Whats the craic re boys v girls here?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

keu wrote:
    pffft...well I have breasts.
    pffft...so do I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭keu

:d
    and the truth shall set you freeeeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Zulu wrote:
    pffft...so do I.

rofl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭dubhthach

Sleipnir wrote:
    rofl!

[useless fact]it's a fair enough point men do have breast tissue, in the US on average 1000 men develop breast cancer a year[/useless fact]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

[useless fact]it's a fair enough point men do have breast tissue, in the US on average 1000 men develop breast cancer a year[/useless fact]

Warning you have a remote chance of getting cancer?

Call me nuts but I don't think that should be classified as a "useless" fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

no, it's definately a useless fact.
    1000 men out of an estimated 146,500,000 men in the U.S.

I have a remote chance of being hit by a falling shower tray but not enough to worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

dubhthach wrote:

Richard Roundtree (i.e. John Shaft) for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

I have a remote chance of being hit by a falling shower tray but not enough to worry about it.

Falling shower trays the silent killer in your bathroom.............

But I guess if you were Robert Paulson it'd be a concern
    Richard Roundtree (i.e. John Shaft) for example.

Is that what finally got shaft? Well Sleepnir if it's deadly enough for shaft and he is a bad mother(shut your mouth) it's something to worry about.

Thank you Penguinbloke for giving us a real useless fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭[Preacher]

lisa.c wrote:
    climaxer yes we are a minority on these boards thank god we got a few women mods though or we would be fecked. the thing with the boys v girls thing is quite simple... the boys cant handel that we have an opinion... also while we think were superior at SOME things the boys like to think that they are superior at ALL things. they just cant handel the fact that we can be right on certain subjects hence the constant put down they give us..

also some boys here think they are quite superior over everyone here but you have to understand that this is the internet and they feel quite safe here as no one can see them. in real life there probably little pussy cats who still have there bum bums wiped by mammy so when ever you see some one who tries to put you down adn make little of your comments just repat to yourself... he is a pussy cat with no confidence and is threatened by me..
    now in saying that there are some( a small minority) males who can post honestly and dont feel threatened by us.

you'll soon figure who the pussy cats are though!!!!!!

Its funny how sexism is only a one way door in womens' eyes. Still though I take comfort in the fact that we run the world.

He's a complicated man but no-one understands him but his woman

It'll take more than cancer to keep that shaft down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

the problem is that every so often boards gets an influx of new female members, who like to talk about the fact that they're female alot. most of them, like a number of you on the thread, are very attention seeking 'ooh look at me i'm a girl on the internet'. you'll post a bunch of random not very thought provoking threads, about men, sex, or cosmetics trying to draw attention to the fact that your female and then disappear after being laughed at while trying to make a decent arguement or any point on one of the more serious boards. there is no boys vs girls thing, boards is a complex community, and while you're not expected to prove yourself, being able to hold an intelligent conversation once in a while without shouting about your sex drive or something else irrelevent would be a reasonable request if you're looking to be respected around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Try going to an elec eng lecture, then you will see the battle of the sexes...as a slightly off topic, any girls feel akward telling dirty jokes in front of guys? I have a really filthy dark sense of humor but am being accused of being less feminine as a result, which is certainly not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭dubhthach

CathyMoran wrote:
    Try going to an elec eng lecture, then you will see the battle of the sexes...as a slightly off topic, any girls feel akward telling dirty jokes in front of guys? I have a really filthy dark sense of humor but am being accused of being less feminine as a result, which is certainly not the case.

Them elec. engineers were in with us abit for some of our programming courses (IT in galway) it was kinda funny cause IT was close to 50/50 gender spilt while there was hardly any women at all in elec. eng

As for been told that you were less feminine because ye tell dirty jokes, ye got to wonder bout some of stuff people say :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

climaxer wrote:
    Whats the craic re boys v girls here?!

It appears that there is in fact, no craic at all. How unfortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

dubhthach wrote:
    Them elec. engineers were in with us abit for some of our programming courses (IT in galway) it was kinda funny cause IT was close to 50/50 gender spilt while there was hardly any women at all in elec. eng
    Interesting! When did you graduate? We shared some of your classes too, CS & Maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Seraphina wrote:
    the problem is that every so often boards gets an influx of new female members, who like to talk about the fact that they're female alot. most of them, like a number of you on the thread, are very attention seeking 'ooh look at me i'm a girl on the internet'. you'll post a bunch of random not very thought provoking threads, about men, sex, or cosmetics trying to draw attention to the fact that your female and then disappear after being laughed at while trying to make a decent arguement or any point on one of the more serious boards. there is no boys vs girls thing, boards is a complex community, and while you're not expected to prove yourself, being able to hold an intelligent conversation once in a while without shouting about your sex drive or something else irrelevent would be a reasonable request if you're looking to be respected around here.

