Ashamed to be Irish!

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

i am refering to my original case of why would any sane person go to the centre of dublin on paddys day when they can go somewhere with less knacks(you go to the centre of dublin and complain you saw violence?what you expect).

I'm from Dublin and I'd like to think that if I went out last night (which I didn't) that I could go out unharrassed. Of course people are going to complain they saw violence, who in their right mind would come home and say "Saw a young girl bashed, bit of a laugh". You seem to think that only Dublin has knacks (or at least think they have a higher proportion). I've been around Ireland and I've been started on more times out of Dublin than in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

I'm ashamed to be irish when "Irish Prime Minister, Bretie Ayhern" licks George Bushes bum and and praises him on national TV. As leader of the irish people he spit in Bushes stoopid monkey face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Debyaka wrote:
    I was around dublin last night and yea i seena few bouts of pushing and shoving, i also saw people drunk, but nothing too bad....
    So where were you last night? Hermetically sealed in an air-tight room somewhere on the Aran Islands by all accounts, or more than likely in your room in your folk’s house?

Dublin city-centre yesterday was carnage from 3pm. I was there, and I regretted spending yet another day in this drink-sodden country of ours.

The big difference is this – in the last 20 years we’ve developed an underclass in this country. We’ve always been ‘fond of the sup’ here, but historically the violence was always contained. Now the underclass get to spoil the fun for the rest of us.

I never felt more ashamed to be Irish, nevermind to be a Dubliner, than I did yesterday.

But basically the problem all boils down to this simple fact – OFF LICENCES ARE NOT CHECKING GARDA ISSUED AGE CARDS! Got it? Want me to say it again?

I’ve lost count of the times I’ve seen lads who look like they’ve barely seen the sharp-end of a BIC razor get served in Off-licences in Dublin.

Perhaps the Office of Tobacco Control could re-direct the efforts of their forty state-paid touts into monitoring the sale of alcohol to minors with the added sanction of licence-withdrawals for those who transgress the law.

But you know what? That requires effort, and we don’t do ‘effort’ in this country.

The solution to the problem is quite simple, and is one that has been adopted in the states successfully – card everyone who buys drink in an off-licence, even if they look like Mr. Burns. Make it the law. Don’t leave it up to the discretion of the average drooler behind an off-licence counter – card everyone, full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

the solution to the problem is quite simple, and is one that has been adopted in the states successfully – card everyone who buys drink in an off-licence, even if they look like Mr. Burns. Make it the law. Don’t leave it up to the discretion of the average drooler behind an off-licence counter – card everyone, full stop.

that wouldnt make a blind bit of difference to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

What about the older brother coming out of the supermarket with the 4 trays of beer and giving them to his younger brother and his gang for hoods for the usual 20 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Does any one realise that theyre only ashamed to be irish because of the actions of the minority of skangers in dublin? why not leave the town for the day? theres what, 1 million in dublin and 3 million outside it and i would imagine (from what i can gather anyway) the majority of the country towns werent half as bad as Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

young people are too comfortable, they get hand-outs from parents and think it's great. a 'free' life. if they were made work for the money, like the real irish did, they'd soon change their ways.

these kids dont earn a few cans, they take them for granted and leech of parents to get them. they get loaded, fall about the place, maybe get involved with the guards/fights.

its only because their drunk, on a 1-2-1 basis most of these youngsters are 'sound', in gangs, their scum, wimps, not big enough to stand up for their beliefs. with money, comes responsibility. these kids dont know the meaning of the word.

way to generalise there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ms Beanbag

I agree, it's the parents fault for not giving their kids a good slap when they deserve it.
    And then we have this whole debate about disciplining children and people preaching that "it's not right to slap/spank your children". :rolleyes: Bet they've never been on the recieving end of a ruffians abuse and disrespect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭stuey

I've said it before and my god I'll say it again

"oh bitch, bitch, bitch"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

ColHol wrote:
    Does any one realise that theyre only ashamed to be irish because of the actions of the minority of skangers in dublin?

Funny how that minority seems to puke all over the streets of every major town and city in Ireland for a day, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

It's amazing how, like totally unique the Irish are, isn't it?

All these people chattering on about how they can always have a great time abroad by hunting out an Irish pub and having the craic! And Irish people stopping you in the street on paddy's day to see if you're irish and chat to you!

No other group of expats in the ENTIRE UNIVERSE does that!

