Idiotic teenage things you have done

• 20-06-2005 10:17AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I was just thinking last night about some of the silly things I did when i was a teenager, and there was one particualr incident (s) which scared the living jesus out of me. The stupidity of this is astounding.

Back when we were 14/15, it was all about getting high. When hash etc wasnt forthcoming, we went down the line of over the counter methods. We tried so many things, from banana skins, to drinking loads of gripe water (which worked). But the one we tried, which someone had told us really worked, was take 15-20 paracetamol at the same time - and we did, on a few occasions. It never worked though, no buzz, nothing. Which, at the time, was dissapointing.

In hindsight looking at this, and now knowing that we took what was essentially a partial overdose, which could have been fatal makes me feel both lucky, and downright stupid.

Anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Berger

Me and my friends once went around breaking windows in our estate for sh*ts and giggles. That was pretty fun. We only did it to people we didnt like though, like old people or non-nationals.

We also used to hop on smaller kids on a semi-regular basis which was kinda cruel looking back now but was great craic at the time. I was scared as hell once though when I accidently gave someone a decent battering with a hurley and my mate had to stop me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I remember trying to get high from smoking Oregano at one stage. Funniest bit was when a few of the lads started pretending to be stoned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

The most stupid thing I did as a child is mess with a fire on some waste land that some older kids had set and managed to burn myself and my brother badly. Also nearly killed a female cyclist with a marble messing with some school mates on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Berger wrote:
    Me and my friends once went around breaking windows in our estate for sh*ts and giggles. That was pretty fun. We only did it to people we didnt like though, like old people or non-nationals.

We also used to hop on smaller kids on a semi-regular basis which was kinda cruel looking back now but was great craic at the time. I was scared as hell once though when I accidently gave someone a decent battering with a hurley and my mate had to stop me.

You're a bit of a knacker, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

eth0_ wrote:
    You're a bit of a knacker, tbh.
    a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Glipmac

Do you think standing on tables and chairs stacked on one another in the middle of school trying to draw a smiley face on the tanoy system, or my friends playing flame throwers with gas taps or deoderent cans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

i jumped of a 16 foot wall wear roller blades and broke a few ribs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

burnt my living room down when i was 5.... playing with matches..... i know thats not teenager ****... but damn was it funny afterwards....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

*Page* wrote:
    i jumped of a 16 foot wall wear roller blades and broke a few ribs!!

were they your ribs? :D

used to try and electricute Frogs by catapulting them onto power masts with a Slingshot,
    used to believe the Mast itself was charged, hehe

normally just went Splat though and then watched the birds eat the guts of the mast

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I mispronounced the band INXS as "inks"...

Hmm.. it's not much but I was a very well behaved teenager who never once came in late, didn't drink, barely argued with my parents, never got into physical fights, never broke property/animals, and was very respectful and nice to everyone when I wasn't being grumpy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Redrocket

fell off a traffic light and fractured a few ribs :)
    woke up standing in the canal
    fell off a roof while trying to get a wheelybin onto it
    walked out in front of a mates car got knocked down
    theres more, just need time to think of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

^^^ you sir, are wild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

pissed on someone when i was younger
    climbed a crane when i was locked
    stole an already stolen car(friend crashed it 20 ft up the road,we then got arrested)
    give me time to think of more...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

ixoy wrote:
    I was a very well behaved teenager who never once came in late, didn't drink, barely argued with my parents, never got into physical fights, never broke property/animals, and was very respectful and nice to everyone when I wasn't being grumpy...

What went wrong? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

me and my next door neighbour nearly burnt a field of hey one summer. it was a really hot day and my mate thought he was being smart with me. he thought if he lit some hey and didnt put it out that eventually i would chicken out and put out the fire...... i just said F**k this and got up turned around and walked away, i turned back to see the field in flames and every time we tried to put it out it got worse eventually we had to call his dad and needless to say he wasnt too happy :D.

also had a little obsession with petrol bombs we used to steal all the petrol for the lawn mower and stick it in to the glass lucosade bottles, little rag on the end f**k it down the road, great craic. only one day a farmer was coming down the road so, not realising that petrol sticks to things and remainst on fire, i stamped on it to put it out and my foot caught on fire.

one day my mum sent me down to the shop with a tenner to buy milk. and i got stuck in to street fighter 2 turbo on the arcade machine in the shop and eventually i had spent all of it. my mum came running down stairs in her nighty and in to the shop dragged me out and asked me where the money was to which i replied "it fell in to the machine" it was the stupidest thing i had ever said and she bet me up the street and in home. had to go to bed at 6 oclock every day for a week :) i was only 8 when i did that one

Edit: oh yeah i smuggled a litre bottle of tiquela in to a teenage disco and hid it in the cistern polished it off myself and woke up on my grandmothers lawn the next day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

oh yeah i smuggled a litre bottle of tiquela in to a teenage disco and hid it in the cistern polished it off myself and woke up on my grandmothers lawn the next day

lol

i can't really think of anything tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

"it fell in to the machine"

ROFL!
    If I had a kid and he said that, I couldnt punish him. That was hilarious!

