Chuggers - "charity muggers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

'Chuggers' are HINDERING in the long-term
    Bogger77 wrote:
    Can you prove that ? If not, withdraw it as it's leaving Boards.ie open to a lawsuit.

I've tried to remove it to avoid any possible legal implications where Boards.ie is concerned as my source is a former employee and I only have her word for it. However I've edited the post once and for some reason can't edit any of my posts in this topic, otherwise it'd be gone as a safety precaution. Could you remove it from your post? We all know what information you're referring to at this stage.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

i live in the city center, most days i have to leave before 8 to get to work outside the city center so i dont have to worry, however coming home is like running a gauntlet. there was 8 or so outside clery's chugging for concern. the first one was a guy he started to approach me so i glared at him like i wanted to eat his spleen. he left me be. but the next one was this fairly cute girl and she was all cheerful at me, i politely as possible told her to **** off. but it didnt stop there about 3 meters further another girl had a go at me. apparently im an ignorant savage who should walk a few miles in the shoes of the people the charity tries to help. so i less than politely told her to **** off, if your so worked up about it go do aid work in africa and leave me the **** alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

They are a pox on the country and here is why.

A few years back I was going to do one of those charity walks (I forget the charity). I had planned to even pay a percentage of the chartiy money for my walk (as I could afford it no bother then). The first day at the induction the first thing the woman organising told us was to take out a pen and paper and list out in detail everyone we knew and how much money you think they had.

She then went through the list telling how much money we could extract off each one. To give an example I have a relation marked who I know is pretty well off. I mention to her I can contact them and they would probably give me 100 quid or so. She said "no, no, no" then proceeded to tell me in detail how I could hit them for a couple of grand if they could afford that. I was pretty shocked that the tatics amounted to nothing more then extortion. I quit after the first day after seeing how underhanded it was. She pretty much harrassed me to come back into the group but I refused.

Others I knew in the group who went through it I watched they hit up friends for x10 the amount they would normally donate. Quite a few people were pissed off at the amount of begging (which is what it amounted to).

Now the chuggers I see the exact same thing. They don't give a toss about the charity. All they care about is how they get paid and how much they can milk off people. I've worked for street collecting charities and it was never as bad as those (although I did it voluntary).

Also it gets annoying saying your not intrested over and over everytime you walk into town. With collections at least it was only for 1-3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Fun with chuggers: http://www.firstscience.com/SITE/editor/075_ramblings_22102004.asp

I like the last paragraph the best:
    But the key distinction is between giving to charity and giving to chuggers. Chugging is predicated on economics, not philanthropy. The poor hapless soul pounding the pavements with clipboard and direct debit form probably only heard of the charity that morning when they went to the job agency. And yet by the way they talk about it to you, you would think the world might possibly end if you don't hand over the readies on the spot. Not that it has anything to do with them getting fired if they don't meet their 'direct debit forms filled in' targets I'm sure. I often wake up with a burning desire to help my fellow man. I'm sure they do to.

No, the best course of action is to superglue your wallet to your leg. Plead insanity. And then visit their website and give directly. Cut out the middleman.

No chuggers allowed.

Got it?

there is of course the alternate approach if you have a spare half hour, i might try it on my way home from work tonight.

ask them in detail about the charity, where the money goes, even what famous people support it. ANYTHING. just talk to them for as long as possible, agree with them and when it comes time to sign on the dotted line you say.......'no thanks, i just wanted you to know what it was like to have someone waste your time'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Blush_01 wrote:
    I take it by kids with bad skin you mean Debra Ireland? Those children don't just have bad skin, hon. They rub their fingers together and the skin comes off. They swallow and the lining of their throat gets ripped by the food or liquid they're forcing down. They suffer terribly with constipation because every time they have a bowel movement they don't just exctrete faeces but also the lining of their back passage. They can't sleep because every time they roll over their skin tears. They can never be hugged properly, because their skin will tear. They're called the butterfly children because their skin is as fragile as a butterfly's wing. I'd hardly call that "bad skin". Some sufferers survive past childhood, but it's rare. Last year two kids were born with EB in Dublin - one of them fought to survive for 8 weeks, and then died. I saw the other one twice in the same week. Between the forst and second time I saw her she had completely split the skin on the palm of her hand. Those kids live in constant agony. After a few years so much scar tissue builds up in their throats that they not only have to have their throats distended but they have to have a gastro-bag fitted. Without pain relief, because their chests are too weak to survive the anesthetic. It can take up to 6 hours each day to change the bandages on a child with EB. Those bandages cost approximately €60,000 annually. Kids with EB regularly can't walk because when they start to crawl their skin comes off so instead they try to walk. When that happens the skin comes off their feet. So by the age of one their feet are generally raw and the skin will no longer grow back.

