Do you hate Rap?

• 10-03-2004 03:06PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭

Thought this might get a few laughs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

ROFL! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

ha ha thats gas

yes i hate rap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

Hey that's kool! but i like rap:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

To be honest, I liked Rap when it originally came along, because it at least had people who bothered to write lyrics to their songs, not like the latter day dance bull**** that existed before it. But the charts are totally swamped with it at the moment, and its destroying any credibility it once had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

heh, amusing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

I Hate that rap stuff but i dont understand what is funny bout that pic.
    You would probbley have to know something about music to get that joke i take it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I generally hate rap, but I like outkast, mainly because they have some great songs, lyrics etc, and they stear clear of talking about growing up in the hood, shooting people and fúcking their bitches...

Flogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Stereotypes lead to blindness and ignorance!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭powerage22

lol:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

It all depends on what sorta rap :) "pop rap" is terrible but theres loads of amazing hip hop out there , The Beastie Boys are great, as are outcast, the Sugar Hill Gang and De Le Soul.

Very funny pic though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭^whitey^

I Like some Rap ..... I had to enter in the subject so "Do you hate Rap" seemed like the obvious thing.

I just thinks its funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭carrotcake

the picture says r&b edition, you cabbage!

Originally posted by carrotcake
    the picture says r&b edition, you cabbage!

Thankyou carrot, whats the obsession with veg?

Sorry If i've touched on a sensitive part of your tastes in musical genres :o

Would you like me to edit my first post ? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Senor_Fudge

rofl @ pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Where's the rock version: Number of whines cos your girlfriend dumped you
    Number of days unwashed
    Number of times the same generic lines are to be looped into a 3minute song

TBH It's a retarded stereotype of rap music and these people who hate rap have never actually listened to any real rap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by Kold
    Where's the rock version: Number of whines cos your girlfriend dumped you
    Number of days unwashed
    Number of times the same generic lines are to be looped into a 3minute song

TBH It's a retarded stereotype of rap music and these people who hate rap have never actually listened to any real rap

Does anyone else here see the irony is this post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Dont take things too seriously Kold. Im a big rap fan and thought that link was hilarious first time I saw it. Sure,its satirising my music,but its undeniably funny nonetheless,and I wouldnt be suprised if the person who made is a rap fan themselves,or at least knows a fair amount about it. Its like those skanger caricature websites. While some people may say theyre the height of snobbery and were made by some D4 Trinity nobhead,in reality most of them appear to have been made by lads who are just the right side of skanger. Normal lads from Tallaght etc who decided to do a piss take of people they grew up with. People who are slightly like the people they portray. The truth is that these days too much rap consists of boring beats and generic lines. Sure,guns drugs violence and bitches have been rap staple for nearly 20 years now,but back a few years ago much of it was told in an intelligent,humourous manner. Nowadays its just some dickhead from the master P or roc a fella stable mumbling"I got guns and hoes,flash cars flash clothes,Im up here singin while my wrists are blingin"
    Thats why Ive never liked Jay Z. Hes the ultimate stereotype rapper-an idiot who gets on the mic and mumbles non stop sh1t about three topics-selling crack,women,his own ego(including 25 mentions per song of the word HOVA or Hove),and how rich he is nowadays. He can barely do a line without mentioning cristal champagne for fcuk sake. This microsoft thingy is an exact parody of a Jay Z video/song.
    Anyone who thinks Jay Z became the king of east coast rap after the legendary Biggie died needs to be kidnapped in the middle of the night by 3 armed men infront of their wife and children(or mothers and younger siblings),brought to a field in the middle of the culchieside and shot 3 times in the head.

And thats all i have to say about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭krattapopov

when im drunk i like good original rap, i hate rap songs that have samples...

when im sober its guitars all the way thanks very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

normally hate it, like that p.i.m.p. song tho, and "hey ya" hate rnb tho, its turning me into such a racist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

heh, yea
    I like some rap, like dela soul and a tribe called quest and stuff like that, and like early wu tang stuff, genius - liquid swords .etc really cool imo
    I mean there's like good rap and bad rap, just like there is good music and bad music heh.
    funneh pic tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭honeymonster

True dat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

HATE rap...
    love the joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

RAP AND MOST BLACK MUSIC DESERVES NO RESPECT THEY ALL ****ING SUCK.

Originally posted by I am MAN
    RAP AND MOST BLACK MUSIC DESERVES NO RESPECT THEY ALL ****ING SUCK.

Jaysus :dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,344 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It's true, I mean people say rock can be generic? Just look at black music. That joke so sums it up. I really hate Dr. Dre, I mean he was innovative once but now he just rehashes the same **** over and over and complains if someone copies him. At least Eminem produces some original stuff and his messed up mind is reflected in his music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭spooiirt!!

NWA and De la soul are brilliant. everything else is crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

NAS tbh.

Originally posted by k.oriordan
    It's true, I mean people say rock can be generic? Just look at black music. That joke so sums it up. I really hate Dr. Dre, I mean he was innovative once but now he just rehashes the same **** over and over and complains if someone copies him. At least Eminem produces some original stuff and his messed up mind is reflected in his music.

One glance at just one of my playlists currently playing in my winamp window and i'll have to disagree with you:

Jackson 5 - ABC
    Aretha Franklin - Son Of a preacher Man - Respect
    Fontella Bass - Rescue Me
    Fugees - Ready or not
    A tribe called Quest - Can I kick It (not as popular as the above)

Black Music Is too broad a term I think you mean chart topping Gansta Rap and whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

Naughty by natures 1st 2 albums.

NWA's 1st 2 albums.

Nas

Dr Dre

All classics.

It seems that their rap all got really boring once they got rich. Perhaps they needed something to bitch about to be good, or actually NEEDED to make good music before they all started driving "benzies".

Only good crowd at the mo are outkast (roots manuva's pretty good too)

Eminem? 50 cent? Ja Rule? Too rich to be interesting.