Whats the most selfless thing you've ever done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Blub2k4 wrote:
    By putting it down here, that is to count it as selfless that means you are claiming it as a good deed, which removes the selfless part so to post the acts here becomes selfish, something like the friends scenario.
    Very few actions are selfless.
    This thread strikes me as an attempt as ego massaging, not something that "selfless" people tend to do.

Sorry blub ( I always seem to have a different opinion to you! I don't mean to) ... but the original act / good deed remains unselfish, it's the act of talking about it / writing it down that becomes selfish.

For example ... If I stand up on the bus to let an elderly lady sit down, just so I can tell people how chivalours (spelling?) I am, then that's a selfish act, and so is the boasting about it later.

However ... If I stand up for an elderly lady on the bus, because I think she needs the seat more than I do, then that is an unselfish act, and remains unselfish if I tell people about it later. The telling about it later is the selfish act.

or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

I once left the room in order to fart, that deed was selfless as I benefited others and inconvenienced my self by having to remove myself from the couch. I did not feel better for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

I was doing the whole "I know what you're thinking, did I shoot five bullets or did I shoot 6" thing to this punk back in Nam, and when I pulled the trigger, turned out that I had fired 6, which resulted in an awakeward silence for a few minutes......I don't really know where I'm going with this......

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Zapho wrote:
    I was doing the whole "I know what you're thinking, did I shoot five bullets or did I shoot 6" thing to this punk back in Nam, and when I pulled the trigger, turned out that I had fired 6, which resulted in an awakeward silence for a few minutes......I don't really know where I'm going with this......

Rathfar-Nam?

No, Veitnam!
    More to the point I guess mind would also be the "If you love her let her go" thing. But infairness, whats the point in doing that? Love by its very nature is going to be somewhat selfish, if you love someone then you shouldn't have to "let them go", you should keep going until you end up with who it is you love! I've been such an idiot!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

Cactus Col wrote:
    Sorry blub ( I always seem to have a different opinion to you! I don't mean to) ... but the original act / good deed remains unselfish, it's the act of talking about it / writing it down that becomes selfish.

For example ... If I stand up on the bus to let an elderly lady sit down, just so I can tell people how chivalours (spelling?) I am, then that's a selfish act, and so is the boasting about it later.

However ... If I stand up for an elderly lady on the bus, because I think she needs the seat more than I do, then that is an unselfish act, and remains unselfish if I tell people about it later. The telling about it later is the selfish act.

or something

I see your point but to recount it here means that you originally counted it, a selfless act would not occur as such in the first place.......

If the question was about selfless acts you had experienced then you could recount about somebody you saw/knew who did something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Blub2k4 wrote:
    If the question was about selfless acts you had experienced then you could recount about somebody you saw/knew who did something.
    You shoulda been a lawyer. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

i was 8 1/2 months pregnant, and it was a very hot june. was walking with a load of shopping bags where so heavy. and i seen a nun from my primary school strugling with very large water bottles she was going to the grave yard to water the plants because it was such a hot day, so with my own burdens of shopping and baby in belly. i help this old lady (whom used to beat me with a wooden ruler) and carried the watter battles up and helped her water every grave that had a living plant on it!!!

then she gave me loads because i wasn't married and what a sin thist was ect ect... blah de Fing blah

heres a question right

why don't men either help a women laiden with buggy baby shopping get on a bus???
    why is it only another women (who probably already has her kids and baggage on the bus )??
    what is it with men and the total lack of gental men these days???

heres a question right

why don't men either help a women laiden with buggy baby shopping get on a bus???
    why is it only another women (who probably already has her kids and baggage on the bus )??

Most women aren't too happy to be helped by a complete stranger in case he turns out be a stalker/rapist/pedafile (can't spell). So to avoid any possible pending lawsuits most guys just stick to their own affairs rather than be mistaken as a stalker/rapist/pedafile.

thats bull...

how does an offer

"do you need a hand"

come across as that???

thats bull...

how does an offer

"do you need a hand"

come across as that???

You'd be very surprised.
    People dont trust people in cities anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

it's all bull

as I have both helped, and seen other dudes helping women get on and off buses with baby carriages.

but it is my experience that women are worese than men for not letting people seat down, e.g. putting all their shopping on the inside seat and then leaving it there as bus fills up, and younger women / girls are more likely to rush into a seat that's being vacated.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

thats bull...

how does an offer

"do you need a hand"

come across as that???

