Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,286 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

It costs €122,000 to process each asylum claim.

That is only the cost to when the decision is made.

We have spent €20,000,000,000 in today's money processing claims since 1995.

We spend €99pn on accomm, the Dutch spend €13.50.

Trabolgan make 58% net profit margin providing accomm to UKR refugees.

A claim is rejected because it is bogus. Rejection proves the claim isn't genuine.

The Taoiseach stated that 80% of AS are actually economic migrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

The only American that tried to claim asylum in Ireland with any legitimacy was Ed Snowden.

The American man charged with killing the Kerry farmer tried to claim asylum.

Two American transexuals were in the news recently.

Really taking the piss but it's happening for decades. Before EU enlargement in 2004, we had people from Eastern European countries like Poland and Croatia claiming asylum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭_Quilombero_

Deportation fights, costly as they may be, also send out a valuable message. But there must be a cheaper way to do them all the same by using less Gardai.

The government's efforts to get rid of the chancers seems to be more focused on the voluntary returns programme though. This allows asylum seekers and illegals to "arrange their own flights home" (🤣) or else if they don't want to do that, the Irish gov will just give them ….

• Reintegration grant
    • Help with getting a travel document from your Embassy
    • Flights paid for
    • Transport to the airport
    • Help at the airport

Tough choice!

Seems there is a lot of scope to take the p*ss out of this programme. Come on a holiday, overstay, become illegal and then get paid to go home with no repercussions.

We hear a lot about the cost of deportations but not this. There's also talk of rolling this out to Ukrainians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

I think anyone who avails of these repatriation support schemes should have to consent to long term storage of fingerprint and biometric data, with consent to share with our European partners if requested. It should be made clear that if they ever return without a valid visa they can be fingerprinted/scanned and immediately deported and fined once identified as they have broken the terms of the repatriation agreement.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

We should not be offering cash incentives. I find that infuriating. Ukrainians getting free third level access while I will have to pay for my kids to do the exact same courses in the exact same college/university

Asylum applications get rejected, then cut state supports. They found their way here, they can find their way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Marcos

"Niall Boylan …you are having a laugh ? He was shown up as an eejit when he tried but failed miserably to get elected as an MEP . But not surprise you listen to him."

On this point, I think we have different ideas of what it means to fail miserably to get elected as an MEP. I think for a first time candidate with no established party machinery behind him, being ahead of Aodhan O'Riordan on the 17th count and getting 50,416 and finishing ahead of Ciaran Cuffe, Clare Daly, Brid Smith, Sinead Gibney and Daithi Doolan etc is a very good showing.

Also, extending your argument, wouldn't it be fair to say that Ciaran Cuffe, Clare Daly, Brid Smith, Daithi Doolan and Sinead Gibney have been shown up to be eejits?

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Some NGO will be straight to court with GDPR style arguments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,062 ✭✭✭plodder

America is a safe country. We should not be allowing asylum (or subsidiary protection) for Americans.

Though I think that legal immigration is restricted for Americans as it should be..

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

If we actually built large detention centres and provided only very basic healthcare and basic food in them . That you have to be detained first whilst your asylum application is being processed, the number of economic migrants claiming asylum and wasting resources would drop to zero so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Fair play , " failed" was comment enough.

As to those examples , include the bould AOR , and yes I would consider them similarly !

I would add Mullooly and Ming and the Mick Wallace into that " eejits who we want to get rid of so send them to European Parliament instead " mix.

Probably why everything happens so slowly in Europe ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Ukrainians are not asylum seekers .

And your mythical kids will not even be paying registration fees at the rate those are being reduced . Estimated they will be gone in the next 5 years for all.

Certainly the prospective cut off rates being increased for Susi over the next few years will take a lot of people out of the net for even registration fees . Tuition fees were abolished a long time ago .

Tuition fees were not abolished. Rather, the taxpayers cover them, plus the student makes a contribution.

That's why the €3,000 is known as the Student Contribution.

If you repeat, the Tuition Fees are not covered by taxpayers.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/education/third-level-education/fees-and-supports-for-third-level-education/fees/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Build prisons and throw all these asylum seekers in chains with a whole in the ground for toilet and stale bread for food and see how quickly they will stop arriving here.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,960 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

More than 4,600 people to become Irish citizens

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2026/0622/1579681-citizenship-killarney/

I feel Irish citizenship is handed out far too easily. You can apply for Irish citizenship after living here for 5 years out of the last 9(3 years if they're married to an Irish citizen).

