Ever been started on for no reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,436 ✭✭✭Doodee

Yes, more than once. also had a guy try to take a swipe at me with a bottle of vodka.
    idiot dropped it,got pissed off and hit me in the jaw.
    his mistake, there was 4 of us and one of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

I have never understood why someone would attack someone for a reason,

I mean if someone raped your doughter and the police did nothing then ye attack the guy(s). But not cause someone was "lookin at ya" or "they where lookin at your bird" or cause they dont like the same things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Michelangelo

One thing i am finding very hard to understand is the fact that i was looking to the side and this guy went to headbutt my cheek/side of nose but he somehow got my upper lip. It angers me to think someone wanted to break my nose. That was his intention. Its ****ed up thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭scoey

You might think that you've "won" by walking away , but I guarantee you thats not how he sees it. He probably thinks you're a total pussy and if he see's you again he'll start giving you crap about it.

Doubted. I didn't even have time to fight back. I was chucked out so quick. So ye, I walked away. Im a pussy. Either that or fight him and his 15 rugby mates. Dont think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

I'm from Blackrock, but didn't go to Blackrock college. My friends who did go to this school and it's equivalents are all quite similar - aggressive, disrespectful and fearless.

The schools have to be training them to be like this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,039 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Well, the problem with the Blackrock heads, including the lads involved in this Brian Murphy trial is that they seem to want to be a lot harder than they really are
    I also hate the violent rugger playing blackrock types. But I would say that a lot of these lads are genuinely tough bastards for the simple reason that they're so damn big. Eg a typical 2nd row forward would be well over 6 ft tall and probably 16-17 stone of muscle. This, combined with their (alcohol fuelled) aggressive attitude means that you don't want to get into a scrap with them.

It's very annoying to think that these arrogant posers will go on to be stockbrokers, doctors and lawyers etc. They will end up driving Mercs, Jags and BMWs and will own houses in exclusive areas of dublin. Gorgeous women will be tripping over themselves to shag them.

At least if you get attacked by a little scumbag knacker, you can console yourself with the fact that he'll probably be poor all his life and will hopefully get killed joyriding or from overdosing on heroin or whatever.

BrianD3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭aphex™

Yep i remember it well- age 12, going around on the rolerskates (hey- at the time it was cool) with the other kids then outa the blue some white trash piece of **** comes up and smacks me solid in the nose.

Last year was walking along and hear the old "what u looking at" from behind, next thing i know theres 3 of them kicking my head in on the ground.
    Now i dont leave the house without a screwdriver.

Now, I'm 6foot 3. Im taller than nearly 100% of the people who i walk by in a typical day. If you start on me, you're looking for trouble. I've decided if anybody starts on me, IM going to finish it. Now i train every day, just waiting to get even with the next person who tries it. i CANT WAIT until i get even with 'em! It aint gonna be me getting my head jumped on next time, thats for sure!

I cant remember any other incidents off the top of my head (wonder why), BUT there have been more. Window smashed for no reason. Threatened witha gun for an hour. cornered in a laneway for an hour. All this fron the knackers in the neighbourhood near us. It gets to the point where u wanna get a van, a couple mates, a few hurley sticks and drive around picking random scummers up and beating the living shít out of them.

Some of those stupid little knacker kids just need a skull cracking, unfortunatly for some they're going to learn that the hard way. Bring it on, i say (but not to their faces).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭bugler

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    I'm from Blackrock, but didn't go to Blackrock college. My friends who did go to this school and it's equivalents are all quite similar - aggressive, disrespectful and fearless.

I know maybe 9/10 guys who went to Blackrock or its 'equivalents', and I couldn't really describe any of them as being aggressive. Few of them have ever even punched someone. You get any group of young males and give them liquor and it can be a volatile situation.

An awful lot has been made of the rugby/private school aspect..everyone seems intent on ignoring the fact that what happened in that case is something that probably happens every weekend somewhere in Ireland, though thankfully it usually doesn't result in someone's death or serious injury. Someone receiving kicks to the head is hardly rare, the barrier of someone being considered "beaten" when they go down is history. I'd sooner walk past a group of Blackrock past-pupils than a group of St.Patrick's graduates.

Now, I'm 6foot 3. Im taller than nearly 100% of the people who i walk by in a typical day. If you start on me, you're looking for trouble. I've decided if anybody starts on me, IM going to finish it. Now i train every day, just waiting to get even with the next person who tries it. i CANT WAIT until i get even with 'em! It aint gonna be me getting my head jumped on next time, thats for sure!

As a law student who is considering going into it as a career, I'd like your number as you sound like a goldmine! Mr.Bickle, rest assured if you utilise that screwdriver whatsoever if attacked you are likely to be found guilty of an offence, and if you jump on anyones head you will probably receive a harsh sentence.

Yep i remember it well- age 12, going around on the rolerskates (hey- at the time it was cool) with the other kids then outa the blue some white trash piece of **** comes up and smacks me solid in the nose.

Last year was walking along and hear the old "what u looking at" from behind, next thing i know theres 3 of them kicking my head in on the ground.

I cant remember any other incidents off the top of my head (wonder why), BUT there have been more. Window smashed for no reason. Threatened witha gun for an hour. cornered in a laneway for an hour. All this fron the knackers in the neighbourhood near us. It gets to the point where u wanna get a van, a couple mates, a few hurley sticks and drive around picking random scummers up and beating the living shít out of them.

Some of those stupid little knacker kids just need a skull cracking, unfortunatly for some they're going to learn that the hard way. Bring it on, i say (but not to their faces).

Jesus.

It is worrying. You carry a screwdriver. You train everyday hoping you will get into a confrontation. You have been threatened on several occasions, once even with a firearm.

Origin
    As a law student who is considering going into it as a career, I'd like your number as you sound like a goldmine! Mr.Bickle, rest assured if you utilise that screwdriver whatsoever if attacked you are likely to be found guilty of an offence, and if you jump on anyones head you will probably receive a harsh sentence. [/B]

Stop making stupid comments, im going to do law too, doesnt mean i dont have to protect my self.
    what do u suggest i do? COP ON it aint like the movies where theres 3 of them and you smack one, he goes down etc, if they're out to get you, you have to play it their way. Its you or them. And i've been kicked on the head by 3 people, they didnt get charged or even caught with anything. Im hardly going to run off home, only to have them smash my window in.

If you're 6 foot 3, you're going to attract the wrong sort of attention. you'd better be able to defend yourself.

And i dont "want it get in a fight". I just accept that its going to happen one day. Its a fact of life. As i said before its a certain sort that start on someone bigger than them. Of course im going to be prepared next time, how many beatings is someone going to be able to take on their head?, maybe if they get a fright from me they wont start on the next guy.

So because you're big (6'3) people will want to attack you more readily....because thats what guys like these are right, brave? Always picking out the biggest and strongest of random people strolling home to attack!
    what do u suggest i do?

I suggest you do not carry an offensive weapon on your person. Unless you can come up with a legitimate excuse as to why you were carrying it (which may be tricky considering you were carrying it post-night-club) then you will be liable to prosecution, and that law career could be gone.

Originally posted by bugler
    So because you're big (6'3) people will want to attack you more readily....because thats what guys like these are right, brave? Always picking out the biggest and strongest of random people strolling home to attack!
    ...so you agree with me? It happens, unfortunatly. I was caught unawares. Wasnt ready for anything like that, wasnt strong at the time, feeling down and sick actually. Could happen to anyone really. I would suggest anybody should get basic self defence classes, in a random fight it's you or them, who knows what they'll do to you.
    I suggest you do not carry an offensive weapon on your person. Unless you can come up with a legitimate excuse as to why you were carrying it (which may be tricky considering you were carrying it post-night-club) then you will be liable to prosecution, and that law career could be gone.

In fairness i dont bring it with me anymore. Never brought it with me on a night out. I just guess it provided some sort of security after being attacked for no reason. Understandable really.
    Don't seem so shocked. Its not as if i was randomly attacking strangers, although after trauma i might want to. Not really gonna happen. Just a side effect of being attacked.
    And cut the law crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Originally posted by aphex™

AHAHAHAHAHA

Piss off and join the SAS or something macho mothafucka.... No offence, but I hope you get beaten one day.

John

Originally posted by Lump
    AHAHAHAHAHA

John

Yeah, and you're not a spa... how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

It's just an opinion. Oh and that was symbolisation of laughing.

