Body found Inch strand Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Nybras

Very sad, think how the parents and rest of family are feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Depressing ****. My heart goes out for his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

How sick must you be to take, and kill (and possibly more) a child? Good god. Poor family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

r.i.p. and give the family strength to face the coming days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Poor little Robert RIP. Was really distressing reading about in the paper about it this morning. Had a picture of his mother in his now deserted bedroom. Even the most heartless f*cker couldnt have been affected by it.

If the people of midleton / cork ever get their hands on whoever is responsible for this, they will subject him/her to an almighty , horrific end which frankly is all they deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭lisa.c

God love them... that poor little boy R.I.P what has our world come to???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

From that article in the times, they are foreign investigating cars seen in the area:
    However, they are also considering the possibility that it may be somebody from the UK who was visiting the area and they were last night looking for a UK registered car and another foreign registered car at car parks around Cork city including at Cork Airport.

Descriptions of the vehicles were withheld from the public but circulated to detective branches throughout Cork in the hope that officers might track them down.

Jesus its sickening to think that someone came here from a foreign country with the aim of possibly murdering a child...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Garda officers confirmed off the record to The Irish Times that the body was that of young Robert who disappeared after leaving his home at Ballyedmond near Midleton on the afternoon of January 4th.
    So "off the record" doesn't mean what it used to anymore then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

poor guy. his familty must be in bits. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

I'm not sure telling the press that they found him from the signal from his mobile phone was a good idea.
    The next time it happens (hopefully not), what's the first thing the
    attacker(s) will do, get rid of the mobile phone.
    I'm sure the 2nd body found will have nothing to do with the case.

The press have suggested that
    (a) it must be some local or from the area as the lane is not easily noticed and you have to know the area to find it.
    (b) The body was concealed so that means that somebody else must have put him there.
    (c) They have also stated there is a paedophile gang operating around the area, if this is true how come?

Whoever was responsible, let's hope they get whats coming to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

Until the pathologists report nobody can say anything, So far the stories from the media are complete speculation, The truth is that nobody (even the guards) have anything to go on. The only clues and evidence is only going to come out with the pathology report.

An example of the speculation so far:
    1) the police were able to track the body down from signal from his mobile (this is not possible - once the phone is turn off it doesn't send/receive any signals) The last signal they would have got would have been back near his house the afternoon he went missing.
    2)The second body that was found had something to do with the mssing boy. Again here, pure speculation, at at the moment this seems to be a tragic circumstance.
    3) Police looking for foreign/UK cars in car parks around cork including the airport... Speculation that someone had come over to Ireland, killed a child and fled?

Everyone is just going to have to wait and see what happens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

1) the police were able to track the body down from signal from his mobile (this is not possible - once the phone is turn off it doesn't send/receive any signals) The last signal they would have got would have been back near his house the afternoon he went missing.

Wrong!
    A Phone gives out a small signal even if turned off. To stop the signal completely the battery has to be removed. Just ask Pablo Escobar.

I remember going down that road to Inch a few times smoking with a few of my friends. Its a scary place in the middle of no-where at the best of times.

R.I.P Robert Holohan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

Cell profiling or triangulation only works when the phone is on.

To have any kind of a signal you need three cell towers, it's possible to track the movements of the phone by monitoring the cell trace from tower to tower, this would give a kind of rough guide as to the direction taken etc.

I hope that Roberts (RIP) phone was on, as this may give vital clues to his whereabouts during his abduction, i.e. if he was taken somewhere else before his tragic ending place.

Also, if the phone is used again without major changes to the firmware, then the same id will be broadcast in an effort to attach to a cell tower, this may help nail the scum that were involved.

Regards
    Howard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

The poor little guy, I guess the best the family can hope for now is that he didnt suffer and wasnt afraid when he went :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭NocturnalDonkey

If the Gardai know the location of one mobile phone at any one time, given the signal strength to 3 surrounding phone masts. Can they not look at all phones in the same area with the same signal strength to the 3 surrounding phone masts.

If the killer had a mobile phone with them when they were with Robert(which is likely), then surely it would be easy enough for the gardai to identify that phone, and therefore the killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,689 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

It is probable that the killer dumped the body some time ago

Dreadful news :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

Hey Nocturnal Donkey! I like your thinking, sure enough the cell towers would have information on all phones in the area at the time and as you point out it would help to build a list a possible suspects. I am fully expecting someone to be caught for this. Shame they can't be publicly whipped or something, getting prison time for a crime like this is not justice. Altough I'm sure that other inmates don't take kindly to criminals using children as their prey.

Regards
    Howard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

hshortt wrote:
    Hey Nocturnal Donkey! I like your thinking, sure enough the cell towers would have information on all phones in the area at the time and as you point out it would help to build a list a possible suspects. I am fully expecting someone to be caught for this. Shame they can't be publicly whipped or something, getting prison time for a crime like this is not justice. Altough I'm sure that other inmates don't take kindly to criminals using children as their prey.
    Prisons would have plenty of child sex offenders. Not sure if they get particular abuse though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭jhegarty

hshortt wrote:

Regards
    Howard

there is a mobile phone tower just a the top of the hill where he was found... its a microwave tower for the gas pipeline......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

most sex offenders get housed in solitary or with their own kind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Cell profiling or triangulation only works when the phone is on.

So how did they trace the phone even though it was turned off!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

jank wrote:

AS you said earlier there are reports that suggest mobile phones only have a "Soft" power off and so still emit a signal when powered off. This tracking technique was alledgedly used in the Soham case to find the victims personal items in the school. At the time there were reports of low flying aircraft over the school and it was said at the time that this plane was tracking the signal.

