Humiliated in a garage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭quarryman

impr0v wrote:

Judging by the way your mother and yourself reacted, I'd say your father is a fairly dominant and aggressive type and she has perhaps been in his shade a little too long.

I love the bravery that a lot of boards users maintain when criticising others. The protective anonymity provides so much freedom for judgement they wouldn't dare say to another's face. :)

oh wait, i'm sure you would. of course you would. if this was a friend's mother you'd have no problem telling him about his aggressive father and submissive mother who cries when intimidated/humilated in public by someone who won't give her car back.
    you'd shrug your shoulders and laugh.

big man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Really, if you dont want to contribute to the discussion you could do better than slag me off.

You called me a tough guy :p

I have contributed and you failed to respond other than say I was off topic which I and others think is the topic.
    Emotional blackmail is equal to bullying. Ever hear the term "passive aggressive".

I do know better you just don't seem to understand what is being said :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

If she had 70 euro in her purse and was 15 miles from home she was not stranded. She could have gotten a taxi.

I think it is illegal for a landlord to withold a tenant's property if rent has not been paid. It would follow that it would be illegal for the garage to withold property for non-payment.

If she really was humiliated, and not just using emotional blackmail as has already been suggested, she probably wouldn't want to tell everyone that she was crying in public. I am sympathetic to the man in the garage, not the woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I'd suggest that your mother write a letter to the manager complaining about the _attitude_ of the mechanic, as I would imagine the policy he was following was not set by him and in fairness not unreasonable.

A letter has many advantages over a telephone call: it can be reviewed by you, it can be refined and can thus be more considered, and most of all your mother is not going to get even more upset due to a possible second confrontation during a telephone call or visit.

With regard to breaking down in tears, in fairness different people can have very different sensitivity levels and react in very different ways. I am not saying that this mechanic behaved reasonably, I wasn't there and don't know.

I do know that it is _possible_ to deal with someone politely but firmly according to a rigid policy not set by oneself and still have them break down in tears on you. I can also understand how, with a crying customer in front of you, and the manager not having seen how you handled the situation, you would be slow to want to pass it on to a manager at that stage...

I don't noramlly cross post but I couldn't resist

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=3152032#post3152032

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Dellgirl

There you go again - OT :p

Do you think she cried deliberately?
    First off she should have enough control not to be afraid and after that she should have control

On planet perfect, she might have . But she was intimidated by him. Im not the bravest egg in the nest and to be quite honest if someone was bawling me out of it I probably would be scared.
    If it was my mother I would be bothered but she wouldn't react that way.

Youve just contradicted everything you said. So you agree with OP that the treatment his mother warrented anger on his behalf.
    If she did I would console her but I wouldn't blame a guy doing his job

Its not his job to shout at and scare her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

... if someone was bawling me out of it I probably would be scared. ... Its not his job to shout at and scare her.
    I think we are all reading our own interpretations into this. I didn't see it written anywhere by the OP that the mechanic was 'bawling her out of it', or that he was shouting and scaring her. (And note the OP was not actually even there themselves so we have these reports third-hand.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

pwd wrote:
    It would follow that it would be illegal for the garage to withold property for non-payment.

They could of just removed the mirror from the car then bill her at a later date for the extra work and used mirror.

Its certainly possible. there was a website that trained you on dealing with confrontation (link is probably still on boards but almost impossible to find). One suggestion it had for women when dealing with a cop pulling you over is to start crying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Dellgirl

think we are all reading our own interpretations into this. I didn't see it written anywhere by the OP that the mechanic was 'bawling her out of it', or that he was shouting and scaring her. (And note the OP was not actually even there themselves so we have these reports third-hand

youre right. I was using my own words when I should have stuck to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,408 ✭✭✭Ardent

fitz wrote:
    Crying was introducing an emotional context into a business transaction that was not going right. She's big and old enough to be expected to be able to handle not getting her way. She phoned and cancelled her lift, she could have phoned and re-arranged it.

Where did I say she phoned to cancel a lift?

I suspect if it was your mother who was in this situation, you're macho-bullsh*t comments wouldn't apply.

There you go again - OT :p

I think it is learnt behaviour that has gotten results in the past.

On planet perfect, she might have . But she was intimidated by him. Im not the bravest egg in the nest and to be quite honest if someone was bawling me out of it I probably would be scared.

