Oxegen - The Aftermath.... whatcha think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I thought it was great. Reading some of the posts above
    really anoyed me.Some people just moan moan moan.

The rain was anoying and it would have been much beter if the sun was out but it didnt ruin the weekend at all. The prices of food was crap so I didnt buy any - I brought loads any. What exactly did you expect ? They are always that price at concerts , they were actually more pricey at the pixies in pheonix park.

Music wise I think it was the best year ( was my 3rd time there )

Went to see
    -scissors sisters
    I was really impressed , they got the crowd going and music was qutie good too

-Franz Ferdinand
    Brilliant - should have been on later on in the day really. 3:40 is too early. I really liked them before but they didnt seem great live when I had seen em on tv, However they were really tight. I think they should have been swaped with The Kings Of Leon

-The Kings Of Leon
    Seen these in The olympia a while back and thought they were.....ok. On saturday U thought they were very poor and I didnt really get into it.Should have been on earlier.

-The Strokes
    WOW! They were amazing. Really good stage stage presence, They all have an individual playing style . I really liked the Clash cover they did too. The crowd seemed really into it as well but I was at the very front so I dont know what it was like further back.They were very tight. Best band of the weekend.

-The Cure
    Very poor. I know they are a great band ( I personally am not mad about them ) A headline act should play their hits and please the crowd, If it was a smaller gig for the more die hard fans I would have been a good one but they didnt cut it for me. There were a good few Cure fans in my group who were REALLY dissapointed too.

I saw a load of new bands on the Sat who I didnt know , some were very good!
    couldnt get into Chemical brothers ! :(

Black Eye'd Peas
    The guy that introduced them aws very entertaining! They put on a really good show , worked the crowd well and put 110% in. Im not a big fan of the music though...

-Pink
    ROFL! What was she doing at oxegen ? I went to shout things at her , she was crap. The sound was muffled and where I was the crowd were booing

-Muse
    Wow! Such a professional band. I was quite near the back and the crowd still went mental. People were saying they didnt work the crowd ? They didnt need to. I really enojoyed it even though some guy tried to rob my wallet

-Basement Jax
    I aint a big fan of their music but they were actually really good live. Good to dance about to. Your man climbing the sound tower was classic !

-The Darkness
    Got to see about 3/4 of them - Dont think I could have watched much more. They did what they do well and worked the crowd well. They are really good showmen and filled in for David Bowie well....although him dropping out still pains me :( . The 20 minute outro was pretty cool!

What was with everyone humming that bit from the song in Kill Bill ? The mexican hurrahs were great fun ! I was in B2 which had a pretty good atmosphere, got barely any sleep.

One thing that put me on a downer - A goupr of 15 travelers moved in next to my friends who were on the other side of the campsite, they were really loud and abusive. When my friends came back to the campsite at the end of Saturday their beer and other things were gone. They knew it was them but didnt say anything. Later that night they came over and started fights and my friends ended up leaving on the Sunday night instead of the Monday. Bastards
    :dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

and for the length of time they've been going their singer's voice is in great condition(whats his name anyone?)

Robert Smith.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭hacktavist

Tusky, I was in b2 aswell it was mental! were you there when everyone was kickin the football around! Helped a load of people make a tower and went around with a guy in a council jacket who was pretending to be a security guard it was brilliant!

Highlight of the weekend was basement jaxx! Did anyone see the guy on the speaker tower? That was crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

I thought it was great :)

Was my first one but anyway.. N.E.R.D ****ing blew the house down.. Pharell seemed to turn the whole crowd into a bunch of screaming 13 year old girls.. even me :p

Originally posted by hacktavist
    Tusky, I was in b2 aswell it was mental! were you there when everyone was kickin the football around! Helped a load of people make a tower and went around with a guy in a council jacket who was pretending to be a security guard it was brilliant!

Highlight of the weekend was basement jaxx! Did anyone see the guy on the speaker tower? That was crazy!

aye he almost fell off !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭LastIrishMonkey

i tell ya Keane ,Complete stone roses ,Franz Ferdinand ,sissor sisters and Ash (that was so great when they brought out Thin lizzy guitarist and played boys are back in town) they were my highlights amoung others :), but my only let down was the strokes because Julian Casablancas came on drunk and went off stage legless :( , but it was a great weekender and Bowie wasnt missed all that much tbh :dunno: or maybe he was :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

I went to the two days without camping. Saturday was brilliant while Sunday was only so-so.