John

No I don't agree with you in any way, shape, or form.

The kind of scumbag who actually seeks out someone who is big and chooses them to randomly attack is surely a rare creature.

ScumBag: Hmmm.I feel like fu<king some guy up are you with me lads? who will i pick....that skinny guy with his girlfriend....that small guy over there who's hammered...no wait! There, that 6'4 17 stone guy with the facial tattoo, he's the one!
    In fairness i dont bring it with me anymore. Never brought it with me on a night out.

Is what you say now.

What you originally said was:
    Now i dont leave the house without a screwdriver

Which is it? At least the 'law crap' is actually providing some semblance of useful information here, it's shocking how ignorant people are of the law in many regards...you can't do absolutely anything to someone and be exonerated on grounds of self-defence...you can't do anything you want to someone who breaks into your home, however much you want to.

I can understand the anger and resolve not to be the victim, but if you're not careful it's easy to over-step the mark and join those you claim to despise. "He who fights monsters.." and all that.

The kind of scumbag who actually seeks out someone who is big and chooses them to randomly attack is surely a rare creature.
    Well it has and did happen, GET OVER IT.

ScumBag: Hmmm.I feel like fu<king some guy up are you with me lads? who will i pick....that skinny guy with his girlfriend....that small guy over there who's hammered...no wait! There, that 6'4 17 stone guy with the facial tattoo, he's the one!
    First off i dont have a facial tattoo. Nobody looks like that. Make up images of people and building up jokes/arguments/points around that, TYPICAL boards.ie members CRAP. Infact im Not a big buff scummer as u seem to illustrate above, but look quite the opposite. Just tall.

And another thing you need to get over, is the fact that i had to carry a some form of security/defence after said incident. Entirely understandable. I did change my story there, yeah, didnt think there'd be such uproar on one line, its not in my jacket now and hasnt been there for a while. Recent events (before this) have made me believe i dont need it. Its not really anybodys business what i have (yes- even though i said it).
    I've never started a F***ing fight over nothing, and never intend to, people who do on the other hand, deserve to get the crap beaten out of them. Poetic justice in its purest form. ITs a difference of opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Originally posted by Michaelangelo

And did it put an end to it for good or did retaliation occur?

It did indeed put an end to it.

I think there is some confusion here.

Let me clarify some points:

I'm not saying you weren't attacked, I'm saying that in general those most likely to be subjected to random, cowardly attacks on the street are not big guys. I wasn't alluding to you directly. I never said you had a facial tattoo. I never said you were 17 stone. And you said you were 6'3, not 6'4. I was merely illustrating the point that it is smaller, weaker looking individuals who are most likely to suffer from a random attack.

I don't need to get over anything. Don't flatter yourself by assuming just because I've taken the time to point out that you are at least partly wallowing in fantasy that I give a sh1t. If you're going to spout macho crap online (oh you carry a weapon...wow you have been held at gunpoint...wait a minute..are YOU a scumbag?) please don't p1ss yourself because someone took the time to point out that what you were doing might not be advisable. And please don't give the "I don't care what you think/I never asked for your opinion" line. No one forced you to contribute to this very public forum, out here everyone owns everyone elses arsé.

For ****s sake, alcohol can start fights over nothing. Just please for the love of God dont bring a screwdriver out with you because the usual nice guy may drink too much and get angry, dont **** him up. Have patience and get his friends to get him out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by aphex™
    If you're 6 foot 3, you're going to attract the wrong sort of attention. you'd better be able to defend yourself.

I'm close enough to 6'3", one of mates is probably closer to 6'4". Neither of us have ever been in a fight. What makes you think people want to start fights with big people? So it happened to you, something tells me that's the exception not the rule.

I think there is some confusion here.

Let me clarify some points:

I'm not saying you weren't attacked, I'm saying that in general those most likely to be subjected to random, cowardly attacks on the street are not big guys. I wasn't alluding to you directly. I never said you had a facial tattoo. I never said you were 17 stone. And you said you were 6'3, not 6'4. I was merely illustrating the point that it is smaller, weaker looking individuals who are most likely to suffer from a random attack.
    Your point it not worth making as scumbags defy logic. And i already pointed out that it happened before you made that point, so it was invalid from the start. Consider this, you're walking along, past a group of knackers from the estate up the road, you dont make eye contact, one follows you anyway saying "wha u looookin at" to try and show how mad he is etc etc. theres a real-life illustration for you.
    I If you're going to spout macho crap online...[/B]
    Yaah, im spouting macho crap on an internet board late at night. I didnt actually mean to sound like that in my orginal post, you just decided i said stuff a certain way in your head when you read it. Again, typical boards member crap.

