Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

DCU Legends

• 26-03-2005 12:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭

For those who wanted a positive topic. Dcu may be pretty generally apathetic and dull, but it is undeniably populated by the odd legend or two. phylis the canteen wrap lady was nominated in another topic, so let's hear some more:

here's mine. there's a first year who's in his sixties at least. fair ****ing ****s to the guy. hope he sticks at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Is he the guy with the big beard and loads of hair?

We were singing "Heigh Ho" from Snow White one day after class, just generally messing and the next thing he walked around the corner ... We were afraid he'd think we were singing it at him.

Ray the Security guy was pretty legendary for a few weeks ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭thefuturehead

ha!

no,that's not him. this guy looks as old as he probably is. but i know beard guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

yer one in spar with the mad perm is a legend, in a bad way.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Not to put a downer on the Legend Thread and all, but like, the lads here can get into trouble if anyone reads that.. personal slander or something.

Anyhoo,I nominate the hot bar staff. For being hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

ah, phylis... "Are ya sure ya dont want every sorta meat on your roll?"

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Dublin's Finest

Three cheers for Phyllis...

Hurrah, Hurooo, Hurraaay!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

L5 wrote:
    yer one in spar with the mad perm is a legend, in a bad way.

Ooo, I know her! She's a bitch! The guy with the mad hair is alright though - takes it with good humour when I get by him (he stands at the door sometimes - I'm from St. Aidan's next door so I'm not allowed in...)

NoelRock wrote:
    Ooo, I know her! She's a bitch! The guy with the mad hair is alright though - takes it with good humour when I get by him (he stands at the door sometimes - I'm from St. Aidan's next door so I'm not allowed in...)

seriously? didn't think spar would be refusing any business, in my opinion they'll overcharge anyone!

getting back on topic...
    does anyone remember the security video we saw in first year? a real dcu legend is the guy who jumped on top of the car and got hit by the barrier... :D made me giggle.
    also giggled when ferdy von prondsinski (or however ya spell it) fell down the stairs during my orientation week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

NoelRock wrote:
    I'm from St. Aidan's next door so I'm not allowed in...
    What the hell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

rugbug86 wrote:
    getting back on topic...
    does anyone remember the security video we saw in first year? a real dcu legend is the guy who jumped on top of the car and got hit by the barrier... :D made me giggle.
    also giggled when ferdy von prondsinski (or however ya spell it) fell down the stairs during my orientation week.

The video where they tried to steal the bench was pretty funny, also the one with yer man who just walked over the car to get in :)

The one with the fire in the stadium seemd funny at the time till the woman decided to tell us 40 people died in it :confused:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

The fourth year who stole a front wheel of a bike, went to another bike that was chained at the front wheel, and took it away, and then reconnected the first stolen wheel. Good times. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Jesjes wrote:
    The fourth year who stole a front wheel of a bike, went to another bike that was chained at the front wheel, and took it away, and then reconnected the first stolen wheel. Good times. :)

Nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 katnip

This is probably a legend of the story variety...but has anyone ever seen the supposed infamous cctv footage from the time when the SU used to run the bar in DCU? And because of what was on it, the SU were banned from running the bar ever again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

katnip wrote:
    This is probably a legend of the story variety...but has anyone ever seen the supposed infamous cctv footage from the time when the SU used to run the bar in DCU? And because of what was on it, the SU were banned from running the bar ever again?

sounds like it must have been fun... everyone knows the penalty for having fun..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

katnip wrote:
    What allegedly was allegedly on the alleged video?

They probably spat in the drinks or reused old leftover beer or something.

Katnip, tell us jus in case I am wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Jesjes wrote:
    They probably spat in the drinks or reused old leftover beer or something.
    Many /most places do that, including the current bar, the spitting thing (if true) is a lot worse though :\

Igy wrote:
    Many /most places do that, including the current bar, the spitting thing (if true) is a lot worse though :\

Most people read my post on the matter....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Serial lurker i'm afraid, i'd forgotten about your other thread?
    t'was the italian guy wasnt it? (in the other thread?)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,493 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

I'm very close to deleting this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Hester

I thought I'd resurrect this thread instead of starting a new one :)

I just noticed the thread in the Trinity forum about this cool Japanese guy that's been around the college forever... And I studied in UCD for a while and there's a homeless guy around there who apparently saved a girl from being attacked.

There's got to be some equivalent in DCU. Surely we have legends better than the staff in spar?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Doubt it. Though I wouldn't really call the spar staff legends either...

those 2 humanities lecturers, jim and bob i think, the couple. have to have a mention!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭verdidnt

I can remember a good story from my days in DCU. Apparently there was a student who was living on campus. Anyhoo, one night he headed into town where he got completley plastered. So he tries to make his way back to DCU. He finds himself in front of a huge gate which he promptly scales, assuming it was the ballymun road entrance to the college. He makes it to the other side but no further and falls asleep just over the gate.

The next morning he wakes up in the Botanic Gardens wondering how the hell he got there! Classic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

Theres an undercover nerd, who i think works for the computer blah blah blah's(not sure what its called), who fines people for disobaying thoses signs on the wall in computer labs:
    no eating
    no games ect ect...
    and one day i was eating in one of the computer labs and he came in and caught me and demanded my student card or 40 euro or something. Him being an undercover nerd, i told him to go to well you know where, and he went and gone and called the policia, and had me escorted off the campus!!
    What a legend! hahha!! Oh if i find him!!!!