SATURDAY

After seeing some of the Scissor Sisters, I began the day with Franz Ferdinand, who I had seen twice before. This was definetly better than their last Dublin appearance earlier this year, they translated to the Main Stage with ease and pleased the crowd well. While I wasn't blown away or anything, it was all good fun.

I really enjoyed The Rapture, was well impressed. Even the belting rain wouldn't stop me from watching them, some quirky shít there. Next saw PJ Harvey and she put on a great performance.

While I thought last year's Witnness had Kings of Leon of one of the highlights, I found them awful this year. Terrible sound and overall lackluster performance.

The Strokes were excellent, although their set became a bit repetitive as time went on. The amount of kids that flushed out of the pit after their set ("I don't know who or what the fúck The Cure are"). I would say most of these people would have moved themselves to The Chemical Brothers, which would explain the bulging Dance... building.

For me, The Cure were fúcking amazing and the best band of the weekend for me. The massive outdoor stage suited them nicely. I think they were far more interesting and captivating than any band I saw that weekend. They did belt out some hits, but managed to play some great non-single tracks too (which are terrific despite what some people may not prefer).

SUNDAY

Arrived in late, caught a bit of Faithless, Bic Runga, and Ash from a distance. Watched Wilco's full set and I was impressed after hearing none of their material.

Saw some of Muse. After seeing them twice, It wasn't my plan to be watching them again (but Bowie cancelled etc.). At this stage I found them fairly predictable and uninteresting so I went to check out The Libertines, who I felt the same way. I don't know if it was because Dougherty was not playing, but it was a fairly weak show.

Ran into the New Bands Tent after the rain began again, saw some of Delays (...again), waited for The Shins. It was funny, they made parodies of The Darkness all through their set (who they could actually see from their stage). It was all in good fun though, was most enjoyable.

After The Shins, I decided to finish off with headliners The Darkness. At this stage, I still liked and enjoyed The Darkness; their Vicar Street gig last year was brilliant. But here, I finally realised why so many people dislike them. Hawkins is so up himself. While I know they have nowt material (especially for a headline act), he talked so much crap. At the last show, they went on, played their songs, rocked, and barely said anything. This was just bad though. He asked the crowd to put up their hands, shake them, and jump up and down. He compared themselves as a live band to Linkin Park (with obvious reactions). He played the drums for god's sake. And went on and on about how great they were.
    Even with that, the sound wasn't great, the songs were predictable, and just uninteresting at this stage. I really don't think they are set for headlining the Main Stage this early.

Overall, I didn't come any traces of terrible organisation that I had come to expect, most bands were well on-time. Security were pricks though, and the prices on food were ridiculously high. Timetable fiasco was bullshít though, I thankfully got mine off Hotpress the morning before though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Did anyone add up how much the weekend cost? The tickets were insanely expensive, then they screw you with food and drink prices - eg €2.50 for a bottle of coke, etc.

How much did MCD really screw out of ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Free ticket. e100 on booze, drugs and food. Of that 100, I spent about 20 inside the actual venue, on a couple of snack boxes and a pint. Good value weekend I thought. We drove down so Dublin Bus didn't a chance to screw me either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Electric Six were great, the surprise hit of the weekend for me and a few others I spoke to.

MCD are a shower of cnuts though, imagine paying over a €100 for a plane ticket with Aer Lingus and then asking them what time your flight is at, they turn around and tell you that'll cost extra sonny boy, robbing bastids !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Went for the full weekend camping in site A5. Had a wicked time Friday night, playing capture the flag with a few people from the Oxegen Boards. Went to see Jerry Fish & The Mudbug Club who as usual were brilliant. Then it was time for The Matrix in Campsite A. Well funny when it broke for the second time.

SATURDAY
    Woke at about 7.30, my own fault for not packing a sleeping mat :( Sat around drinking and smoking in the campsite for a good while before heading into the Arena for Snow Patrol. Caught some of Jerry Fish & The Mudbug Club before them then wandered about (read blank spot) until Orbital where we got stoned as **** in the tent right beside a security guard who didn't give a ****. Next I headed for
    Hope Of The States in the new band tent who were excellent, caught the start of The Cure's gig and then headed for Belle & Sebastian who were BRILLIANT! Went back to the tent, continued with a few more drinks and spliffs.