Say it sister.

up wit boyz
    nit wit girlz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Seraphina wrote:

Hammer. Nail. Head. Or however that saying goes. Spot on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

Damn this is a funny thread. Reminds me of a "friend" in the navy who is writing a book about "battling feminism on the seven seas".

Anyway, gotta have women on the boards, otherwise you will have to close the fashion and travel pages! Then how will I know what to wear??!?

[Ooh Seraphina, your incitefulness...is.....umm......inciteful.]

Anyway, wanted to get my sexist jokes in before this dies :) (postcount+1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I'M A GIRL AND I HAVE A HOUSE AND PORN AND A REALLY BIG BOAT AND STUFF
    AND I DID AN IQ TEST ON THE INTERNAT AND I AM SMARTER THAN YOU

BOYS ARE STUPID, YOU'RE ALL STUPIDHEADS

Ah no I can't do it, it makes me sad to write like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭lisa.c

so basically men can post what they want about there opinions and its accepted, whereas when a women posts her opinions its laughed at...

Most of everything everyone posts is laughed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

lisa.c are you even reading other people's posts? Seraphina's a girl, she just posted an opinion and I haven't seen anyone laughing at her opinion. In fact, most posters have agreed with it.

Remember, feminism is supposed to be about equality, not female superiority. If guys come on here with an attention seeking attitude they get just as much of a slagging, probably more so.

Women are more than welcome on this board, in fact it's nice to see the gender balance evening out a little. Your posts are getting you grief because a lot of them are attention seeking and dizzier than Carrie from SATC.

lisa.c wrote:
    so basically men can post what they want about there opinions and its accepted, whereas when a women posts her opinions its laughed at...

No but sweeping generalisations are usually followed by, how many is it now? 6 pages like this. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Seraphina wrote:

absolutely spot on.

yes i do read the posts sleepy and i could'nt agree more with seraphina.

but im being put down because i dont agree with what everything the fellas say. if i posted in agreement with every thing ye posted this wouldnt happen..

if everyone had the same opinion the world would be pretty boring.

sleepy ive read through alot of your posts and i agree with alot of what you say, im just pissed off that we get slated for not agreeing with the men in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

lisa.c wrote:

I think the phenomenon is localised specifically to your posts.

No seriously, get off your high horse anr perhaps actually read what people are saying here.

You seem to have this one idea in yoru head that you won't let go of and are defending to the last.

You're giving your opinions fine, but if people disagree they will challenge those opinions and its up to you to defend them or not.

All you've done so far is post sweeping gneralised nonsense, which is why you're getting laughed at.

Tips to posting successfully:

1. Be clear in your own head what you want to say before you post.

2. Read the topic and other posts properly so you actually know who and what you are responding to.

3. Don't change your stance halfway through an arguement.

4. Making generalised statements usually just highlights your own ignorance.

5. Don't take anything anyone says seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

Jesus, Lisa C. Are you still going on about this? Let it go.

There's being pig-headed, and then there's being pig-headed.... :rolleyes:

lisa.c is a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

lisa.c wrote:
    yes i do read the posts sleepy and i could'nt agree more with seraphina.

but im being put down because i dont agree with what everything the fellas say. if i posted in agreement with every thing ye posted this wouldnt happen..

if everyone had the same opinion the world would be pretty boring.

sleepy ive read through alot of your posts and i agree with alot of what you say, im just pissed off that we get slated for not agreeing with the men in here.

your not being put down for expressing your opinions or disagreeing with certain people or even for disagreeing with the majority, plenty of people manage to successfully argue against the majority in here quite regularly. and pull it off because they have well thought out, lucid arguements. if your "being put down" as you put it, its for ignoring peoples posts rebuffing your arguements and also for that generalistic crap about pussy cats you posted a couple pages back, which pretty much "put down" the entire male boards populous.

come on!!!! i posted like 3 times on this thread. i give up ye win.

from now on i promise to post in agrement with you boys.