How Bad are the Fireworks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Pretty dissapointing at the moment, lots of distant bangers, but little else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

From a small town north west of portlaoise

We are holed up inside this abandend out-building i dont no how long we can last , wait the firing has stoped get 2 50 shot repeters ...... fire , the enemy has fallen back , Now we have them , i hear something ohh wait its only the dog having a heart attack . They return fire 5 misiles are flying right for us , take cover , return fire 2 75 shot repeters and 4 rockets should do th job

Thats pretty much the story :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

"Trick-or-treat-trick-or-treat-give-us-something-nice-to-eat".

The horror.

I gave the three of them a fiver, because they'd put some effort into dressing, and they didn't torture me with a song and dance. What can I say, I'm a teddy bear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

you better hope you dont get any of their friends round to ya, kids spread the word about the houses that give ya money! your in for an expensive night :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

You lot think you have it bad, we had one single solitary banger go off next door earlier. Thing is, idiots threw it at the oil tank... Lucky the whole thing didn't go up, it was no small banger, and no recent tank...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

They caught me on the way to work. Hopefully nobody will egg or rob the house. Not that there's much to steal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

well its like the battle of hastings here at the moment
    Of 1066? Like no gunpowder, guns, cannons. Only a bunch of Normans on horseback? Must be pretty primitive were you live Of 1066? Like no gunpowder, guns, cannons. Only a bunch of Normans on horseback? Must be pretty primitive were you live :D

Well, that joke fairly blew up in his face...

Geddit!? Blew up? Ah, nuts to you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

My dsog scared off trick-or-treaters earlier and I found it funny. My brother ran out and give them €2 each to keep them quiet.

kiunda puts the kids in a halloweens mood, dosen't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The all-clear siren sounded about 10 mins back, at the height of battle the air was thick with pink and green smoke trials hanging in the still night sky. Some of the bangs were earth-shaking.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

out here in glasnevin at the moment, pinned in By the Battle of Cabra West and Finglas South. Its like a competition. Of course, our local adidas tracksuit brigade have amassed a considerable array of furniture, pallets (which Im informed are the dearest variety of pallet by someone who knows his pallet) and of course, the obligatory 10 year old moped with absolutely no casings or the like.

What none of these clever little chaps thought of before tossing said "motorised vehicle" engine et al onto the bonfire, was that there was likely to be a certain amount of trace petrol and oil involved. Thankfully, there were no younger kids close enough to witness the horror (Horror my arse it was funny) of two 16 year old muppets almost kill themselves when the moped went pop. After a lot of them ****ting themselves, they were fine.

It was a bit disappointing because I turned to my mate just before they threw it on and we both reckoned it was gonna go kablammo, but it kinda just went pfffft, lotsa sparks though which were cool.

Suffice to say, I brought my younger sister home from the bonfire then. To the relative safety of our bomb shelter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭ando

SantaHoe wrote:
    Pretty dissapointing at the moment, lots of distant bangers, but little else.

here's a mp3 sound file from what its like here in Dublin's north side :D

http://homepage.eircom.net/~anderson2002/video/31october.mp3

:D I love modern technology! Right who's got the mpeg?

Mike.

good job there ando :D where exactly is that?

Raheny ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

I was hit with a 12 shot repeater today, it burnt my arm. It's killing me now, I might need to bring it to a doctor or something, dunno. I'll see in the morning. But needless to say, the fireworks here started about 3, and are still going. The bonfire is lit 40 foot from my house, I can see it out my window ATM with all the drunks still around it...

If I wasn't broke I'd be one of those drunks. :(

But yeah, I hate fireworks. The little knackers the light fireworks and lob them on the ground, without telling anyone. At least I got the little f**ker that did it. :mad:

did ya get him? did ya did ya? excellent..... :D rep. just for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

ando wrote:

Crikey! And I thought Portlaoise was bad earlier on. That sounds like just constant, non-stop BANG BANG POP CRACKLE BANG up in Dublin from the sounds of things. I pity anyone trying to get some sleep there. Sounds like a bloody firefight in the middle of Fallujah! :eek:

NEWSFLASH FROM PORTLAOISE: The fighting appears to have finally stopped here after an evening of intense artillery bombardment and the constant flash of surface-to-air missiles streaking into the sky, then exploding on impact with their targets in spectacular showers of sparks. Reports have come in, though, of several cars still burning in the Knockmay and St. Brigid's estate areas........... however, that's nothing new in those parts!* ;)

*No offence to any residents of Knockmay or St. Brigid's intended! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

ando wrote:

Isnt Roslyn House in Raheeney, there goes a couple of good guide dogs into early retirement.

good clip you should send that into joe duffy as he was covering this subject during the week of bangers and the havoc they cause to family pets and old people +rep for the clip

By the way, for some reason Limerick went quiet earlier than expected this year. No way near as bad as that clip probably one every five or six seconds could be heard from the City centre at about 8pm.

