Why do I find an anti-English thread on after hours on a weekly basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Interceptor

If its not the British it would be the Latvians, the Nigerians or the boy racers. We are a nation of village-minded inbreeds whose idea of a national sport is knocking our neighbours on the heads with sticks. OP don't take it personally - try being 'different' in any part of this country and some nob-head will single you out for 'special treatment'.

As for a united Ireland, I don't want one and will continue to vote against it. I have NOTHING in common with anyone north of the border and want nothing to do with them and their 'local' ways. At least English people have nice gardens and are kind to their pets.

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Laguna wrote:
    You talk of Britain as if it's the only nation to opress you. Would you like to look into the fact of the matter that is that Irish immigrants to America for the last four hundred years were treated like DIRT. The Miller beer company, which so proudly advertises itself on RTE, had a well known recruitment policy in the thirties, "No blacks nor Irish need apply"... does that sting? (shhh now, brush that one under the carpet)

So many Irish American lobbyist groups exist in todays America simply because they were ostracised by the rest of the American community. Now if that isn't ****ing opression, tell me otherwise!

At least they didn't take over our country and treat it like dirt! And guess what, the main reason people had to emigrate to America was because of the famine and because of the poor lifestyle and very grim future prospects all as a result of English rule. Now i'm not some idiot who hates English people of today because of what happened in the past so don't start slating me, just responding to this one post.

netwhizkid wrote:
    Umm good question, You could ask a similar question to the people of the former east Germany. So basically to you the most important thing is the economy is it? What about our own kith and kin in the North they too could benefit from the Celtic Tiger (pussycat imo) SIZE]

I'd sort of agree with you there. That's one thing that's always given me great sadness. The North got left as the rest of the country was freed. There must have been so many people heartbroken after years of war and hardship they were left behind while the rest of the country celebrated. Wouldn't work though, It would be much too difficult to have the north and south united as one country, too many problems that wouldn't get sorted,mostly because of stubborn and uncompromising people. I doubt we'll see a united Ireland in our lifetime. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I'm not sure what depresses me more: having to read the misinformed bull**** spouted in this thread or the fact that some people seem to believe it.

nesf wrote:
    I'm not sure what depresses me more: having to read the misinformed bull**** spouted in this thread or the fact that some people seem to believe it.

Why not enlighten us all with your superior knowledge on the subject and put us all right. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I saw a brilliant quote on this very site a while back - someone said: If you have a cancerous part of your body, do you:
    a) Cut it off, keeping the rest of your body as healthy as it can be and be happy
    or
    b) Refuse to cut off part of your body, hugging it as your own, let the cancer spread and die a painful death.

This applies to Northern Ireland.

And English people are great craic - every time I've been to England in the last 5 years it's been great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Laguna wrote:
    if any reference to English history other than the occupation was actually taught in Irish schools then some of you may feel a little more enlightened,

2 More thoughts on a similar vein.

1. Irish history isnt mentioned at all during English history classes in secondary school - hence the blank looks you will get from an English person whose never been to Ireland before when they first hear of 800 years of opression.

2. During those 800 years it was fairly common for Irish regiments to be imported to England to oppress the English on behalf of the English Establishment - funnily enough you dont see English people with a chip on their shoulder about it.

On a similar theme the same people who hate the English will quite happily like the Welsh and Scottish - however I guarantee you they did more than their fair share of opression of the Irish too.

Hate the English Establishment of the 10th-19th centuries if you must (lifes to short tbh) dont hate the average englishman who 100 years ago wasnt that much better off than the average Irishman.

Yes Ireland got the rough end of English colonialism (so arguably did france - and for longer - and they have a far smaller chip) but it generally had some good points too. Its not a fluke that a large proportion of the worlds strongest ( economically, politically) nations are English speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

deisedevil wrote:
    Why not enlighten us all with your superior knowledge on the subject and put us all right. :D

It's not my job and I really couldn't be bothered to educate people on this. Mainly it's people making lovely sweeping statements about our history without knowing **** all about it that bugs me. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    Don't forget the Liverpool + Rangers connection dudes.

Have seen many of those combined scarves on the terraces and on the streets of Belfast.

A fact conveniently glossed over by English-hating, Liverpool-supporting Irish pr*cks.

There is no conection...this is simply Protestant/Unionist people who support Rangers and Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

jcoote wrote:
    your fighting a losing battle

its just bred into irish people to hate the british

i see where your coming from but its just a part of culture and fair enough its 2005 but people aren't changing i this one...

Thats a crock tbh.

