R.E.M in The 'Brig...Ardgillan Castle

• 01-12-2004 02:11PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭

Jaysus, what's the chances? One of the worlds greatest bands to play on your doorstep. The castle is 10 mins walk from where I live. R.E.M. are to appear at Ardgillan Castle in Balbriggan on June 19th 2005. Tickets go on sale Friday, December 3rd.

This is a bit mental really. I'd have doubts as to how smoothly this gig will run, especially as its the first of its kind in Ardgillan. I don't wanna sound like Johnny Pessimist, but I think transport to and from it could be disasterous. The grounds look like a perfect amphitheatre and should be a great setting for a gig if the organisation is spot-on.

Can't wait. Anyone any idea how many they're expecting to fit in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

I don't know anything about that venue but 2 REM gigs in less than 6 months is just wicked. I can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Don't have a clue about the venu but I have to go - already have the tickets for the Point gig but you can never go to too many REM gigs...they are always brilliant live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

CathyMoran wrote:
    Don't have a clue about the venu but I have to go
    :D It's never been a venue before (AFAIK) but has great potential as thetrickykid points out.

It'll be funny to see how many buses try driving through Skerries to get there and end up having to turn around due to the low railway bridge at the entrance to the town. Also tons of narrow windy roads around the castle, it'll be interesting to see what's open and what's blocked off. I'll be walking :p pressuming I end up going...

Tickets onsale tomorrow morning but not sure about splashing out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭thetrickykid

No doubt tons of punters will arrive in Balbriggan train station, not realising its a 5 or 6 mile walk from there! Potentially the gig of the Summer anyway. Oxegen is such a let-down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fr Dougal

Can't wait. Anyone any idea how many they're expecting to fit in?

Heard on the radio, 25,000 tickets going on sale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭L.W

i read on a REM fan forum 18,000 but im not sure. cant wait tho wish it was in marlay again-thats 5 minutes away from my house but what can ya do suppose it will be interesting to see them in a different venue, heard its meant to be nice alright. tix go on sale tomorrow but so do oxegen and interpol and thats a hell of a lot of money for three gigs so REM will definatly be top of the list.
    i just love em...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

I only moved to Balbriggan a couple of months ago - how lucky am I?

The castle is in an odd location alright, going to be a nightmare for buses trying to get up those hills to it!

Tickets went on sale, hmmh - 3 minutes ago?

p.pete wrote:
    Tickets went on sale, hmmh - 3 minutes ago?

Got me 4 of 'em!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 SkYbUrNeR

Ye i live 2 mins away from ardgillan. Any one know if residents will get free tickets? 25000 people should be funny to see

SkYbUrNeR wrote:
    Ye i live 2 mins away from ardgillan. Any one know if residents will get free tickets?

They usually do for the likes of Slane and that, ye might get lucky!

Fr Dougal wrote:
    Heard on the radio, 25,000 tickets going on sale

Do you think they'll sell out quick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

No doubt tons of punters will arrive in Balbriggan train station, not realising its a 5 or 6 mile walk from there! Potentially the gig of the Summer anyway. Oxegen is such a let-down.

Apparentley there is a temporary rail stop adjacent to ardgillan(2 mins before balbriggan) that can be used the day of the concert, for all you townies

Me Im going through the forest, freeee

That's true actually, did a crappy tour of Ardgillan when I was younger and the gentry that used to live there had their own personal train stop which is no longer in use.

Apparentley there is a temporary rail stop adjacent to ardgillan(2 mins before balbriggan) that can be used the day of the concert, for all you townies

Is that the stop on the main road between Balbriggan and Skerries?

I always wondering what that was for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

thought this was mad when i read it in the local paper. as far as i know the stage is going at the castle but as far as i know, the ground in front of it slopes downward so maybe not so good if you are at the back.
    think i'll stay in my front garden and have a listen, not a big fan to be honest.
    god i hope im not working that day, the thoughts of having to give poxy directions to the castle!! :mad:

im sure it'll be a good gig, the grounds are lovely. great for a walk during the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭flyinfishmonkey

More interestingly though, if y 'all think about it, will be the fact that if they get a license for this venue (which they will still need to apply for) then it will finally give us Northsiders an excellent "large" venue and could pull in outdoor acts on a regular occurence during our, ahem, "balmy summers", cough... hehehe

God is good!! And the M1 too, cos mark my words, only for that being completed and giving great access from the Airport and the city, this wouldn't even be entertained as an idea! Still can't see 18,000 peeps getting a good view in there though tbh. Time will tell. Bring it on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭philtaylor

Found some information on the venue .

Official Visit Skerries site is : http://www.visitskerries.com and

Information on Ardgillan Castle is available at http://www.skerrieshomepage.com/ardgillancastle.htm

And Accommodation for the area is available at

http://www.skerrieshomepage.com/acc.htm

Ardgillan Castle has a train stop not used for passengers do, so lets all hope they will put on some train services for the castle from Dublin.

Hope this helps,

philtaylor wrote:
    Ardgillan Castle has a train stop not used for passengers do, so lets all hope they will put on some train services for the castle from Dublin.

Hope this helps,

Theere is a very regular train service to Balbriggan and Skerries, these stops aren't far from the castle at all - Im sure there will be bus services from both stations.

Any idea how many tickets have been sold so far?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Yeah trying to fit 25,000 into Ardgillian is going to be a logistical nightmare. Especially after the gig. TBH, I'm not sure what the chances of it being granted a license are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭<Jonny>

It worked out pretty well actually. No hassle really. And it was a great show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

What a show, great setting, sun splitting the stones, great set.

Just great. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

What a gig!!! Brilliant!! REM were class!! The setting, the atmosphere, the weather!!!

Ardgillen has the potential to be a better venue than Slane. Beautiful sourroundings and far more accesible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Was excellent. I only got there in time for the Zutons onwards, but the three bands I saw were very good.
    I really hope Ardgillan continues as a venue as it was a very very nice setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

Really enjoyable gig. Whether it would have been so great in spilling rain is questionable, but the brilliant sunshine, the full moon, the castle all lit up and that setting just made it a perfect evening. The oceans of wine put away in our pre-gig barbecue might have added to it too. Said bbq went on a bit long so we arrived mid-way through Moby's set, and then had a great view of REM from about mid-way up the hill.

Couldn't believe that they played World Leader Pretend - would have loved to have heard Fall on Me and Driver 8 but you can't have everything.

Skanger element was minimal (I saw one woman being carted out by the Guards, and hardly any drunks), beer was easily accessible, and the walk home in the midsummer moonlight took 30 minutes.

Fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

It was a great gig. I've seen them four times now and that was the best one yet. Only slightly better than the Marley Park gig. I thought the Zutons weren't that good. I like their music but they didn't seem to hot live. Moby and REM were fantastic though :)

And as for the venue - great spot. I'll look forward to more concerts there. I made a vow never to go to the Point again so it's good there's another venue available now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

Damn! Regretting not going now. Was in Croke Park and was thinking about heading up after. Ah well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Great show.

Third time to see them and each show has been memorable. Fantastic live act, Michael Stipe is a great performer.

Beautiful setting, the view as you walked in the gate was breath-taking. A venue I'll definitely go back to.

Heard some horror stories about saturday night, 2+ hour queues to get out of the car park etc. Don't know about anyone else but there was no hassle getting away last night. Seemed well enough organised.

Anyone know if this is likely to be a regular venue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Good pic for anyone who was there...

http://gallery.photo.net/photo/3469793-lg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Great gig - thoroughly enjoyable. I really liked support acts too, of course Moby was better than the others ;)