M50 Sniper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,509 ✭✭✭fletch

I heard today that i could have been an accident, If someone was shooting fox or rabbits a few fields over and missed the bullet would carry on.
    Any experienced hunter wouldnt let this happen as they would always make sure that there was a bullet stop behind their target like a hill or something.
    Didn't it happen around Ballymount & Tallaght? I don't know of any fields around there where you could go fox or rabbit hunting. Its a highly industrialised area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

fletch wrote:
    Didn't it happen around Ballymount & Tallaght? I don't know of any fields around there where you could go fox or rabbit hunting. Its a highly industrialised area.

The field there is fekkin huge.

X is where he was other X is Lennys gaff , coincedence?

http://members.boards.ie/kdjac/image.asp.gif

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

Now I'm sh!tting myself about driving home this afternoon :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

KdjaC wrote:
    X is where he was other X is Lennys gaff , coincedence?

http://members.boards.ie/kdjac/image.asp.gif

kdjac

:D:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

whiskeyman wrote:
    some weapons expert dude on TV3 news said this wasnt the work of a pellet gun, but more likely of a hunter rifle.

He was a ****in clown, TV3 just listed him as a "Security Expert" with no other info. He reckoned it was a military fiifle or a hunting rifle and mentioned 5.56mm as mill and 7.62mm and Hunting, as if thats the only calibers that exist. TV3 should be banned from haveing a news program if they are going stick on such ****e.

Drivers injurys may have had nothing to do with the what hit his windscreen, and It could ave been anything including a ball bearing, ill be waiting for something offical and not "maky uppy news" from TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Heres an article (requires registration) from todays Indo about it.

It was a .22 rifle or larger that was used.
    Truck driver shot by random sniper has serious eye injury

THE truck driver shot by a sniper as he drove along a motorway on Wednesday suffered a serious eye injury in the random attack.

Patrick Roche, in his 50s, from Ballymoney, Kilbride, Co Wicklow, was hit in the neck by a bullet fired by a gunman between 1.45 and 2am on Wednesday morning as he drove North on Dublin's M50.

Gardai say Mr Roche was lucky to survive the shot which came within a fraction of an inch of killing him. But doctors are now more worried about the splinters of glass from the windscreen which lodged in one eye. Despite the seriousness of his injuries, he is said to be in "good form".

Detectives plan to interview all holders of licensed firearms of .22 calibre and higher who live in the Clondalkin and Tallaght areas.

Gardai are not revealing the type of bullet fired. It is thought it could be more powerful that that used in a standard .22 rifle.

Throughout yesterday gardai were carrying out intensive searches of the Ballymount to Red Cow area where the sniper struck.

Last night Mr Roche was in a ward in Tallaght Hospital after spending the previous day lying on a trolley.

His wife Frances said: "There are lots of people on trollies. There are people there worse off than him . . .the way I look on it is that we are lucky to still have him."

Gardai have appealed for anyone with information to phone them on 01 666 7600.

Frank Khan and
    Charlie Mallon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

KdjaC wrote:
    He lay in the field beside Kingswood its obviously Lenny bored no animals to terrorize or parents to walk in so he decided to start going all GTA on the M50.

The Tallaght Sniper. It all makes sense now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

jesus christ, im from kilnamanagh and didnt even hear anything bout this. i know that place well. i usually go huntin wit me .22, sure i was there wedne........wait a minute! ;)

just asked me da. he said he heard bout it and thinks whoever did it was either on the bridge (unlikely) or probably on top kingswood castle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Puck

LoneGunM@n wrote:
    Now I'm sh!tting myself about driving home this afternoon :(
    Irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

haha

by the way, do u honestly think he's gonna return to that spot with all the guards sniffin around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

KdjaC wrote:
    Kingswood side just behind the Luas station big emtpy field stretching to Kingswood and Lennys house.

kdjac
    Which is weider; you know exactly where the sniper was, or where Lenny's house is? :rolleyes:

=-=

Notices Lenny hasn't said anything yet...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

He just struck again, read front page of Todays Herald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Post some info since we can't all get to a newspaper?

Nothing on breakingnews.ie about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Where the hell did those two years go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

I just read this entire thread thinking there was some big drama going on that I hadn't heard about... in 2007. Bye bye study break.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

wow, thats a hell of a bump right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Bet it's that garda with a shotgun :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

InFront wrote:
    I just read this entire thread thinking there was some big drama going on that I hadn't heard about... in 2007. Bye bye study break.
    Haha me too. Some bump alright.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

I cant get it on the net, its only in the herald :o( sorry bout the speed bump but if its true, it could cause more traffic chaos on the m50 alteratives if people start avoiding the motorway. maybe thats why the govt havent said much about it?

• Subscribers Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

confirmed i saw this on front of paper too, someone shot the roof of a guys car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Was expecting to seee a snippet or something on TV3 news about this but not a thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

It hasn't been confirmed that it was actually a bullet that was fired.

I picked up a copy of the herald (don't know why!!) and the man who was driving the jeep heard a bang and found a small hole in his roof. It never said that a bullet was found.

But what else could have put a hole through the roof

weird??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

swingking wrote:
    It hasn't been confirmed that it was actually a bullet that was fired.

I picked up a copy of the herald (don't know why!!) and the man who was driving the jeep heard a bang and found a small hole in his roof. It never said that a bullet was found.

But what else could have put a hole through the roof

weird??
    meteor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Wertz wrote:
    Hunting with a rifle at 2-3am in an urban area sounds a bit like a euphenism for criminal activity to me.

My scenario: a few lads buy/find/steal a .22 and decide to go out and have some "fun" at all hours of the morning.
    Lad 1 "Jaysus...I know what'd be a great laugh...let's try to pop the tyres on a lorry!"
    Lad 2 "Rapid...it'll be loike GTA...and maybe the lorry will crash and a crate of plasma TVs will fall out the back of it!"
    Lad 3 " Baaaaaaa-NG"
    Lad 1 "Ya fuggin' missed, ya prick...here gimme a go..."
    Another wannabe comedian. Only thing is I've had funnier headaches.

What accent is that you are trying to replicate anyway?

Another wannabe comedian. Only thing is I've had funnier headaches.

What accent is that you are trying to replicate anyway?

a bit late with the critique!

Trojan wrote:
    According to a Joint National Internet Research survey, via Silicon Republic, 38pc of Irish adults [were] online in 2004

What does that mean, they were online?...how often were they online, was this once a day, once a week or once a year they were online? That figure tells us nothing.

daveym wrote:
    a bit late with the critique!
    I don't spend my whole day here waiting for someone to post something stupid!

I don't spend my whole day here waiting for someone to post something stupid

but the post you are giving out about is 2 years old!

daveym wrote:
    but the post you are giving out about is 2 years old!
    Well he deserves it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I remember reading this thread...It does NOT feel like 2 years ago.