I've sent it to Joe :D lets see what comes of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Some little BAZTARD let off the loudest bangers I've ever heard in my life at about 4am last night. Stillorgan had been lit up and deafened from about 6 o' clock through to 2am when I finally thought I'd have a chance at getting some sleep for the morning... I was only asleep an hour when ten of these things were let go one after the other...

I hope the little scumbag lost his hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

lying on my couch yesterday i heard one huge bang, the vibrations from the thing went through the sitting room floor, since that moment Waterford was under siege, pretty cool to look at them tbh, reminded me of pictures the news had went the american were bombing the **** out of Iraq

well pld all who set off the fireworks in waterford, finished before i went to bed too :)
    (the dog down the way from my house didnt like it all though!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Rossonero

Was walking to my digs in Galwaya group of youngsters let off a firework, but didn't set it properly. It rocketted horizontally around 2 ft from the ground and nearly killed two fellas [ it landed beside them, they got covered in the sparks]. the two ran over and and gave the lads an unmerciful beating.

My friends cousins live in north Dublin. They once tied a kitten to a firework. I won't describe the consequences. ****ers! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

It's now the afternoon after the night before... Tallaght lies strewn with burned out cars and smouldering bonfires.
    The little feckers emerged about noon, bleary eyed from their retreat, to start bombarding the place where I work with another arsenal of bangers, fireworks and various other missiles... waterbombs included :eek:
    Where on earth do they get the money to buy all this stuff?
    And why don't more of them blow their hands off?

Y'know if fireworks were legal I'm sure we would'nt have half this sh1te going on.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Went out to look at the bonfire around 7:30 but they hadn't lit it yet and it was surrounded by a group of skangers who were enjoying trying to take out cars and people with fireworks. They threw one at us when we weren't looking and then totally ignored us when we looked over.

Other then that it was like Iraq invasion with chinese sky candy going off every 2-3 seconds. The ones we could see out by howth looked really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

mike65 wrote:
    Y'know if fireworks were legal I'm sure we would'nt have half this sh1te going on.

Mike.

Did the gardai arrest anyone last night for fireworks possession ? ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

Driving out of Tallaght at approx. 5pm after work... and the little monsters had the bonfires in full flamage again!!! :eek:
    I mean for heaven's sake... there must be something more interesting to do than burning random furniture, pallets, pets, cars, bicycles, syblings in the green area outside your house?
    There's a bonfire every 50 houses or so... is one not enough?? :eek:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

<Dioxin> Indeed UK studies (20,21,22) also suggest that as much as 14% of the total UK annual emissions can be attributed to "Bonfire Night" celebrations on 5th November.
    http://www.bpfwindowsgroup.com/Windows_-_A_Transparent_Case_for_PVC_5.cfm

Fireworks and Heavy Metals

The explosion of fireworks has been discovered to be a source of intense heavy metal release that is being addressed in Sweden and other countries. The fireworks that are displayed in the skies to celebrate events such as Independence Day and New Years Eve, etc. contain carcinogenic sulphur-coal compounds. Fireworks spread an odor of black gunpowder and spreads radioactive barium, which makes the green sparkling color and considerable amounts of strontium, along with arsenic, mercury, cadmium, lead, copper, zinc and chromium. These toxic metals have been measured and found to be four to five times elevated in the air after the fireworks displays. In the United States alone, it is estimated that 90 tons of lead alone, are released in an hour or two of fireworks displays. The increased heavy metal exposure constitutes a direct risk for people with asthma, metal allergies and chemical sensitivities. Infants and children are particularly vulnerable and may suffer permanent damage. Many pet owners and farmers are concerned and wild life remains completely unprotected. Many displays are over lakes and other bodies of water, used for drinking water and recreational swimming. This is discouraging and demoralizing to learn that such a vast pollution release on one single occasion is permitted.
    http://tuberose.com/Heavy_Metal_Toxicity.html

http://www.pyro-pages.com/Info/Chemistry/chemical.htm - list of colours & metals
    http://physchem.ox.ac.uk/MSDS/#MSDS- MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheet) Information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Update from Ballinteera !!!!

Tonight all is quite and the US Garda 1st Division have taken control of the locality (ie they are still scratching their bollox in the station!).

However spokesman for the Skanger 69th Cider Division Sheik Anto el Shiny Trackkie has promised in a quite chilling threat that "When de lads gez some more of de bangers and rockez we willz get dat cat we missed lazt night like, roite!"

Will this country ever be safe for law abiding cats and dogs !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

This **** used to always finish on Halloween. Now it seems to me that guy falkes night will be celebrated with bangers - etc. I reckon fireworks should be made legal to authorized bodies. I.e. local community big-wheels. Organize local firework displays etc..

Parents whose kids let off bangers etc ad-hoc - have to face fines (okay maybe after warning first). This **** has to stop. I feel nervous smoking in my car with the window open wtf could fly in and blind/incinerate me :eek: