New way of socializing in Ireland....start smoking and u have it done!

• 28-04-2004 03:18PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭

his may sound strange but talking with my mates it looks like I am not the only one who has thought about this recently......I am 26 and I never smoked in my entire life, but I am considering starting soon.... the reason for this is that I noticed that since the ban against smoking in pubs/clubs has been introduced i see groups of people socializing at the entrance/exit of pubs/clubs while having a cigarette...God, this is brilliant :-) . We all know how impossible is to have a proper conversation in a club due to the noisy environment and the overwhelmingly loud music! Call it solidarity between smokers but it seems to be working....

Of course I am being extreme here, I would never smoke because I am a very healthy person (I barely drink :-) .....but I bet some people out there will go for it, maybe just occasionally, but they certainly will........and I don't exclude I might give it a try...
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Yeah think I`ll start smoking, if only for a shot at being cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

maybe people might just start drinking outside. I know a pub where that used to be the case anyway .. too small and got jammed on a Saturday night.. the crowd would flow to the outdoors... was a good atmosphere... but you didn't have to be smoking to be outside!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

So now instead of pretending you went outside on your phone to get into a club free you can pretend you were just having a fag, brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭colincarnate

you could then just cut to the chase and just bring around a bag of cans with you and drink, smoke and chat to birds outside all night ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by bazH
    if only for a shot at being cool
    yeah. like that'll ever happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

yeah lots of people have noticed this in work before where smokers got extra breaks and you missed the gossip

im definitly going to try my best as non-smoker to stnad outside pretend to smoking try to chat up random girls

i was walking through tb the other night is there anymore trouble now with the people out on the street as was suggested ?

i noticed to have do you prove you havn't already been in ppl were standing outside the side door of q so you could get in the way if you wanted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

I noticed this smoke buddy thing when i was in NY, its great i met loads of people outside pubs although it really cold there ,when it came out ehre i have lots of new buddies.

Its the only good thing about this ban, specially now its getting warmer and my smoke buddies are wearing less ;)

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Purely for the amount of women outside ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

"Dying to meet new people? Well we have the answer! Take up smoking!"

/gets coat..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

Yeah going outside to chill is all the range. You don't have to be smoking. Since the ban when I'm drunk I'm always chilling outside the pubs even though i don't smoke. I just drift around the pub and before i know it i'm chatting to my mates or some fit bird outside the pub.

Also, i'd say it's becoming harder to police ID's. With the ban, loads of people drifting in and out the whole time, you don't know what young fella would sneak in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

I'll agree with that. The last night I was out in a nightclub one of my mates asked me to go outside with him for a fag despite me being a non-smoker but I went out and had one anyway because I was really jarred and had great craic outside. There was a brilliant atmosphere out there. Getting in for free wouldn't have worked in this place they stamped everyones hand on the way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

smoking outside the pub/club here, i found its great to start talking to strangers, and then you can talk to them when ur back inside. its easier than just going up to them in the club/pub and trying to strike up a conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Dont Ban Me

Originally posted by Tazzle
    So now instead of pretending you went outside on your phone to get into a club free you can pretend you were just having a fag, brilliant!

It actually works too!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭briano

I've found it works both ways. Smokers get up en mass to go for a quick puff, or whatever the kids are calling it these days, and leave their non-smoking friend to mind their seats.

Ka-Blammooo: Instant topic of conversation "oh yeah, all my mates are out there too, mind if I keep you company..."

Admittedly, That topic of conversation might end up being "Did you see the state of that fella when ye all went out smoking? He had a goddamn mullett..."

Sad but True.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

When are pubs and clubs going to cop on to the fact that a lot of people don't like blaring music and that it's no fun hanging around with friends in pubs or chatting people up if you can't hear them?

Or is it some sort of a new deal they have with cigarette companies to drive ppl out for a smoke?!