It Happens Everyday - Random violence on our streets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Phil_321 wrote:
    I don't agree with the word 'scumbag'. These 'scumbags' are people too. In fact they probably have alot more problems to deal with than the person on the wrong end of one of their misguided assaults.
    Some people are saying they are forfeiting all their rights when they assault someone and it's all right to beat them with in an inch of their life. OK, so you were punched, big deal, get over it, it doesn't give you the right to kill/seriously injure another human being. As far as I'm concerned someone who reacts with excessive violence fully deserves whatever sentence they get.
    These people are the products of broken homes and poverty and have been let down by successive governments. Is it any wonder they have a chip on their shoulder. If you get attacked by a 'scumbag' it's not their fault it's yours...as in societys.

No way should society take the blame for these scumbags going around attacking people!!
    Jesus christ , people who go around attacking people and being little pricks robbing peoples phones should be beaten to within an inch of their lives.
    Everyday people go out to work and work hard for what they have and then these little tw*ts come up to ya in the street with a knife or such and bye bye new phone I cant believe this behaviour is actually being condoned and actually putting the blame on the victim!
    Broken homes my h*le :mad: their scum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

I was attacked on Paddy's day by a tinker on a bus. Headbutted me as I was getting up from my seat. Punched me in the face, gave me a black eye. I'm still happy I broke that little prick's nose. Laid him flat out.

A guy I know, big fella, 6'4, built like a concrete s*ithouse, was attacked a few months back by a random scumbag. He broke the scumbag's jaw in 3 places and was in a coma for a week. Hard justice baby.

Johnson wrote:
    I was attacked on Paddy's day by a tinker on a bus. Headbutted me as I was getting up from my seat. Punched me in the face, gave me a black eye. I'm still happy I broke that little prick's nose. Laid him flat out.

A guy I know, big fella, 6'4, built like a concrete s*ithouse, was attacked a few months back by a random scumbag. He broke the scumbag's jaw in 3 places and was in a coma for a week. Hard justice baby.

Im delighted , A few more of em should be put in hospital too!pack of pricks :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭deadduck

Johnson wrote:

made my day reading that. bloke should get a medal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Phil_321 wrote:
    I don't agree with the word 'scumbag'. These 'scumbags' are people too. In fact they probably have alot more problems to deal with than the person on the wrong end of one of their misguided assaults.
    Some people are saying they are forfeiting all their rights when they assault someone and it's all right to beat them with in an inch of their life. OK, so you were punched, big deal, get over it, it doesn't give you the right to kill/seriously injure another human being. As far as I'm concerned someone who reacts with excessive violence fully deserves whatever sentence they get.
    These people are the products of broken homes and poverty and have been let down by successive governments. Is it any wonder they have a chip on their shoulder. If you get attacked by a 'scumbag' it's not their fault it's yours...as in societys.

Couldn't disagree with you more to be honest. The guy who attacked me has caused me a lot of pain and potentially ruined my whole summer. I don't like fighting and when i hit him it was the first time i had hit someone in years but he deserves everything I gave him, he's legally an adult and exclusively and entirely responsible for his own actions.

He's just lucky there were people around to pull me off him. I don't think i could possibly feel any remorse for any injuries I caused him, nor should anyone for defending themselves.

Just out of curiosity phil, how would you propose people react when attacked?
    Turn the other cheek perhaps?
    Wait for them to throw you on the ground and kick your head until you stop moving?
    The kind of person I'm talkin about doesn't just stop after one punch and think "OK he's had enough, I'll leave him now", these are the kind of people that won't stop hitting you until you or someone else stops them and the chances of someone else stepping in to protect you are pretty slim these days. The guy who attacked me got up after I gave him a beating and still tried to attack me again in spite of me beating him and a crowd of people trying to hold him back, he didn't give up until a massive bouncer ran at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

Phil_321 wrote:

coming from a difficult background is neither a license to go around making unprovoked physical attacks on strangers nor is it an excuse for such behaviour.
    furthermore if you initiate an unprovoked attack upon a stranger you should expect them to reciprocate in kind not stop and check if you had a hard upbringing before they decide if its politicaly correct to defend themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

Phil_321 wrote:

Awww, bless. The disadvantaged boy should be allowed to go around randomly assaulting people because he can't be bothered to try and improve his situation? If that's your attitude you may as well hang a sign around your neck saying "I'm incredibly naive. F*** me up the ass for my whole life", becasue someday you'll realise that some people are just scum, pure and simple. There's no reason for it, they're just scum in some cases.