Read the description of what happened as written by a third party with emotional connection to the "victim". Shouting or bawling was never mentioned.

Youve just contradicted everything you said. So you agree with OP that the treatment his mother warrented anger on his behalf.

You either lost the ability to read or trolling. Read that post again and note the line after the quoted one!

Its not his job to shout at and scare her.

Your right but nobody said he was shouting the worst he was said to have been was obnoxious. What actually scared her? You are actually off topic by making stuff up about an incident that didn't happen :rolleyes:. You are projected an image of what might make you cry but there is no evidence saying he did act in an agressive manner. All that has been said is he wouldn't accpet her offer not to pay and come back. It is his job to accept payment for work not let people cheat the garage. It sounds like he could have handled it better but not much else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

omg , someone got told they couldn't take something because they haven't paid for it :rolleyes:

So the Grease monkey was rude ... you have also stated that you won't be going back there ... so where is the problem ?

As for Women crying in public , if it is to do with a situation that they have caused ( i.e. a break up with a partner, payment of a bill) and there is no reasonable justification for it ( there is in the OP ) then they are trying the pysch attack , trying to get the person either embarresed or trying ot make the look the bad guy and looking for sympath.

Either way ... i've better things to do that trawl this rubbish ... i shant be coming back to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

What a load of ****e from some of the people here... the mechanic was clearly an asshole. These guys are very common, and you will come across them everywhere. It is extremely important that you are not getting your car serviced by them (especially for women who usually don't know much about cars).

Its a regular customer and a woman in her late 50s - shes clearly not there to rip you off. All you internet fags can argue all you like about how 'uhhh thats both sexist and agist uhhh' but it doesn't change the fact that you show some extra respect to these customers. Whoever thinks she was there to 'steal parts and services' is a retard.

Running a garage is NOT the same as working behind the counter in a mobile phone shop. You build up a customer base and you keep them happy. You develop a reputation for years, and stupid employees like this guy can shatter that rep very quickly. This man should not have been dealing with customers, maybe hes a very good mechanic in which case he should have been allowed work on the cars hidden from the public, and if not then I blame the manager for allowing him to interact with the public.

So many times in so many different garages I've seen people who had an emergency break down in the middle of nowhere - who weren't even past customers - being helped out by the local garage, often free of charge, or on credit. This is common decency which used to be abundant in Ireland.

In the case of this woman; SHE IS A REGULAR CUSTOMER. They know her car. They know her licence plate. They know her name. They know where she lives. Its in Galway so they probably know everyone in her family, and her dog too. At the very worst they could have been accommodating and offered her some assistance in getting the cash before releasing the car... many major garages provide a taxi service free of charge while you're getting your car done anyway.

In response to your original question
    Surely they have no right to treat a customer like this?
    You should have rephrased this to "Surely they should not treat a customer like this" otherwise you get all the semi-retarted net nerds with the business sense of a donkey arguing 'rights'. This asshole mechanic will feel quite justified in outlining how he was within his rights, but he is also very limited in his understanding of how business works, he is not familiar with the term customer service, and he is severely lacking in basic social skills. At the end of the day it is the customer's own fault for choosing a garage where assholes are allowed to deal with the public. The smaller garages tend to be much more decent, but you can find loads of major dealers who prioritise customer service, like Keary's in Cork.

What should your mother do now? Complain to the manager, if he doesn't apologise for the situation then she should tell all her friends what a kip that place is, find a new garage to get her car serviced in, and be done with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 The Fish

Ardent wrote:

As a result, she cancels a previously arranged lift from a friend seeing as she'll have the car shortly.

Here's where you said she cancelled the lift.

Couldn't she have paid in kind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Ardent, dont mind people here trying to goad you. Im sure if it was anyone heres mother put in that situation they would view it the exact same. People can be assholes when they are on the internet.

Id either write to the manager or toyota ireland as suggested.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭fitz

Ardent wrote:
    Where did I say she phoned to cancel a lift?

I suspect if it was your mother who was in this situation, you're macho-bullsh*t comments wouldn't apply.

The Fish covered that one for me...either she phoned or used telepathy.

You're going to come across people who aren't good at telling you no (the mechanic in this case) when it comes to customer service in this country.
    Do I think it's acceptable? No, people should be better at it, and I agree, from the sounds of it, he didn't deal with it well, and exacerbated the situation.

