Nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Never was a fan of niteclubs either.... I am a very keen music fan,.., and I only like to listen to decent music.. chart filled audiovomit is not my cup of tea. I would even go as far as to say,. if the music is ****e thats my nite pretty much ruined.
    I prefer to look at a club as an extension of the drinking hours, not for pulling or dancing or anything like that. I have no problem with anyone who wants to do that, in fact fair play, I wouldnt have the guts to walk up to somebody I didnt know, and chat them up :o !
    I only find it fun when I am with a big group of mates. Other than that, it's back to someone's house after a the pub for a kebab and a few tinnies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

I hate clubs. Give me a nice pub any day, but clubs? Oh no, no sir, not at all.

yep. clubs are too loud and too expensive. its uncomfortable, theres no where to sit, you cant hear yourself let alone anyone else, and all you do is drink warm alcohol quickly and spend far too much money.

on the other hand, you can go to a nice pub, preferably without music, chat witht the people you want to, be comfortable, not stand around gawping at other people who are standing around gawping, and you you dont spend a fortune.

clubs are essentially for groups of desperate people who are trying to score, or for people who just love to dance.
    i am neither.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,772 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

I'm wondering how this could be a personal issue for anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

simple go to nightclubs that have actual dance music on and dance,... if you want to drink go to a pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

was a big nightclub person :) dont drink but just went out and went mad on the dancefloor like most people did, good times :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Totally been there man! The only cure is red bull and vodka. Gets ya giddy and a bit cheeky too!!

I've been getting into late bars much more. They're gud craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Pjays

I hated clubs in the beginning. i was forever losing people and having to listen to bad music and have excessively drunk guys come on to you. i much prefered my good old pub. unfortunately when yoou're in college it's more about the club than the pub so i had to give it a chance. so i did and went from a dance hater to a dance lover. you just have to give it time and if you're bored and lost you can just chat to anyone. they'll be so drunk you'll probABLY HAVE A GREAT conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

used to not like clubs myself but do now. u have to be fairly drunk going in tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dutchboy

Totally agree that you need to be a bit giddy and at least tipsy to have a laugh in a club if ur not a dancer!

I am also one of those people who tends to wander around aimlessly!

Clubs are great for improving the use of body language though!

Went to traffic last nite to meet some of the lads....never again, migraine inducing bass , naked guys dancing on stage and so many posers! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

Shabadu wrote:
    Oh I love a nice pub and a pint. Maybe a sit down. Comfy seats. Cosy lighting. Quiet enough music to have a good natter with friends, but loud enough that you can all sing along like lunatics when an excellent song appears. Friendly bar staff that remember your gang's drink order.

Nightclubs had their place in my life once, but my nights out are few and far between, and precious to me. As a result, I prefer to spend them in the company of good friends.

Couldnt have said it better!!! I used to love clubs too - went twice a week and use to be a podium dancer 3 years ago in them, but ive had enough! Ill go about once every 3-4 months now but much rather a gang in a good pub, no pushing and shovin and queues for the toilets!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Eh yes, this doesn't seem to be a PI really. Moved to AHhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I am not a music fan, can't dance and don't drink.

So as you can imagine pubs and clubs are not really my cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

cooker3 wrote:
    I am not a music fan, can't dance and don't drink.

So as you can imagine pubs and clubs are not really my cup of tea.

Bingo could be fun!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Larianne wrote:
    Bongo could be fan!! :)

Say something helpfull.
    Niteclub = place for people with very little imagination or interests(especially if they find losing your hearing interesting).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I find clubs a great night out, whether I'm drinking or not. In most places its hard to talk to people because of how loud the music is but in some clubs they've a quite area.
    As for finding someone to talk to, just go out to the smoking area, even if you don't smoke it's still a great place to get talking to someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭*Angel*

I like clubs, although it does getting annoying sometimes when you can't hear people talk and losing people is another little problem.

Say something helpfull.

Bingo is becoming more popular with young people, mainly women. So it could be a good place to meet people.

