Whats town like at night time ?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

I avoid town these days, more so because there's a good few places in Swords to go to, and town is just to much hassle distance wise.

Any time that i've had to go into town for a spacific occassion like crimbo etc., I've always managed to stay clear of any trouble, but any time I have seen other people getting hassle its ethier:

A. Locked out of there head, mouthing off

B. Somebody who looks different or sticks out, like above with the really tall person

Scanger radar does help, passive rather that active

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Loon, I am just an ordinary guy who enjoys a pint just as much as anyone as I am sure do. I am not any sort of killjoy. It is just terrible to see people totally pissed falling around the place or lying on the side of the road where anything could happen to them. I've seen some nasty and needless situations because people have gone out and got totally plastered. They'd enjoy themselves a lot more if they knew how to drink and be a lot safer. None of us want to hear of someone getting injured or worse because they got plastered or of some friend being set upon by someone or a gang who were stocious. You can have a lot of fun having a few drinks and getting a little drunk, but not totally out of your mind. The A+E dept in a hospital on a weekend night is not a pretty place and a lot of the people there would not be there if they had used a bit of cop on. They could be still out enjoying themselves. All I am saying is go out and have a few drinks by all means, but do it with a bit of commonsense and you'll get a lot more out of it. Is there anything wrong with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Scumbags don't think clearly, they're rabid animals, not people. Don't try to look for sense in what they do. They'll attack big guys, small guys, women, it doesn't matter.

I'm always careful when I'm in town. I've seen people start fights with others mid-day, in the evening they're just drunker/angrier.
    Watch yourself and you should be okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Flukey wrote:
    Well should you be going into town "to get drunk"? That in itself might make you more likely to get embroiled in trouble, not that you would be the instigator. If you are drinking to get drunk then maybe you should not be drinking. A night out is more enjoyable if you have a few drinks but keep reasonably sober. A good drinker is someone who knows when to stop, not the person who can drink the most. Drinking to get drunk is a bit like driving in the hope of crashing. Being sensible on a night out is not just knowing not to walk down a dark alley alone late at night. The best nights you have out have enough drink to make you relax, but not too much, enough to have fun without going wild and then being able to get home safely and wake up with a fairly clear head and being able to remember the good night you had. Commonsense really.
    That's pretty much how I see it aswell, I just don't understand what people get out of being completely legless... I've seen people who're so drunk they don't even know where they are or how to get home... I'd hate to get in that state, especially in town with friends who mightn't be in any fit state to look after you.
    Well my Cousin got murdered for no reason walking home with his father after a night out so thats how i think of town at night would a void it at all costs full of drugged up nackers who should be locked up!!
    Sorry to hear it B-man, that's terrible :(
    That's the kind of thing that'd drive you to dedicate your life to vigilantism... purging randomly violent scumbags from the earth. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

if your looking for trouble, you'll find it - you can still find it even when your not looking for it. just avoid people who are abviously scumbags and you should be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

You'd be amased what a little cop-on will do for you.
    26years, and never had any hassle in town - ever.
    If someone shouts abuse at you, which is unlikly, walk away.

It is good to see I am not alone in my views. I might have been set upon! :)

It is not rocket sicence. Just use a bit of commonsense and go out and have a good time and get home safe. That is all any of us want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Flukey wrote:
    Well should you be going into town "to get drunk"? That in itself might make you more likely to get embroiled in trouble, not that you would be the instigator. If you are drinking to get drunk then maybe you should not be drinking. A night out is more enjoyable if you have a few drinks but keep reasonably sober. A good drinker is someone who knows when to stop, not the person who can drink the most. Drinking to get drunk is a bit like driving in the hope of crashing. Being sensible on a night out is not just knowing not to walk down a dark alley alone late at night. The best nights you have out have enough drink to make you relax, but not too much, enough to have fun without going wild and then being able to get home safely and wake up with a fairly clear head and being able to remember the good night you had. Commonsense really.
    LMFAO Are you sh1tting me? Go out and get blotto. If you can't walk in a straight line - you won't remember the whopping you got the next morning and put all injurys down to "being drunk" it's a win win situation.

