Mc Donalds Bashing

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I enjoy a quarter pounder and chips in there now and then, although I generally find the coke too syrupy to enjoy. The McChicken Premiere is pretty decent too.

I'm in agreement that the bashing on some corporations is tiresome (and I've seen the likes of 'Super Size Me' and 'The Corporation'). McDonalds is fine for what it is - fairly cheap hot food (on the Euro saver menu) that does the job after a few pints often. I'm not expecting something nutrional and thus, as a rule of thumb, only end up there after a night out (it's no substitute for a proper meal). Still don't dislike the place.

And while I'm here I like some Microsoft products and love Coca Cola. *nervously awaits to be smote by some uber-lefty nerd*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Beruthiel-how exactly is it not food? Is the lettuce in your Big Mac actually soaked grass slightly depleted of chlorophyll? Is the beef actually made of the foot scrapings of Brazillian asylum patients? Is the bread actually scalp scrapings compressed and heated and formed into a cicular shape?

For jesus sake,meat comes off a farm,fact. That meat is,generally speaking,processed the same way everywhere,especially these days with the safety standards. Nobody ever claimed that burgers come from the most valuable part of the cow. But as someone said,you are far more likely to get poisoned in a local chipper than McDs.

As I said,we all know people who got food poisoning at "good" "respectable" restaurents. Honestly,how many people do yous know got it at McDs? Id say Pizza Hut has managed to move into the "respectable" bracket-after all its pricey,its licenced,it has nice decor. It still doesnt detract from the fact that its bloody sh1te. Havent touched the overpriced hole in years-last time I did for a whopping £10 old quid (97-98 or so)I got 2 Gino Ginelli sized mini pizzas that alledgedly had ham and mushroom on them(there could have been,there was so much grease swimming on top it was hard to tell),a coke and an ice cream and slice of pie. 10 bloody quid. I threw up from the grease on the way home. So fcuk the "respectable" joints

I got food poisoning at a local chipper when i was about 11(the burger bun was slightly blue,but at the time I didnt give a sh1te,although I gave a river of sh1te over the next 3 days thanks to it). In those days, local chippers werent with the shiny metal surfaces and hairnets the health and safety force them to have today. The food was as good as ever,but the activity in the kitchen wasnt. Back then McDonalds was probably the safest place to eat. As one or two people have stated,there seems to be a growing snobbery(confined almost entirely to the internet for some reason)against anything thats a success*. Thats why you have **** like Reclaim the Streets demonstrating about nothing in particular. Half wits banning coke in universities because of some far off link to rogue regimes in South America. Its all bollix

Personally speaking,I have seldom had home cooked dinners that were better than takeaway(my ma isnt the worlds best cook,just average,but Im talking about when i eat in the homes of people who are renowned for their skill at it). The food might be nice,but as fresh and tasty? Only rarely if you ask me

Another question-why is the hate aimed squarely at Mc Donalds? Why not as much at Burger King,KFC,Abrakebabra etc etc. They all run on the same basic model. I think it just backs up the point Ixoy made about hating on the big boy in the game

*mind you,I despise computer companys too,due to the general sh1teness of computers. Your paying over a grand for something that after a short period will demand upgrading or else hold you hostage by constantly freezing up and acting the bollix? Fcuk off.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i have to say i'd much prefer my local chipper to mc donalds. at least i know and can see that the chips enter there as potatoes and are cut on site and the deep fat fryer does what it says on the tin. the pre-processing in McD's turns me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Peteee

Have to say i love McDonalds!!

Also, from a mate of mine who used to work for McDonalds (not behind the counter) that the beef actually is 100% pure. He assures me it is.