Watch "The Boy Whose Skin Fell Off". It's a Channel 4 documentary that RTE showed at midnight a few weeks ago, and it's about EB.

"Kids with bad skin" doesn't even cover it. Do some research before you start to diss a cause you obviously know nothing about.

Yeah, I know a little about Debra Ireland, if you must know. I had a chugger lecture me on it a couple of months ago. I listened to him for 15 minutes, and at the end of his speech, emotive though it was, I was no more inclined to give him money. I actually had about four people come up to me as I was listening, asking me if I wanted to get away from him. If I recall correctly, there are only a handful of these kids in Ireland, correct?

Well, as cold as it may sound, my money will therefore save lives more efficiently if it goes to some other charity where it is used for food for starving people. The EB kids lives are not in immediate mortal danger in the same way that many of the people concern helps are.
    £60,000 a year on bandages? That could feed a hell of a lot of people. Those kids may live in pain, but so do the famished, and seeing as how equal value is placed on all human life, I'd rather use money to save a greater numer of lives. You know, greater good, etc.
    Actually, I think "kids with bad skin" does 'cover it' quite aptly.

"They're called the butterfly children because their skin is as fragile as a butterfly's wing."

That **** is so ****ing sensational, and if you want my advice, you should leave that kind of ****e out when you're trying to get money from people. Leave out all that guilt-trip-inducing embellishment, because it doesnt endear you to the potential donor, trust me.
    Also, don't call people you don't know "hon". Ever. It's exactly that kind of condescending tone that everyone hates about chuggers.
    You say you had to smile 8 hours a day for 5 days? Why? That is so idiotic, that bouncy, bubbly attitude the chuggers display. Did it ever occur to you that if you tried being a bit more serious in manner, people wouldn't take you for such phoneys?

I had these two female chuggers try to hustle me in a really underhand way the other day in blackrock. One comes up with the other and says:

chug#1: "Hey, she is really tiny isn't she?
    Me: "Uh, yeah, I guess, way to rub it in though!"
    chug#1: (To chug#2:) "What height are you anyway?"
    chug#2: "Ummm...."
    chug#1: "What height would you say she is?"
    Me: "Heh, dunno, 5'3?"
    chug#1: "yeah, she looks really young, doesnt she?
    Me: "Emmm, yeah, I suppose so..."
    chug#1: (to chug#2:) "How old are you anyway?"
    chug#2: "Well, I'm 20"
    chug#2: (to me:) "How old are you then?"

I said to them: "Yes, I'm 18 which means I can sign up to your DD form, but I don't have time to talk to you so I'm not going to sign."
    What kind of a sly way is that to try to get people to donate to charity?

