Spiders - big hairy fellas

• 10-09-2004 04:52PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭

I've noticed in the last week or so a few really big spiders around my house. Also my g/f has noticed a massive increase in spiders in the last few days in her own house (haven't managed to put tippex marks on them to see if it's the same fella playing tricks).

I presume it's the weather that is driving them indoors. Anybody any ideas on (1)how to keep them out of the house (2) how to get rid of them when they get it (standing on them is a last resort as the splat they leave is fairly massive.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Yeah we've had loads of them in our house recently as well. At first we just put them back outside, but they kept coming back in so we had to resort to using the hoover on them. It's a good way to get rid of spiders if you don't want the messiness of splatting them :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,019 ✭✭✭✭tk123

This was in the corridor in work today - my friend freaked out and made me "walk her thru the door" a bunch of time cos she was too scared to walk by herself. I tried to catch it in a cup and release it into the wild but it ran under the door and is now living in this indoor garden thing in work - it'll prob lay eggs and take over the building ala Arachnaphobia(sp?) :eek: I'm sure he came out of some pcs we got in last week from Germany. We got a few hundred last year and those spiders where everywhere!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭kaiphas

whoa - thats one big mf!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

kaiphas wrote:
    whoa - thats one big mf!!

mf = mutha ****a = mother ****er!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I was gonna make a post about this today , They are not only big spiders but they seem to be a different type. A type I have never seen in Ireland cept in the last month or so. They are really big , low to the ground and really really fast. Also they have v.big fangs... At first I thought they were only in a friends hosue ( ive seend at least 6 different spiders of the same type there in the last few weeks ) but two days ago I saw one in my own house...weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

mf = mutha ****a = mother ****er!

...... :confused: what ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

yeah seen a few of those bad boys myself, they are feckin huge man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭OY

That picture is the only type of spider that i hate. My wifre FREAKS out when around anything spiderlike but those are wierd. they are fast...real fast and i think that that is the problem.

last week there was a similar horror on our wall and i grabbed a glass and some cardboard to trap it in. So i am in pure stealth mode and sneaking up on this beast and all of a sudden i feel one run across my bare foot, when isay i felt it i mean i saw it in my mind, all legs and hair racing across my exposed foot. I FROZE and was so freaked out that i could not look down, could not do anything except stand there. My whole body tensed up and it was only after taking a deep breath and composing myself i realised i was wearing my worn jeans and it was a stray string as i stepped that ran across the top of my foot.

I have yet to tell my wife because in our household i have to be the spider catcher and i do not want to inspire a lack of confidence but i can honestly hold my hand on my heart and say there have been few times in life that i have been seriously spooked like that.

Just thought i would share this story here because it was that exact spider that i was creeping up on. I hate those b****rds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

I had to deal with 5 of these critters in the last week.
    One in sink...one in Bath...one in middle of hallway..and one ran by my shoulder on the sofa..thats only 4 isnt it.:).
    Anyway I asked my sister and she has seen them in her house recently too.

Anyone know a wildlife type guy that uses boards to get some info on these big mutthas!.

I too was going to post here tonight and ask did anyone else notice these Spiders.
    A girl at work told me her father used to pick these bad boys up with his hand to throw them outside...
    He doesnt pick them up anymore...Ever since he was Bitten on the hand by one...!!!!!
    Arghhhh!!...

Nemesis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I've come across one or two of these manky little (big) bastards. We used to get loads of spiders when I lived in an old house in Rathfarnham, but luckily they were usually the little spindly ones instead of the big hairy feckers.

I'm arachnophobic BTW... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭impr0v

I'm glad to see this thread, our house is plagued with them, the same as in the picture. We were thinking of abandoning ship and letting the landlord deal with them. Wtf is with them? I've never seen that type before this summer, now they're appearing unannounced at night and look like mice out of the corner of one's eye they are that big. I examing all the corners of the kitchen and found about 7 of them, they're almost invisible until they get to scary size, so they grow up in peace.

I heard today that apparantly it's mating season, the female spider lives indoors while the big black males live outdoors during the year but at this time they go to their usual places to swap fluids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

No wonder it's raining - people all over Dublin must be killing spiders, poor little beasties.

