Why do you hate chinese so much?

• 02-04-2004 12:43AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭

hiya,lads.

This's my first post here,in board.ie and also in ireland. Apologize first for my poor english, dont mind if I make grammar mistakes :).

I've been not long here but find most of irish people friendly,apart from some young lads ( thoung I always have been stupid to tell the age of an irish ).

Things like this had happened to my friends: That was about 2 months after we got in dublin, when they were walking along the canal near dolphin's barn, the lads at the other side of the canal saw them and began to shout cursing words and even throwing stones and eggs(funny they've got eggs with them) at my friends. And I meself've heard a teenager shouting "***king chink" at me when I'm cycling passing him.

this kind of thing can really upset me sometime. I dont intend to shout back or keep taking eggs on me ( to fight back in case myself's thrown eggs at ), that's just ridiculous and I can't see any good that's going to do to improve this situation.

But generally I do enjoying most of my staying in dublin, people are friendly. I got a nice host family when I first got here, and learned about many irish things from them ( especially some irish food ,:P ). Teachers and mates at college are helpful and the folk in a pub I'm working part-time are really looking after me ( tipping, for example :P ).

So I wonder what's the general irish people's views about chinese ?
    I don't mean to raise some kind of racism protest or something, just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Some people are just ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Calibos

Theres a lot of chinese in Bray. And I have to say they are the nicest most hardworking race of people I have met. I think thats always historically been the case. Anywhere you find immigrant chinese its the same. They always do well because they all seem to have a wonderful work ethic. No doubt there are a percentage of recent chinese arrivals 'bending the rules' of the immigration system, be it work permits, education visa's,asylum etc much like other nationalities. You know what though......I don't care, because they all want to work hard and I say fair dues to them. I may be accused of stereotyping nationalities but in fairness I think its a positive stereotype :D (I'm not saying the other immigrant nationalities are all spongers by the way, far from it, I'm sure 99% of them are the same but it seems the chinese community are hardworking to the last man/woman.)

As for your troubles with the racist youths. Ignore them, they're just under-educated, low IQ scumbags. God love them, its how their scumbag parents raised them. The majority of us I would hope are nothing like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I'm sure you'll find it's not just Chinese that have to put up with this kind of thing - ANYONE different in any way will get hassle sooner or later from ignorant scumbags. Dublin has very suddenly become a multi-cultural city, and unfortunately some people don't know how to handle this (and some people will just be a55holes for no reason no matter what race/colour/creed you are).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

Apart from my fetish for Asian women, it never really registers with me when I see a person of a different race. And for that I thank my parents for the good upbringing.
    In short, I blame the parents. Or peer pressure. Or sub-par intelligence.Or...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

rainer, first of all welcome to ireland and boards.ie!

Don't take any notice of these guys, they are just scum. Some of these guys don't even like me 'cos i don't have a dublin accent. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Sadly, because Ireland has only recently become so muti-cultural, its hard for some wel...idiots..to accept the fact that yes, there ARE other people in the world and yes they DO come in different colours. And like it or not theyve every right to be here. I wouldnt worry about people like that tbh, theyre the same kind of cretin who gave me abuse in school for having long hair, some people just cant accept the fact other people are different. And you can bet your ass that it was scumbags like that who 'celebrated' paddys day and being Irish by getting mind numbingly drunk, shouting 'alreet lads its bleedin rapa been oirish' and then bet the sh*te out of a fellow irishman for a 'deadly bit o buzz!!'
    Sorry you had to experience that side of our culture rainer, sometimes its embarassing to be Irish.
    Personally, i have no problem with Chinese at all, i quite like them. The come across as being friendly and hard working. And they have the most attractive females of any nationality..keep em coming :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

Hi rainer and welcome to ireland

Believe it or not, the egg and stones thing happened to me on my way home from work about a year ago - if they have eggs, they are just looknig for trouble, really, and any difference will do - I think with me it was my long hair, but it also happened to a friend of mine, just apparently becuase she was female.

In answer to your question, I tend to merit people on who they and how they treat me rather than where they come from.

Hope your and your friends' time here improves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

[cliché] I blame the parents [/cliché]

Tis true tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Actually they were a social experiment between moronic Irish people and chickens. Thats why they have eggs with them.

