Eddie Hobbs

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Mangler wrote:
    I bet my mate a tenner that some retard would answer with that quote

the Irish are so predictable

besides i am a Paddy , I am from this Island looks like I am stuck here :D

and now banned for a direct personal insult.

bah, irish infighting. no wonder the irish have never been good at work domination...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

adonis wrote:
    Artists don't work tax-free because berties daughter is a writer. And i doubt that the government have setup those tax breaks just to oblige berties daughter, it seems a little far-fetched.

of course artists should be allowed to practice their art tax-free. How are they expected to live/practice their art if they arent allowed to live tax free.
    However, i dont know how rich boyzone/U2 and Westlife are due to tax relief. Im sure its more to do with the fact that they have all sold shed upon shed upon shed loads of albums and singles, aswell as selling out tours worldwide.

Exactly. Anyway tours, advertising, promotions etc are not tax-free - only the direct sale (royalties) of their work is. Cut this tax-break and artists will just pìss off to another country and we will be no better off in any way at all.

OK, it certainly benefits some people who are already super-rich, but if it gives a chance to emerging artists then it is worth it IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Flashman wrote:
    Hobbs was also implicated in the disappearance of this money, though he has yet to be charged with anything.

Was he? Who implicated him? And don't you think the fact that he hasn't been charged tell you something?

My understanding of that situation was that he had resigned and reported any wrongdoing he was aware off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Just out of curiosity... jonny68, Viscosity, are ye Fianna Fáil? If not, have ye been employed to support the smear campaign or something?

No im not Fianna Fail,voted SF the last election but probably wouldn't vote for them again will vote Independent next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Viscosity

Just out of curiosity... jonny68, Viscosity, are ye Fianna Fáil? If not, have ye been employed to support the smear campaign or something?

Well its funny that you say that, I'm Jackie Healy Rae !!!!!! :rolleyes:

No I'd heard all the TAM stuff a few years ago when Show me the money was on. My main beef with Eddie is the fact that he has created an army of bar-counter economists that will bore us to death until 2007, then vote FF anyway!!!

Personally I'm quite happy with the current government, despite their flaws. I'm don't think a change in govt to a pick'n'mix of god knows who just for the sake of it would be beneficial. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Viscosity wrote:
    My main beef with Eddie is the fact that he has created an army of bar-counter economists that will bore us to death until 2007, then vote FF anyway!!!

They've always existed tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,259 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Viscosity wrote:
    Personally I'm quite happy with the current government, despite their flaws. I'm don't think a change in govt to a pick'n'mix of god knows who just for the sake of it would be beneficial. ;)

Yes the current one is doing so well, riding the economic wave. Or is that taking us for a ride... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Flashman wrote:
    Hobbs was also implicated in the disappearance of this money, though he has yet to be charged with anything.
    This is pure fiction, and your post is potentially libellous. I would strongly recommend that you remove it immediately.

If you actually want the truth about Eddie Hobbs & Tony Taylor, check out this post from Askaboutmoney.com which reviewed this issue some weeks back. Of course, the truth isn't half as exciting or glamourous as fictional character slurs, but never let the truth get in the way of a good posting, eh Flashman?

Yes the current one is doing so well, riding the economic wave. Or is that taking us for a ride... :)

Whats the alternative ? If you think you're getting rode now wait until the collective misery merchants get in.

I'm amazed at how a collective amnesia has descended on many people about how far this country has come over the last number of years. I firmly believe that we've never had it so good, maybe its just me. :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Viscosity wrote:
    I firmly believe that we've never had it so good, maybe its just me. :confused::D
    Not sure who "we" are here, and that's the problem.
    The economy sure has done well, but the redistribution of wealth is a sham... and the latest UN reports prove it.
    http://www.finfacts.com/irelandbusinessnews/publish/article_10003188.shtml
    Some people really have never had it so good.
    However, others have never had it so bad.

Viscosity wrote:
    Whats the alternative ? If you think you're getting rode now wait until the collective misery merchants get in.

I'm amazed at how a collective amnesia has descended on many people about how far this country has come over the last number of years. I firmly believe that we've never had it so good, maybe its just me. :confused::D

Depends how you are getting on I guess. For example, if you can afford to pay through the nose for everything like, private health care and the high price of everything then its grand. However if you are living the rat race struggling to make ends meet then its a different story. I think Ireland was a nicer place a few years back, and lots of services are worse than ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Basically, the way i look at it is that the 'Celtic Tiger' only really happened for big business. They may have made an absolute mint over the past few years but the PAYE worker is still roughly in the same position he always was.