The lazy bastids should be made get a job like the rest of us.Christ this country really bugs me , people getting mugged everyday and nothing done about it , and if you do try to go the garda route , if the fuktwa*ts live in a certain area the guards wont go near em , na im all for public floggings and the death penalty being brought into play in Ireland , might teach some of these people who go around ruining other peoples lifes some respect , Like how dare ya interfere with an innocent bystander or their property , fux sake they should be put down !Scumbags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Johnson wrote:

fantastic. that brought a smile to my face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Im suprised anybody has been mugged more than once, it seems near impossible

The closest I ever came was a few months back, was walkin back to O`Connell Street from the snoop dogg gig in the Point, completely Ossified mcTwistyfried drunk,i took out a little plastic bag which I had previously secreted illegal substanage in for use post-Point. Luckily for me the yokes had fallen out of the bag and into my pocket, as some scumbag standing in a doorway grabbed it off me and gave me a "got a problem? what the **** you gonna do about it" look, seeing as he had 7 mates with him and id lost contact with mine

I just calmly replied "keep it sh1thead, its empty", ya shoulda seen the sickened look on his face :D If my stuff had been in it, obviously Id little chance of getting it back, seeing as I was full of drink I probably would have tried to clean deck him with one punch and then run as fast as possible back to O`Connell Street with 7 schwars in persuit

Ive only been randomly attacked once (obviously Ive been in a few scraps, but I define random attack as when you are boxed without the slightest hint of trouble by a stranger). It was at a youth disco when I was 14, this pikey of 16 or so spent much of the night runnin round the place effectively doing hit and run atacks, give someone a great single box and leg it into the crowd before you would even have time to recognise him never mind retaliate. Its no lie to say that if I had caught up with him I would have tried to take his life. Its one thing being drunk and starting on me because you think I was trying it on with your bird or whatever, but motiveless hit and run? Capital crime in my book, I honestly couldnt have given a fcuk at that stage

As for whether people have "the look" for getting attacked, I dunno. Im about an inch taller than an average sized girl (stupid system I know, but im completely useless at measuring, Im probably 5 foot 8 or 9 maybe). I keep the hair short. I wear Nike/Reebok/whatever hoodies and trackers. I dont totally scobe it up- no burbery or sh1t sovereigns, but imo if you dress a little like them theyre less likely to give you sh1t
    Jaysus, few weeks ago Id a job interview, so I put on my best long sleeved shirt. Shoulda seen the "whatcha wearin dat round here for" look some wee scummer gave me as I walked around Blanch in it :D

Phil- are you living in the real world? Honestly. If someone randomly attacks you you should have 2 intents
    Gain the upper hand in the fight
    Once you have gained the defensive, move in for the revenge assault
    Its not enough to merely defend yourself, you have to kick the fcuker when hes down

Anyway, my tips on staying safe would be
    Dont look like a target. Dont walk through Pearse Street looking like a Trinity student. Bin the tweed jackets, the slipknot hoodies, all that sh1t. Dress a little bit like them and theyre less likely to harass you. Ill be honest, if I was a bleedin raphid head, Id beat up/rob the central bank kids
    Keep the hair short, or at least keep it tidy if it needs a trim. Scobes dont like unkempt hair :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ms Beanbag

Phil_321 wrote:

Do you really think that the victims of a mugging, beating etc should forget about the incident and do nowt because the perpetrator may have alot more problems than them? and the assault was "misguided"??!
    If someone was punched i.e. PHYSICALLY ASSAULTED for no reason, you expect them to "just get over it"?! Your post gets more ludicrous as it goes on.
    These scumbags may be the product of broken homes. I think that ultimately, they turn out the way they do because they feel they don't get enough attention at home, I have noticed that the thugs around my town come from big families. Then theres the emphasis of peer pressure, drugs and drink.
    It's quite obvious you yourself or someone close to you has never been the victim of a random, unprovoked attack..
    Someday if you yourself or a loved one suffers because of these b@stards, I'll bet you'll change your opinion very fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Ive never been attacked, but I usually have a confident walk, if that makes any sense. I agree, all these scumbags deserve whatever they get. Id love to see one get hit by a bus as he's running away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

I remember last year walking through Rathgar on my own I got started on by a few lads I had never been started on before this.

at first I thought they were just some wannabes from Rathgar and I laughed in their faces when your man asked me for a straightner I simply replied "been there lads you'll grow out of it" so I walked off.