I mean if they advertise the fact that it is, seeing as how big a company it is, surely they could get done for false advertising if it wasnt??!!??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Ms Beanbag wrote:
    what happens when you bring your kids in and give them a choice between fries & a salad. What do you think their gonna pick?!
    the healthy option was a good idea but it needs to be thought out more...
    It's up to people to raise their own kids, not McDonalds. If you don't want your kids to eat McDonalds fries then you have two choices, either don't bring them there or don't give them the choice between fries and salad, make it yourself. Even if they do have fries once in a while it's not going to do them any harm, as long as they have a good overall diet. It's your job as a parent to make sure your kids eat healthy, it's McDonalds job to make money, as long as everybody does their job properly then everybody's happy

(when I say you, I mean the proverbial you, not you specifically, I don't know if you have kids or not, or take them to McDonalds or not.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Bass.exe

Peteee wrote:
    Also, from a mate of mine who used to work for McDonalds (not behind the counter) that the beef actually is 100% pure. He assures me it is.

It's what they DO to the burgers that puts me off....
    No seriously, If they say it's 100% beef, then it's probably 100% beef.... anus.
    As long as it's from a cow, it's beef. So it could be intestines and whatnot in there.
    But seriously, the ad contradicts itself. 100% beef, with a pinch of salt... but hang on, that would would make it 100.000000000001% volume!

Edit: I believe the proverbial you is referred to as 'one'. As in, "One should not eat yellow snow". But it makes you sound like a twat. So don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,283 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Ya 100% beef doesn't mean it's 100% lean cut's of beef muscle. Mainly the crap cut's from the cow with plenty of fat.

I worked there for a year when I was younger. It's very hygenic but the food sucks balls. The fries are 100% potatoe despite the still comomon belief that they are made from something else. We got a free lunch there every day and after a few months I stopped eating it and went over to the shop to get a roll or something instead. I eat there very rarely these days, the likes of supermacs and burger king make much tastier burgers. Maybe I'm biased because i've been put off the food from eating it so much. The food's not the slightest bit healthy. High in fat, calories and salt. What I used to find funny was these big fat women coming in ordering a large veggie burger meal with a diet coke. Little did they know that the veggie burger actually has more calories than the big macs or quarter pounders. I think it has 550 calories.

The problem is worse in America because their portions are bigger. Our large is the same as their medium. Their large is the same as our super size and their supersize is just crazy. In the cities you can get the double big macs and half pounder meals. Get a supersize one of those and your looking at about 1500 calories with massive amounts of fat and salt. The recomended daily calory intake for a man is 2500 and 2000 for a woman. Even if you don't get fat you will be unhealthy.

BloodBath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

McD's serves over 150,000 irish people every day. Fact. Therefore it can not possibly be as bad as some here think it is, if it was we'd sure as hell know about it! And Rangeland Meats in Monaghan are the suppliers of McD's country wide, i'm sure there would be some info about the meat they use and the processes it goes through on their site or elsewhere... Bottom line, we eat the food. We make the franchise multi-millionaires(sp?), so the way i see it, if it was really that bad how did they get to where they are today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Yeah they sell millions a day. They get it cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Peteee

Well what i'm trying to say is that its not cow anus and cow guts! I'm sure its not all prime beef either but........

Anyway he went on to say that another well known brand of burger that you buy and freeze has about 20% 'crap quotient' i.e. offal

I'll leave you to find out what brand it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭bigpinkelephant

Tha Gopher wrote:
    As I said,we all know people who got food poisoning at "good" "respectable" restaurents. Honestly,how many people do yous know got it at McDs? Id say Pizza Hut has managed to move into the "respectable" bracket-after all its pricey,its licenced,it has nice decor. It still doesnt detract from the fact that its bloody sh1te. Havent touched the overpriced hole in years-last time I did for a whopping £10 old quid (97-98 or so)I got 2 Gino Ginelli sized mini pizzas that alledgedly had ham and mushroom on them(there could have been,there was so much grease swimming on top it was hard to tell),a coke and an ice cream and slice of pie. 10 bloody quid. I threw up from the grease on the way home. So fcuk the "respectable" joints
    That's nice. I get stomach problems/nausea approx. 4/5 of the time when I eat at McDonald's. And I used to work there, so you'd think I'd be used to the food.
    Tha Gopher wrote:
    *mind you,I despise computer companys too,due to the general sh1teness of computers. Your paying over a grand for something that after a short period will demand upgrading or else hold you hostage by constantly freezing up and acting the bollix? Fcuk off.

