey for me was when myself and a friend were slugging back on a 2Litre bottle of TK on the upper deck... one thing lead to another, the bottle slipped and fell (open) on the floor and guzzled out 2 litres of the fizzy stuff all over the floor.
    So every time the bus would stop or slow down, we'd see a SEA of TK lemonade swishing past us on the floor, back and forth... by the time we got off the bus, the TK had started to make it's way, slowly, down the stairs to the lower deck. eek :D

Other than that, I've had mostly boring and smelly bus journeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

Originally posted by Clain
    One evening an old man turned to me and started to give me riddles

comicstoreowner.jpg

You must answer me first these riddles three*

*Misquote (i know).