Debs waste of money??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

my debs was a pile of sh!te. the dinner was horrible, dessert was worse. I didnt like most of the people in my year which didnt help. the DJ was an idiot and the hotel threw us out at 3am

the problem with mine stemmed from the organising commitee was made up of the Pretty Popular Clique, who organised it the way they wanted it. And then they spent the evening of the debs commenting on everyone else, and I just wanted to deck them all....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭butters scotch

at first i thought so and then i went and really enjoyed myself. so i think it was worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

If you're going, just don't spend money on the unnecessary things (limo, silver tuxedo, etc.) because you'll feel like you wasted it afterwards.
    Mine was enjoyable... the food was like plane food, they had a band at the beginning of the night with the musical talent of a pineapple, drinks were expensive... but other than that we had fun. Though I wouldn't call it a night to remember and I wouldn't pay that kind of money again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I think a lot of people (especially girls) think that their Debs is meant to be really amazing, but in fact it's just an overpriced night out with nicer clothes. How did your tickets cost €200? Ours were €80 and we're going to an expensive place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

Chubb76 wrote:
    well mine was by far the worse nite of my life..
    By far? You must've had a pretty cushy life ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭ando

w.a.i.s.t of m.o.n.€.y and t.i.m.e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i believe the debs was invented because adults think that their children should have at least one traumatic experience before they hit 18.

they anxiously await it for 6 years, get all dressed up and then they expect it to be some wonderful fantastic experience. then they get there, get a crap meal, get pissed and emotional because they haven't learned to handle drink yet, puke, fight, go off with other peoples dates, tear their tuxes and lose the deposits, etc, etc. then they come home 200+ euro worse off. it should be made a capital offence to mention the word debs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭RVN10

Waltons wrote:
    By far? You must've had a pretty cushy life ;)

No mate i dont , but i was expecting a good nite for wat i paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭GUBU

I didn't go to my debs (about a month ago) so I can't speak from experience, but from what I heard it was a quiet night, and about a third of the people in our year didn't go. The OP is absolutely right about the expense, that was one thing that really put me off (as well as the general hassle of it all). Leaving Cert results night is much better, and cheaper. There's no pressure or formality, usually everyone gravitates to the same place for a pint or two as they're either celebrating or drowning their sorrows and it's the last real chance to see people again before going off to college/work/travel etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

My debs is tomorrow night. Im sure there'll be one or two but i expect the most can hold theyre drink. It'll be the final blowout before the summer ends so everyone will be in good spirits. I know its expensive enough but big deal, money comes and goes. Also life is what ya make of it, so if you have a **** night, be it because of too much to drink/to quiet/just didnt have fun its your own fault. Dont be expecting other people to make your party awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

mines in two weeks. not particularly looking forward to it altho it should be a good night. my friends [girls] are talking about it non stop its really frustrating! some of them have spent a ridiculous amont of money on dresses etc. like E500 and up! I've bought the whole outfit [dress, shoes, bag] for E150 and the girls who've spent the 500 on the dress are really pissed coz their dress is really quite average for the outrageous price they paid for it! wheras mine was a bargain [brown thomas sale=yipee] and is fab!!
    i dont think the debs is a pile of crap but i do think its a waste of money. Its like some communions nowadays where people are gettin into debt for that one day!! And it always seems to be the people who really cant afford it to be the ones who get stung...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

My debs dress was made for me for free so the only expense I incurred was the material which cost about £30, my shoes were a tenner, my hair cost £8 to do and the tickets. Even at that it still wasnt worth it

well from mine experience mine was sh1ite and a waste of money preffered to spend it on something more worthwile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I didn't have one.
    It was down to me, and the other prefects in my year to organise it, but we were too lazy.

Good thing too, cause we were getting crazy quotes for feck all.

well it was my choice to go to mine hoping for a laugh but no didnt happen like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Well it's a long time ago now, but I didn't even go to my Debs. They have less relevance now. At one time it would have been one of the first times that people would have gone out socially, but of course in the modern day, that is far from the case.

well id advice people never go to a debs in the clare inn because that place is a whole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭jamiecake

debs is one of the best night u can have after leaving cert result night fool... there are not many times u will see most of your class mates once ye all go different ways!!

more friends follow, at times, better friends! and there will usually be a debs of some description after each stage of your life!! grad, work do's etc etc

START ENJOYING THINGS!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

I know of a girl my age (just started 5th year) who has already bought a debs dress...for her own debs in two years' time. And it was something like €2000. Such silliness.

2000euro!!!!!!!!!!!!!! no way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

I'm debating whether or not to go to mine now. Seems like an expensive and ultimately crappy night out.

If I do go I think it's pretty safe to say I won't be getting any of this extra crap like a limo and try to keep the affair under 200.

You Wont Just To Let You Know Everyone Says That

grimloch wrote:
    I'm debating whether or not to go to mine now. Seems like an expensive and ultimately crappy night out.

go! if not you'll regret it ...then again ya still might if ya do go but its better to regret something you did than something you didnt dont ya think??

In other news, my date for the night has fúcked off to outer mongolia or somewhere for the year and isnt gonna come with me!
    now i gotta go find someone else ....uch such effort :p
    accepting offers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

You don't have to go with anyone, alot of people who go with someone end up separating for most of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭natter

Tiffany wrote:
    You don't have to go with anyone, alot of people who go with someone end up separating for most of the night.

Couldnt agree more. At my debs my date got sick (not from drink but was sick the few days beforehand) and had to go home after the meal and it made the night for me. Like he was a lovely fella and everything but I just got to have so much more fun and enjoy myself properly without having to worry about him for the night.

As for paying €200 for tickets, you would want to be going to some seriously top notch place for that. Ours cost €40 for 2 as far as I remember and no1 even checked we had them on the way in! If you got all dressed up and just chanced your arm you would have gotten in anyway.

this happened at the tullow debs th other night!! my friends were goin to it so we all met in pub beforehand and 2 of the lads and one of the girls were like god if only we could go. At 11.30 that night i got a pic msg from one of the girls [who was meant to be at it] and sure low and behold werent the 2lads in suits and the girl in a fab dress at the fecking yoke!! They're gonna try the next one on monday and then mine on 2 weeks! what chancers!!