Does that make your mothers behaviour any more acceptable?
    No. A middle-aged woman should have more cop-on and sense than to be losing the run of herself like that, and at that stage of life, with a child raised, should be well able to count to ten and use her head.

I'm not being macho, this is not me being insensitive. This is me saying that at your mothers age, she is, from what you're saying, socially ill-equipped to deal with rude people. I'm shocked she hasn't had the opportunity to deal with worse situations involving customer care in this country, and would count her lucky that at her age she hasn't had the necessity to develop the ability to think her way around a hostile situation.

You can go on name-calling, but at the end of the day, I know teenagers who'd have dealt with the situation better.

It's easy for us to criticise I suppose, I'm just suprised tbh.
    I would certainly agree, you should find somewhere else to get the car serviced, but only cause of the poor customer service. I don't think it was unreasonable to expect payment for the service, he was watching his own back.

I guess what I'm driving at is that it's hard for people to see past the fact that this someone who's been around probably twice as long as the rest of us, and didn't ask for the manager straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Sounds like the mechanic was being a bit ignorant but all the same, he was in the right. He could have gone about things better, like getting the manager or a senior employee (maybe they weren't available at the time). As was said before, big garages are not as personal as smaller, local ones. You can't expect all their employees to remember each customer. Okay, he should have checked her record and seen that she was a long time customer but for reasons unknown, he didn't do this. Maybe he didn't have access to the files. It sounds like he was covering his own back by not letting your mother go off without paying while at the same time making little effort to assist your mother. If you were to complain about anything it would be the standard of customer care from yer man.
    At the same time, I think your mother handled the whole thing pretty badly too. Crying? Crying is for two things only ->
    1. loss of a friend/family member etc.
    2. emotional leverage in a situation where you're not getting what you want.
    She should have had more self control. If your man wasn't going to give back the car and she couldn't talk to a serior staff member, she should have asked to use the phone to call a taxi. Then she should have gone home and writen a letter of complaint or called to make an appointment with the manager.

fitz wrote:
    The Fish covered that one for me...either she phoned or used telepathy.

Her friend followed her to the garage and when it became apparent that she was going to have her car back in an hour anyway, her friend went off again.

Anyway, the important is that she'll live. She's not the wise, battle-hardened, man-of-the-world-who-handles-every-sudden-situation-impeccably you obviously seem to be, but once the initial shock wears off, she'll should get over it.

Ironically, the work on the car wasn't even finished and it has to be brought back in on Monday again. My sister will be doing that after talking to another guy in the garage and paying the balance (55 euros) and arranging the final work to be done with him. After that, goodbye Toyota.

Thanks to everyone who offered genuine advice and support, I'll try to convince her to muster up the courage to write a letter to the manager.

Bacchus wrote:
    Crying is for two things only ->

Really? Wow, that's a fascinating. I never knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭quarryman

Originally Posted by Bacchus
    Crying is for two things only ->

did you never cry when you lost your mommy in the supermarket?

though i guess that would fall under no. 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Which does chopping onions fall under?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Cucullan

What does a kick in the boll*cks fall under?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Cucullan wrote:
    What does a kick in the boll*cks fall under?

temp loss of a family friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Okay fine, I'll add physical pain to the reasons for crying but I stand by my first two reasons.
    I specifically put in "loss" as opposed to "death". I cried when I was on holidays when I was about 6 and I couldn't find my mommy.
    People learn from when they were babies that when you cry, you get what you want. You can't deny that. People as they get older and wiser should learn to control themselves better - which was my point.

