Is it legal to have a club over say 20's...?Worst reason given for being refused..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

Well I'll throw my hat in the hatered to Qbar!!
    Walked up to the door, asked the great question of,

"Do we know you??"

To which I cunningly replied

"No"

Much hassle ensued, to finally get in, have one overpriced beer and leave cuz of the amount of posers and losers in suits!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,509 ✭✭✭fletch

Bul1sh1t like this really annoys me. About a year ago, for no reason my local pub started refusing me, each time giving me no reason whatsoever and telling me to try next week. I had been going there consistently for over a year previously, in the end I had to arrange a meeting with the manager so I could get in. Totally ridiculous as I have never caused an ounce of trouble in my life and look very respectable.
    Personally I much prefer gay bars, I have never once been refused. I rarely get asked for ID and can wear "whatever" I want. Why do straight bars insist that everyone look the same?! Clothing is often an extension of peoples personalities & is often a way of judgin a persons character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,509 ✭✭✭fletch

Boomerangs has have the worst bouncers ever in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭dave13

Got refused into the Odeon on saturday as it's "strictly over-23's". didn't matter that i've been there loads before.Never have any problem if i walk in with a girl. To add insult my friend who is 20 and looks about 15 had walked in about 10 mins earlier without even being asked for ID. Won't be making any more trips up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,283 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Lol yeah the bouncers on the door of bozos are a bunch of fat headed rugby playing assholes on a power trip. They don't realise how ****ing sad and pathetic they look when they start acting the prick.

The ones that are on the door of scribes (the student bar) can be tossers sometimes too.

BloodBath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Ive never actually been refused anywhere, funny.
    I can remember days when I was 15 being refused in an offlicense because I had no id but other than that never.

The most rediculous times I was served underage were
    1) Was at the fleadh aged 15, was in the pub with 2 older brothers. One was 20 the other 17. 20 year old goes to the bar an asks for 3 pints, "I'll give you 2, one for you and the guy in the jersey(me) but the other ones not 18." That was very funny.

2) A month after turning 16 I went celebrating the leaving cert results with friends (they had done it I had not). I had no id. When asked I produced a small mpiece of cardboard with a name, student number and date of birth printed on it. It was one of the lads who had done the leaving.
    It wasnt laminated
    It hadnt a photo
    I couldnt prove it was my name
    I got served.

3)One night while 16 (closer to 17 than 16) I entered a pub drunk as hell at 1am [after the neighbouring pub had stopped serving) The barman asked me had I been here all night, I said yes, and without asking for id my pint was produced.

4)While on the school tour comming home on the plane the air hostess was going round offering drinks, wine or coke. Everyone asked for wine but she asked them all for id and of course nobody was over 18. She asks the guy beside me who does have id (he was 18 the ay before) then without asking me what i wanted gave me coke, "Excuse me Im 18" was all i said and the wine appears with er appologies.

5)Going into a night club while 17. The guy in front of me is turned away, my date produces her id (she was 18), I just say "Sorry, I dont have anything n me tonigt" "Its ok, I know your face". It was my first time in that club.

6) While going into the UCD student bar last year (went up for the open day, Very close to 18). Went in with the brother and his friends, all asked for stuent cards, when it comes to me I pull out my wallet and he just motioned me by before I could find anything.

Actually I have been refused once, 2 augests ago at the fleadh I was goin towards a bar at about 4 or 5 pm and was refused on grounds that i was wering a GAA gersey. Unbelieveable that i would be refused on those grounds at a fleadh

Id say the reason I got away so many times underage was because Ii was always very tall and handled my drink well, never caused a scene or stumbled up to a bouncer. I dressed very well and was with an older crowd. Im told I looked older than i was, i dunno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

boomerangs is the worst club in the city, so i'd look upon it as a bonus being refused from there

the odean is a nice spot from my experience(a bit ya ya maybe tho!), bouncers can be tough tho, but not so bad if you're early enough...

qbar, went there a lot over a period as handy location for nitelink and best club in that area (of a very bad lot), but i do honestly believe they're genuine bouncers in that if they do recognise you (as you've been there a fair few times) it's straight in... if they don't recognise you and busy nite, can be rough...

to be fair, fukk it tho, loadsa decent clubs in town of willing to walk a bit...
    and of course it helps being with a hot gurlie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭the evil belly

the_syco wrote:
    I'm 6 foot 6, and have nearly never been refused entry. The only time I was refused, as because of the penknife attached to my chain. I removed it, and was then allowed in. I've worn combats (camo + german black), t-shirts, shirts, denim jackets, and "during the winter" my trenchcoat, into nightclubs. I mostly look down @ the bouncers, and I'm in no way heavily built, but I rarely get asked for ID. I've gone to a number of clubs in Dublin and Galway, and they usually just nod, and let me in.
    Height sometimes works to your advantage :cool:

lol i'm in a somewhat similar situation. only about 6 foot meself but am quite broad. usually wander into any bar wearing whatever i like(usually jeans, tshirt and runners) get some funny looks from bouncers when 6 or 7 big guys in black leather jackets wander up to the door. never been asked for i.d. when part of that group. maybe the beard helps too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

chump wrote:
    of course it helps being with a hot gurlie
    Thats what we are all trying to get in there for in the first place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Chopper George

My experiences with bouncers have mainly been negative, I always thought they were there to greet customers:

Messr Macguires:
    Bouncer: Alright lads, what would you want here now?
    Me: A drink.