Difference now is that the average Joe is now given the impression that if he doesn't have X,Y and Z the there's something wrong with him, because ,hey, the Irish economy is booming ;) . So people borrow and drive themselves deeper into debt because they feel the need to have to for some reason.

All this increased spending makes us look like a prospering nation, when in reality we're all spending money we don't have. The 'Celtic Tiger' was a myth, created to make us spend more to give the illusion of a thriving economy in order to attract multinational investment, problem now is that the arse has fallen out of it and the multinationals are leaving.

Depends how you are getting on I guess. For example, if you can afford to pay through the nose for everything like, private health care and the high price of everything then its grand. However if you are living the rat race struggling to make ends meet then its a different story. I think Ireland was a nicer place a few years back, and lots of services are worse than ever.

Lads of course the vast majority of people find it hard to make ends meet, its all relative I suppose. But don't you think there are far more opportunities for people to get ahead in life than there were not so long ago. Maybe I've caught Angelas Ashes syndrome but I remember the 80s and early 90s as being hellish. Every country has its problems, I'm not saying things are perfect but they could be a hell of alot worse. :)

Alot of what is happening is down to the consumer though.

If you are willing to pay 20 quid for product/service X, then the manufactuerer or provider will charge 25 quid and see can they get away with it, which in this country they usually do.

However, the suggestion that people combat this by not using the service/buying the product simply does not work because people need these products and services.

It's a vicious circle of greed that, unfortunately, will be difficult to end because people have very little real power to effect this kind of thing.

People say that things could be better with a change of government but i think replacing one set of crooks and liars with another set isn't going to change a thing.

Alot of what is happening is down to the consumer though.

If you are willing to pay 20 quid for product/service X, then the manufactuerer or provider will charge 25 quid and see can they get away with it, which in this country they usually do.

However, the suggestion that people combat this by not using the service/buying the product simply does not work because people need these products and services.

It's a vicious circle of greed that, unfortunately, will be difficult to end because people have very little real power to effect this kind of thing.

People say that things could be better with a change of government but i think replacing one set of crooks and liars with another set isn't going to change a thing.

Well said.

The main aim of anyone in business is to minimise the customers consumer surplus. ie the difference between what the customer was willing to pay and what they actually paid. I don't think anyone can have a problem with that unless there are barriers to entry to the market for new suppliers, which we all know exist.

Take for instance the uproar over the recent hike in petrol prices. One garage in Limerick was 1.37 per litre and got slated for it. The owner of the station can charge 2.37 per litre if they think motorists would be willing to pay that amount, as long as its clearly displayed of course !.

(To be honest I think he might have got a rough deal, theres a good chance that he could be paying 1.29 per litre to the oil company.) ;)

Viscosity wrote:
    Lads of course the vast majority of people find it hard to make ends meet, its all relative I suppose. But don't you think there are far more opportunities for people to get ahead in life than there were not so long ago. Maybe I've caught Angelas Ashes syndrome but I remember the 80s and early 90s as being hellish. Every country has its problems, I'm not saying things are perfect but they could be a hell of alot worse. :)

Its like the man falling off the empire state building, "..everythings ok so far..."

As a small example, the transport system/network, health service are abysmal for the amount of "our" money that goes into them. its used to be that people had to wait hours on a trolly because there were no beds. Now you can't get a trolly. How is that better? Commuting takes hours and hours longer than it used to. How is that better? The trains are overcrowed, how is that better? All services and goods have increased by more than people incomes. How is that better?

After many years of the celtic tiger, you still saying "vast majority of people find it hard to make ends meet" . There must be a problem with that. Where is all this money going? The public services don't have it, people don't have it, where is it?

In relation to the petrol price hike, i heard an interesting story today (secondhand admittidly, so take it with a pinch of salt if you wish).

Basically the situation was that the owner of a Shell franchise (his pumps where selling Shell petrol, but the shop portion of his station was his if you get my meaning), was charging 1.37/litre and the fully Shell owned servce station down the road was charging 1.21/litre.

The owner of the franchise explained that Shell where selling him his petrol at a rate of 1.25/litre so he was being forced to charge more to make a profit (admitidly he was still making a tidy profit, but that's not the point i'm trying to make).