Although most other nations have a culture that involves some elements of enjoyment that are not geared toward a specific rate of alcohol consumption (5 pints per hour).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

the attack on the 2 canadians

ugly nasty unsurprising incident, but they can go home to canada while we have to watch for a certain type of knacker all the time....

certain parts of downtown are no go areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Cathy

Scruff101 wrote:
    Today is St. Patricks Day...a day which is supposedly meant to be used as a means of celebrating our nationality! After my experiences today I think 'St. Patricks Day' is an outdated concept that should be done away with! All it is is an excuse for people (mostly underage) to get well and truly off their faces and ruin the day for everyone else!

Walking up Grafton St. today I felt like i was in some different city or a parallel universe, almost everyone was drunk, people were drinking out of cans or bottles, people were either falling around the place or being held up by their friends and others were trying to pick fights with passers-by! Meanwhile the Guards stood by just waiting for something to happen...which it did a number of times! In the space of 3 hours I saw an ambulance on Grafton St. 4 times and I saw people being handcuffed by the Guards 5 or 6 times!
    Myself and my friend decided to see if Temple Bar was as bad as Grafton St! We were Just crossing Dame St. over to the Bank of Ireland when we saw a group of 5 girls (no more than 17 years of age) getting into a fight with 2 other girls.....several men stood by cheering and another man was recording the whole thiing on his camera!! One of the girls was being kicked and when her friend tried to help her she was turned on by the group of 5 girls, punched in the face and thrown against the gates of the bank!
    Eventually the 2 girls got away! At this stage we had gotten across the street(the lights had been red) and we were walking behind the 2 girls towards the Temple Bar area! Myself and my friend realised that neither of them were Irish! We stopped them to ask if they were ok,one of them was crying her eyes out and the other was in complete shock! They had been set upon by the 5 for NO reason! One of the thugs stuck a sticker on one of the girls backs and she took it off & threw it on the ground, when the group saw her throwing the sticker away they started to hit her!! This was the ONLY reason...the girls had just been walking along looking for somewhere to go for food!! We brought them into the toilets in the Bank bar to get them some ice for their badly beaten faces and to calm them down a bit! The 2 girls were Canadians in Ireland for the week specially for St. Patricks week! These girls will not be back! Im sure our attempts at telling them that this is not the norm fell on deaf ears! They are here until Monday and will not be back into town...they are going to stay around Clontarf (where their B&B is) for the next few days! We stayed with the girls for around an hour and got a taxi for them!

Today I have to say I am ashamed to be Irish...if this is what celebrating our Irishness is all about I give up! A Thousand Welcomes....yeah right!! The Fighting Irish now has a whole new meaning for me!

Rant over!

Every sentence in that post ended with an exclamation mark...

Sarky wrote:
    Funny how that minority seems to puke all over the streets of every major town and city in Ireland for a day, isn't it?
    EVERY town and city? ive talked to friends and stuff and a lot oftowns werent puked upon etc. lots of drinking, the odd fight, nothing widespread (no street sex either unfortunately :( ) seriously, i go out quite a bit and i havent seen or heard of anything near what ive heard of dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

The madness isnt centralised to Dublin. I ended up in a friends party in Maynooth (on Paddies day/night) and some lads literally walked in the door and walked out with my mates laptop under their arm. We went looking for them but it was too late.

Skangers. We have too many of them these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭GraveRobber

What a **** paddys day. Went out on paddys eve and that was one of he best nights I had out in a long time but paddys days was terriable. You couldnt get into a nightclub without waitin 4 2 hrs and there were nothin but fights on the streets. Even tho i was drunk I ended going home early. Waste of time and money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭daire

You stood there waiting for your light to go green watching it all unfold and watching two girls get battered and you did nothing. You didn't even film it. Only afterwards did you bother to find out what happened. Real brave. If you want to be proud to be Irish you should start looking at yourself and work from there. You didn't have to wade in and physically restrain them, you could have called the gardai, asked for help from the men watching, shouted for them to stop. You could have done something, anything, instead you did adsolutely nothing. You gingerly followed a pair of beaten girls and "shock horror" found out they didn't provoke it.

You're as much of the problem as anyone else, you let it happen so it happens. People turn a blind eye all the time, that's what you did. You're feeling shame, that's what you deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,151 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Have a sickening incident of my own from a St. Pat's night out last year. Was out with a rake of my brothers mates for the night. By 10-11 everyone was buckled, including me. Happened to notice a mate of my brothers chatting up a young, dressed up (or is that dressed down) looking girl. She was definitely not 18. Didn't think anymore of it at the time. Anyway, when the pubs closed, we all piled into two taxis back to a mates house for the night. Anyway, woke up the next morning. Saw the aforementioned girl leave the bathroom. Later heard yer mano bragging, he's 23, about how he slept with the 15 year old girl that night after getting her drunk. The girl was essentially raped that night, the sad thing was that she didn't even seem to plussed about it.

