Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smokers on the 13a/Dublin Bus in general.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

c0rk3r wrote:
    Its not going to stop anytime soon.

So to save yourself the annoyance just get a different bus or you can continue to use the 13A inhaling 2nd hand smoke.Its that simple.
    "Sure what can you do about it?"

That attitude makes Ireland the overpriced, corrupt sh1thole it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

/me taps scumbag on shoulder.
    "Put out the ****ing cigerette"
    Scumbag looks around. See's some tall skinhead in trenchcoat listening to heavy metal.
    Scumbag puts it out.

=-=

Only time it happened during the day, for me.

On the nite-link, it always happens, but only upstairs, in the back. But thats to be expected, and no-one smokes downstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Or maybe stop moaning about it and come up with a feasible solution.I cant see one nor has anyone on this thread suggested one.Until one is discovered and Implemented you should use an alternative bus.
    CuLT wrote:
    That attitude makes Ireland the overpriced, corrupt sh1thole it is.

I would of said greed is the cause there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

CuLT wrote:
    "Sure what can you do about it?"

Thats the question.Now you try answer it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Here's the reply I got:
    Thank you for your e-mail.

We have an active program to detect and prosecute offenders. We have a
    number of plainclothes inspectors that travel through out the city on all
    our services daily. They sole responsibility is to apprehend smokers on our
    services but as I am sure you are aware that with 1100 buses making 10000
    journeys per day and 1/2m customers that this is not an easy situation to
    police.

Our drivers are told not to confront those smoking and that their own safety
    is paramount but ironically we have had a number of incidents where our
    drivers have been assaulted as a direct result of trying to enforce this ban
    and it will be interesting to see how the new legislation will protect other
    workers in the same situation.

Our struggle will continue, maybe if we got more assistance from the
    authorities we will eventually be successful. Heavier fines from the
    judiciary, gardai assistance when called upon or even better the
    introduction of a designated transport Police service for Dublin would help.

I have forwarded your e-mail to the section that deals with such complaints
    and they will investigate it.

Thank you again for your e-mail.

Regards,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

fair play dregin, wont stop the junkies and scumbags though. in fairness, this is like when people smoke in the jacks in a club in town. nobody says anything at all. Im not a big fan of people smoking on the bus, but your only on it for ten minutes normally so dont get yourself bashed, just open the window or sit downstairs.

it used to be legal to smoke upstairs on the bus. those were mad days. it was like being in a giant Rastafarian party car up there.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

I could never understand why Dublin Bus don't just put smoke alarms in behind the advertising section upstairs in busses (i.e. where they can't be tampered or destroyed) . I think you'll find that even the hardest scummer wouldn't want to be responsible for letting off an ear piercing shrill, which would probably piss people off more than the smoke itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

The bus driver drives the same route every day so if one bus driver decides to get up and tell them to stop smoking or kicks them off for smoking do you really think the bus driver won't see these people again?

Take into account aswell the bus driver is effectively driving these people to their homes where they have lots of little buddies who'll jump in for them if they see them getting kicked off.

It's not the bus drivers job to stop them from smoking. Just like it's not a barman's job to stop someone from smoking in a pub. It's the job of the manager/publican in a pub so it's the job of the Dublin Bus people to put a stop to it.

The smoking ban is to protect people in the workplace so what sort of protection would a bus driver have going up against 5 scumbags at the back of the bus?

What exactly are the Sudents Union going to do about it?

IMO you should just get one of the other buses/sit downstairs/stop whinging/walk (much healthier than a smokey bus)

SteveD wrote:
    The smoking ban is to protect people in the workplace so what sort of protection would a bus driver have going up against 5 scumbags at the back of the bus?

A ban on smoking on public transport was here long before the workplace smoking ban. The ban is there to protect non-smokers. Obviously, you didn't read the reply I received back and posted above - "Our drivers are told not to confront those smoking and that their own safety is paramount". So obviously it isn't the driver's fault. Has anyone ever actually seen on of these "plainclothes inspectors" in action?In 3 years of using Dubin Bus almost every day, I haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

I've heard of I think, *thinks*, 2 incidents where they were on the bus and had cops waiting at next stop to take people off.

Never saw one myself though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Never in 19 years have I ever seen a cop on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

I think that's the point of a plainclothes cop :)

dregin wrote:
    A ban on smoking on public transport was here long before the workplace smoking ban. The ban is there to protect non-smokers. Obviously, you didn't read the reply I received back and posted above - "Our drivers are told not to confront those smoking and that their own safety is paramount". So obviously it isn't the driver's fault. Has anyone ever actually seen on of these "plainclothes inspectors" in action?In 3 years of using Dubin Bus almost every day, I haven't.

K. Still getting bad rep for the Driver's stopping smokers thing. Since getting the mail from Dublin Bus, I obviously realize the situation is not to be dealt with by the drivers. It is however Dublin Bus' job to implement the law(or co-operate with the gardaí in some way). So the blame now moves from the Drivers (all apologies) to Dublin Bus themselves.

To those of you who are of the apathetic opinion "What's the point in kicking up a fuss, when one person can't do anything?" and "Just get another bus". The whole point of this thread is to bring together people that are píssed off by the complete lack of law enforcement on certain routes.....certain as in the routes that should have these "plainclothes inspectors" on them permanently, not randomly.

Thanks.