Greetings?

• 28-07-2001 11:05PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭

I know lots of people from different places, and they all have different greetings.

eg: people i know from the gaeltacht say, "How you horse?" you being the horse, obviously.

Americans shake ur hand for several minutes.

Turks kinda half bow in ur direction.

And I say "How ye goin on?"

And in CS i say "lo all"

What do you do?

Aka: Sexual Harassment Panda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

asl? smile.gif

Actually, I'll admit to be a dublin knacker, I say "Stawree bais"

Even though I was their captive, the Indians allowed me quite a bit of freedom. I could walk freely, make my own meals, and even hurl large rocks at their heads. It was only later that I discovered that they were not Indians at all but only dirty-clothes hampers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

"Please don`t call the garda!!" thats a big hit if ya greet the ladies with that one after they catch ya in the shrubbary outside their block of flats

I might look like a fool but i`m really a blithering idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Belisarius

I am deadly serious , but I do shoot people with my fingers like two sixshooters *Post CS Dual Elites* and make that wierd clicking noise , Car salesman style. I am not spoofing , youll see if im ever at a lan or something , it just comes instinctively .Its very embarassing actually , online im heralded by a simple "Oioi"

The Man From Delmonte , He Say "Yes"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Kix

LOL Belisarius!

I'm afraid that I make do with "hello"...

[This message has been edited by Kix (edited 29-07-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

"Well, whats the craic"
    "story"
    "alright"
    Or at the moment
    "Welcome to Orange, Barry speaking, which name please"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

What's a greeting?????

Where Is Your Millenium?
    Where Is Your Kingdom Of A Thousand Years?
    What You See Is A World Of Hate, Of Pitiness
    Never To Be Set In State
    What You See Is What You Get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by AngelWhore:
    What's a greeting?????

</font>

Don't play dumb with me Fat Tony.

As for a greeting - I normally "how's it goin'" or "Ahoy-hoy!" or something equally inane.

I don't normally meet people so I have little oportunity to try out new, varied and interesting greetings.

**** sympathy! I don't need your ****in' sympathy, man, I need my ****ing johnson!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Lucy_la_morte

Hiya or Salut.

Senretsukyaku
    Kikosho!
    SPINNING BIRD KICK

Chun-Li la morte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭ThrAx

most ppl ask me am i ok and i usually say "Yeah, grand" or "WILL YA STOP ASKING ME AM I OK DAMMIT, DO I LOOK DEPRESSED!?!"

i usually just use a plain lo or hello or hey or hi

im a robot in disguise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

"'Sup?"
    That or a grunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

i have a friend from slane who greets people with "are ye right there frosty?" or "what up, frost?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭C B

I usually point and say "I'm on to you".
    I wonder why nobody talks to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Good man CB - always get them Simpsons references in at the right place.

I just realised that I don't normally say a proper greeting but in fact just mumble "hey" at people as I pass in the street.

**** sympathy! I don't need your ****in' sympathy, man, I need my ****ing johnson!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

Depends what language I'm speaking...in English it's usually "Hi", "Hey there" or "'Sup?" irl. Online it's usually lo, ewwo, hiya and other such gibberish.

Other greetings I randomly use are Salut, Ca va?, Hola, Esta bien?, Ciao, Vanakam, Namaste, Hai, Nihau ma! and other tidbits I picked up while traveling with m8s.

Strangely enough I actually say them occasionally to pure English speakers, rewarded by a cold stare. My usual response is: "My work here is done" smile.gif

Bob the Unlucky Octopus

Sup Yall MoFo's

Whats the story !

Whats Happenin .

How you doin !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 reteP

dig-a-ditch!

(dia dhuit)

Pick up Lines:
    Should I call you in the morning or just nudge you?
    You have a beautiful body. Will you hold that against me?
    Are you a parking ticket? Cause you got FINE written all over you!

---
    47.5% of all statistics are made up on the spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Chaos-Engine

I use the word: "Greetings" alot. I also say things like "Howmahae" and "How art thou?" etc
    then i would venture into the oldspeak of times past...

to be honest most don't know what i say smile.gif

"Information is Ammunition"
    Choas Engine
    Email: choas@netshop.ie

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

It's usually "Howaya?" or "How's it shakin'?"

Sometimes it's "How's yer Laalaa?" or "What's the story?" curlydav.gif

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    So Bob Hoskins was about to roll a spliff when in walks Dana with her 3 foot Bong
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    When the Beefy King arrives, I shall be paying homage with Puunack The Receiver in a haze of green curry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

"How's the but of yer bag!"

"I'd rather have a bottle infront of me than a frontal lobotamy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Oogy_Boogy

"Is that a mirror in ur panty's?
    Cause i can see me in there tonite"
    or
    "A ***** is a *****, but a dog is a mans best friend"

Wait whats that?
    Greeting?

oh rite sorry none of those tongue.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Hows it going
    hey ****ers
    lo lads
    what
    smile.gif

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

"Whats de story"

^^^
    Tallght heads. smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Depends who I'm talking to... "Allo" or "How's the form" with a nod of the head usually, but I'll slip into casual Japanese greetings ("ohayo", "konnichiwa" etc) around some folk or into formal Japanese for meeting Japanese businessy-type folk. Oddly, I stick to casual "How's the form" or "How's it goin" for business meetings with Europeans or Americans...

And of course, when I'm drunk it's a big hug. I'm a softy really. smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Puck

I usually try to say something but it comes out as a low grunt. When I try to say it clearer it just comes out as a louder grunt and after several attempts the person usually runs away from me grunting at them louder and louder.

When I'm drunk I usually just shout and jump on people!

John (yes THE John!)
    "Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Just plain old 'hi!' to people I'm not well acquainted with but amongst my friends we usually greet each other in loud Dublin accents with 'Story, wha?'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The simple "hi" all to often followed by the mobilephone-PC "can you talk".

I really hate the "are you alright" and "are you OK" approach in shops / fast food.

Scene: 2am New Years Day, Burgerland, Cork. Cashier looks about 17.

Cashier: "Are you alright?"

Victor[Dead pan voice]: "No, I have severe psycholocical problems"

[Cashier runs away]

Kill, kill, kill the laser mice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Being from Cork it's either,

"How's it goin' boy?"
    "Greetings and Salutations"
    "'sup"
    "Hey boy what's happening"

Or if I'm up on the northside
    "Please don't hurt me!"
    "Hey fein how's the boire treatin' ya like, got any yokes on ya b'chance?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

os Oj just said...
    "story boyz..." (tallaght!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 vacca

have to agree with the other cow-avatar here, just plain "sup?"

should admit tho that i shudder whenever i hear someone using knacker-dublin-greetings, as someone described them.

vac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭superfly

"wat de dory"
    "howya ted"
    "Greetings"