I really feel sorry for those poor kids, it's not their fault, she's a kid, she doesn't know any better. It's insane that a parent would allow their daughter to get put into a position like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Scruff101

Cathy wrote:
    Every sentence in that post ended with an exclamation mark...

I was very,very,very annoyed about this...hence the exclamation marks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Scruff101

daire wrote:
    You stood there waiting for your light to go green watching it all unfold and watching two girls get battered and you did nothing. You didn't even film it. Only afterwards did you bother to find out what happened. Real brave. If you want to be proud to be Irish you should start looking at yourself and work from there. You didn't have to wade in and physically restrain them, you could have called the gardai, asked for help from the men watching, shouted for them to stop. You could have done something, anything, instead you did adsolutely nothing. You gingerly followed a pair of beaten girls and "shock horror" found out they didn't provoke it.

You're as much of the problem as anyone else, you let it happen so it happens. People turn a blind eye all the time, that's what you did. You're feeling shame, that's what you deserve.

What do you mean I didn't even film it!? What did you expect me to do...stride across two red lights and end up getting knocked down by a car...then again it probably would have taken the attention away from the 2 girls!! Also...the group of 5 girls would have been delighted to see 2 more girls intervene so they could kick us around the place too! We didn't 'follow them',we just happened to be going in the same direction as them. We did everything we could...unlike others who stood by as this was actually happening right beside them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭daire

You followed the wrong girls. I was pointing out the man filming it actually did more than you at the time. You did zero to help the situation until after it had occured. Anyway, I don't actually expect you to take the blame for it but it's the way people seem to be these days. They don't want to take direct responsibility for anything going on around them. Just turning blind eyes and complaining about it later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

daire wrote:
    You followed the wrong girls. I was pointing out the man filming it actually did more than you at the time. You did zero to help the situation until after it had occured. Anyway, I don't actually expect you to take the blame for it but it's the way people seem to be these days. They don't want to take direct responsibility for anything going on around them. Just turning blind eyes and complaining about it later.

surely the people "directly responsible" in the above situation are the attackers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

you're right Daire. No one wants to take or assign responsibility

so with reference to the above
    maybe the attackers are not to blame - perhaps their upbringing, their deprived lifestyle, their lack of opportunites, even society in general is the culprit.

yes, all of the above. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

I was awakened in the early hours after Paddy's Day by the sound of breaking glass as the bus shelter outside was attacked. I didn't pay too much attention, didn't call the cops, it's happened before and I think that they would have been well gone by the time a squad car would have appeared.

I got back to sleep and was awoken again about an hour later by the sound of the Garda helicopter overhead. I heard shouting outside and looked out to see a squad car and bike cop apparently lifting a couple of people. Anyone know what was going on that the Gardai needed to call on the helicopter for? Seems a bit heavy though I was glad to see them doing their job and asserting their presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭ibanez

Irish people just cant handle their drink or behave properly in public.Every week in The two main papers we have in mayo its the same names that keep coming up for public order offences and fighting and **** all happens to them they get a small fine and are put on probation.We are a nation of alcoholic **** who cant behave when we are out.Didnt bother going to any parade because its the same old tired **** Drunks,Fights,overbearing gob****es and kids running around the pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

all that is normal for drunks ibanez, dont act all surprised and outraged about it

just avoid the drunks and get on with your own business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

2004 was my first st.patricks day living in Dublin, and I found out pretty quickly that the city centre is best avoided at all costs... Same situation last year. Grafton st was covered in glass, fights, kids puking all over the place because they were hammered etc....

I live in the city centre, so unfortunately all this happens on my doorstep on st.patricks day.

This year we had a group of friends over, had a few drinks in the apartment, went out and watched the parade and drank some more back in the apartment. We actually ended up going out to ranelagh and rathmines as we all knew fine well that the city centre would be chaos...

We had to walk up as far as the luas from temple bar and it was all the same stuff all over again as last year.... 4 of the group were actually foreign. 2 of them live here so they know the craic, but the other 2 were shocked. They'd never seen anything like this before! I felt a little embarassed to be honest that this was how we 'celebrated' our national holiday...

Best idea ever was getting out of the city centre. Had a great night in rathmines..

Im not going to even start about the little skangers and their drinking in town that day or ill be typing for a very long time...