Always remember - when time is called in the pub - it is your responsibility as a MAN to get to the bar ASAP, get a round, and get a round of aftershock (with 2 for your good self).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Zulu wrote:
    LMFAO Are you sh1tting me? Go out and get blotto. If you can't walk in a straight line - you won't remember the whopping you got the next morning and put all injurys down to "being drunk" it's a win win situation.

Always remember - when time is called in the pub - it is your responsibility as a MAN to get to the bar ASAP, get a round, and get a round of aftershock (with 2 for your good self).

Ha ha. Classic.

Flukey.... your post was just very preachey. That's all. I don't disagree with you really... but generally telling young drinkers to drink responsibly is pointless. That's the problem with this country. It's embed into our culture. You'll find that 90% of 17 - 25 year olds would laugh at your post on drinking sensibly. Not that you're wrong, it's just amusing.

I dislike going into town strongly. Puke all over the shop, drunk English twats who can't handle their beer. Loud English hen night parties wreckin the buzz. Power tripping bouncer idiots. Over priced beer which tastes like píss. Drunk Irish twats who can't handle their beer, and scum all over the shop. Being stuck trying to get a taxi for fookin hours.... the list goes on and on and on.

Sessions in a gaff are the way to go.

I have had a few nights where I was the worse for wear alright Zulu, don't you worry and a lot of them have been great nights. I never go out to get drunk though, which is the difference, whereas some people do, thinking it is the right thing to do or even the objective. Normally it is OK, but it can end in disastrous consequences and I've seen a few of them and know of others I can tell you. Going over the top once in a while is fine, but doing it everytime you go out is ridiculous and a total waste of a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭fiacha

Dr. Loon wrote:
    How come everyone is so eager to tell how big a man they are? I'm 7ft 11 and 15 stone. I have a big beard and I look evil.

Doesn't really matter what size ye are. If a scumbag or bunch of them want to start on ye they will. I've seen the biggest of dudes receive whuppings and the smallest little feckers dish them out. There's no need to tell everyone how big ye are!

was not bragging about my dimensions! it's not my fault i look like sasquatch. sorry. i didn't mean to intimidate you :D

With a few drinks on him you'll not be seen as any sort of threat. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

Ok guys, lmao some funny **** in the last page, just to clairfy, used to drink, dont drink much or at all anymore, going out for good music etc might have 1 or 2 wont be getting "plastered/locked/smashed/whatnot" thanks for the advice though, only reason i posted this is because one of my friends is in a big techno scene and hes always getting the nightlink home (same one i'd be gett'in) and he said its very racist and whatnot, so thought i ask, doesnt seem too bad of a place, its the same situation everywhere else tbh. thanks for the input and il try and get an earlier nightlink rather than very late AND last but not least
    there is no freaking 37 !
    http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/viewer.asp?route=39N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Ha ha. Classic.

Flukey.... your post was just very preachey. That's all. I don't disagree with you really... but generally telling young drinkers to drink responsibly is pointless. That's the problem with this country. It's embed into our culture. You'll find that 90% of 17 - 25 year olds would laugh at your post on drinking sensibly. Not that you're wrong, it's just amusing.

I used to work with a lot of foreigners; they were aghast at the Irish habit of heading to the pub straight after work and necking pints without any food with it until it's closing time or you fall over whichever comes first. "This is the way only alcoholics drink in my country" one guy told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

pork99 wrote:
    I used to work with a lot of foreigners; they were aghast at the Irish habit of heading to the pub straight after work and necking pints without any food with it until it's closing time or you fall over whichever comes first. "This is the way only alcoholics drink in my country" one guy told me.

Yes, but I'm sure that in thier countries that they don't have to live under the constant fear of closing time.

We drink like that because we know that at 11.30 people are going to start shouting at us to stop drinking and go home.