Ardent wrote:
    Anyway, the important is that she'll live. She's not the wise, battle-hardened, man-of-the-world-who-handles-every-sudden-situation-impeccably you obviously seem to be, but once the initial shock wears off, she'll should get over it.
    She'll live! It's not like he tried to hack her arm off. He told her to pay a bill. You don't need to be a man or even wise in the ways of the world to be able to deal with people like an adult. This is ordinary life
    If it was my mother I would console her and probably feel angry but I would cop on and realise that she over reacted.
    I would actually be afraid of the fact she is driving a car and can be so easily flustered. What happens when a driver gets mad at her for indicating late or not noticing something? I am not goading you these are genuine concerns how can she be expected to control a 2 ton metal object when she can't control herself?
    As there is no mention of your father there are two things to consider
    a) She is a widow and will have to deal with these things on her own
    b) She has always been a single mother and should have learnt to deal with these things on her own.
    If she is relying on other people to deal with ordinary life she could be trapping you into the situation of guilt. By allowing this behaviour you could be doing more damage than good. If it was your 18 year old child you would tell them they have to learn to deal with these situations so they are prepared for life.
    You don't even seem to vaguely acknowledge the fact your upset mother may have a slightlty tinted view of events. Did he really just hand over the keys because she asked for the manager or because she was crying? It sounds a bit odd that he would let her cry and then suddenly change his mind once she asked for the manager, it doesn't sound like a natural reaction at all. It's a lot more likely that once she started crying he gave her the keys. Not saying she is lying just her perception may not be 100% acurate against the facts. I have yet to see anybody suddenly change their tune once the manager has been asked for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Ardent wrote:
    This morning, she brought her car in for a routine service and a repair to a wing mirror. Prior to bringing it in, a guy at the garage said on the phone that they didn't have a replacement wing mirror in stock and they'd have to keep to the car in for the weekend. Fair enough.

When my mother arrives, they tell her they actually do have a replacement mirror after all and they can do the whole job in an hour.

the garage is clearly at fault here for communicating false and misleading information as highlighted.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    the garage is clearly at fault here for communicating false and misleading information as highlighted.

And she is completely blameless waiting for an hour knowing she had not enough money to pay. Both were at fault. I spoke to my wife on this and she did disagree with me. We talked about it and she agreed with many people here that it is OK for a woman to cry. I argued that there is fight or flight prnciple to human nature. She didn't agree that that it was a human reactioins are based on that life runs on. I had thought it was really well known principle. Apparnetly not judging by responses here.
    I am not saying I am difiinitively right but it is important to understand at least pop pyschology . If you don't believe in it at all fair enough but it has to be said third hand information iquestionable at least as is informtion gathered from one source. If you do mess up a loved one should be able to consoul and be critical at the same time. Being cruel to be kind would be an extreme example but is based on firmily known human nature. You let people slid and never be critical they will never stand on their own 2 feet
    One thing has to be said is who humiliated who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Ardent, I fail to see the reason in your posting this thread. You clearly are simply trying to get a plethora of people to agree with you, against the big bad bully, Toyota, and dismissing anything that attempts to defend the other party.

Alot of people in this thread also talk about what an asshole the mechanic was. I fail to see any quotes of anything remotely nasty he may have said, other than the heinous crime of asking for payment for services rendered. What an evil man!

And people seem to think "He must have been in the wrong if he gave her the keys back when she asked for the manager". Well, this is also the point in time where she is bawling her eyes out all over the shop floor. He was just trying to save her and himself from further humiliation, so his heart was in the right place, was it not?

I fail to see what the big crime was in this situation, exactly. The man may have been as polite as anything, he just refused to let her have her own way, which is company policy anyway. Perhaps your mother has painted him to be a bit meaner than he was, to justify her crying? If you ever work in any sort of customer service position, you'll know people don't go to work thinking "Hmm, I'd love to make some old dear have a nervous breakdown in my shop, Mmm, job satisfaction here I come!"

Simply put; She knew she was in the wrong from a legal perspective, and therefore had to resort to an emotional standpoint. You see it all the time;

"Hey, why I am getting a parking fine, you evil ****?"
    "You're parked sideways on a dual carraigeway...."
    "Oh oh, my son is disabled, how could you do this, waah?"
    "Erm....you still can't park that way"
    "I'm outraged! I'm going to tell everyone on boards.ie"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

This morning, she brought her car in for a routine service and a repair to a wing mirror. Prior to bringing it in, a guy at the garage said on the phone that they didn't have a replacement wing mirror in stock and they'd have to keep to the car in for the weekend. Fair enough.

When my mother arrives, they tell her they actually do have a replacement mirror after all and they can do the whole job in an hour.

nlgbbbblth wrote:

When she arrived in the shop and they said the did actually have a replacement mirror, she should have said "No, it's OK, I don't have the money on me"

Simple as that.

They communicated information which at the time they believed to be true. They then corrected themselves by communicating the correct information. She still did not tell them she had no money.

My theory is that she only realised at the end of the service that she had no money in her handbag, and tried to invent a story as to how they ignored her (why would they?), just to validate her OTT reaction.

Sorry if I'm sounding a bit harsh, but, well... ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

One thing has to be said is who humiliated who?

hmmm
    are you suggesting that the mechanic is the real victim in this case?