Showing your age

• 23-06-2005 12:33PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭

Who remember xworks big baggy jeans and kingfisher runners with the little pump on the 'tongue'..... and la lights....

anyone else going down memory lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Its a dangerous lane to go down.

My god xworks jeans........ seems like ages ago.
    ...wait a minute it was over 10 years ago.

OMG... I'm getting old

*runs crying from the building*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I remember XWorks! Was their symbol an open hand or something, with X W O R K S written on the spaces between the fingers? Or am I getting it mixed up with something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭CTU_Agent

10 years jesus....... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

CTU_Agent wrote:
    runners with the little pump on the 'tongue'.....

Ah, the reebok pumps. Was going to post a picture of xworks jeans, but google returned results that I really should have expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Hate to say it but this thread belongs in All Things Retro....
    I find myself posting alot in that section! :eek:

There was also Eclipse jeans that were out around the same time. I never wore them but my brother did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

i remember xworks, man it's hard to believe that was 10 years ago. what the hell was i thinking wearing them!

I only just remember Eclipse, I think my brother wore them

didnt they have xworks waistcoats to match the jeans.... i vagely remember hassling my parents to get me them... and then the la gear lights runners to finish it off.... :cool:

CTU_Agent wrote:
    didnt they have xworks waistcoats to match the jeans.... i vagely remember hassling my parents to get me them... and then the la gear lights runners to finish it off.... :cool:

man, you must have been cool! i just remembered that i had a xworks polo neck aswell...

toiletduck wrote:
    man, you must have been cool! i just remembered that i had a xworks polo neck aswell...

They were so gross I hated all that X-works/Eclipse stuff!! Normally I used to nick my brothers tops but not that fashion trend!! Polo Necks, ah jaysus!! :eek:

had that too... man wat id give to find a photo of me in that outfit.... can you imagine the slagging id get....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

i have a phot of my sister in xworks i will scan it in tonight!

i sincerely hope that no photographic evidence exists of me wearing that sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Jaysus, XWorks.....

What about pogs, anyone else remember pogs......
    Or Monster in my pocket?

Pogs, oh my goodness... I remember when they were on the Late Late Toyshow and Gay Byrne kept called them 'pogues'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

thankfully i never wore xworks. not many in my area did tbh

i remember on the simpsons when Millhouse got the Alf Pogs. my cousin innocently asked "what are Pogs?" so i explained, then "whats Alf?" i havent spoken to her since

BizzyC wrote:
    Jaysus, XWorks.....

What about pogs, anyone else remember pogs......
    Or Monster in my pocket?

POGS!!!! They were the circle cardboard yokes with pictures on them that you had to flip over, right?

What trying to remember the name of them for ages!!! Think they came abit later than all that X-work stuff.

Larianne wrote:
    Think they came abit later than all that X-work stuff.
    Yeah, xworks were around about ten years ago, pogs were more like eight years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

awwww ALF!!!

pogs ruined my life for months, all i could think of was increasing how many i had. i remember having a few thousand...

What were the big thick ones called, the ones that you threw to make the pogs turn over? Most were thick plastic, but there were metal ones too

slammers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭modular

I have a ridiculously big slammer. about the size of a saucer. Would win me every game. But I really only caught the tail-end of Pogs.

The size of a saucer??

i had one the size of an old pound coin but about an inch thick. it was pretty crap but looked dead impressive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

X-works jeans, x the legend, petro motion or something, ecplise tops, those sock hats... Yeah, I remember all that good stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

anyone remember NAFF jackets that were out around the time of xworx jeans? horrible, horrible things!

what the hell was wrong with us? why didnt someone tell us we looked like idiots!

wow remember naff.... anyone find a naff jacket pic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Xworx/eclipse/NAFF were the shiney white tracksuits of their day!