Chinese (the world over and certainly the majority) are some of the friendlist/polite people and pretty hard working.

A lot of chinese here are on study visas as Ireland is one of the better places to study afaik. I met people in Chengde who said people from the village had gone to study in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Originally posted by rainer
    I've been not long here but find most of irish people friendly,apart from some young lads ( thoung I always have been stupid to tell the age of an irish ).
    Welcome to Ireland and so on.
    Pay no attention to them, like others have said, people like that will use any excuse to give people hassle. Being foreign is just an easy reason for them.
    Some people in this country (not just younger people) have to wake up to the fact that there are more countries in the world than just Ireland, and that some of the people from these places want to live here too.

Gene Wilder said it best:

What did you expect? "Welcome sonny," "Make yourself at home," "Marry my daughter."
    You've got to remember, that these are just simple farmers, these are people of the land, the common clay of the new west. You know . . . morons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Walter Ego

Welcome to Ireland. Welcome to the boards.
    Join in our discussions, join in our society.
    Embrace Ireland and Ireland will embrace you.Don't isolate your self from the Irish in the way that many Chinese do.
    Make allowances for our idiots just as you would have to for idiots in China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

Welcome to ireland and boards.ie :D

don't let these Arsè-holes scumbag take over your life and Remember, them scumbags are going to end up at side of a path way in a Cardboard box.

(note)

at all poor people are scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Hi Rainer, Welcome to Boards.ie and Dublin! :D

What happened to you is absolutely disgraceful but yet it doesn't surprise me in the least, there is always a small percentage of idiots in this city trying to make life difficult or frustrating for a minority, whether they be Chinese, Abaric, Indian, Gay, Long-haired or whatever.

I have to say I only know a few chinese people and I like them.

Oh and I find Asian gals extremely attractive! ;)

I have never had any trouble with any chinese people in Dublin (I had an interesting experience with a nutty chinese guy in Kuala Lumpur, but that's another story!)

Don't let the idiots get you down, most of us are good people.

take care,
    /Kone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Originally posted by Calibos
    Theres a lot of chinese in Bray. And I have to say they are the most hardworking race of people I have met.

I'm sure they're honoured that you've noticed their contribution to society....

Rainer, those people who threw stuff at you are what we call "Knackers" (the "K" is silent). They're a strange breed, often possessing little bumfluff moustaches, fake gold chains, silky tracksuits, and a mouth as foul as the rotten eggs they threw.
    Don't let them bother you - they're the ones who live shallow little lives, eating curries, putting brown sauce on all their food, ditching school, and listening to sh*te "dance" music. The joke's on them. They'll never be anything more than scum, as they have no drive to better themselves.
    So maybe when you drive past them in a few years, you'll be in an Audi TT, and they'll be on a gay moped; you can splash them with a puddle and shout "knacker" out the window at them - see how THEY like it! Although they'll probably just shout "Your Ma!" back at you, and they'll all find that hilarious...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

if I may....

[talking]
    The world today seems absolutely crackers,
    With nuclear bombs to blow us all sky high.
    There's fools and idiots sitting on the trigger.
    It's depressing and it's senseless, and that's why...

[singing]
    I like Chinese.
    They only come up to your knees,
    Yet they're always friendly, and they're ready to please.

I like Chinese.
    There's nine hundred million of them in the world today.
    You'd better learn to like them; that's what I say.

I like Chinese.
    They come from a long way overseas,
    But they're cute and they're cuddly, and they're ready to please.

I like Chinese food.
    The waiters never are rude.
    Think of the many things they've done to impress.
    There's Maoism, Taoism, I Ching, and Chess.

I like Chinese.
    I like their tiny little trees,
    Their Zen, their ping-pong, their yin, and yang-ese.

I like Chinese thought,
    The wisdom that Confucious taught.
    If Darwin is anything to shout about,
    The chinese will survive us all without any doubt.

So, I like Chinese.
    I like Chinese.
    They only come up to your knees,
    Yet they're wise and they're witty, and they're ready to please.

All together.

[verse in Chinese]
    Wo ai zhongguo ren (I like Chinese)
    Ni hao ma, ni hao ma, ni hao ma, zaijien!
    (How are you, how are you, how are you, goodbye!)