That's also nice. If you love McDonald's and hate computers so much, how about you
    1. Log off your computer, i.e., leave us alone, and
    2. Go to McDonald's and have a nice meal. It'd give you something to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Cactus Col wrote:
    And, it seems that anti globalisation is pretty trendy at the moment.

Nail firmly hit on the head. The amount of teenagers/young adults who are anti-globalisation/psuedo-socialists right now and don't know why is truly baffling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭bigpinkelephant

NoelRock wrote:
    Nail firmly hit on the head. The amount of teenagers/young adults who are anti-globalisation/psuedo-socialists right now and don't know why is truly baffling.

Yep. I used to be friends with a girl who refused to wear Gap stuff because of her "hatred for globalisation". Yet she worked in McDonald's.

Lady's gotta be an independant woman you know! gotta buy her diamond rings an sad accessories... think of the accessories man!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://www.mcspotlight.org/ McDonald's spends over $2 billion a year broadcasting their glossy image to the world. This is a small space for alternatives to be heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Tha Gopher wrote:
    why the hell is Mc Donalds bashing the favourite pastime of opinionated internet snobs?
    Because it's so hip.
    Clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I was never a big fan of McDonalds, even when I was very young. I just have a natural dislike of greasy food quite a lot of the time. Also (incredible as it may seem) I didn't eat chips until I was 15, so I just grew up more used to eating stuff like sandwiches or pizza when I was out. One thing that annoys me now if I get dragged there by the mates is the fact that because I'm vegetarian, about the only thing on the menu I can eat is chips. They seem to have phased out the veggie burger in this country.

One thing that annoys me now if I get dragged there by the mates is the fact that because I'm vegetarian, about the only thing on the menu I can eat is chips.
    Umm they've a whole salad range? Or doesn't that count!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Most of the salads have chicken in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

There was a program on TV some time ago showing how they made the food. One point they have what looks like a vat where they are making chicken nuggets and they threw in this huge yellow processed square. When the presenter said "What is that?", the guide replied "erm, Chicken".

It looked so far removed from chicken that it stopped me eating chicken nuggets ever again. The brother worked in BK, and told me you should ask for a special order because there is a good chance you will get a fresh burger instead of microwaved old burger (anyone who worked in McD know if they do this too?).

Most of the salads have chicken in them.
    Really? I'd have thought they'd have none. How daft. You could eat lots of apple pies and McFlurries....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

umm...dont the chips have some animal fat in them or something ? i remember reading that they're not suitable for vegetarians anyway

herobear wrote:
    umm...dont the chips have some animal fat in them or something ? i remember reading that they're not suitable for vegetarians anyway
    I thought all chips were done in vegetable oil? It makes sense not to lannoy your market.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Cactus Col wrote:
    (but wait to see the flocks of people going to Starbucks when they start shooting up all over the place)

Starbucks sells heroin? Aaaahhhh, now it all makes sense.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

herobear wrote:
    In the US that was true, but not anymore, lobbies and customers being able to sue etc. McDonalds are more enviromental friendly but only because they have to be considering thier target audiance (children)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

I plain don't like any of them.....ff is bad and evil and attracts you when your drunk, then you get fat..

But like i said, its my fault for eating it in the first place. Anyway I have a new icky place. Stupid meat makes me sick.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

Maybe this has already been raised but I read somewhere, will find actual reference later, that in some Fast food palces in america the meat comes from really unsanitary meat packing plants where loads of illegeal imigrants work in sh*tey and dangerous conditions and if their fingers or more accidently get cut off they end up in the burgers....?

Sounds really funny if true!

Personally I love Fast Food ... yummy

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

What is it about fast food that eating it makes girls think they're nasty or naughty ? It's not that bad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

stevenmu wrote:
    It's not that bad :)

Do you have any idea how many calories and how much fat is in McDonald's food? It sure as feck is bad for you. Real bad.

But I do get the odd craving for a Quarterpounder with cheese :(