Why do you hate chinese so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Originally posted by Gangsta

Kuala Lumper is in Malaysia.
    Therefore the guy was MALAYSIAN;)

That's Kuala Lumpar mate! If you plan on correcting someone, at least get your facts right! ;)

and the guy was Chinese/Malaysian IE: Born in Malaysia of Chinese parents, do you understand? Or should I dumb it down a shade? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

sorry about this but
    Originally posted by Kone
    That's Kuala Lumpar mate! If you plan on correcting someone, at least get your facts right! ;)

and the guy was Chinese/Malaysian IE: Born in Malaysia of Chinese parents, do you understand? Or should I dumb it down a shade? :p

Kuala Lumpur

just check pork99's link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

LOL - Ah very good! :p A typo at the worst possible moment!

Methinks I should take my own advice! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

Originally posted by TuathaDeDanaan
    but then again at least im not black.

you lay of me and my tropical people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Hello rainer, welcome to Boards and Ireland.
    Firstly I have never met a rude or dumb Chinese person in my life.
    Secondly I've worked with a lot of Chinese people and they were the nicest, hardest-working and most polite people there.
    I could say the same for some other nationalities I've worked with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

yo rainer, welcome to Ireland :)

Chinese people are cool in my opinion, a lot of them seem to be shy in my experience but I guess that's the language barrier and all that.

I'm also in the Asian ladies fan club. Fred Elliot is my new hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by neev
    a lot of Chinese people and they were the nicest, hardest-working and most polite people there. I could say the same for some other nationalities I've worked with.
    I'm just wondering what you mean by this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

In my experience they are a lot more insular than other asian nationalities. They are reluctant to offer their opinion. They tend also to be more messy than other nationalities, and will get away with doing as little as possible. Then again my experience is based on fee-paying students, who come from rich families for the most part, so that may explain why they seem undomesticated. They do however work very hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Some of the best people I know are Malaysian and chinese (Beijing)
    Hard workers,polite,nice folks who like a drink and a gamble!
    Very open to people wanting to learn chinese or into Asian culture, always help us out and interested in my wifes pregnancy, as we are for their kids progress in school here etc.Our chineses friends are our friends, no exceptions!
    Never had a bad experience with an Asian, and I met a lot of Irish I like a lot less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

thumbdermstandup.jpg

look at them there. a great bunch o lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Kobie

So basically we like the Chinese because they're hard working & have good looking women?

Jaysus , but we're an advanced lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Its equally dumb to like a person for their race as it is to dislike it. There are racial traits that make that person more probable to be compatible with you then others but thats about as far as it goes.

I've several Malay/Chinese friends, I've also met rude ones (though few and far between imho). Triads are not a myth and they have arrived here to but they are no more welcome to the Chinese here then they are to us! Less so in fact as they tend to prey on the Chinese communities.

Rainer, the local shops in some areas are refusing to see juveniles eggs now, believe it or not. Its to stop that sort of thing happening.

Personally? I live in the city centre, have done most of my adult life. I've walked through most if not all of the toughest areas of the inner city at night. I can tell you all now, its never the foreigners I'm keeping an eye on.

I like the civility of the eastern social temperament. Their respect for their elders and their understanding of their place in the greater scheme of things always impressed me.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

welcome to ireland!

its already been said, but its only the narrow minded uneducated that seem to have problems with other races, and they seem to ruin it for the rest.
    Their respect for their elders and their understanding of their place in the greater scheme of things always impressed me.

I can tell you all now, its never the foreigners I'm keeping an eye on.

amen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by DeVore
    Rainer, the local shops in some areas are refusing to see juveniles eggs now, believe it or not. Its to stop that sort of thing happening.
    I think DeV means "refusing to sell eggs to juveniles " NOT "refusing to see juveniles eggs".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by TuathaDeDanaan
    Alright, I hate KTV though but my chinese is passable anyway. Ive been in the PRC a while now.

Funny how racism doesnt extend when you have a preference to people of a certain group does it? ah the hypocrits.* btw the chinese in the more cosmopolitan parts of china are quite good at bigotry too, I have been insulted numerous times by rude people, but then again at least im not in china and black.

Btw japanese are a far better looking people than the chinese;because of the better standards of living I suppose.

Also of those who like china dolls, In my experience the traditional western conception of morality doesnt tend to be thier stong suit so beware.

SIZE=1]*PS: btw chinese men would be very resentful about your comments how you 'dig' their women.[/SIZE]

Wow, stormfront are back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by Johnny Versace

I have the advantage of having an (American female) Asian friend who can break the ice with Asian girls... It makes life so easy!! :D

I find that extremely strange. Any of the American Asian girls past 2nd generation would tend not to socialise or associate with non american asian people. There is even a derogatory slang name for them. JOBs (Just of the Boat).

I'm not saying that its common the world over but certainly the american cities I've lived in. Aside from race, few 2nd gen american asians would have anything more in common with asian nationals than you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭rainer

I was told Irish people to be hostpitable and warm-hearted,I read from book Irish people are famous of their welcome-mind. And I've been treated not too bad since I got here.But tonite I was really really disappointed,really really shocked.

I was riding my bike along the road after work at 2 o'clock in the morning(part-time job at a pub),seeing an Irish old man riding a bike too not far ahead but without a light on his bike.You know it can be dangerous to ride on the road without a back light on the street and you could possibly be stopped by a policeman.So I speeded up to tell that man, absolutely completely because of a good intention,that he'd better got a light with his bike. The original sentense is "I think you should have a light for you bike,it can be dangerous";But that man went insane, he followed my all the way and kept shouting at me,he called me a f**king chink, a weasel, fu*k off back to china and stupid sentence like that. I told him I was telling him that for his own good,I told him to calm down,don't be angery.He simply said he doesn't care.He said if we were stopped by the garda,he could easily get out of that but I would be in trouble coz I didn't have a licence to live here.I told him I did a fully licence,he said he doesn't care.He just shouted,cursed like a amazingly crazy person.