I wasn't brought up to "hate" anyone. How is it "bred" into people? My parents don't hate British people, or anyone else for that matter. Neither do I. I don't know how you can possibly argue that it is bred into us to have hatred for anyone. Sure, you can carry notions of "bloody Brits, look what they did to us for 800 long years" bigotry around if you want, but its fairly redundant and has been for some time. We aren't taught in school to be intolerant or to hate the British, and (most, I hope) parents don't instill Anglophobic notions in their children, so you are most definitely wrong about that.

Most of my dads siblings emigrated to the UK in the 60s/70s and are still there to this day. They're all Irish of course, but their own children would consider themselves British. Should we hate them?

I think that there are some people in Ireland who will begrudge the UK and maintain bitterness towards its people out of some misguided loyalty to Ireland. Ireland and the UK have, generally speaking, a very good working relationship now in terms of importing, exporting, education, politics. Our cultures are very similar. I quite like the UK actually, we can learn a lot from the UK just as they can learn a lot from us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

Lemlin wrote:
    I don't think its an inferiority complex.

It is an inferiority complex. Or a persecution complex at best. :rolleyes:

Jesus, what is wrong with some of the dullards on this board? Apart from the odd but of jovial 'auld-enemy' anti-English rhetoric, there's vurtually no ill-will against English people in Ireland at all these days. You're as bad as you're trying to paint us out to be. Grow up and cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

kstanl wrote:
    Jesus, what is wrong with some of the dullards on this board? Apart from the odd but of jovial 'auld-enemy' anti-English rhetoric, there's vurtually no ill-will against English people in Ireland at all these days. You're as bad as you're trying to paint us out to be. Grow up and cop on.

My neighbour's father died last weekend. He lived in Newcastle all his life. I presume you're delighted that there's one less English person alive. I'll be sure to pass on your 'ill-will' to his family. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭dil999

Lemlin wrote:
    Well, if you'd like a definite figure, 1171 was the year that King Henry crossed the Irish Sea. Ireland declared itself a Republic in 1949. That's 778 years so I guess 800 would be the best estimate.

My Family's decendants came over with King Henry in 1171. Does that make me English? Actually come to think of it they were originally Normans. We've been hating the wrong country for the last 834 years. Its the French we should be hating. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I'll sum up my views..... GIVE US BACK OUR COUNTRY.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Clap, Clap Clap.

"Give Ireland back to the Irish, Don't make them have to take it away"
    John Lennon - a well known peace advocate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

kstanl wrote:
    You're the one that needs to cop on. Of course there's ill will in Ireland against English people. Do you know any English people who live here? If you do, ask them. If you don't, well; you're hardly going to believe what some randomer on the internet says.
    The only person who could believe that here was no ill will in this country against the English is a person who feells no ill will himself towards the English and has the old rose tinted glasses on or thinks that all us Irish people are lovely and we live in the land of the Cead Mile Failte. We don't.
    If you are the kind of Irish person who doesn't hate the English, you won't see it, because you'll think everyone is as sensible as you and is living in the present, rather than the past. Yes, bad things were done in the past. No, I have no wish to suggest that anyone whose family went through it at the hands of the Black and Tans or whoever should just forget it. But unless you come face to face with David Loyd George (who is of course dead and was a Welshman, fer gawd's sake) the individual English people you meet had nothing to do with that.
    If you are an Irish person who hates the English, you will know there's ill will against the English and see nothing wrong withit, because "Sure everyone hates them"
    If you are an English person in Ireland, you'll know there's ill will because you will have had it directed at you. I know a fair few English peope who live here and I've seen it with my own eyes, while I've been in their company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

deisedevil wrote:

Well for a start the people of West Germany resent the east germans after re-unification, for the exact same reasons that would prevail here. West Germany had a booming economy which has been dragged down by having to support a whole new country that they didnt want in the first place. Exactly what would happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,557 ✭✭✭✭Alun

If you are an English person in Ireland, you'll know there's ill will because you will have had it directed at you. I know a fair few English peope who live here and I've seen it with my own eyes, while I've been in their company.
    Do you mean me? I've been here for 5 years now, and have never had a bad thing said against me due to my being English, never, not once.

Possibly if you come over as being largely ignorant of the last 800 years of Irish history, which a lot of English people, and it has to be said, predominantly the younger generation, do, then yes, I can understand that you might get some Irish people's backs up, but otherwise, no I don't believe it exists to the degree you cite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Alun wrote:
    Do you mean me? I've been here for 5 years now, and have never had a bad thing said against me due to my being English, never, not once.

your a lucky man,i moved over here in my teens and the abuse i got was bad as soon as i opened my mouth i was called english this english that up thr ira,but in school the teachers were as bad as the students i kid you not,but to be fair over the last 15 or so years i have been living here i`ve noticed a big change in attitudes,for the better i might add

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

On the Appalling/Facinating See-Saw this thread just about tips towards facinating.