I like Chinese.
    Their food is guaranteed to please,
    A fourteen, a seven, a nine, and lychees.

I like Chinese.
    I like their tiny little trees,
    Their Zen, their ping-pong, their yin, and yang-ese.

I like Chinese.
    They only come up to your knees...

Go Monty Python!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

That's crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

youre crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

Rainer, welcome to Ireland, and again to boards.

In reference to your incident, this is typical of a small group of Irish people, who are son small minded they can't tolerate each other never mind anyone who is any way different to them. It is a great shame to us because their actions tend to over shadow any positive experiances people have in this country.

Know the majority of Irish people will have no problem with you. As for dealing with them, I'm afraid the law is this country hasn't really turned its baleful eye on racism yet, so I can't suggest anything better than avoidance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

The thing about scumbags is they don't care who you are or what you are. They don't care if your Chinese, Irish or whatever. They'll just use whatever "weakness" they can. If you're a fat white guy they'll use that. It just happens you're Chinese so they use that. They're the scum of the earth, ignore it. We all have to put up with it.

I don't know any decent people that have anything against the Chinese, I really wouldn't worry about it. Some people are just crap.
    And welcome to Ireland and the boards :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

yep, knackers & teenagers are the scum of the earth. just ignore the bastids.
    welcome to boards.ie

and yes. asian women do rock:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by Calibos
    I have to say they are the nicest most hardworking race of people I have met. they all seem to have a wonderful work ethic.

totally agree with this.

chinese women are gorgeous too. up with chinese. down with skirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I am a cantonese myself. But in general, the Irish are sound people. No trouble from them. Except the odd occasional insult from the knacks. They really have no lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

i have to agree.. any chinese people i have met or know are good hard workers with a good work ethic and are generally nice people... I say the more the merrier as far as chinese coming to ireland.... good food as well:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

there are nasty people everywhere. personally, I have a great fondness for all things asian (people, culture, food etc.) and I can't see why people need to be rascist like they are. it's a very closed minded attitude to have. i'd say most of the time it's only one or 2 people in a group, bu tthey are usually the strongest and exert peer pressure on the less strong within their little 'gangs'. most of those people would be fine on their own, but feel like they have to fit in with the others, so you get a group mentality from the feelings of just one or two people.

in any case, shouting racial slurs at you is just another way of getting at you. if you were white they'd probably still have a go anyway (well some of them) a lot of people just5 have a bad attitude towards everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Don't worry about the knackers Rainer, I think you'll find most Irish people like Chinese people, and Asian nationalities, because they have a very strong work ethic. I hope you enjoy your time here!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Originally posted by herbie747
    That's crap.

you obviously werent a fan of monty python :)

same song came into my head aswell rymus

my only flaw with the chinese are the women seem to always bring there boyfriends... they are so amazingly sexy yet all hooked up

whats with that anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,165 ✭✭✭Big Ears

What's your views about chinese?
    That the women are realy good looking :) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

There's always going to be jerks around, and ignorant ****ers.

Personally, I've got nothing against the Chinese, to speak bluntly, and be a little generalising, but I've yet to meet a Chinese person I've hated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

Originally posted by MrBigglesworth
    Apart from my fetish for Asian women, it never really registers with me when I see a person of a different race.

hehe, ill second this. :)

erm, yea, i mean there are ignorant people everywhere, I guess there isnt much you can really do about that im afraid. Hope you dont encounter much racism, those people are just stupid. Its a pity that there are so many stupid people about, but some people are just born dumb.
    Anyway, welcome to Ireland, Welcome to Boards. Hope you enjoy it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭rainer

thx for all the lads above
    What you have said really cheers me up.

But I have to confess that there're problems with chinese people. Take this for example: One of my irish friends asked me about two words which he thought were chinese. one was "O ha yi yo" which was actually japanese rather than chiese, it meant "how are you" in english; the other was " Cao ni ma" which was indeed chinese, but unfortunately meant "fcuk you" in english...

No doubt that japanese people are giving out a bright side of their culture, while some of the chinese are showing dear irish people the chinese way of cursing words.

but I think more and more chinese people have noticed that. Discussions about how we should act to be descent and show what a good chinese guy should be have been around very often in chinese community.

Hopefully we would be able to make to gain most of the local people's acceptance. :)