Scum Bags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

burn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

WellyJ wrote:
    These people come from bad backgrounds usually

Dont be so hard on 'em

Specially the younger ones that are learning it from their parents every day

That's no reason to excuse someone's behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

I also dislike them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Stark wrote:

That's no reason to excuse someone's behaviour.

Precisely, I'm going to make a generalisation here but being from a "bad background" does not give someone the excuse to beat somebody up or act the prat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

My point is they dont know any better

Its no coincidence that the "Chavs" all grow up in poor areas.

I dont recall seeing any burberry hats while driving through malahide and howth today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

WellyJ wrote:

I dont recall seeing any burberry hats while driving through malahide and howth today.

That's because the poor variant is the most visible. Scum comes from all walks of life. In all cases, behaving like scum is inexcusable. I think most of us here like to make life a little better for those around us even if it's just a friendly face. We don't need people who exist only to make life worse for everyone else.

Stark wrote:
    That's because the poor variant is the most visible. Scum comes from all walks of life. In all cases, behaving like scum is inexcusable. I think most of us here like to make life a little better for those around us even if it's just a friendly face. We don't need people who exist only to make life worse for everyone else.

Agreed, in a way you have actually backed up my point. This topic is centred around a bad sterotype of what a "Scumbag" is. As you say there are scum in every town etc. Just cos someone asks you for a "smoke" and wears a burberry hat or jumper doesnt instantly make them a scumbag just as a guy in an expensive suit could just as easily be out to rob your car.

Also. the poll question is moronic. Everyone will obviously answer "No" to the question, apart from a few of course who just vote on these polls for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Just for the record, a scumbag is a totally different kettle of fish.

It is slang for a male contraceptive ie a bag in which to catch your scum.
    Don't ask me how I know these things. It's a gift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭punka

bullock wrote:
    I think here in Ireland we call them:
    3) Thinkers

made me think of this:
    (apologies for poor photoshop skills & crapness of joke)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Any one got any interesting story's about chav's?
    preferable about beating the living snot out of one!!!

apart from getting asked for change for the bus or a hostel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭ajmurphy62

WellyJ wrote:

Excuse me but i come from a poorer area of Dublin, and i know many many people in my estate. Just because we live in corpo houses, doesnt mean that i am a scumbag, either are my neighbours or my friends from the area. Making that generalisation is the same as saying that all Irish people are alcoholics. As is saying everyone who wears sports gear is also a scumbag as said by another poster. I resent that statement.

Well ironically enough, with me defending them, i had a run in with one a couple months back outside the local.

Me and my friend were standing talking outside and from across the road he threw an empty pint glass at us narrowly missing my friend and smashing off the wall.

Ended up in a row with him and his 2 mates.

So i can see why people have a bad opinion of them :D

I probably should too, but i guess im not one to generalise people.

ajmurphy62 wrote:
    Excuse me but i come from a poorer area of Dublin, and i know many many people in my estate. Just because we live in corpo houses, doesnt mean that i am a scumbag, either are my neighbours or my friends from the area. Making that generalisation is the same as saying that all Irish people are alcoholics. As is saying everyone who wears sports gear is also a scumbag as said by another poster. I resent that statement.

If you read my posts properly you will see that im actually defending people from poorer areas, and agreeing with you that just cos you may be from a poor area of the city doesnt make you an instant scumbag, apologies if that post made it seem like thats what i was saying but its not what i was getting at at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I'v often been out the front of a pub drinking in a beer garden when a pikie
    has tried to rob people and started fights with the bouncers. all the while the cops were watching afraid to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

bazH wrote:
    most other countries call them Irish

Call yourself Irish? The cheek.....

Imeacht gan teacht ort :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

I'v often been out the front of a pub drinking in a beer garden when a pikie
    has tried to rob people and started fights with the bouncers. all the while the cops were watching afraid to get involved.
    Reminds me one night when a group of us were walking home, there were two groups of skangers fighting with each other so we decided to take a different route and around the corner were three gardai, one male two female, obviously too afraid to go near them. They got a shock when we appeared around the corner, obviously assuming we were one of the groups. :rolleyes:
    And on another note, the male garda got into his car and almost reversed into us. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Who is the scumbag??

A. Bertie

B. The banks

3. Bush

All bigger dirtbags than the common peasant on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

On another note, what's with Irish people using the word "chav"?

That is really annoying. Scumbags are all **** we all know, weve talked about it before. But what can you do? You cant educate them and you cant kill them (Genocide) and you can try to move them but since the law seems to protect them we just have to put up with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

ajmurphy62 wrote:
    As is saying everyone who wears sports gear is also a scumbag as said by another poster. I resent that statement.

90% of the time imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Ironically, while this thread was being posted on, a 19 year old was stabbed to death by two "Skangers" in ballyfermot. Last night around 10pm...
    great city eh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Wouldn’t say he was all that innocent either! But maybe I’m very wrong…..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭bullock

Probably looking for a Euro Bud ..... Think it happened that he was stabbed outside an Offie!!!!

Whats the story muppets!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Northern Ireland they call em, steeks. (Not sure of the spelling)

ambrose :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Paudie (hehehehe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Another term i've heard used in england for them is "scallies".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

skobie wan kenobie's that's a personal favorite of mine a friend favoured it because he said it's like they constantlly have the next generation in training

what ever about the clothes try having an intellectual converstion with one and there is nothing worse then some fella with a high pitched voice and an unbearably drawn out accent trying to chat you up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

punka wrote:
    made me think of this:
    (apologies for poor photoshop skills & crapness of joke)

Freakin quality pic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

bullock wrote:
    I think here in Ireland we call them:
    2) Scum Bags
    They wear trakkies, etc.
    bullock wrote:
    In England they call them:
    1) Chavs
    They wear burberry, etc.
    Prefer skanger myself. Chav is such an english tabloid word.
    Skangers don't like being called skangers. Chav's take pride in being called a Chav.
    WellyJ wrote:
    Specially the younger ones that are learning it from their parents every day
    Specially when the kid is what, 5? And the daddy is doing his L. Cert, and the "burd" dropped out of school, after doing her j Cert?

=-=

I call someone a scumbag by the way they act. F*ck the way they dress. You dress to get a woman, and depending on the area, how you dress may differ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Raiser

Used to hear of them being called Comanches here in Limerick quite regularily.

- In Limerick its not uncommon to have a wild eyed man charging you down on a busy road while riding bareback on a piebald pony.

I just feel sorry for the tourists - they think they've severely messed up on their medication when they see this.

Was reading in one of those history of soccer books that the first ever pitch invasion on horseback was officially recorded in Limerick also - on pitch by Our Lady of Lourdes church.

* Also, finally, a tip - call them knackers, scobes, or whatever - but their own word for someone who they think is a knacker is actually Scumbag - ie. three knackers will see a fourth and say "fooksake packie looka dah fooking sch-cum-baag". - I know this cause I heard of a lachie who once stabbed another lachie for calling him a scumbag, beautiful irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

should we just sticky a "Rant about scumbags" post to the top of after hours instead of having to go through these threads every other week?