If you want to know what it is, ask the Dublin Naturalists' Field Club - www.dnfc.net. (By the way, they also do an annual Fungus Hunt, for those interested in such things.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭BrianD3

The spiders people are seeing are most likely big house spiders such as Tegenaria gigantea They are pretty harmless but can startle people due to their size (I've seen one which must have been 4-5 inches across) and the speed they move at.

BrianD3

sp-tegenaria-gigantea.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

all the spiders are coming into the dry

ive had 5 in my room lately, i use those pc mags to squash them

one was the size of a cd, it freaked me out, so i let my dog deal with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Hello Kitty

I really hate spiders especially big ones, luckly enough i havent seen any big ones in my house but i have seen small ones....
    I hate when there in the bath or anywhere in the bathroom.:mad:

Ive been noticing that theres loads of daddy long legs and wasps!
    What i usually do is just grab any kind of spray bottle and just spray anything i see moving until its drowned!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

yeah these huge yokes bombing it across the floor is some sight, house is ''crawling'' with them, ive had to engage a few in combat in the past few days, my holiday home in galway was much worse though, 2 a day were assisanated at least

shocking...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Yeah've seen a few

Are they Wolf spiders ? - active hunters, don't sit around waiting by a web.

bigspider1.jpg

Now arent we lucky that spiders this size dont live in Ireland... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

We get the same spiders tk123's posted in his/her attached image all the time in my house. I'm paranoid there's a nest somewhere :( They can move pretty quickly too :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

That's a coin not a saucer

How about this little beauty
    Japanese Spider crab (Macrocheira kaempferi); fully grown it can reach a leg span of almost 4 meters (13 feet), a body size of up to 37 cm (15 inches) and a weight of up to 20 kg (44 pounds).

Link to wolf spider
    http://www.ext.vt.edu/departments/entomology/factsheets/wolfspid.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

ive noticed a lot of daddy long legs and spiders this year, the long legs annoy me more because they are noisy clumsy ****ers, i can live with the spiders ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,019 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I don't have any bugs in my house like that - well any I can see anyways cos I have my kitty trained to kill them all!!! I just point and the offending bug and say LOOOOOK and make a sisssss sound and he'll come running over to see what i'm pointing at...then he kills them for me!!! :cool: :cool: :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

I just grab them and throw them out the window.. what are they gonna do - kill u? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

tk123 wrote:
    I don't have any bugs in my house like that - well any I can see anyways cos I have my kitty trained to kill them all!!! I just point and the offending bug and say LOOOOOK and make a sisssss sound and he'll come running over to see what i'm pointing at...then he kills them for me!!! :cool: :cool: :cool:

my puppy does the same hehe, he just stands on them

hopefully this spider invasion will cease soon as its getting a bit annoying to have to exterminate one at least every day

tk123 wrote:

ahhh thats what my cats do, i point at the spider and make it move so it catches their attention and they paw at it, but they never actually kill it i always have to do that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Yeh there was a huge spider in my sitting room the other day.
    Im not normally so scared but it was the fact that it was so damn fast that freaked me out.
    Also it was heading straight towards me.
    Eeeeeeeeee.

The reason people are seeing lots of big spiders right at the moment is because this is the time of year that male house spiders go on the prowl for a mate.

House spiders have not come in from outside because of cold weather etc. They actually live in your house all year round, hiding in various places.

Putting a house spider outside instead of killing it doesn't do the spider any good. It will die pretty quickly outside as its natural habitat is indoors.

BrianD3

BrianD3 wrote:
    The reason people are seeing lots of big spiders right at the moment is because this is the time of year that male house spiders go on the prowl for a mate.

House spiders have not come in from outside because of cold weather etc. They actually live in your house all year round, hiding in various places.

Putting a house spider outside instead of killing it doesn't do the spider any good. It will die pretty quickly outside as its natural habitat is indoors.

BrianD3

So just save it from a cold painfull death by squishing it straight away. :D

Nah, don't squish 'em. Big spider = big mess when squished :) Leave them be, they are good to have in the house as they feed on beetles, earwigs etc. If you're unfortunate enough to have cockroaches in your house, the spiders will eat those too.

One more tip: don't sleep with your mouth open when you've got house spiders :eek: hahaha

BrianD3