So im walking down the road when some **** throws a can at me narrowly missing me and I just fukin flipped (I had a few cans in me at the time) and started shouting which one of you fukin c**ts threw that,so of course none of them say a word until what I percieved to be the alpha male goes "I did do you have a problem"

I said of course I have a fukin problem you rat what fukin drain did you crawl out of

So you man swings at me and misses and I straight out floored the lil **** and started walking towards his mates they started walking away and I threw the can at them just at that time a garda bike drives by sees me throwing a can at them and the other **** on the ground his nose gushing blood,lol I seemed like the scumbag to him

So I got arrested,public order,assault,etc. ended up getting a J.L.O for it

How the **** is that fair?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Phil_321 wrote:
    Haha that really was a good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

Phil_321 wrote:

Get real. You think that a tough upbringing is an excuse to use violence, with impunity, against people more fortunate than you?

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    Lots of words

How the **** is that fair?

Probably because you initiated the fight you idiot.

You could have walked away but you didn't. I am glad you got done for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭She-Ra

a cousin of mine got attacked a little over a year ago..the filthy scum bags that done it jumped on him around the corner from his house... they even went so far as bitinghim.. they stopped when he got a chance to look up and recognise one enough to say his name. he had to wait months for HIV results to come through... Anyone that can say people that attack people like this have clearly been wrapped in cotton wool by mammy & daddy and have no idea what the real world is like... what ever your background is..there is NO justifying attacking an innocent person..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Phil_321

I have to say, imo some of your attitudes are worse than the so-called 'scumbags'. At least they're ignorant to the violence they inflict. They're not consciously aiming to beat people to "within an inch of their lives", unlike the retaliation that is being suggested on this thread. If that is your attitude, I recommend taking a long hard look in the mirror, pal.
    I suggest carrying some nice gifts (cd's, vouchers, cigarettes), that you can use as a peace offering if trouble arises while you walk about town. Remember: they have it alot tougher than you do, Jack.

Personally I dont give 2 fu*ks how tough they have it and I can only hope with every innocent bystander they hurt it all gets worse for them!
    Infact I hope there is some jusice in the world and that those pricks have it hard now and every day that they continue to pick on people that have done nothing to them.
    I cant believe that you actually think that us people who have been burned by those pricks should feel some pity for them , the only thing I feel for scum of this type is hatred and that is one thing that will never change !
    The only nice gift that id carry for those dic*s is a hurl with a few rusty nails in it for the pricks!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Phil_321 wrote:
    They're not consciously aiming to beat people to "within an inch of their lives"

Oh so they're just looking to give a joke beating maybe? At what point do they lose control over their own actions may I ask?

Anyhoo, you propose no retaliation whatsoever, even bringing a pack of goodies along with you to fob them off.

And as established being underpriveleged and so forth does not entitle you in any way to beat someone under any circumstances.

Have you ever been attacked?

Wow there underprivileged , do you think we all got something in our lives by having it fall into our laps ?
    christ sakes , are you saying yoyu`d think were all better people if we say oh fuk no ive been dealt a ****ty hand , im a fukn martyr im goina go out and mug some people , its complete bol*x , and with attitudes like that its no wonder the problem is worsening when people are actually making up excuses for people who live their lives by ruining others :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Phil_321

Every second poster here is condoning and encouraging extreme violence to be used on marginalised section of our society. If these 'scumbags' were black you'd be called a racist for your attitudes. This guys are actually worse off than the blacks as they can't even play the racism card, they can't defend themselves against this kind of defamation.
    I suppose that's modern Ireland for you. If they wear tracksuits and cause a bit of hassle here and there, they're treated like Jews in Nazi-era Germany. Shame on you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Yes shame on us for standing up for ourselves.

Beating the living daylights out of someone for no reason is not "a bit of hassle here and there"

Do you actually propose we let these people beat us up without any protest whatsoever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

Phil_321 wrote:
    I suggest carrying some nice gifts (cd's, vouchers, cigarettes), that you can use as a peace offering if trouble arises while you walk about town. Remember: they have it alot tougher than you do, Jack.

I showed this reply to several people. Each of them broke up into uncontrollable fits of laughter. Thanks for that bit of light entertainment. You're welcome to come back down to planet Earth any time you like and join us for a pint. I'm sure you'd keep us all in stitches with your rosey-eyed view of society.
    Phil_321 wrote:
    Every second poster here is condoning and encouraging extreme violence to be used on marginalised section of our society. If these 'scumbags' were black you'd be called a racist for your attitudes. This guys are actually worse off than the blacks as they can't even play the racism card, they can't defend themselves against this kind of defamation.
    I suppose that's modern Ireland for you. If they wear tracksuits and cause a bit of hassle here and there, they're treated like Jews in Nazi-era Germany. Shame on you all.