I don't know why I should be treated like this.I had my college here,I worked parttime to compensate the living expense,I treate every people,no matter what nation he/she is,kindly,I also pay tax for the irish government.And I'm not getting even a penny out of Ireland for doing nothing.But how about him?he could be un-employed,living on the money that the tax-payer are giving to the government,he's a really leech and a useless.And now,no matter I'm a chinese or what, at midnight on the street,I'll suggesting him to put on a light for his bike for his own safety.He shouted and cursed me all the way.I deserved nothing like that.What's wrong with this stupid bustard.

I'm really disappointed,shocked and sad, never regret so much that I'm here. I came out of China just wanted to see what was the world outside like,what are the people like. I don't know what chinese have done wrong to Ireland,why do they have to hate us so fiecely.I never missed home so much,maybe I just made a big mistake. The world outside is just not my world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

thats really sad, rainer, i know how you feel.. i am half irish half african and i get the odd abuse here and there..but dont let a few people ruin your view of irish people, most are very kind and friendly, its just that some are a bit shy/nervous/afraid about people that look different or are from another culture. most irish people are nice its just a few, like every where else in the world. im sorry that you had to be insulted in such a way, i find it terrible and it hurts, i know.

please dont let a guy like that ruin your views of the world! we need pepole like you that are open-minded!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

That man is a moron! Ignore him!

As for the tourist books that say that all Irish people are really friendly, I'm afraid it's not so in reality.

But there are some friendly people here - hopefully, you'll meet nicer Irish people and make friends with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

It's a "personal space" thing.

I read somewhere that (I don't know if this is true) in South East Asia if you get on a bus or train carriage where there is only one other passenger it is normal to sit right beside the other person even if they are a stranger. It would be consider a bit odd to sit in the furthest possible seat which would be the normal thing to do in the West. I thought that was interesting but again I don't know how accurate it is.

If I, I'm Irish, did that to a random stranger I could expect an equivalent "mind your own f-ing business" response. I know you had only the best intentions and were only trying to be helpful but I think to the Irish mentality only a policeman has the right to interfere with a man's bicycle :)

(Ever read "The Third Policeman" by Flann O'Brian?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

I just have to apologise, on behalf of myself, as I feel by being Irish, I am associated with the idiot on the bicycle in some way or another.

We are not all as unfriendly as he is - in fact, our defining characteristic is our easygoing, placid nature. I sincerely hope you give our people and our country a second chance before leaving.

I bet this happend in Dublin

There's also an urban-rural difference in Ireland.

People in the countryside are more likely to say hello to strangers for example.

In Dublin or any other major city if a stranger greets you I'm afraid that what goes through your mind is either "is this person insane?" or "are they about to rob me" :D

I'm sorry I might be over-reacting a little bit.Coz I was feeling really sad when i got home...... It would be better if that man simply said : "mind your own f-ing business" to me,I'll just shut up and go ahead. But his constant cursing really annoyed me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

yeah i know its hard not to dwell on the name calling.....one time i was walking down the road when i was 13 or 14 and these lads just sped past me in their car and shouted ''negger!!''..i was ****ing pissed off for a whole week but i have learned to forgive those rare people for their ignorance, as they are probably just mixed up or xenophobic. thats life unfortunately!!

You obviously touched a nerve in this guy. I regret that Irish people can be as bigotted and ignorant as people anywhere. Also take into account that we are islanders. I think islanders all over the World develop literally an insular mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,361 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

LOL:D, he was probably drunk or on his way there. It wouldn't have been the "normal" thing to do in EIRE anyway, to go up to someone at that time of the night and say anything to a stranger. Not normal for an irish person anyway - I could imagine a finn or a polite canadian doing that same thing you did - and receiving the same abuse, it's a culture thing.

OfflerCrocGod,u r probably right.... It's kinda strange to do that 2 o'clock in the morning....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

You really gotta ignore that sort of abuse.. There are alot of people in this country who are afraid of something different.. You got to remember that it is only recently that foreign people like yourself have started coming to this country and that this person really is not used to seeing something different to him... Gladly this normally restricted to the older generation and some inbread youngsters...

Mind you, I wouldn't go up to someone at 2 in the morning and say that... I don't know how I would respond to be honest...

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

There I was, me televison was broke so I stopped at the pub to watch Kerry beat the sh*8 outa Limerick in the football as nature intended. and I brought the bike with me.

And dya know what - there I was cycling alongthe road after the pub, hoping Guard moleny wouldn't stop me and me without a light on me boke or a bell neither and what happends but this guy jumps out and tells me t be careful and that i should have a light.. and I says what do you think I am you thick person from Cork/limerick/somewhere else would you not go away and stop hassling me a poor innocent Kerry man...

basically it seems that if you aggrieve someone they will strike back with an insult based on whatever it is that makes you different to them - be in brains "go on genius you tell us,..", education "go on college boy.." , location.. "you're only a sorrie" or race "ya Limerick langer ya.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭neXus9

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre

Mind you, I wouldn't go up to someone at 2 in the morning and say that... I don't know how I would respond to be honest...
    Yeah, if I was riding home on my own at 2 in the morning and someone else sped up behind me to right beside me and started talking to me, it would scare the hell out of me!