Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smokers on the 13a/Dublin Bus in general.

• 28-11-2004 1:35pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok, seeing as we're all in DCU and most of us have probably sat through the haze that is the 13a, I've decidd to pose here about taking action.

I just sent a mail to Dublin Bus detailing the complete disreguard for the no-smoking rule from both drivers and smokers on the 13a. I know other buses are just as bad, but have not had so bad an experience on them. I can't remember one trip on this bus that hasn't had at least one person smoking. In 3 years of travelling to and from DCU, I've seen one person being kicked of for smoking. I find this completely unacceptable.

If you agree with the above you too can contact Dublin Bus to detail your complating here

I've also informed them that if they don't take appropriate action to put a stop to this I'd be contacting the SU to sort it out.

Thanks for reading.
    Bernard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

In fairness I don't blame the drivers for not doing anything about it. Its not worth risking their own safety and the safety of other passengers to stop the bus and attempt to remove them.

Whilst I think it's horrible that people smoke on the bus the type of people that do so have no regard for this law and/or the other passengers so saying anything to them won't prevent them doing it again in future.

*shrug*

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Them being removed from the Bus would rightly píss them off and they will think twise about doin it again. And as the only representative of Dublin Bus on board it is the driver's job to take action. It should be his problem. Not mine. In saying that I realize that one driver verses a load of smokers isn't gonna stand a chance if they set on him. There should be some kind of conductor/bouncer person on board for backup, or even just random plain clothes gardaí arresting these people.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Nuke it from orbit, it's the only way to be sure.
    hicks.jpg

dregin wrote:
    Them being removed from the Bus would rightly píss them off and they will think twise about doin it again. And as the only representative of Dublin Bus on board it is the driver's job to take action. It should be his problem. Not mine. In saying that I realize that one driver verses a load of smokers isn't gonna stand a chance if they set on him. There should be some kind of conductor/bouncer person on board for backup, or even just random plain clothes gardaí arresting these people.
    That's all very well in theory, but can you honestly say that it'd work? I've heard so many stories about unprovoked attacks on drivers in these sorts of areas that I really don't think drivers need the worry of actually "provoking" them albeit in an attempt to uphold the law.

It's not the drivers responsibility to ensure the laws aren't broken. They have no powers, no backup, no protection and no comeback should anything happen. Very few people on these bus routes would actually help out if a bus driver was getting aggro for trying to remove smokers from his/her bus. Drivers don't get paid enough to do that!

I don't think it's very likely that the Gardaí are going to "waste" their time policing bus routes. They don't get paid enough either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

heres the thing to remember, the 13/13A is the Ballymun bus, the driver is fully aware that hes gonna be driving up to Ballymun 8 - 12 times a shift and hes gonna see the same punters. Hes not gonna want to get bashed now is he.

The best bet is to sit near the driver or stand downstairs if its that bad for ya. Otherwise just get the 19A or 11 they all go the same way.

To be honest, I pay my 85 cent on to the 13 and sit upstairs. Ya get a bit of a free buzz in that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Amz wrote:
    I don't think it's very likely that the Gardaí are going to "waste" their time policing bus routes. They don't get paid enough either.
    Imo the guards should be called and meet the bus a little further on and then deal with the smoker(s). As for saying they don't get paid enough that me be true but they knew what their job consisted of before they signed up for it.

I think they got the job to drive the bus from A to B. They've to deal with, traffic congestion, people trying to evade their fares, arrogant/ignorant w@nkers, idiots and more. I don't think they "signed up" to put themselves in harms way.

As has already been stated by Draupnir they work the same route day in day out, these punters will not be happy if they're prevented from using the bus if its their main mode of transport and I'm pretty sure they'd have no problem getting "revenge" in whatever way they deem fit.

I don't think the drivers deserve most of the crap they get on a daily basis, they don't need to add any more by provoking these idiots.

