Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Modding

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,600 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

You know very well who's the psycho...
    Come on I spent ages giving you my .wav files of me and AngelWhore...

"EXTERMINATE EXTERMINATE"

...but still, I suppose it'd be good to hear your sexy voice too :D
    Oh, and I want my green mouldy socks back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

How 'bout me and Angelwhore do a rock soundtrack!

/me headbangs numetal.gif

Need any more mappers to work on the mod?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Originally posted by RopeDrink
    You know very well who's the psycho...
    Come on I spent ages giving you my .wav files of me and AngelWhore...

"EXTERMINATE EXTERMINATE"

...but still, I suppose it'd be good to hear your sexy voice too :D
    Oh, and I want my green mouldy socks back...

um I can't.....the mould finaly desintigrated them completely....I came in one night and there they were a pile of green dust on te floor.

As for you and angel....OMG you fecking nutt!!!

Rope sends me this file of him and angel...."here ya go ][cE listen to this"

"What is it?"

"Me and angel spanking each other"

/me runs wav file and hears from tape....

"EEEEEIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Lyconix

I'm not sure which C++ books are good Iceman, and you'd be best off with a good book rather than an online guide, but I did find some tutorials at www.cpp-home.com :)

As for the mod, it sounds cool but the historical accuracy aspect of it scares me :/ I find that its usually easier to make something when you don't have to model it exactly around something else with no major discrepancies... but then again, there are so many Half-Life mods out there now that its hard to come up with something original anymore :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Any chance we can just get a list organised as to who can do what?
    Please put down what you are capable of doing so we can get a list organised. Only sign up for this if you are REALLY. I mean this is gonna be some serious work. If your doing some kind of exam you should think long and HARD about it, and then just forget it altogether. Chances are though that we are gonna have to do ALOT of R&D for the moment, and I believe the general consensus is to use the Torc Engine when it becomes available, but I can't really speak for everyone, so lets get some opinions here also ;)

Finally the issue of Civil War Ireland VS. Ireland vs. England scenario was never discussed.

Civil War Ireland
    For:
    Get to kill people.
    Get to use local/old settings.
    Cool Culchie voices on both sides ;)

Against:
    Feels moderately pointless killing your own side.
    Killing Irish people (may give rise to some issues.)

Ireland Vs. England
    For:
    Get to kill the English.
    Get to kill people.
    Get to use local/old settings.
    Cool culchie voice on the Irish side ;)

Against:
    Have to kill the English (may give rise to some issues).
    Irritating smug voice.

All in all, its touchy ground whichever way you go, its up to personal preference, me personally, I'd dislike going the Ireland VS. England way, as I have alot of English friends, and its a bad time which people dont like to drag up again, but then if its done tastefully like as in Michael Collins, and sticks to the truth as closely as possible...well I dunno, I leave it out to the forum to discuss.

Ivan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

ever played hidden and dangerous?
    the english voices in that are cool

"your mission starts here.. primary goal... "

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,600 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

I happen to be English...

...Im going to leave the café now, before I get extremely serious, and start ranting... Have a nice day.

You see this was exactly what I was talking about.
    But you know, it would be best to have an Englishman on the team if we did decide to do the Ireland Vs. England scene, mind, you'd prob get a load of abuse for it.

In fairness, what about DoD, you dont mind that the German side kills Allies (of which the English were a large portion of?).
    Just cos their all yankie accents etc, but instead of walking off all steamed, give us a reason why we shouldnt do it. I mean, I REALLY dont want to offend people, but it IS part of our history.
    "If you forget the mistakes of the past, you are doomed to repeat them"

I dunno, perhaps its still a little too close to home for some people, maybe the whole concept is a little personel for most people but what can I say. This was the type of idea that was suggested.

Feel free to suggest more ideas.