That makes sense to me because if you leave you phone off for a few days it is usually flat when you try use it again which indicated something is usuing the battery,

Condolences to Roberts family , I hope the perpetrator/s is caught and never sees the light of day again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

One of the lads in work was saying that as far as the autopsy showed, the poor lad wasn't "interfered with" before his death which was apparently caused by suffocation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭shoegirl

Hobbes wrote:
    Or he could of headed out, got lost and walked off in the wrong direction thinking he was going in the right direction. Come night time, totally lost and died from exposure to the weather. It certainly is possible. He was only 12 years old.

Darling I live on the opposite side of Midleton, just off the road that leads out towards the Whitegate/Inch area where he was found. The boy lived on the opposite side of the town, nearly 3 miles out. The road he lives on is a quiet country road, he would have to walk through the entire town and cross the dual carraigway just to get onto the Whitegate Rd. He'd have to pass through the villages of either Ballinacurra/Cloyne or Aghada/Whitegate in order to make the trip, which would take about 3 hrs.

Not only that, but I live there, and I cannot find Inch. I'd hardly see a lost 11 year old able to do that. With basic local knowledge (I'm originally from Dublin and have only lve here 2.5 years) your hyposthesis, is unfortunately way off track. Aside from anything else half of Cork would have noticed him. Big difference between the country roads around Ballyedmond and the busier roads on the other side of Midleton.

The main reason people believe the abduction theory is a) out of character disappearance, b) Inch is so remote and difficult to reach and lastly c) he couldn't have got there without drawing attention to himself.

The Muppet wrote:
    AS you said earlier there are reports that suggest mobile phones only have a "Soft" power off and so still emit a signal when powered off.
    That makes sense to me because if you leave you phone off for a few days it is usually flat when you try use it again which indicated something is usuing the battery

1. Most phones power off before the battery is completely flat (apparently its to preserve the life of the battery)
    and 2. apparently you can ping a phone. Its basically a network device after all. I would guess if this is the case a tracert might at least reveal the nearest device it was last connected to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭RebelRockChick

shoegirl wrote:
    Darling I live on the opposite side of Midleton, just off the road that leads out towards the Whitegate/Inch area where he was found. The boy lived on the opposite side of the town, nearly 3 miles out. The road he lives on is a quiet country road, he would have to walk through the entire town and cross the dual carraigway just to get onto the Whitegate Rd. He'd have to pass through the villages of either Ballinacurra/Cloyne or Aghada/Whitegate in order to make the trip, which would take about 3 hrs.

Not only that, but I live there, and I cannot find Inch. I'd hardly see a lost 11 year old able to do that. With basic local knowledge (I'm originally from Dublin and have only lve here 2.5 years) your hyposthesis, is unfortunately way off track. Aside from anything else half of Cork would have noticed him. Big difference between the country roads around Ballyedmond and the busier roads on the other side of Midleton.

The main reason people believe the abduction theory is a) out of character disappearance, b) Inch is so remote and difficult to reach and lastly c) he couldn't have got there without drawing attention to himself.

I agree, he could of never of walked all the way there. I live 3 miles from Midleton but on the Ballinacurra side, there is no way he could of walked all the way to inch and anyway his bike was abandoned in a ditch half a mile from his home. My friend lives at Inch strand, only about half a mile from where he was found.

The other body found in Midleton the person had nothing to do with it, i know people who knew him and they said he wouldn't hurt a fly!

Did anyone hear on the 96fm yesterday that 2 more bodies were found in Midleton, everyone in the town heard of it, then found out that the 2 people were alive and nothing had happened to them thankfully and that it was all made up!

I couldn't believe it when i heard the body was that of Robert, I was constantly hoping he would return home safe and well! His funeral is tomorrow in town, alot of shops in town are going to be closed as a mark of respect during the funeral!
    My thoughts are with his family!!

Sarah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

jank wrote:
    Well in fairness when your phone is turned off the date and time on it still works, so theres some sorta power there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

jank wrote:
    Last known whereabouts. When your phone is on you are traceable to within a certain radius inside the cell. It's reasonable to assume that whoever took Robert wouldn't have turned his phone off until he had taken robert whereever - the kidnapper would be more concerned with moving the child, not searching him for a mobile.

It's rare your phone would have a "soft" power off option. If you leave a battery in almost any device, it will discharge naturally. This is why you should remove the battery from your car before a long absence. In general, the more complicated the device, the greater the latent power drain. Date and time on a phone persists because it requires minimal power, so even though you haven't enough power in your phone to turn it on, there's easily enough to maintain the date and time for quite a while.

Did anyone hear on the 96fm yesterday that 2 more bodies were found in Midleton, everyone in the town heard of it, then found out that the 2 people were alive and nothing had happened to them thankfully and that it was all made up!

Yeah we heard that one too, also there was a rumour about 2 brothers in Mogeely.
    Also a few really obviously untrue tall tales that are quite blatantly scurrilous rumours. The thing that saddens me a lot about all this is is the amount of unsubstantiated rumour that has been going around the Midleton area regarding this terribly sad affair. God knows the family have been through enough without some very hurtful rumours going around the place.

If I hear any rumours about this issue I go out of my way to question them and always tell the person telling me that I believe it to be a vicious and unsubstantiated rumour. All we do know right now is that the Holohans are ordinary people and their son was killed by somebody else and dumped in Inch. We can only conjecture what else may have gone on.