Will think of things later, I'm tired..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

Gilgamesh wrote:
    were they your ribs? :D

the ribs where mine yes but the collar bone wasnt... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

i tried nutmeg once it works fine...... basically you get a little jar of ground nutmeg and eat it, it tastes manky and its really dry so you have to wash it down with pleanty of liquid, coke is best got really messed up feels like a really heavy stone lasts about 8 hours

be carefull tho its actually a type of poison, and you take it according to your bodyweight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

I ran away to Cork, but got throw of the train in Mallow cos we didn't pay, we hitched from there to Blarney and kipped in a park, the next day we got a bus to Waterford, got bored there so we got a bus back home to Dublin. think I was 14 at the time.

A different time I was going to England with the scounts and we tried robbing the boat, I got some bollo&king for that.

Looking back I didn't do too much, I just came up with the idea's and got other people to do them. I was moer the brain that the pinky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Tried to clear a five foot ditch in a peugeot van full of people in a race when i was fourteen... cleared it, but shattered teh back axle... my father wasnt impressed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I broke a stained glass window at my home when i was 13 and it wasn't noticed for 3years as the glass only shattered,
    Originally posted by [cm]tyranny
    ... my father wasnt impressed...

They never seem to be !

Regards netwhizkid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

I've done nothing except break a few windows here and there.

Edit: oh yeah i smuggled a litre bottle of tiquela in to a teenage disco and hid it in the cistern polished it off myself and woke up on my grandmothers lawn the next day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

One of my mates told me to heat up a knife in the toaster so that it would melt real butter easily and I was stupid enough to do so. That was back in my early teenage days. Thank christ for trip switches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

gimmick wrote:
    But the one we tried, which someone had told us really worked, was take 15-20 paracetamol at the same time - and we did, on a few occasions. It never worked though, no buzz, nothing. Which, at the time, was dissapointing.
    WTF? You're lucky you didn't get Renal failure and aren't on a dialasis machine today.

I'm 35 now, but sadly I started off sensible and got more stupid as I got older. Although in my teenage years I didn't do anything of note, things some of my friends did included:

1) Sniff petrol till they fainted
    2) Use a spoon to jam the value of a big yellow Calor-Kosengas cylinder, sniff the gas, with one of the guys becoming temporarily blind, seeing nothing but blue and moaning 'Blue Blue Blue' while walking through a 6-foot french window (he lived to become a moderately sucessfull painter/decorator)
    3) Female Cure-head (now called Goth), scaling a cemetary wall, snagging her leg on a spike and removing about 1/4 of her calve muscle and resulting skin. It was the most gruesome thing I've ever seen. She never felt a thing as she paid quite a lengthy visit to Lynden Village just before. She's in her 30's now and her leg is permanetly deformed.

...but, nothing, and I repeat, nothing, tops the following for a display of teenage stupidity.

http://www.big-boys.com/articles/bodyslam.html

...call me sick, but I laughed till I almost vomited. Luckily, no one was hurt (alledegly).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

That takes the biscuit allright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

i tried nutmeg once it works fine...... basically you get a little jar of ground nutmeg and eat it, it tastes manky and its really dry so you have to wash it down with pleanty of liquid, coke is best got really messed up feels like a really heavy stone lasts about 8 hours

be carefull tho its actually a type of poison, and you take it according to your bodyweight
    heh. nutmeg is crazy ****
    best to mix it with orange juice and just knock it back...
    did some of that with a mate at a barbeque when we were both about 14-15.
    i kept bursting into giggling fits whenever i tried talking to adults. i woke up with my face stuck to the bathroom floor :o
    (thankfully nobody found me passed out on the floor :D )

also - "the anarchists cookbook"
    something that should be kept away from teens at all costs :o
    we must've tried to make every type of explosive they listed in that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 garhelen

A few of the friends and myself used to race scrap cars around a forest track. First take out the windows We figured out not to use belts cause one of them jamed when the car turned over so just grab whatever you could and off down the track as hard as it'd go Fantastic laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

*shines halo*
    I was an angelic teenager... didn't really get up to anything too stupid at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

Played chicken with the U-Bahn...