SUNDAY
    Woke up with a pretty massive hangover and staggered off to see The Saw Doctors, after their set it started pissing so we did a runner back to the tent where we sat drinking and havin' the craic for a while and got completely spasticatedly drunk. Went back to see Keane who I remember as being good through my drunkeness. Think I caught a bit of the Madchester Experience then whilst sheltering from the rain. Then it was off to the main stage for Muse and The Darkness. The Darkness were doing my head in with their ****e so I went to Ocean Colour Scene who I haven't listened to since about 2001 and really enjoyed myself there with a bunch of complete strangers.

So, all in all, good music, great people, **** weather, **** food and **** prices. The beer was surprisingly drinkable for a rock concert (though that could have been because I only bought about 4/5 in the venue and had already had many more out in the campsite). The setlist thing was annoying alright so I ended up forking out a tenner for the necklace thingy which resulted in meeting a lot of cool people so that had a flipside. Was quite pissed off at being woken up by the security guards so early on the Monday morning. I was a fuckin' zombie for the entire of yesterday as a result. All in all a success but it could've been organised a bit better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭wiped

I got a free ticket for the Sunday ....... excellent laugh ... got some great grass too :D

Drifted in and out of the tents catching 20mins or so of a few different acts ...

Waiting Room are the most aptly titled band to come along in years .... it felt exactly like being in a waiting room .... bye !!!

Wu Tang Clan - absolute sh.ite - thought I might have some tolorence for a bit of Rap ... but they were just nonsense.

Ash - saw a bit of them (thanks to the rain :mad:) - they were OK ...

Jimmy Cliff - fuc.kin superb ... I can't believe no-one mentioned him here yet ... the fuc.kin tent was jammed for him , I know I wasn't the only one there !!!

Then rounded it off with The Darkness - great show , great guitarists - super riff-a-rolla , really enjoyed it but having seen them in Vicar St too and being able to predict the entire set , I think the boys desperately need a 2nd album ...... before it's all stale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

The wu tang clan ain't nuthin to **** with. They were class as were Cartoon, faithless, goldie lookin chain and the BEP were surprisinly entertaining (your wan is majorly hot!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

the whole weekend has left me feelin quite empty tbh.....when the highlight is the black eyed peas, you kow there's something up!

strokes were very disappointing, the cure were unbearable, rain was a bit of a pain. luckily i was with some fun people.

spent about 200 on food, drink, cigarettes, gettin there and back etc - not including the ticket in!!!

MCD should be ashamed of themselves for pricing, i presume they have a hand in setting the levels for food etc.....i queued for 90 minutes to get a cuppa on sat morning :(

having to pay 10 to get the times of the bands is a joke.

btw, they did get at least €1 million for Bowie cancelling. The Darkness' appearance fee was €1.5 million (staggering but true considering their fee for Glasto last year was €200)

last year of this **** for me. been to every witnness but they got this very very wrong....bring back guinness for next year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Saturday was by far the better day, I thought.

Scissor Sisters: My first band of the weekend, pretty good. Already a fan and saw them before, but they seemed to impress the other people I was with! Shame they clashed with Stellstarr* though.

Franz Ferdinand: Good, if a little too much by the numbers. Front man has much more charisma than you'd expect!

Electric 6: Dick Valentine is the Man. And the tent nearly lifted off during Gay Bar.

Kings Of Leon: Never really heard their stuff before, and I was quite surprised by them. Didn't do anything for me at all.

Strokes: Meh. Thankfully played most of their big ones early, so I could fuck off.

Hope Of The States: Band of the weekend, for me. Despite ****ty sound, they pulled off a great show. And to think, I only caught them because the Strokes were so poor!

The Killers: A bit of a dissapointment, but I was partyed out by that stage anyway.

As for Sunday:

The Zutons: Band of the day, pity about the short set and time of day. Sax player is an absolute ride :)

Wu Tang Clan: Not into the auld rap/hip-hop but still quite enjoyed it. They do know how to get a crowd going!

Pink: I wished I was in the pit, standing around by the t-shirt stalls wasn't a way to experience it, really.