Well then, how can Dublin Bus put up signs saying "no smoking", and not bother to enforce the rule? They are clearly breaking the law, and the gardaí are employed to enforce it. There is no argument against this fact.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

then make a citizens arrest!

empower yourself citizen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Usually when the driver tries to throw someone off the bus it means delaying all the other passengers 10-20 minutes. I'd be pissed off if this was happening all the time. One time I was on a bus (39) and two kids were thrown off for throwing plastic bottles at people. As soon as they got off the bus, one of them picked up a branch at put it through the window behind me.

I wouldn't blame the Ballymun drivers for not doing anything. Next time you you're annoyed by scumbags smoking on the bus why don't YOU ask them to stop? Didn't think so.

Because I dont feel like gettin teh ****e kicked outta me. It's not my job to stop them, the fact that Dublin Bus take absolutely no action against these people just pisses me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭ED-209

Mordeth wrote:
    then make a citizens arrest!

empower yourself citizen!

Tell you what Mordeth, you show us how it is done !!!. We'll all get the 17a or 13 or whatever together one evening and then get the 16 down to Beaumont Hospital to get your bones set.

I have yet to see a person not get the head slapped off them on that bus for telling a bunch of junkies to stop smoking.

dregin wrote:
    Because I dont feel like gettin teh ****e kicked outta me. It's not my job to stop them, the fact that Dublin Bus take absolutely no action against these people just pisses me off.
    So why should the driver get the ****e kicked out of him/her?

Like I said, it's not their job. They are employed to drive bueses and take fares from people for doing so. Gone are the days when it was a relatively safe job. I think once they started to put those barriers around the driver there was no going back.

I've often seen drivers tell people to stop smoking or trying to put people off the bus, but admitedly that was on a 66 or 66B, not exactly routes notorious for trouble makers/junkies/skangers.

NotMe wrote:
    Usually when the driver tries to throw someone off the bus it means delaying all the other passengers 10-20 minutes. I'd be pissed off if this was happening all the time. One time I was on a bus (39) and two kids were thrown off for throwing plastic bottles at people. As soon as they got off the bus, one of them picked up a branch at put it through the window behind me.

I wouldn't blame the Ballymun drivers for not doing anything. Next time you you're annoyed by scumbags smoking on the bus why don't YOU ask them to stop? Didn't think so.
    Who the fnck in their right mind would?

Dregin has a very valid point; the policy laws should be enforced by the policy makers, and now the law makers.

How is it a CUSTOMERS duty to uphold the law in someone elses workplace?

It's hard enough to get the Gardaí to enforce some of the more serious laws, violent crime, speeding, drink driving etc. They're not going to be too enamoured with the idea of having to sit on buses day in, day out waiting to catch people smoking.

I'd put money on it that there'd be uproar from many, many people complaining that the Gardaí should be off doing more important things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

I find most of the time it's Womens Rugby Club sitting down the back smoking.

They drink Bavaria and belch lots too :( And shout insults at us men about our bum-bums.
    *goes to write complaint mail*

Zyox wrote:
    And shout insults at us men
    I assume you're using the term "men" very loosely here Zyox :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

im drink`

oove me ¬

Its dsupid rrinkin onm toop of abud#

Amz wrote:
    I assume you're using the term "men" very loosely here Zyox :D

Yes.

Winters wrote:
    im drink`

oove me ¬

john%20sherer%20-%20you%20suck.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

dregin wrote:
    I've also informed them that if they don't take appropriate action to put a stop to this I'd be contacting the SU to sort it out.

If you dont mind me asking...what are the Students Union going to do about it...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

if you dont like the smoke,get off the bus,or move downstairs
    if i was a bus driver theres not a hope of me going up to a bunch of skanks down the back of the bus and saying "uhh put that out please",especially on the Ballymun route.
    If i was you id either : (A) Shut up and take it or (B) Get A Car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

If you pay your fare you are entitled to a smoke free journey, just as your entitled not to be assaulted, p***ed on or abused.