UCD have a libriarian called Libocop and i've had similar experiences from the stories ive heard from UCD students in the DCU library with a certain member of staff, she is slowly becoming libocop, but in a female form.
    I call her Librettecop.... a dcu legend is born!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Amz wrote:
    Is he the guy with the big beard and loads of hair?

We were singing "Heigh Ho" from Snow White one day after class, just generally messing and the next thing he walked around the corner ... We were afraid he'd think we were singing it at him.

Ray the Security guy was pretty legendary for a few weeks ...

He was a fourth year CA last year, he is now a CA graduate, or at least will be when we graduate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Draupnir wrote:
    He was a fourth year CA last year, he is now a CA graduate, or at least will be when we graduate.

Oh hahahaha - I know who you're talking about, and I don't even go there yet :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Good auld William, what a space cadet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭bullock

All time ledgend of college ... Got to be the Matrix! He's a guy that was doing Physics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

How bout "Kevin The Friendly Security Guard" from Res...the only one of those things that wouldnt fine you on the spot for breathing loudlu after 12...

There is one of the canteen staff thats as tight as 2p. She always works at the till and nearly goes poking your food to see if you've got anything hidden there.

She's really mean. I remember this guy in front of me got a big portion from the chef and she wanted to charge double. She even went up with his plate and gave out to the chef. Come on woman .... Get a life. Your ownly a pawn over there. Stop over charging students ..... You not getting any bonus's for that!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

a guy known as egg, he's bit of a legend.. people who were at a res party 2 or 3 years ago, in front of the canteen, might remember him as the guy who tore off his own underwear to win some random prize in a contest he wasnt even in.

Thats sooo funny. There really is some idiots in DCU.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

A certain maths lecturer for sencond year engineering.

He is the Funniest F**ker i have ever met.
    You learn cause if you don't know the answer he will ridicule you :)

He picks names from the roll and asks them a questions, One day this Guy was absent and he asked his friends where the guy was. They told them he was off buying a present for his girlfriend so jerry got his mobile number and rang him then and there in the class. He didn't answer but it would have been hilarious.
    Lecturer wrote:
    C'mon folks, its not like i'm asking you to go out and have sex with a Donkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭BleakestH

UCD have a libriarian called Libocop
    That guy is a total asshat, believe me.

Wow! Ive yet to meet an asshat!

Would that lecture operate under the initials M??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Ishmael wrote:
    A certain maths lecturer for sencond year engineering.

He is the Funniest F**ker i have ever met.
    You learn cause if you don't know the answer he will ridicule you :)

He picks names from the roll and asks them a questions, One day this Guy was absent and he asked his friends where the guy was. They told them he was off buying a present for his girlfriend so jerry got his mobile number and rang him then and there in the class. He didn't answer but it would have been hilarious.

I was in that lecture too, what was even better was that I failed maths that year and had to have him all over again for another year. :rolleyes: :)

The next lecture was even better, because the guy was there and he remembered to ask if he was present. He spent about 10 minutes talking about his girlfriend, and proceeded to slag the **** out of the present the guy bought. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 PunkAnderson

That lecturer hasn't a clue. he's anything but a legend! if he stopped making so many jokes he might have time to actually lecture. and he's a crap lecturer anyway. also keeping the class in until the hour is bad too. i failed maths cos of that idiot and his "jokes" :mad:

No, you failed Maths because when it comes to the test, he never tells you anything that "might" even come up, and then marks it pretty toughly.

The way to pass that test is nail the first half of the paper (when I did it we had two seperate lecturers for the two sections, dunno if its still the same). The first half is the easier anyway, less chance of choosing the wrong method when you're just asked to find the partial derivatives of a function.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

just saw this thread now

i think Mags would have to be a DCU legend. she used to work in the SU offices beside the old pool room

stuffing the pool tables with paper was often the only way poor stundents could get a few games of pool in - seeing her coming at you, knowing that you're caught was one scary experience!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 poskat

That lecturer hasn't a clue. he's anything but a legend!
    hes good if you know how to deal with him! he actually breaks down all the maths to its simplest form. hes better than the two lecturers we had before him anyway!

One bit of advice to 2nd year maths people, learn your Laplace and definately Z-Transforms. Knowing them well makes Signals in 3rd year a fair bit easier. If you know Fourier stuff well as well, you'll fly through signals.

Most peoples problem is that they dont, they're just happy to get past 2nd year Maths and think "thank god.....no more stand alone maths modules anymore".

That lecturer hasn't a clue. he's anything but a legend! if he stopped making so many jokes he might have time to actually lecture. and he's a crap lecturer anyway. also keeping the class in until the hour is bad too. i failed maths cos of that idiot and his "jokes" :mad:
    He's an awful lecturer but he does HUNDREDS of examples and at least shows you how to do the exam...

He screwed us over this year by COMPLETLY changing the exam, left off nearly all the Laplace Transforms he put on all the other exams since 2003... the exam was very similar to 2002 which was different to the others...

He lives beside where I work now so I get to see him all the time... Yay for me... :(