Eh, I think you should go back and actually READ the thread. Nobody is suggesting running around working class housing estates and beating up anyone who's unemployed, underpriviliged or wearing a tracksuit. What is being suggested is that if any scumbag, whether he be from a disadvantaged background or whether he's from Foxrock, decides to greviously assault a total stranger for fun or personal gain then that person deserves whatever he gets. It's really that simple.

It might be easy for you to go against the grain and disagree but I'm pretty sure if I stabbed one of your friends with a syringe that I claimed was infected with HIV, you'd wish over the next 6 months of uncertainty that your friend would have been given the opportunity to smash my head off the kerb to prevent it happening.

Jesus christ man were not on about beating up people who wear tracksuits , were on about beating up people who mug people and hassle people they dont even know in the streets.

Jesus how did you get lets beat up tracksuit wearers from that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Phil_321 wrote:
    I have to say, imo some of your attitudes are worse than the so-called 'scumbags'. At least they're ignorant to the violence they inflict. They're not consciously aiming to beat people to "within an inch of their lives", unlike the retaliation that is being suggested on this thread. If that is your attitude, I recommend taking a long hard look in the mirror, pal.

Tell me this is sarcasm??
    "ignorant to the violence they inflict"?? Are they so ignorent to the violence that could be potentially retaliated against them too?
    Many people won't fight back.. that's just their nature.
    However, many will fight back defensively, and may be driven to retaliate to use extreme force, depending on circumstances.
    If the "scumbags" are so ignorant to this fact, they get whats coming to them.
    If they have no respect for a persons life during a moment of madness, dont expect any respect back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The only time I got attacked and didn't fight back was when I was coming home from a club, and someone came up, and asked did I have a gun under my jacket. I said "no, I left it at home tonight". He hit me twice (pussy slaps, than punches, tbh), and fecked off. Found out later he started on a few people previous to me (whilst going from another club to the chippers). I just stepped back, & told him to fúck off.

The "gun" question was due to me wearing a trenchcoat. The "left it (the gun) at home" is a joke, which everyone, aside from that sack of sh|t, found funny.

TBH, no-one really attacks me when I'm sober. If they do, I kick their ass, best I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 1 User Name

I must say that i have to agree with Phil in one small aspect. Not every person who wears tracksuit, hoody and gold chains should be tarred with the *scumbag" title. Not all people in this group go around randomly attacking people. Scumbags are a small minority (even though they're a complete nuissance).

However, i do feel that if someone is randomly attacked (or just attacked) someone else, they are fully within their rights to beat them within an inch of their life to defend themself. If somebody is attacked, it could be them that is beaten nearly to death.

And remember society is not just the middle classes, it encompasses all the different people mentioned in the thread. However, whether society is to blame for this scum, is a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Phil_321 wrote:
    In fact they probably have alot more problems to deal with than the person on the wrong end of one of their misguided assaults.

How is that relevant to the person being assaulted?

Phil_321 wrote:
    OK, so you were punched, big deal, get over it,
    Why? Why is the victim assaulting them back more important to you than their initial assault?

Phil_321 wrote:
    it doesn't give you the right to kill/seriously injure another human being.

Who gave them the right to assault an innocent person on the street in the first place. Their actions have consequences, they should face them. The scumbag wasnt worried about the random person on the streets rights when they assaulted them.

Phil_321 wrote:
    As far as I'm concerned someone who reacts with excessive violence fully deserves whatever sentence they get.

As far as I'm concerned someone who assaults me on the street fully deserves whatever they get.

Phil_321 wrote:
    These people are the products of broken homes and poverty and have been let down by successive governments. Is it any wonder they have a chip on their shoulder.

Again. How is that relevant to the person being assaulted?
    Phil_321 wrote:
    If you get attacked by a 'scumbag' it's not their fault it's yours...as in societys.

You know what, thats one of the most offensive things Ive ever read on boards. Seriously are you trolling? How is it anyones fault but their own? Not all people who are poor or come from a broken home go out to assault people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

I kinda used to be bullied in secondary school. I was quet, didn't bother fighting back, perfect person to pick on, had done martial arts for years, but the non-violent approach was simply useless. Until one day i decided that I was sick of it, and not fighting back was encouraging the bullying.
    So one day someone pushed me from behind in the classroom, i spun round and kicked him so hard in the chest that he cracked the prefab wall with the force of his head hitting it, and his elbow cracked another part.
    When the teacher came in for the nest class they asked what happened to the wall. Nobody in the class told them, and I was never picked on again.