Ivan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Logik135

I don't even live remotely close to either countires (Ireland or England). And I am not going to pretend to know what life is like in either of them. But I do know that the gaming industry gets alot of crap when it comes to violence in gaming. Hell, after the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center towers in New York City the media immediately pointed to Microsoft Flight Simulator as the way the terrorists trained to fly jetliners (which by the way is not true and unlikely in the first place). Like I said, I am not going to pretend like I know what life is like over there, but I hear that their is a distaste between some groups/organizations in Ireland and England. If this is true then I would absolutely suggest against the Ireland vs. England idea. It's like sticking a knife in an open wound.

I don't know anything about the Ireland civil war, but what about creating the game around a fictional plot based in a non-fictional time period and place? Sort of like the millions of games that use medieval Eurpoe as a place and time and use dragons and magic as a plot.

Just a suggestion.

No I didn't take it seriously, it's just I've had abuse hurled at me for quite some time, and it's not like I've been part of any of the scuffles between these two countries...

One thing that gets my goat, though, is that so many things have been released recently that portray the English as utter heartless bastárdo's, like "BraveHeart", "The Patriot" (Mel Gibson must truly hate English Guts), and many Irish Films (Obviously).

It's understandable, really, but not many films give us any credit... We're not THAT bad :D

I dont have any problem with this mod either, if anything, I want to help. It's just try not to get too hooked up on "The English are 'this', 'that' and 'the other', and must be killed right now!" It wouldn't look right...

Well actually sod it, kill them all - It's not my mod, but I'll tell you something - If I get to make a few maps for it, you can be sure that they're going to be tough as nails :D

Have you ever seen the movie "Snatch"? I don't know if it was released in Europe or not. But it's a very good movie. It does sort of make the English out to seem as though they think that they are better than the Irish "gypsies" in the movie. But you have to take things lighthearted like that. Especially in movies. And with the movie "The Patriot", it was based on an actual event in history. And you have to think, it was made for US audiences mainly. Who in the US is going to watch a movie where the US is the bad guy?

By the way. What does "sod it" mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

Originally posted by Logik135
    Have you ever seen the movie "Snatch"? I don't know if it was released in Europe or not. But it's a very good movie. It does sort of make the English out to seem as though they think that they are better than the Irish "gypsies" in the movie.

Aye it's a great movie, more light-hearted i think than lock stock (another one of guy richie's films). And the gypsies weren't quite irish tho, i forget the full quote, have to watch it when i get home at the weekend.

By the way. What does "sod it" mean?

Sod it: To give up, to "feck it", or "nuts to that". English slang, usually said when something is either too hard to do or too undesirable.

If you get my meaning.

Arent we a little off topic here?

Where have all the potiential mappers gone, why havent they added their opinion?

In my books the question still stands -

Ireland Vs. England
    or
    Ireland Vs. Ireland Civil War type thing.

Yeah, it's spiralling off topic...

Right so... I was always fond of the thoughts of inside war, or civil war or whatnot... The whole Them v Us gets a little boring, with Mod's such as DoD and likes already out...

Let's make this an "Inside" job, seeing as (as far as I know) it hasn't truly been done yet (In half-life anyway)...

Of course, it's not up to us really, tis up to Ro0n4n|R4v3n, so we can only give our support and opinions and/or criticisms, so here's some...

I assume it's all based in Irelandais, so what would be the setting / location - We'll all need a basic idea if we are to make level designs or maps... Considering the step back in time for the mod, we'll need a little history lesson and figure out weapons and the like... lol, maybe the basic weapon could be a pitchfork or something :D

Decide on:
    Enemy + Enemy Skins
    Weapons
    Locations
    Map Details / Preferances / Ammount of maps wanted
    Custom Sounds (Yes, we can all get together and create some corny accents yayayayayay fun etc etc)