Note to some Nationalism is a negative thing, Patriotism is a positive thing. Even if the latter is often used and abused as cover for the former.

I'm Engerlish and have lived here most of my life including all my senior education. I have'nt been abused for my country of origin and I lived with a couple of republicans in the 80s when the hunger strikes were still fresh in the memory. They treated me a human not an oppressive Brit.

Common abuse of someone because of thier accent or nationality is the lowest of the low in social discourse and reflects very badly on the civic pride of those commit the offence. If ones best responce to someone is to
    attack them for being the wrong colour/religion/nationality you have clearly
    a long road to travel before becoming a truely civilised human being.

Hagar you live in France so you must know about colonial oppression and instituional racism, would you be equally hostile towards your hosts and thier history?

Mike.

Lump wrote:
    I'll sum up my views..... GIVE US BACK OUR COUNTRY.

John

White City is the name of a song on the Pogues fourth LP, Peace And Love.

mike65 wrote:
    Note to some Nationalism is a negative thing.

I have no problem with nationalism.
    However I despise negative nationalism which is practised by many Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I agree Mike 65, But to be honest there will always for the next generations anyway a feeling of distrust towards Britain and sour feeling, They caused the deaths of millions of Irish People and caused countless more to leave. A United Ireland would really help to heal the rift. (we still have a reason to hate them remember)

netwhizkid wrote:
    I agree Mike 65, But to be honest there will always for the next generations anyway a feeling of distrust towards Britain and sour feeling, They caused the deaths of millions of Irish People and caused countless more to leave. A United Ireland would really help to heal the rift. (we still have a reason to hate them remember)

Even if Ireland was united, people would still hate England and English people.

Hey netwizkid - did 7/7 make you happy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

mike65 wrote:
    Hagar you live in France so you must know about colonial oppression and instituional racism, would you be equally hostile towards your hosts and thier history?

Yeah the French don't exactly have a great track record either to be honest. Thers is racism here against the Arabs but its low key, no street attacks or the like. But I must say as soon as people here find out that you are Irish and not English they treat you a whole lot differently, for the better I might add. This has been my experience where-ever I have travelled and I'm sure other people have found the same.

Why is that I wonder? Is there something in the English make-up that raises peoples hackles?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Laguna wrote:
    This man tells it like it is. The fact is, the English establishment up until after WW2, treated their own people abominably, if any reference to English history other than the occupation was actually taught in Irish schools then some of you may feel a little more enlightened, Buddha style. Look at how the English catholics were treated in the 16th century in England... oh you didn't know about that, you weren't indoctrin....ahem.. taught

In all fairness, why would we want to lean a general history of england? We have a very long history in this country and alot relates to england, english history would be enough to add on another year or two to the school term.

I did not read all 3 pages of this post as i don't have the time or the inclination. I think when people attack england verbaly, they attack the country and what it stood for and not all the people in general. Although I have met quite a few english people in my time that when they were drunk like to refer to ireland as a colonly. One case was in oz when a guy refered to irish people in australia as colonists living in another of the british empires colonys.

I not an england fan, although not directly affected by british rule I still think that people are allowed to hold onto bitterness for a while. 800 years is a long time and all cannot be expected to be forgive and forget after 90 years espically when 6 country belonging to the country are still not.

I know that last paragraph makes me sound like a prick but i do belive in a united ireland but only in a peacefull way. Anyway, its all words on here, if you don't like it, don't read it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Hagar wrote:
    Yeah the French don't exactly have a great track record either to be honest. Thers is racism here against the Arabs but its low key, no street attacks or the like. But I must say as soon as people here find out that you are Irish and not English they treat you a whole lot differently, for the better I might add. This has been my experience where-ever I have travelled and I'm sure other peolple have found the same.

Why is that I wonder? Is there something in the English make-up that raises peoples hackles?

I found the same in a lot of place i've been. Being irish is a passport in itself in a lot of countries. Espically in France for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    Hey netwizkid - did 7/7 make you happy?

Absolutely not, I never condone Terrorism. Irish people could have been killed in that attack, If Al Qaeda want to make a point why don't they do so peacefully and democratically as the IRA and Sinn Fein have chosen to do so. It is perposturous to think that people were satisfied with the 7/7 attacks but unfortunately people were and it is this mindset that must change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

netwhizkid wrote:
    If Al Qaeda want to make a point why don't they do so peacefully and democratically as the IRA and Sinn Fein have chosen to do so.

Maybe it will take them a few more years before they get to the part of the IRA/ SF manual that says 'Now you've still not achived anything, stop killing people now and do things peacfully and democratically'.