Sounds like an axe-murderer trying to offload some body parts to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

heres a question right

you are obviously getting on the wrong types of buses - personally I have always helped people in those circumstances (old people with shopping bags, single parents tryingto juggle baby and large prams) - for me its just habit that I do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

sad but true. the total lack of chivalry in guys these days is, to me at least, totally incomprehensible. and im talking the basic stuff, like walking a girl home, holding a door open, letting them sit down first [call it chauvenist if you like but i had it beaten into me as a kid], or even just, y'know, being friendly.

pisses me right orf.

Hmm where're all the feminists now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

Good man Bulb. You women wanted equality and got it. Live with it. Why should you get special treatment?

I'll walk you home, open your doors, pull out your chair etc etc. When I come home to a hot dinner on the table

ChRoMe

Whooooshhhh - have I travelled back in time?

Would you guys help a man struggling with a pram, or can you see the POINT?

/edit, I am of course, referring to a father struggling to get his childs pram on board a bus etc. and not other types of pram struggling....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

spent 30 hrs a week for 6 months working to raise money for Crumlin Childrens Cancer Hospital. Failed my exams n all stupidly enough. Gave them a lot of money though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,720 ✭✭✭Praetorian

When I was about 11 I saw a man drop a wad of notes, could have been a couple of grand. I ran after him and gave him the money, he was delighted and gave me £20; I think my pocket money back then was about £1.50 a week so it was great.

I try to be a nice person in general though, but I've never done anything like that Uberwolf. Fair play man :D

Whooooshhhh - have I travelled back in time?

Would you guys help a man struggling with a pram, or can you see the POINT?

/edit, I am of course, referring to a father struggling to get his childs pram on board a bus etc. and not other types of pram struggling....

Of course I see the point, I have done a lot of social work, help people with prams, get up off my seat when an old or pregnant person is there, thing is that I also see the irony....dont you?
    Praetorian wrote:
    When I was about 11 I saw a man drop a wad of notes, could have been a couple of grand. I ran after him and gave him the money, he was delighted and gave me £20; I think my pocket money back then was about £1.50 a week so it was great.

I try to be a nice person in general though, but I've never done anything like that Uberwolf. Fair play man

My cousin did the same once, there was a guy ran past him in Crumlin and dropped a wad of cash, he picked it up and handed it back to him.
    He spent his day in the Bridewell for his troubles, the geezer was running from an armed post-office robbery :D
    was funny at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Maximilian

I screwed an ugly bird once. Can't say I was too proud of it at the time but yet it still gives me a warm glowey feeling when I think how it must have improved her sense of self-worth. Ugly as 4 donkeys and a total "double-bagger" though.

Maximilian wrote:
    I screwed an ugly bird once. Can't say I was too proud of it at the time but yet it still gives me a warm glowey feeling when I think how it must have improved her sense of self-worth. Ugly as 4 donkeys and a total "double-bagger" though.
    +rep for you ... if only

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭fjon

/\ Charming ;)

I was once with a group of people in a pub, and was left alone with one girl at the table. She somehow lost her balance (even though she was sitting!), and grabbed the table-cloth to steady herself. Of course she knocked over everyone's drinks. She was incredibly embarrased, and so when everyone came back I said I did it and even bought some people their drinks back. And she never even thanked me :rolleyes:

i've often offered a helping hand when someone has trouble either crossing roads getting on buses or what ever, but the thing is out my way 25a/66/a/b/67/a ive never been helped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

thats a shame. I always offer my seat to someone or reach out to give a hand. Just instinctive at this stage. Therewas one time on the train from Leixlip in rush hour that this one sat on teh table in front of me and moaned about her back to her friend. Said she felt she could never ask for them as you couldn't tell there was something wrong and seh felt like an idiot for asking. 25 mins I listened to this. Stayed seated. Silly old bint only had to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭johntf008

I ain't no philosophist nor nothin, but doesn't the very act of claiming an act one has performed as being selfless negate that act's selflessness?

Unless, I suppose, the act was committed out of pure instinct, and it was only on reflection that it was identified as something one did out of pure selflessness, leaving the act itself, as something that is preserved only in memory, as a truly selfless act?

Or has that already been said in a high fallutin' manner somewhere else?

Perhaps it is more correct to say "In the past, I committed an act which until this very moment was a selfless one." Yes, everyone start their posts with that sentence from now on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

then she gave me loads because i wasn't married and what a sin thist was ect ect... blah de Fing blah
    I would have strung up the owld witch - not caring about the consequences - and as an -er selfless service to humanity :D