Brain... seeping... can't... think... any... ...more... ...*gack*

Well the idea of the mod needs to be decided before anything can be made. I would cast a vote for Ireland Civil War. Then a story line needs to be developed. There should be a set of guidelines for everyone to follow so that the game doesn't look like a bunch of different people with different programs from different places all added their two cents and slapped it together. Then the workload needs to be distributed to the proper people. Modelers and level makers first. The models of characters should all probably be done by one person so that they are the same style. Everyone has their own idea of what something should look like. The level designers should all have a set of guidelines to work with so they don't confilct with each other. And at least one modeler, if not more, should make objects to place in the levels such as barrels, haystacks, buckets, tress, etc. The good thing about this being a mod is that it won't be for sale. That means that if a few corners need to be cut then some free\public domain models can be used (public domain and royalty free sounds are also very abundant at flashkit.com). Daz3d.com offers a weekly free model. This weeks' was a pot bellied stove which looked very nice and could maybe fit into the time period nicely. Then the texture mapping needs to be done to the levels and models and made ready for insertion into the program. Programming will also need to be done, but since the Torc Interactive DB Engine will be used it is going to be 6 months before the coders can get to see it. 9 months before it is finished. This should give plenty of time to have a story line completed and some of the work done on models and levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

not sure about 2 and 3, but quake 1 is open source, could be handy for learning ?

Nice contribution Logic...

Also, the way I see it, your right about contrasting opinions / maps and models, but one thing goes in our favour - Torc's engine is being used, and there's a possibility they'll be able to filter ANY type of .map file into the engine, so that whatever program people are used to using (So long as they support this format) should be compatible - Which means we may not have to adapt to the gtk or Quake mapping tools to make valid / compatible maps for this mod...

Also, we'll need to get the history books out if were going to have a story line remotely close to past history... Unless we want a custom storyline!? Might not be bad in some places within the game - Could add a few nice twists and turns here and there!?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

space zombie aliens

Space Zombie Aliens with Pitchforks...

And sandals.
    Pitchfork carrying Space Zombie Aliens© are nothing without sandals.

Quake 1 is open source, so are the others.
    But they are very different to HL code so I wouldnt really bother.
    The best thing is to dl the HL SDK and some Mods with open code, or else just some snippet of code and cut them to bits. See how they work and where they fit together.

It takes a while but I think we have it, personally though, I'd like to get some kind of access to some Torc code, to find out exactly what we are going to be modding. It might be nice to realise both Game and Mod together, but I dont know if they'll agree to having a rather big security risk before realising their game. Its their call. Even still, if only to get access to some of their snippets or their Tech Demo.

The general time period I suppose would be around 1900, or perhaps something more modern. The civil war aspect is much later, about the idea of spicing it up with some fictional aspects, this might sound good in theory however I personally feel that the most important aspect of Half-Life, Counterstrike, DoD, TFC is their realism. This may not be as evident at first, but examine each of those games and you'll see what I mean.

If it were to be a single player mod then I'd love to do the whole thing spread out over a long time period, however we're making a multiplayer game, and those games that attempt to do a great multiplayer and singleplayer usually end up doing mediocre in both.

Pitch fork as the primary weapon, then where the heck do you keep your gun? I mean ffs, a SAS troop, carrying a knife, handgun, machine gun, grenades and spare ammo, would be pretty tricky. But a guy with a machine gun, hand gun, maybe a grenade or two, and a Pitchfork....well, re:That Realism bit back there.

I'm reasonably well up on this issue, but alot of people are in college and have access to huge libraries, and of course the internet is another huge source. Added to this the poor saps doing the L.C who have to actually study the horrible stuff...all I can say is...Nah, nah, nah, nah, nah!!

Btw, I'm going to write up a begining list, not of skills just a list of people who wish to contribute: If your name is here and you dont want it to be and vice versa, mail/Pm someone about it.

Dbc
    Logik135
    ][ceman
    Lyconix
    -=Raven=-
    Drake
    Zaphod
    Kyro
    Da bounca?
    Danny
    Robbo's L33t Fr3inds
    Jazz
    Syxpak?
    Thrax

? - Denotes an unsure.
    This is not alphabetically although it COULD be sorted based on importance/superiority. [No Comment]

How's bout we all mail/pm/txt Ronan|Raven (ooh, the spam)
    so he can get a Mailing list sorted out?
    This is a question NOT a statement, do not start spam mailing the poor guy already. Wait till he decides what to do (and possibly sets up a dedicated email for it)

Seeming as no one else seems to have voted for the Ireland Vs. England side (For ph33r of being labelled a hate-mongering-racist) I guess we're going with Civil War (yet to be confirmed).