Niteclub = place for people with very little imagination or interests(especially if they find losing your hearing interesting).

Well that's if you don't like dancing. If I go to a nightclub it's for the music and to dance. If the musics crap I won't stay. If I meet people out it's a bonus. Although I haven't met many decent guys out in clubs. They seem to all just want a quick shag! Pubs are much better for meeting people I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Larianne wrote:
    Bingo could be fun!! :)

I used to play bingo years ago when I was young, used to win continually, it was a great way of making money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Yeah I'm totally with you here! Any time I meet someone new in college it's "are you going out tonight?". Well, I don't usually drink because it makes me feel like utter **** and also some addictive tendencies that I'd like to nip in the bud, so I wouldn't be able to tolerate ****e music, try to talk to a bunch of incoherent people over the noise, spend all of my money on drink and look for some foundation-clad blonde-highlights braindead girl so I can prove my manhood.

I do love going to gigs though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Used to practially live in nite clubs years ago but the novelty wears off as you get older IMO

Places like The Mezz, The Village and Crawdaddy would be good places to go to. Even though they have bands playing, ya can usually find a quieter corner to have a chat.

And the music is normally funky enough to dance to too!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Yeah the Mezz is nice.

How bout the Hideout? Play pool. Since ya don't like dancing or music that seems to be the only obvious place that springs to my unimaginative mind...

SebtheBum wrote:
    Yeah the Mezz is nice.

How bout the Hideout? Play pool. Since ya don't like dancing or music that seems to be the only obvious place that springs to my unimaginative mind...
    Where's The Hideout??

Actually if yez are looking for somewhere to go tonight, there's a good band playing in the Mezz. Good funky music. :)

Larianne wrote:
    Where's The Hideout??

Actually if yez are looking for somewhere to go tonight, there's a good band playing in the Mezz. Good funky music. :)
    Stuck out in Lucan, worse luck...

Anyway The Hideout near the Powerscourt hotel (or something) but its the opposite Mrs Fantasia and down the road from Lemon. It's on a street running parallel with Grafton and Georges St, between the two.

I think.

SebtheBum wrote:

Anyway The Hideout near the Powerscourt hotel (or something) but its the opposite Mrs Fantasia and down the road from Lemon. It's on a street running parallel with Grafton and Georges St, between the two.

I think.

Powerscourt Townhouse. So along the same street as Dakota and Spy. Is it a secret Hideout? I've never heard of it before.

Nah, tis not secret. It's just a small pool place, 6 tables or so. There's a much better pool hall in Rathmines, but the Hideout is the only one I know of in the city centre (I'm sure there are others, I just don't know where they are).

It's a laugh for doing something before drinking. Or after drinking. Or in-between drinking. Whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

SebtheBum wrote:
    Nah, tis not secret. It's just a small pool place, 6 tables or so. There's a much better pool hall in Rathmines, but the Hideout is the only one I know of in the city centre (I'm sure there are others, I just don't know where they are).

It's a laugh for doing something before drinking. Or after drinking. Or in-between drinking. Whatever.

The Hideout only has 6 pool tables now?!Last time I was there(around 2 years ago) they had around 14 i think!

Oh I know the place you're talking about in Rathmines, the place beside Tramcos that used to be a dive but is now revamped?Can't remember the name now...it'll come to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I like clubs, but I really cant stand clubs that play regurgitated chart music. One late bar/club I used to end up going to a lot would play some songs twice in the same night...wtf like?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

What's with all this "i'm a good looking bloke, but i can't pull in clubs to save my life, i hate clubs."

Clubs are good if you wanna pull a minger/average looking girl. But if u only try to pull the fittest birds in the place, prepare to get BURNT!!!! Relax your usual standards a bit and don't be shy to move in for the kill or (no matter how good looking you are) you'll go home empty handed. Who knows, you might meet a cool-out bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

What's with all this "i'm a good looking bloke, but i can't pull in clubs to save my life, i hate clubs."

The poster had a question and was looking for feedback, very popular around these parts.