Muse: Good show, from what I saw. A bit too early for their light-show to work though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

Best of the weekend::

Goldie Lookin' Chain (such fun to watch)
    Snowpatrol (nearly got killed up the front)
    Franz Ferdinand (met them too -woo hoo)
    Muse (fab,fab,fab)
    Iain Archer (set up his own gear)
    The Shins (excellento)
    The Rapture (surprised me)
    The Zutons (loved them)

overall a great weekend!

anyone see that poor guy dressed up as a sperm? hope he was getting paid well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Excellent! Thought last year was way better though but still a rocking weekend.

My top 5
    1 Basement Jax
    2 N.E.R.D
    3 Chemcial Brothers
    4 Scissor Sisters
    5 Faithless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Originally posted by karlh
    btw, they did get at least €1 million for Bowie cancelling. The Darkness' appearance fee was €1.5 million (staggering but true considering their fee for Glasto last year was €200)B]

Where are you getting those figures from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭froggie_1

Depression settin in here cos of the Anti climax!

a contender for wknd of my life, i agree that it was the crowd though, we were bein expoited on all fronts but feck it u just have to fight that sh1t, bring all ur own food.

i loved every single minute of it, never had so much fun with random people.

All the people i went nuts with to Paddy Casey.

and as for the campsite...what madness. Big up to everyone in A6!!

no difference between night and day there, just mental.

ORBITAL blew my mind, place packed, everyone lovin it and feelin so lucky to be there.

Franz Ferdinand, Snow Patrol, Keane, all class.

EMERSON and Felix da Housecat rocked...spend from 6 to finish on sunday in Dance Arena. utter madness. never had so much fun.

Spent a small fortune.....fcuk it tho.

cant wait for next year already

the whole weekend has left me feelin quite empty tbh.....when the highlight is the black eyed peas, you kow there's something up!

strokes were very disappointing, the cure were unbearable, rain was a bit of a pain. luckily i was with some fun people.

spent about 200 on food, drink, cigarettes, gettin there and back etc - not including the ticket in!!!

MCD should be ashamed of themselves for pricing, i presume they have a hand in setting the levels for food etc.....i queued for 90 minutes to get a cuppa on sat morning :(

having to pay 10 to get the times of the bands is a joke.

btw, they did get at least €1 million for Bowie cancelling. The Darkness' appearance fee was €1.5 million (staggering but true considering their fee for Glasto last year was €200)

last year of this **** for me. been to every witnness but they got this very very wrong....bring back guinness for next year!!!

Really glad I didnt go to oxegen with you , you sound like a right dry ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,607 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The Darkness' appearance fee was €1.5 million

Complete and utter rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 awhyte

Did anyone see that streaker in campsite A Sat morning chasing the civil defence girls looking for a hug? he was f***in funny. Did ye see his sh***y socks, hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

That was a bull**** rumour of the highest order. Started by the band themselves as part of their act. There isn't a hope in hell that a non headline (as they were when they were booked) act, with a single album and little staying power, would pocket €1.5million for a 90 minute show. Even if that's what they were asking for, the tight **** at MCD would tell them to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Cerdito

I really enjoyed Oxegen. In my opinion the organisation was way better than Fairyhouse (I wasn't at the one last year), especially 2001 when the place was just a muck-fest. The ground in Punchestown seems a lot firmer and less likely to turn to muck (I guess you could say the going was good to firm;) ).

Some of the ways I think the festival has improved from other years:

- Better sound at the main stage, they seem to have different stacks than before, it was really clear.

- Less queues for everything.

- Friday night at the campsites was cool with big cinema screen and a campsite stage, also they never had bars on the campsite in Fairyhouse

Anyway, the bands I saw were:

Goldie Lookin Chain (Appalling Chav scum)
    Scissor Sisters (excellent, best showmanship of weekend)
    Franz Ferdinand
    Kings Of Leon
    The Strokes (a fat Julian Casablancas entertained us all with his antics)
    Belle & Sebastian
    Saucy Monkey (at school with the bassist)
    Madchester Experience (weren't as good as I remembered from the gaiety)
    Buck 65 (bizarre...really bizarre)
    Muse
    The Shins (never heard their music before, they were brilliant)

Anyway, here's to Oxegen 2005!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Had a great weekend at the even, my favourite acts had to be Elbow, Michael Franti and Muse. Michael Franti definitely topping, his gig was amazing, he was 100% with you and even hoppd down off the stage afterwards to meet people. Elbow's were a1 aswell, interaction, and their music. I was up the front of the pit for Muse and I really thoroughly enjoyed them, Ash and the Darkness were fun too that night.