I can empathise with you in that you were harassed on the streets and there was nothing you could do about it; you're job required you to be polite at all times. But just think about the people who have the meek personalities, who are harassed by chuggers everyday. The truly callous people who don't give a **** are the ones who remain untroubled by chuggers, yet the people with manners, and with real consciences are the ones who get targeted for exploitment, and are torn up about it.
    It sickens me that you got 12euro per hour to harass people on the street, when you knew full well that most of the money would not even get as far as helping the actual people in need. Well, at least you get that holier-than-thou attitude though, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

MAKECHUGGERSHISTORY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I just cant believe all the complaints here.
    So many post saying how they were stopped and nearly forced to give money.... utter nonsense.
    You do not have to stop. A simple "no" or nod of the head as your walking by always should suffice.
    Problem solved.
    As I've put in the other thread about Chuggers, its the Charities who employ them as they are a valauable source of revenue.
    Also - chuggers arent the only people earning a good wage out of it - Charities themselves pay many of their own staff good money. They want a good skilled workforce too you know.
    I think the whole chugger thing is blown out of proportion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

whiskeyman wrote:
    You do not have to stop. A simple "no" or nod of the head as your walking by always should suffice.
    Problem solved.

For the most part yes, but some of them will stand in front of you. Generally a "No thank you" suffices but not all the time.

I never said that Debra was any worthier than any other charity. I have a charity that means a lot to me and it'll always get my attention first, but that doesn't mean that Debra is less or more worthy a charity. A personal connection to something will make you want to support it. I just think that awareness needs to be raised about some things. Debra is one of them. To appreciate it you need to see it, in my opinion. Listening to someone tell you about it doesn't cut the mustard.

I apologise about the hon thing. It's a habit, be it good, bad or indifferent. I've had it since secondary school, just like my art teacher and the woman in the café where I ate my lunch at work call people duckie. I didn't mean it to be condescending.

As for the phoney thing - that's their problem. When I worked I was genuine. I couldn't do something like that without believing in what I was doing, regardless of what anyone else says or does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

grimloch wrote:
    but some of them will stand in front of you.
    I'm pretty sure its in a code that they can not block a persons path.
    If they do, report them to the charity they represent or the Gardaí.

I know I'm coming across pro-chugger, but dont get me wrong. If this method is used incorrectly, I'd come down very heavy on the company / chugger / charity involved.

Maybe an idea would be to have "Chugger Zones" - the same way you cant trade in all open areas in the city... you have to have a licence.
    Perhaps chalk off an area of the street where chuggers can operate, leaving the rest free :)
    Might have "Chugger Free-Zones" declared too.
    Actually, I serious about this the more I think about it.
    Certain streets / areas should have them banned, the same way busking / street vending is banned too.

That'd work, because you need a permit to be in the area. Our day-to-day locations depended on where we had permits for.

they had chugger zones in germany during the 1940's, i like your idea and i think we should get it going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Stephen wrote:
    MAKECHUGGERSHISTORY
    Put that on a t-shirt and you'll make a fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭comad

While it's on my mind, the guys who ask you if you wan't to do a 'free personality test' are Scientologists. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

Me and my mates did it one day. Oh freaky as hell. They try sell you this book too and tell you that you are chronically depressed all this **** and that the book will redeem you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭familyguy

Personally, I have never beeen "harassed" by a chugger. I have never been followed down the street by one, nor has one ever continued talking to me after I expressed that I didn't want to donate.
    If you have a problem with chuggers, complaining to them about it won't help. Tell the charity. They're the ones employing chuggers.

I don't see how this method of fund-raising is hurting charities. Concern have reported that the amount of people making regular (standing order) donations has multiplied many times over as a direct result of employing chuggers. If a few million extra is "hurting" charities, I don't know how we're meant to help them. Employing chuggers is just like running a fund-raising event. There are operating costs that will come out of any donation to charity, but for the most part, whatever profit is made from the day will be used properly to help the charity's cause.

I prefer to help charities by giving my time rather than money. I volunteer, take part in fund-raising activities, and attend fund-raising events.
    I don't like chuggers, but I know that they are, according to a Concern spokesman speaking on Radio 1 a few days ago, the most effective method of persuading people to commit to regular donations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

i have been followed into work by a chugger, Ive been followed around town on my lunchbreak by 1, so they do harass some people. I will NEVER donate to a charity that chugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Next time i see a chugger when he starts walking towards me, even before he says anything i'll take a huge breath and ROAR into his face NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Then walk off laughing, i'm sure everyone around who he's harrassed will have a good laugh too. :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

