Im a reputable man of buisness character

• 16-07-2004 05:28PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭

This is the email I got (work in a garage , lots of cars advertised on different sites)

Hello Seller,
    It's very nice to knows this web-site and I find
    what exactly things that am looking for,Firstly I am James Beam.,I
    saw your advert(CAR) and I am very
    big interested in buying it, I will like toknow the present
    condition,last Price and If it's still available. i also like to know
    if
    you would accept a certified check for the payment.Meanwhile I will
    take
    care of pick up which I have arrange for a
    well shipper that will come for the pick up...I shall be waiting to
    hear from you back Immediately you got this message.
    James.

What suprised me was the total disregard for coherence that most of the Nigerian scammers usually aim for these days, my reply went as follows

I am big intrested in your offer to do bizzniss with my holy cow. I it were
    to be one to make you orgasm we would like to bring attenrion to your
    transaction , My brother Emanuel Cortez in currently held in custody by the
    government of cuba after a failed attempt to smuggle flying knife monkeys
    armed with nuclear warheads to liberate Checzlovacia from the evil Ottoman
    empire of Chine , as a result of this Glorious victory by the government of
    aAntartica we would liek to know if you would like to begin bizzniss
    transactions. you must send a foto.

Next time I'm really going to bait them with something tempting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Originally posted by Dancing_Priest

I am big intrested in your offer to do bizzniss with my holy cow. I it were
    to be one to make you orgasm we would like to bring attenrion to your
    transaction , My brother Emanuel Cortez in currently held in custody by the
    government of cuba after a failed attempt to smuggle flying knife monkeys
    armed with nuclear warheads to liberate Checzlovacia from the evil Ottoman
    empire of Chine , as a result of this Glorious victory by the government of
    aAntartica we would liek to know if you would like to begin bizzniss
    transactions. you must send a foto.

ROFL :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Ooh, a certified check(sic), eh? And from Jim Beam, no less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

A friend of mine was advertising his car on the net, and he got the same offer. It provided us with much mirth and amusement for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

am big intrested in your offer to do bizzniss with my holy cow. I it wereto be one to make you orgasm we would like to bring attenrion to your
    transaction

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

go one , this should be in the humour thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

That's class. Excellent post!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Interceptor

You should have written to him explaining how the cruel and intolerant Irish government who took over your country in 1922 insist on taking money from your paypacket every week and if he sends you lots of money you will tell him how to get the Irish government to buy him a car. And a house in Longford...

'ceptr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Dancing_Priest

I just opened my Inbox this morning to find this in the mail:

Good day,
    I saw your advert via the net about an item put for sale by you and i would like to make an enquiry as regard it.I would like to know if the item is still up for sale or not?If it's still up for sale,kindly let me know ,If you purchase this item from new or how many previous owner before you?I would also like to know the preset working condition of condition of this item and the present picture of this said item if any.And lastly i would want you to get back to me with the last price of the item,if you accept cheque or Bank wire Transfer into your account as a means of payment.

It came from a mister Paul Marvin at p_marvin17@yahoo.co.uk .
    Now I dont want to encourage this sort of thing to be sent to the Sales Department email , so Ill just go and register an addy at eircom and see where this might lead.

Ill keep ye posted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Dancing_Priest

Okay, This Is what I sent him:

Subject: Your offer to do Buisness

Dear Mister Sir
    I find it quite honourable that you would like to do a transaction with me. My Lexus LS430 is only a single year in existance and has had only an single possessor who was a female of good character. The current condition of the car is very facinating with many special features. I am selling the car cheeply ( $20,000) because the political situation in our country requires me to leave on the threat of violence from the IRA who are very dangerous people who beat people with pointy sticks if the look at them in an unusual manner. My brother who was an important man in the Northern irish republic caused a discarce to himself in the angry eyes of the IRA , it is for that reason we must leave quickly for Morroco and safety from the pointy sticked ones. I would be quite open to a check as long as it was prooved certified or a bank transfer. hoever it must be done very quickly as I am a desperate man

Please reply Post Haste
    Willie An Mor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

You neglected to mention whether the single female possessor of the car was good in bed. That's the sort of detail I'd need if I was purchasing a second hand automobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,532 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Willie An Mor

lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Firstly I am James Beam.

Wow! What a coincidence! I seem to run into that guy in town every single time I have a few pints on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭wolfe25

Don't know m8, the good James may have been a good honest customer with lots of dosh in a Swiss bank. On the other hand he does sound a bit like a Nigerian Liam Lawlor.
    Suggest you report the matter to the Garda in Donegal. They'll come up with something on him.