Christmas is upon and so are the holidays, a Good and a Bad thing in one package. Holidays but no/lack of net access now for me and others so :(

The important people have my phone number so txt me or something, to keep me up to date, please?

I think thats everything, other than to say Happy Christmas and Happy new Year and...Bah, Humbug!!...

:cool:

Ivan .has left the building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Anyway sorry for lack of updates/decisions lately but im very very very very busy in colelge atm with exams and projects :(

More than likely were going for the Civil War Idea :)

If anyone who is interested and willing to work on this then mail me at raven996@yahoo.com please dont abuse it as im sure some of ye will!! and if ye do I will find ye :P

Just state your skill(s), how good you are and current situation i.e. working,college, professional layabout!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

So no chance of an antient times MOD like Lord of the rings with CT/T as Fellowship v Orcs etc.

Only they don't all have weapon chioce - more where each character gets like 1 weapon per price range ie. 4 or so weapons and you pick the character depending on the weapons you like. Also means that people can't pick up weapons that aren't designed for them....just an idea.

You could put it in areas such as ye olden style castles eg. UT/QUAKE or in open forests etc.

I think it would be a great idea personaly - you'd get a LOT of BOOK fanatics looking to get a copy. We can charge for the game initialy to pay for our new base of operations and design ][cEMAN Inc. *ahem* I mean ...whatever we want to call ourselves hehehehe.

Would mean that we could actually work to do something we WANT to do rather than our own jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭ThrAx

how about vehicles and flyin machines that u can fly and drive? Or a war game where u can drive the tanks and vehicles and play as different classes? You could expand the cs vehicle code for that.

If you decide to change the theme entirely how about a team based game where you play one of a number of different gangs in a futuristing city a la The Fifth Element or Blade Runner. Flying cars could be used and more than 2 teams at a time could fight for territory. The team that captures the most territory before a certain time limit wins. there could be other variations of gameplay also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Personally i think the civil war idea is much better there is alot of room for plot also the sides shall be able to be equal in armanent since they are all the same nationality we wont have the R4c1s/v\ problems plus as a sap who did history for lc coughA1cough i know there is alot of room to expand the idea there was a good few battles/pub brawls that took place eh just my thoughts btw i`ll map and ur what else cirocis the wonder dog ends up getting me to do :D

Lads you can count me in for testing, but as for programming, lol i have trouble with java.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

I used to do some simple Q2 modding before, well I was interested anyways.
    Would be on for lending any coding assistance I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Kenjd

Just reading about the mod. Sounds great and I hope it gets off the ground. I have done some basic mapping but my programming is confined to VB.
    I can do textures...well i can use Corel TEXTURE BATCHER 9 if that is any use!! I'll check it out and see can I use it for games ..almost sure you can!
    I wouldnt mind the chance to playtest cos i'll know what to do if it f**ks up my pc.. lol (2 years Tech. Support!)

On a slightly different subject I was going to do a course in 3D Studio Max in The Temple Bar Arts Center. Does anyone know about this course and is it any use?? Its about £300 for 8 weeks, 1 or 2 nights a week. If anyone knows anything about this could you post here or mail me cos I dont want to waste my time.

Cheers :)

There's always room for a helping hand, whatever your skills are, although it really is up to Ronan|Raven and his "Right Hand Men" If he's got any :D

Our good capitane shall be away this week (Ronan = Going to Roscommon) so until his return, this project may not be discussed for sometime...

Make sure you keep posting though guys - we haven't made an official start yet, but when we do we'll need a definate list of who'll be contributing towards the making of this project.

Also, check the new announcement - Pretty corny, huh!? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Originally posted by RopeDrink
    "Right Hand Men"

That sounds ominous.

What do these "Right Hand Men" actually do? and do they have to right handed?

-Teh drake

[EDIT] OMG 4 PAGES?! AND NOTHINGS STARTED YET?

/|\
    / \

[/EDIT]