If you're young-looking enough, just tell them that you're 17. I'm 19 and I do this every time a chugger tries to stop me, they always lose interest straight away because you can't have a direct debit account thing set up until you're 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭Infini

tbh I just all out ignore them theyre a complete pain in the ass and I cartainly aint gonna give money to THOSE ppl. If one comes up to me i just say "sorrry aint interested!" One thing I wonder though, Who here has just come out and said Feck off to these "people"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭jsr

In a hurry on the street, need to get where you're going fast?
    Get a clipboard, smile like a crazed ape and repeat the mantra "could I get a moment of your time?" The crowds will part like the sea to Moses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Infini wrote:
    tbh I just all out ignore them theyre a complete pain in the ass and I cartainly aint gonna give money to THOSE ppl. If one comes up to me i just say "sorrry aint interested!" One thing I wonder though, Who here has just come out and said Feck off to these "people"?

I've seen one of them being told to f*ck off but in fairness but the chugger asked someone to stop even though he saw him say no to another chugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Macka

Was in town the other day, got stopped by a chugger outside tower records, politely told him that he couldn't have a moment of my time and then got stopped by the same guy coming out of tower about 10 minutes later. I HATE THESE B@STARDS THEY'RE SO ANNOYING. Has anyone noticed that some of them don't even sport any sort of bright vest so that they blend in with the crowd, they're getting smarter I don't like it... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Some chuggers just do not give a **** about the charity involved.
    Once, one stopped me, asking me if I wanted to sign up for the DD thing.
    I said "no, but here's €2 anyway"
    Chugger response: "Sorry, we only accept direct debit".

I swear to God, the next time I'm heading into town, I'm going to bring in a clipboard, and should any chugger try to annoy me, I will get my clipboard out and ask them if they "have a couple of minutes" to "Save a foreskin today!" by supporting my anti-circumcision charity.

That should shut them up.

Oh, I'm bad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 BAm MArgera

They really piss me off to no end. I like the bring your own clipboard idea.
    Chugger: "Got a minute for concern?"
    Me: "Got a minute for the New Widescreen TV For Bam Foundation?"
    Me: "No? Then **** off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

comad wrote:
    Me and my mates did it one day. Oh freaky as hell. They try sell you this book too and tell you that you are chronically depressed all this **** and that the book will redeem you.

Hee hee hee...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=177167&#post177167

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭nedoo

These twats are not funny. They made my year in Switzerland hell. Got sucked in while stoned to do a personality test. Again left sitting for ages and then faced a load of questions about my father and mother(etc). Bought the book to get out. They found out where I worked(not hard, it was the main train station) and almost got me sacked as they kept phoning and calling in. A lot younger and dumber then, would love to be approached by one now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Setun

Chugger fella: Excuse me, would you... etc.
    Me: No, I'm ok thx
    Chugger fella <blocks path>: Are you sure blah blah
    <ENTER - Random homeless person>
    Homeless asks chugger: Any spare change???
    Chugger: No sorry...

Was an interesting day.
    Nice to see that turnaround.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

nedoo wrote:
    These twats are not funny. They made my year in Switzerland hell. Got sucked in while stoned to do a personality test. Again left sitting for ages and then faced a load of questions about my father and mother(etc). Bought the book to get out. They found out where I worked(not hard, it was the main train station) and almost got me sacked as they kept phoning and calling in. A lot younger and dumber then, would love to be approached by one now.

A friend of mine's religion teacher gave them some Scientologist texts in one class, one of the texts being something Scientologists are only meant to see when they reach a certain level (i.e. surrender a certain amount of money). So, he's photocopying the page and I plan to keep one of the copies with me in case I get stopped by the Scientologists again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

Just say you hate what ever their cause is.

Chugger:Would you like to donate money to Africa?
    Victim: No sorry, I'm a racist.

Chugger:Would you like to support people with alcohol problems?
    Victim:What, people that don't have enough alcohol? Tragedy, stay there I'll be back in about 5 minutes with a 6 pack of miller.