...wow you have been held at gunpoint...wait a minute..are YOU a scumbag
    Yes thats right, i am the victim of a crime and now im a scumbag. Again Rubbish logic. Just because my parents can't afford a house in a decent area, do u have to make it out like i associate with scum, and therefore get into those kind of situations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

No I don't agree with you in any way, shape, or form.

Not true (particularily if it isn't 1 on 1 - which it rarely is as most scumbags are cowards and always roam in packs). From my own experience I've found that when there's more than one assailant the strategy is to take down the biggest guy in order to send a message to others in a group.

For example I'm 6'2" 14 Stone pretty well buit and several years ago on the way home from the pub had an unfortunate meeting (totally unprevoked btw) with a group of 6 or so skangers who was looking for a bit of action to round off their night. There was two other guys with me (one about 5'11 skinny as a rake, the other 5'6') but the entire group of skangers all went straight for me even tho I was biggest of our group. 'Mates' did a runner and I was left 6 on 1. Didn't stand much of a chance and was soon introduced to the pavement but I managed to get away with just cuts n bruises.

//

Aphex tho, I think you need to chill out and just mark it down to experience. This NEED you seem to have to exorcise your bad experice via a 're-match' and it's only gonna end badly. I've been in one or two subsequent altercations since my aforementioned gang-kicking and whilst I came out on top in those situations it didn't make me feel any better about first incident. All I can say is that the first fight did stand towards me because it made me sharper when watching out for and dealing with trouble but at the same time it didn't fill me with a lust for retribution.

You should use your experiences to your advantage - not let them consume you.

Exactly.

Good point.
    I'm close enough to 6'3", one of mates is probably closer to 6'4". Neither of us have ever been in a fight. What makes you think people want to start fights with big people? So it happened to you, something tells me that's the exception not the rule.
    Yes, i had a think about this, and its probably due to your attitude (in a good way!). Nowadays i hold my head high when i walk past skangers, not like before with it held down. A "macho" attitude the guy was on about earlier would definatly be of benefit here, and might make scum less likely to attack. Either way, i hold my head high next time, as i'll be ready for it, as its just a fact of life.

Its no harm in being prepared. Unfortunatly saying "i'll be ready for it next time" seems to freak people out, but im just not going to be a victim anymore. And confidence like that will mean you get started on LESS too. Its a psychological effect you have that they interpret first, unwittingly. I was on a downer the day i got started on, thats what they picked up on. So the advice to anyone is

a)dont listen to people like bugler and his laws, scumbags dont obey laws, unless you're in town the cops never catch the scumbags anyway.
    b) Set out to be confident to win if you might get attacked, If you're tall and unconfident, this would work. Small and too confident- could work against you :D
    c)again, dont listen to bugler, people like him will start quoting various acts of the Oreachtas as he gets beaten up. This wont get you anywhere and you've just to fight back. Harder.

Aphex i feel sorry for you. What happened to you was unfair and unjust. And now you have a major grudge and hey, i don't blame you but please be careful and dont take it out on some randomer and/or some drunk guy who is acting all macho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭dglancy

I had the head beaten off my outside the court house in Tralee a very years ago. For absolutely no reason - whatsoever. I was walking home with my girlfriend (whom they didn't touch) after handing in my final year college thesis. Never could figure out why they set upon me.

I worked in a company where Brian Murphy's dad was the CFO - he always struck me as the nicest an most down to earth executive I have every met.

My thoughts have been with Brian's family while they have had to endure this trial. Even though the assault on me was minor in comparison, I can't help thinking how it could have been very different.

It is a tragedy and its so simple how these things happen. If this Anabells case wasn't in my head last night, then who the hell knows what would have happened? Its such a tragedy. I still blame alcohol for it, but some of these rugby school guys are so arrogant and they have no reason to be. its so sad.