I have some sympathy with the driver, however, a lot of them ignore the problem, when they could use the PA system to tell people to stop smoking. This does not expose them to attack, nor does radioing to base to tell them there are smokers on the bus wheo refuse to put out their smokes.
    I.E. I dont expect hero's but i do expect them to do their job.

I dont accept the argument they would be unpopular! Im sure enforing the correct fare mekes them unpopular too, but i take it you dont advocate they allow all scumbags to pay a childsfare etc. It goes with the territory.

I think a passenger who is repeatedly forced to inhale 2nd hand somke, would have a case if they brought a law suit.

X

If you pay your fare you are entitled to a smoke free journey, just as your entitled not to be assaulted, p***ed on or abused.

I have some sympathy with the driver, however, a lot of them ignore the problem, when they could use the PA system to tell people to stop smoking. This does not expose them to attack, nor does radioing to base to tell them there are smokers on the bus wheo refuse to put out their smokes.
    I.E. I dont expect hero's but i do expect them to do their job.

I dont accept the argument they would be unpopular! Im sure enforing the correct fare mekes them unpopular too, but i take it you dont advocate they allow all scumbags to pay a childsfare etc. It goes with the territory.

I think a passenger who is repeatedly forced to inhale 2nd hand somke, would have a case if they brought a law suit.

X

That's what I was trying to say :)

Winters wrote:
    im drink`

oove me ¬

Humm ... I dont even remember posting that. I must have been very drunk.

GaRtH_V wrote:
    if you dont like the smoke,get off the bus,or move downstairs
    if i was a bus driver theres not a hope of me going up to a bunch of skanks down the back of the bus and saying "uhh put that out please",especially on the Ballymun route.
    If i was you id either : (A) Shut up and take it or (B) Get A Car
    stfu6.jpg

haha I got bad rep for saying it isn't my job to stop people smoking on buses. Well played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Just get a different bus, eg 11/19A.

Heres the kind of people your dealing with.Bus on o'connell street picking up passengers.

Person 1 "sorry would you mind putting out that cigarette my friend here is asmathic"
    Smoker "Whaa! da bus hasn't even moved yeh"

Why should I get a different bus because other people are breaking the law? How can you justify that?

Its not going to stop anytime soon.

So to save yourself the annoyance just get a different bus or you can continue to use the 13A inhaling 2nd hand smoke.Its that simple.

c0rk3r wrote:
    Its not going to stop anytime soon.

So to save yourself the annoyance just get a different bus or you can continue to use the 13A inhaling 2nd hand smoke.Its that simple.
    "Sure what can you do about it?"

That attitude makes Ireland the overpriced, corrupt sh1thole it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

/me taps scumbag on shoulder.
    "Put out the ****ing cigerette"
    Scumbag looks around. See's some tall skinhead in trenchcoat listening to heavy metal.
    Scumbag puts it out.

=-=

Only time it happened during the day, for me.

On the nite-link, it always happens, but only upstairs, in the back. But thats to be expected, and no-one smokes downstairs.

Or maybe stop moaning about it and come up with a feasible solution.I cant see one nor has anyone on this thread suggested one.Until one is discovered and Implemented you should use an alternative bus.
    CuLT wrote:
    That attitude makes Ireland the overpriced, corrupt sh1thole it is.

I would of said greed is the cause there.....

CuLT wrote:
    "Sure what can you do about it?"

Thats the question.Now you try answer it.

Here's the reply I got:
    Thank you for your e-mail.

We have an active program to detect and prosecute offenders. We have a
    number of plainclothes inspectors that travel through out the city on all
    our services daily. They sole responsibility is to apprehend smokers on our
    services but as I am sure you are aware that with 1100 buses making 10000
    journeys per day and 1/2m customers that this is not an easy situation to
    police.