Other worthy mentions include Franz Ferdinand and Pj Harvey, aswell as Alphastates who I thought put on quite a good gig, though I had to leave early to go see The Waiting Room in the New Band Tent.

Gigs I didn't like were Scissor Sisters, Black Eyed Peas and the Cure, the last I found really boring, then again I am not exactly a big fan of them.

Went through the whole weekend only spending €10 at the event, and that was a well deserved pizza, it was delicious. Not worth the price tag, but not as much as a rip off as €2 for 500ml of water when you could get free drink at a fountain...

I was camped right up by the toilets in campsite A, pretty much between the A5 and A6 towers, the atmosphere the first night was electric, and kudos to whoevers guitar we borrowed for tunes all night. Also, wasn't that shoe in the urinals just class :) Now there's entertaining pissing.

And finally as mention by another poster, what WAS up with everyone whistling the kill bill tune at the event, I know i was whistling it in work before I came and was whistling it when I came into the event, but I was taking a jacks trip the Friday night and I heard a few people whistling it, I could hear people whistling it while I was going to sleep, and it only escalated over the course of the weekend until it was resounding around the event from what I could tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

i'll get the moaning out of the way first...

the prices of food in the venue and esp. in the campsite was fukkin horrific... those breakfast rolls that fast deteriorated into a bagette with 2 sausages and ketchup... for 8euro ...madness. the price for burgers, chips etc... etc.. was also robbery, and some of the fukin stalls had no prices up...

and of course the wather was sh.t also...

but the w/e, and camping over was a winner... crazy antics on the fri and sunday nite... didn't drink too much on the sat nite...

highlights... ask and the strokes, altho having seen both play at least twice each b4 in smaller venues, the experience wasn't as good... esp. for the strokes, where we were the crowd was slightly ded, and few rocker purists annoyd the fuk outa me, saying **** like 'ohh such posh rock nonsense' ... they didn't havta watch them!

it was my first time camping and i had a great time overall... but i must say tho if i had such a good time this w/e i'd say if the weather was good-to-average :) and the headlining acts were a bit better ... it would be the most amazing thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Originally posted by Tusky
    Really glad I didnt go to oxegen with you , you sound like a right dry ****e.

hehe exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Cannibal Ox

Did anyone see that streaker in campsite A Sat morning chasing the civil defence girls looking for a hug? he was f***in funny. Did ye see his sh***y socks, hilarious
    That was ****ing funny.
    I just woke up, took a couple of pulls of a joint looked up and saw that crazy bastard running about the place, thought I was seeing things.

Anyone else see Bin Laden? Saw him getting a lift on the back of a medic van at one point. Damn funny. And the guy with the Iraq flag singing "Hey Saddam, Saddam, sit down next to me" or some **** like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭snoopish

Fantastic weekend!!! OCS were amazing, a great way the end the weekend! sissor sisters, micheal franti, franz ferdinand, strokes, kings of leon,franklin,jimmy cliff! ALL ROCKED!and ASH ofcourse...well they should have been headlining! they were brilliant! And to top it all off everynight was the campsite parties! especially the sunday night...all nighter;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 darque

I had a ball! Twas my first Witness/Oxegen experience and was well pleased overall...

Highlights for me:

MUSE! (feckin class!)
    Faithless
    Snow Patrol
    N.E.R.D. (pissed at the clash with The Strokes mind)

The only thing that annoyed me was the prices (obviously enough). I payed for a weekend camping ticket but never made it to the feckin campsite! We ended up stayin in the van in car park 5! Miles from the main arena but sure at least we had our few sausages in the morning, I don't think The Darkness were able for the slot they got either, I mean they put on a good show in fairness but they just don't have the material to pull off headlining a festival like Oxegen yet imo. And what's with the lack of programme thingys!?! I mean, the least ya deserve to know is what time the bands are coming on at after paying 130 euro for a ticket! They could have at least had enough to go around too....tis a bit of a nuissance havin to nag people all day so ya dont miss out....

Bands I wanted to see but didnt:

The Killers
    The Strokes....

Didn't intend on seeing the Chemical Brothers but managed to get in so stayed for a while, enjoyed it but it was way too packed and hot in there....unpleasent to say the least....

Overall, I enjoyed the weekend, rain and all and though a bit battered and bruised I'll be makin' my way back next year for sure!