What the Americans think of Ireland

• 30-03-2005 11:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

I cant help detecting some sarcasm in that first Yank's post. Maybe its just me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,495 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Ha... look where chilipop has wandered off to!

Or could J.Keating be chilipop.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

You ever talk to any Americans on the net? They are a bit mad, they fall over there heels when you say you are from IrrrrrrrrreLand....

They think we are living on this magical little island isolated from the rest of the world, i was even asked once did i ever hear of McDonalds :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Humblebee

He was obviously being mostly sarcastic. Everyone knows the last of the mermaids was killed off years ago by over-hunting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

basquille wrote:
    Ha... look where chilipop has wandered off to!

Or could J.Keating be chilipop.....

Tune in next time...

Oh and what is an FAB? Some sort of chip manafacturing machine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

yep...chip FABrication

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

J.Keating wrote:
    they really don't have a clue
    I'm old enough to remember when Americans were considered 'rich'.

Here's a good one...

http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article8191.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

The link doesnt work. it requires login, perhaps
    you could tell us what forum or thread its iN?!?

Oooooooookkkkkkkkkkkkkk..the OP has disintigrated from the thread..... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Oooooooookkkkkkkkkkkkkk..the OP has disintigrated from the thread..... :confused:
    Yeah. How does he do that? He left me looking like some nipple crazed loon in another thread....

nipple crazed loon

lol..

i assume he got very banned (as opposed to just banned)..
    hes been pulled from the entire board it seems...
    which means i cant find out what caused it.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

lol..

i assume he got very banned (as opposed to just banned)..
    hes been pulled from the entire board it seems...
    which means i cant find out what caused it.. :(
    Maybe he traveled back in time and killed his own grandfather and thus completely wiping all trace of himself from history.

I'm sure it's only a matter of time before we forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I have to laugh when they come over to IrrrreeeeLand and try to rent a car the best some can afford is a micra or 206.
    Just wait till they go to the petrol or "Gas" station and find out its $1.32 a litre not $1.32 a gallon.
    There even amazed we have Satellite TV and Xbox's also not to mention a flushing toliet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭OY

Sparky_S wrote:
    not to mention a flushing toliet.

OMG! Are you serious? Where?
    Lucky sod! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

It really makes you wonder how Ireland is marketed abroad at all at all :rolleyes:
    I suppose it's what's worked for us in the past.

nevernev wrote:
    OMG! Are you serious? Where?
    Lucky sod! :D
    Yea i got mine installed just 2 days ago, it even re-fills itself :D
    I feel like 1 in a million :D

It really makes you wonder how Ireland is marketed abroad at all at all :rolleyes:
    I suppose it's what's worked for us in the past.

Hey dont you remember we have to market that we still have Leapreachauns hiding in the woods. :D

(i assume i spelt Leapreachauns wrong, i hope i did'nt make that mistake in the brochure aswell :D )

Was this J.Keating person Banned for posting crap like this

Originally Posted by J.Keating
    Hey people here is my brand new alternative to fix it friday on the radio
    If anyone has any questions they cant solve
    post it here and We will try to answer you
    I will then post them in a pdf file every two years,
    see my definitive guide to buying laptops in my sig.

Every two years WTF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭MissyKiki

gazza22 wrote:
    You ever talk to any Americans on the net? They are a bit mad, they fall over there heels when you say you are from IrrrrrrrrreLand....

They think we are living on this magical little island isolated from the rest of the world, i was even asked once did i ever hear of McDonalds :rolleyes:

You have to realize our history lessons start in Ancient Greece, go to Rome, mention some invasion from the north, then America gets discovered. We get very little else except from TV and Movies, which show little cottages, little green men and their gold, and lots of whiskey. (Actually, I like the whiskey part.) Many Americans are ignorant, uncultured swine who can barely speak one language let alone 2. So , do you really have McDonalds? (just kidding)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭MissyKiki

Sparky_S wrote:
    I have to laugh when they come over to IrrrreeeeLand and try to rent a car the best some can afford is a micra or 206.
    Just wait till they go to the petrol or "Gas" station and find out its $1.32 a litre not $1.32 a gallon.
    There even amazed we have Satellite TV and Xbox's also not to mention a flushing toliet.

Wait....you have XBOX? Really? I don't even have one of those...LOL We can afford computers and we can put a man on the moon, but we can't make people believe it isn't that much different in other places in the world. And I have to say the whole metric conversion screws a lot of Americans up. I guess everyone here think thigs haven't changed over there since Frank McCourt grew up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

A conversation I had about a year ago:

"Where are you from?"
    "Ireland"
    "Oh my god! So does that mean you have an accent!!?"
    "er.. I suppose"
    "I love accents!"
    "Do you, I like your accents too"
    "Huh?"
    "..You also have an accent"
    "lol, naw-aw hun, I'm from america!"

This is why I love the american people :D They're either really astute and well-informed because they had the impetus to learn about the world by themselves (ie democrats). Or (as more often is the case), they are a complete parody of themselves.. Fukkin hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

ApeXaviour wrote:
    "lol, naw-aw hun, I'm from america!"

They actually say 'lol'!? Weirdos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Exit wrote:
    They actually say 'lol'!? Weirdos.

I know a few sweeds who acutally do say LoL when they find something funneh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Branoic

Ha! That's nothing! When I was in the US about 10 years ago I was in a car being driven by a young American woman (about 20ish). We passed a graveyard and I noticed that the vast majority of the head stones were actually laid flat in the ground, as opposed to standing upright, which is the more usual fashion in Ireland. I considered this to be quite odd and so I gave the graveyard more than just a passing glance. The American, noticing my slight interest, explained it all to me.............

"Oh yeah, you see, over here, when people die, we bury them."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

lmao

jesus christ.. I actually don't know whether to laugh or puke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Branoic wrote:
    "Oh yeah, you see, over here, when people die, we bury them."
    What a waste!

Braaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnsssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,532 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Megatron wrote:
    I know a few sweeds who acutally do say LoL when they find something funneh
    I know some Dutch guys who also do the same. There word meaning "laugh" is actually "lol" in Dutch.

There are just 3 things to sum up americas stupidity

GEORGE W BUSH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

You shower of stereotyping little feckers!

Oh myyyyy Goooddddd. they have the sun over here aswell.

Well TBH im amazed we have the sun here sometimes.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭radiospan

I heard a story about an American exchange student who came over to one of the secondary schools in Cork for transition year, and was asking about the noises that the pedestrian crossing makes:

"What's that noise from the traffic lights?"
    "That's so blind people know when the lights have changed."
    "Oh, in America, we don't let blind people drive."