Thank God I'm going to Spain on Sunday... where you can take your time with your drink...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I work on the principle that confidence will protect you, and if it gets out of hand, your feet can do the rest (run like hell). TBH though, if you are just walking it is unlikely anyone will want to fight you.

Taxis are a good idea. But dont queue, start walking home. The fare gets cheaper as you walk and its far better than waiting in a queue. Stay on a main avenue into town though so you can be seen by taxis (to hail), and of course everyone else in the event of trouble.

Loon, I know they won't listen to us, but sure we can but try. You have to get them at an early age. The culture thing is a problem. Anyway I am not going to star preaching again so enough of all this talk of drink. I am going out for some of the real thing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭combs

I don't mean to butt in but isn't it pointless to ask "how safe is it?" Some will say "I've lived here all my life and never been murdered." Well, obviously. And those who have been crippled or killed by gangs aren't around to warn you about it. You can't stay shut up all the time after dark but go out and you're gambling with your life. That's the way it is. There's no point in looking for reassurances or depending on the Guards or telling yourself you're 6 foot something. Just ask Trevor Deely. Oh, wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

pork99 wrote:
    I knew a guy who was 6'6" - 6'7" who was beaten to a pulp on his way home from the pub. Apparently 4 of them got out of a car and attacked him for no reason. Maybe they picked on him because of this size - he was a challenge?

That inspires me with confidence..

Best bet it to just keep a distance from people. If someone approaches me in town I would always prepare myself to react though. So if they do decide to try and swing a punch they dont catch you unawares..

Placebo wrote:
    Ok guys, lmao some funny **** in the last page, just to clairfy, used to drink, dont drink much or at all anymore, going out for good music etc might have 1 or 2 wont be getting "plastered/locked/smashed/whatnot" thanks for the advice though, only reason i posted this is because one of my friends is in a big techno scene and hes always getting the nightlink home (same one i'd be gett'in) and he said its very racist and whatnot, so thought i ask, doesnt seem too bad of a place, its the same situation everywhere else tbh. thanks for the input and il try and get an earlier nightlink rather than very late AND last but not least
    there is no freaking 37 !
    http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/viewer.asp?route=39N

I picked the racist thing up in your first post...

Are you foreign or coloured or something?

asian, so er coloured ? yes . Thats why i posted, i heard the nightlinks were "KKK town ;) " lol, not really, friend just said he wouldnt recommend it for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I can't imainge you would get more the the usual crap from the usual drunken ****wit. Seriously I wouldn't let that put you off getting a nitelink. TBH I've seen more women get hassled then asian's on the nitelink. Personally the way I'd look at it is it's my country, and my home as much as anybody else and I've a right to be on that bus as much as anybody else, and how feicing dare some biggoted asshole try to take away my right, you don't give into people like that, you don't let them start to make your choices for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

I've been living in town for pretty much the last 7 years.

From my experience, unless you're looking for trouble or just very very unlucky, town is safe. I've only had trouble on two occasions -

1. Wrong place at the wrong time (alley in Phibsboro, approached by junkie)
    2. Started a fight on O'Connell Street (very bad idea, stitches in my head - there were three of them, I was totally bolloxed.)

IMHO the suburbs are more dangerous (bored scumbags looking for trouble.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Is this thread serious ? you would swear there were dinosaurs in the city centre or something :rolleyes:

As for the nitelink - 90% of people are asleep - Its uaully quieter than a normal bus...

lets just say i have a stupid friend. :rolleyes:

Placebo wrote:
    asian, so er coloured ? yes . Thats why i posted, i heard the nightlinks were "KKK town ;) " lol, not really, friend just said he wouldnt recommend it for me.

Wouldnt worry about it to be honest..

Well I had a good night last night. I didn't see any problems anywhere, though I rarely do. The most interesting thing I saw on my way home on the top deck of a very quiet Nitelink, was 2 foxes, in separate locations.