Our drivers are told not to confront those smoking and that their own safety
    is paramount but ironically we have had a number of incidents where our
    drivers have been assaulted as a direct result of trying to enforce this ban
    and it will be interesting to see how the new legislation will protect other
    workers in the same situation.

Our struggle will continue, maybe if we got more assistance from the
    authorities we will eventually be successful. Heavier fines from the
    judiciary, gardai assistance when called upon or even better the
    introduction of a designated transport Police service for Dublin would help.

I have forwarded your e-mail to the section that deals with such complaints
    and they will investigate it.

Thank you again for your e-mail.

Regards,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

fair play dregin, wont stop the junkies and scumbags though. in fairness, this is like when people smoke in the jacks in a club in town. nobody says anything at all. Im not a big fan of people smoking on the bus, but your only on it for ten minutes normally so dont get yourself bashed, just open the window or sit downstairs.

it used to be legal to smoke upstairs on the bus. those were mad days. it was like being in a giant Rastafarian party car up there.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

I could never understand why Dublin Bus don't just put smoke alarms in behind the advertising section upstairs in busses (i.e. where they can't be tampered or destroyed) . I think you'll find that even the hardest scummer wouldn't want to be responsible for letting off an ear piercing shrill, which would probably piss people off more than the smoke itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

The bus driver drives the same route every day so if one bus driver decides to get up and tell them to stop smoking or kicks them off for smoking do you really think the bus driver won't see these people again?

Take into account aswell the bus driver is effectively driving these people to their homes where they have lots of little buddies who'll jump in for them if they see them getting kicked off.

It's not the bus drivers job to stop them from smoking. Just like it's not a barman's job to stop someone from smoking in a pub. It's the job of the manager/publican in a pub so it's the job of the Dublin Bus people to put a stop to it.

The smoking ban is to protect people in the workplace so what sort of protection would a bus driver have going up against 5 scumbags at the back of the bus?

What exactly are the Sudents Union going to do about it?

IMO you should just get one of the other buses/sit downstairs/stop whinging/walk (much healthier than a smokey bus)

SteveD wrote:
    The smoking ban is to protect people in the workplace so what sort of protection would a bus driver have going up against 5 scumbags at the back of the bus?

A ban on smoking on public transport was here long before the workplace smoking ban. The ban is there to protect non-smokers. Obviously, you didn't read the reply I received back and posted above - "Our drivers are told not to confront those smoking and that their own safety is paramount". So obviously it isn't the driver's fault. Has anyone ever actually seen on of these "plainclothes inspectors" in action?In 3 years of using Dubin Bus almost every day, I haven't.

I've heard of I think, *thinks*, 2 incidents where they were on the bus and had cops waiting at next stop to take people off.

Never saw one myself though.

Never in 19 years have I ever seen a cop on the bus.

I think that's the point of a plainclothes cop :)

dregin wrote:
    A ban on smoking on public transport was here long before the workplace smoking ban. The ban is there to protect non-smokers. Obviously, you didn't read the reply I received back and posted above - "Our drivers are told not to confront those smoking and that their own safety is paramount". So obviously it isn't the driver's fault. Has anyone ever actually seen on of these "plainclothes inspectors" in action?In 3 years of using Dubin Bus almost every day, I haven't.

K. Still getting bad rep for the Driver's stopping smokers thing. Since getting the mail from Dublin Bus, I obviously realize the situation is not to be dealt with by the drivers. It is however Dublin Bus' job to implement the law(or co-operate with the gardaí in some way). So the blame now moves from the Drivers (all apologies) to Dublin Bus themselves.

To those of you who are of the apathetic opinion "What's the point in kicking up a fuss, when one person can't do anything?" and "Just get another bus". The whole point of this thread is to bring together people that are píssed off by the complete lack of law enforcement on certain routes.....certain as in the routes that should have these "plainclothes inspectors" on them permanently, not randomly.

Thanks.