Perplexed, he let us in.

Zanzibar:

No neck bouncer with bullet head beginning from shoulders: No chance lads, regulars only.

Me: Well, how am I supposed to become a regular if you dont let us in?

No neck bouncer with bullet head beginning from shoulders: Youre not getting in lads!

Nice chaps, must enjoy their work. By the way, Ireland must be the only country with this bouncer mentality, go to any country on the continent, and you have no probs with these undesirables.

By the way, Ireland must be the only country with this bouncer mentality,

Naa england is much much worse - what you get over there are the so called 'professional' bouncer whose only qualification for professionalism is a badly fitting suit and a bad attitude. And the minute you get held up or refused for no good reason - is what leads to trouble.

Here they are more likely to be reasonably friendly - even polite - when they refuse you thus leading to less tension all round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

Actully i think there's a course one can do in DIT security management or something, that teaches you how to become a bouncer...DIT's great you can do anything there, from learning how to swindle money out of people (business) to learning how to be a bouncer.

madness.

Anyone wanna buy some stocks so I can fund my course at DIT?? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

No neck bouncer with bullet head beginning from shoulders: No chance lads, regulars only.

No neck bouncer with bullet head beginning from shoulders: Youre not getting in lads!

It's worse when you actually are a regular!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭eefs

Zanzibar:

Nice chaps, must enjoy their work. By the way, Ireland must be the only country with this bouncer mentality, go to any country on the continent, and you have no probs with these undesirables.

Trust me, you don't want to become a regular in Zanzibar. Once you get in, you can never get out. I've been trying for the past two years. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

My experiences with bouncers are mostly bad, and strangely enough all of them were on the doors of pubs and clubs I never normally go to

Reasons like

B: Not tonight lads
    Me: Why not
    B: You're hair is too long
    Me: What about him (pointing to shaved head friend)
    B: His is too short

B: Come back in 5 minutes
    Me: (five minutes later) Ok I am back
    B: Who are you
    Me: The guy you borrowed a smoke from and told me to come back in 5 minutes
    B: Here's your smoke back, now f**k off

B: Sorry, regulars only
    Me: And?
    B: You're not a regular
    Me: And you arent a proper doorman
    B: Leave now!

B: Regulars only!
    Me: I am meeting people here
    B: Are they regulars
    Me: No
    B: Not my problem then, is it

And the best of all was I was attending a media launch for a company I used to work for
    B: Sorry, but you are not allowed in here
    Me: There is a media launch here, I am meant to be here
    B: I dont think so
    Me: Why not
    B: Because I said so
    Me: (spotting my boss) Hey, come here, this tool wont let me in
    Boss: This true
    B: Well...
    Boss: Just go on in
    (leaving one very p*ssed off bouncer/doorman. When I left later on, whilst quite drunk, I went over to him and told him I really appreciated the job he was doing but other then looking constipated what other qualificiations did he had.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Hillbilly

I would have to agree with a lot of your comments but they're the people you look to help you if a row kicks off
    A lot of them could do with a course in manners but it's not an easy job

eefs wrote:
    Trust me, you don't want to become a regular in Zanzibar. Once you get in, you can never get out. I've been trying for the past two years. :confused:
    Lost among the palm trees are you?
    And how come that is one place where most people seem to bring a passport to and still everyone inside looks about 13?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

Anyone wanna buy some stocks so I can fund my course at DIT?? ;)

Well i wont buy any stocks....but il give you one of those hideous-sorry- fabulous-sorry manly(grrrrrr etc) black bomber jackets with the orange lining that seemed to be bouncer uniform a while ago...and with winter coming up it'l keep you warm as you drag the riff raff out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,077 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

In some places, Cafe en Seine etc they'l think "out of place"\skangerish without even looking past your clothes

Damn right. There's loads of places for you lot, yet very few for the rest of us.

Alana wrote:
    Well i wont buy any stocks....but il give you one of those hideous-sorry- fabulous-sorry manly(grrrrrr etc) black bomber jackets with the orange lining that seemed to be bouncer uniform a while ago...and with winter coming up it'l keep you warm as you drag the riff raff out :D

Ahh bless ya...all I need to do now is shave me head, drag me knuckles on the ground and gain 5 stone and I'll be sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

ok what pub was this?
    firstly it is legal to have a clearly stated sign saying that its eith 18's 20's or 23's nevr hav i heard of 20's??? any way... only if it is clearly stated . i also have a fear of heights (i like to stay at the most 5 foot from the ground unless) anyway the reason y i was refuesd (by the by i'm 21 22 in feb) my garda age card the picture doesnt look like me they then asked for another form of id i was quite dumb founded i asked y wud i go waste money on a garda id if i was going to bring more than that out with me i took out my atm cards showd my name they then said that only visa cards can be shown as a form of pictureless id!!! this was in fitspatricks (or sumtin like that )in temple bar :mad: