Who got burnt in the sun?

• 12-07-2005 12:03AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

So, it was a lovely day wasn't it. Who went out without the sun factor?

Just one side of my neck is burnt and it's sore. Was only sitting out the back reading for about 20 minutes.

Burnt or not? 63 votes

Yep I got burnt alright and I'm sore!
    0% 0 votes
    No, I remembered to put the sun factor on
    55% 35 votes
    You couldn't tell as I'm an oompa loompa
    44% 28 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

MEEEE. I was walking round for hours without any bleeding suntan lotion and I can definately feel it on my neck and face. And I'm not going to wear any suntan lotion tomorrow either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Got a little red on one arm yesterday.

Was careful to sit in the shade under the parasol as we ate and drank outside in the garden. However the sun moved and I didn't :( Stung a little last night. Wore long sleeves and SPF20 today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

tisk tisk @ anyone who got sunburnt! :p

In fairness, its not like you couldn't tell it was hot enough to burn on a day like today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

grimloch wrote:
    And I'm not going to wear any suntan lotion tomorrow either.

That's seriously dangerous :eek:

Besides, unless you're very dark skinned, you'll end up looking like a redneck culchie farmer - red and pink and white :rolleyes:

No offence meant to redneck culchie farmers :)

tisk tisk @ anyone who got sunburnt! :p

In fairness, its not like you couldn't tell it was hot enough to burn on a day like today!

By the time I realised I had to be outside so much it was too late. The clever thing for me would be to prepare and bring in a bit of the old Factor 2 tomorrow, but I won't. I need a bit of a tan anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

i got burnt playing football. Sat in the shade all day today though.

Sarsfield wrote:
    That's seriously dangerous :eek:

Besides, unless you're very dark skinned, you'll end up looking like a redneck culchie farmer - red and pink and white :rolleyes:

No offence meant to redneck culchie farmers :)

Just a chance I'm willing to take. Whenever I put it on it ends up getting in my eyes at some stage and ruining my shirts and all that other hassle. I'll just walk in the shade, I'll be grand.

Sure just get a low block number, Grim. That way you'll get a tan and not cancer :D

its a win win situation :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Didn't get burnt. Factor 8 all over and a some nice bronzage to show.

8ronZe pwns alL y0u Lo85terzzz!!!!!!oneone11one1!!two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

Count me in! I got burnt on Sunday while sunbathing, was careful today but my legs are like lobsters! It's weird because I lay on both sides yet my back is burnt and not the back of my legs but the front of my legs are burnt and my chest is grand.. Weird..

Sure just get a low block number, Grim. That way you'll get a tan and not cancer :D

its a win win situation :p

If i get burnt tomorrow at work, or later on today as it would seem ( God I better get to bed) then maybe I'll consider wearing some and trade the ruined shirt for lack of skin cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Lads cop on to yourselves,Burning isn't big and its not clever either,The sun is 1.3 million times bigger than the earth,surely he deserves a bit of respect,in human terms thats like Prince Naseem fighting Iron Mike Tyson,total mismatch.
    Slap on the factor and dont mind the girls as they slag you for having shiny hands and shiny heads,you can slag them back when they die from melting relating illnesses.
    A helpful motto to remember when sunbathing is "Not too much—as often as possible." Combine productive exercise in the fresh air and sunshine for a really healthful trio.
    Stop whingeing about having to put on the lotion and always tell yourself how glad you are that we have photovoltaic and passive solar systems that allow us to harness sunlight directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I got very red at the connacht final on Sunday.
    Standing in the sun for nearly three hours.
    The sun was away to my right so my right side is more red than the rest.
    Its beginning to turn brown now though.
    The main thing is Galway won. \o/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

no rasher today?

grimloch wrote:
    If i get burnt tomorrow at work, or later on today as it would seem ( God I better get to bed) then maybe I'll consider wearing some and trade the ruined shirt for lack of skin cancer.

lol stubborn :p

Well if you get burnt and die of cancer, don't come crying to me! :rolleyes:

rkm wrote:
    I got very red at the connacht final on Sunday.
    Standing in the sun for nearly three hours.
    The sun was away to my right so my right side is more red than the rest.
    Its beginning to turn brown now though.
    The main thing is Galway won. \o/

Thats were you're wrong rkm,the main thing in that story is that you didn't slap on the sunscreen,please try and have more respect for the sun in future otherwise the only final you'll be watching will be your final days on this earth.
    You see, I have a very low opinion on tans, tanning products and people who flaunt themselves to the point of their skin bubbling from their bones due to one devastating and frankly life changing experience.

Im not going to get morbid here or stray too far from the beaten track but my dog died from Hot red skin when I was 14. Sunburn for those of you that have not heard the term.
    Suspect cause of this was the Sun.
    We had only had 3 foreign holidays prior to this so it may even have been caused in this country.
    Due to this, my family now take skin protection to the limit when we are in the sun and I strongly advise you to follow suit.
    Galway abu mo chara

Pighead wrote:
    blah.blah.blah.blah.

Galway abu mo chara
    I agree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

rkm wrote:
    I agree!

Well that was insensitive. Nice going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

lucky for me i dont burn so i dont bother putting on any sun cream unless im out in it for ages

Good lad,glad you took that all on board
    Respect to my little burnt buddy

Pighead wrote:
    Good lad,glad you took that all on board
    Respect to my little burnt buddy
    No disrespect to your little friend but i already know what you're saying,
    If I was at home the night before AND not hungover AND believed it would be as hot as they said it would in MET EIREANN I would have been wearing sun lotion. :) You're preaching to the converted.
    Ladies and Gentlemen of the class of ’97... wear sunscreen.

If I could offer you only one tip for the future, sunscreen would be IT.

The long term benefits of sunscreen have been proved by scientists whereas the rest of my advice has no basis more reliable than my own meandering experience.

I will dispense this advice now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 savesam

i led my lad get some sun, hes all swelled up now, very impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

savesam wrote:
    i led my lad get some sun, hes all swelled up now, very impressive

Idiot

Anyways me got burned on both my arms when i was on the motorbike, it was certainly warm today alright, the wind was still warm at 30mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I got burnt on my left arm, left ear, left side of my neck etc. If this turns to tan I'm going to look freakin' stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 ToughCookie

Spent ages in the sun for the past two days with no sun lotion and didn't get burnt...didn't even get tanned.
    Was thinking of getting sun lotion but i just figure as soon as i buy some, there won't be any more sunshine till next year.

/me hugs my wonderful skin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Kare Bear

I wish it did'nt get so hot.Makes me all uncomfortable. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

lucky for me i dont burn so i dont bother putting on any sun cream unless im out in it for ages

Well, being that your already an avian based disease, I think sunburn would be the least of your problems! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Mocks you lightweights..

5 and half months in Valencia, forget suntan lotion, moi?

"Everybodys free"
    The long term benefits of sun lotion....

Listen to the song people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

yeah I got burnt.
    But it wasnt much of a surprise as its 40 degrees here.