The idea here was that Shell aren't making any money of that guys shop/deli/newstand he has in his service station so they are simplytrying to run him out of business by deliberatly making his business less competitive, there by making themselves the only supplier in that area, meaning they will get all of the business.

It's business i know, but it's skirting monopolyesque territory. Sad thing is that the way this country operates, this kind of thing can and will happen.

After many years of the celtic tiger, you still saying "vast majority of people find it hard to make ends meet" . There must be a problem with that. Where is all this money going? The public services don't have it, people don't have it, where is it?

The money has gone back to the multinationals parent countries and to other big business interests. Or it's been pissed away on projects that the current government undertook so that they'd be remembered, such as:

-The National Aquatic Centre - the roof blew off and now it's leaking water, there's talk of scrapping it, cost of millions

-The Port Tunnel - gave the developers a blank cheque, it was built too small to fit containers that have been in use since the early 90's on the continent, had to be fixed as a result, cost of hundreds of millions)

-The Millenium Spire - finished after the turn of the millenium, ugly, waste of space and money, costs hundreds of thousands to keep clean, serves absolutely no purpose, could be seen as a monument to the decedance and stupidity of the 'Celtic Tiger' era.

-The Luas - Nice idea, the two lines aren't connected unlike any other light rail system in the rest of the western world, ran over budget, get crashed into on a nearly daily basis because of idiotic traffic layouts and complete lack of formal driving education in this country

-The GAA- my personal favourite. Last year the GAA received 40 million from the government. This was intended to pay for the upgrading of Croke Park, which the GAA claim was completed at a price less than that. They kept the balance. Plus they receive more every year from the Government than the FAI even thought they do not compete on a global stage like the Irish team have to. Count in the personal donations that the GAA receive from businesses and individuals, and the sponsorship of teams, product endorsement ,etc. All tax free of course. Homeless people are dying on the streets and 400+ people a year commit suicide (which could potenially be remedied if they had a properly funded organisation to turn to, or maybe not, i'm not an expert and will never claim to be), but at least we have a well funded sports body controlling our national sport.

But not paying the players for their time and effort of course. :D

Our government is full of vested interests and cute hoors (excuse my french). And yet we'll all be suprised when scandals are revealed in the newpapers in years to come.

We're as much to blame for letting them lead us down the garden path.

And what can we do?

Absolutely fudging nothing!

When you elect these people you are giving them the right to decide how you will live your life. There's no such thing as 'government by the people, for the people'. Once someone is elected they are essentially above and beyond your average man on the street and can then decide how he lives his life.

Phew. Long rant, thanks to the grand total of no-one who bothered to read it :) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Flashman

If you actually want the truth about Eddie Hobbs & Tony Taylor, check out this post from Askaboutmoney.com which reviewed this issue some weeks back. Of course, the truth isn't half as exciting or glamourous as fictional character slurs, but never let the truth get in the way of a good posting, eh Flashman

The thread you point to seems to contain very little in the way of evidence disproving Hobbs' involvement, and could hardly be considered to contain the "truth" about the situation. I don't believe the truth will ever come to light at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Flashman. I would appreciate if you did not post material that could get this site sued.

I appreciate your point, but the problem is there was nothing proven and because of that it could be construed as libel. That could get boards.ie sued.

I will not allow anything like that on this forum.

Please let the matter drop quietly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Flashman wrote:
    The thread you point to seems to contain very little in the way of evidence disproving Hobbs' involvement, and could hardly be considered to contain the "truth" about the situation. I don't believe the truth will ever come to light at this stage.
    You seem to misunderstand the fundamental basis of our legal system - innocent, until proven guilty.

For example, if I was to post that Flashman frequently flashes his genitals around in public parks on Friday evenings, would you then have to post details of your alibi for every Friday evening for the last 20 years in order to disprove my unsupported allegation? Of course not - it's a ridiculous situation.

There is no obligation on EH or anyone else to disprove anything unless someone brings up evidence of a crime in the first place. There is no such evidence. To flash around phrases like 'Hobbs was also implicated in the disappearance of this money' which bear no relation to the reality of the situation without any supporting evidence extremely sleazy. To fail to withdraw the comment having had an opportunity to reflect on this is slimy slug-like behaviour. You should give the Sunday World a call - you would make a fine tabloid journalist.

To complain that the AAM thread has 'very little in the way of evidence' by comparision to your vague, unsupported allegations is ironic in the extreme. Have the decency to support or withdraw your allegation.