We've the joint second shortest length of residency before applying for citizenship in the EU. Only Poland is shorter, 3 years. In Spain, Italy and Austria it's 10 years. Germany is 8 years. In Greece and Cyprus it's 7 years. In Denmark it's 9 years of continuous residency.

I'd change it to 10 years of continuous residency before anyone is eligible to apply for Irish citizenship. Marriage would be shorter, maybe 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭Floppybits

It is ridiculous that someone can come into the country, rock up to immigration and say I've no documents and I'm claiming asylum and the immigration officer goes yeah grand and then they are shipped off to an IPAS centre and have the freedom to roam around wherever they want. Makes a mockery of any sort of rules and regulations.

I'd be in full agreement with you, build detention centres or camps where they are not allowed leave unless there application is processed or they want to leave the country.

Agree that we hand it out too easily. It's not 10 years across the board in Spain though - I believe 5 years for refugees and less again for citizens of some Latin American countries.

Germany is five years I think and there is a language requirement.

Ireland is one of few countries that doesnt demand language proficiency and I think a level of civic knowledge. Denmark on the other hand requires a fairly high B2 level Danish to gain citizenship.

It's odd there are no minimum requirements across the EU for citizenship applications given the freedom of movement within it, especially when things like asylum processes are being standardized.

edit: it would also be interesting to know the cost of the Irish ceremonies. Theyre not the norm in every country.

Yes it's madness alright.

Ireland could have used detention centres under the new EU asylum legislation but opted out of this. I assume this boils down to the cost of running a prison. We can't even build prisons for our own scumbags sure.

Not that it will make much of a difference, but there are requirements on asylum seekers to show up in their IPAS centre daily or their applications are cancelled. That's about the height of any restriction on movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-style/people/2026/06/23/we-knew-that-ireland-had-a-housing-problem-but-we-did-not-know-the-extent-of-it-before-we-came/

The tone deafness of these puff pieces beloved by the IT are something else

“After they arrived Nikita had to immediately find work to support them. He worked as much as his student visa allowed, as a waiter in a hotel, on top of his studies. Nikita barely slept, but “somehow survived”.

So he was supporting two people living in Dublin and barely had time to sleep with his visa mandated 20hrs work maximum a week? Right…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭tastyt

Absolute sickening shite, why don’t they do pieces on the thousands of Irish people up and down the country that are barely surviving being taxed to the hilt trying to pay for their own homes and children as well as all the scammers the government keeps giving all our money to ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭enricoh

We're making stunning progress with our politicians linking runaway immigration to the housing crisis.

Some are actually beginning to link the two! Miracles will never cease to amaze me!

Stay tuned next year folks, log cabins in the back garden , tents in the front garden - worth a try surely?!

https://www.thejournal.ie/homeless-numbers-4-7079125-Jun2026/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Emblematic

I'm getting an error when I click that link. Seems to be an issue with the site at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭enricoh

I'm getting it too tbh. I was amazed the journal activists published it in the first place! Any negative immigration news is strictly verboten there- maybe they pulled it, I dunno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Emblematic

I don't think they pulled it. Other articles seem to be returning the error too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭Floppybits

The article is still there and even more shocking the comments section is open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Just unreal,

"They have gone up, pretty much, for the last ten years or more. When at least are we going to see some plateauing"

"It's when the number of home being delivered, exceeds the number of people who needs homes"

Surely they both recognise the elephant in the room here

https://twitter.com/i/status/2069174630082924583

Its all done on purpose. Had to be. Driving the population to 7m by 2040 will require 4-500,000 new home to be built by then.

Its the equivalent of doubling the population of cities/towns of Limerick, Waterford, sligo, athlone, Galway, kilkenny, wexford and castlebar.

No new hospitals, transport, schools etc are underway to facilitate this recklessness.

Well he can bring a big plane and take a few hundred of his compatriot grifters back home with him, but more then likely it will be a plane full of our money he will be leaving with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭strathspey

I'm traditionally a Fine Gael voter, however if Fine Gael don't move further to the right on the subject of illegal immigration I'll be voting for Aontú.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Ukranians here aren't grifters. There is a war in Ukraine, and no-one knew at the start how it would pan out.

It's the Irish government who decided to give out very generous housing/welfare provisions to Ukranians, and it is up to the Irish government to deal with it now. I do think it is unrealistic for Ukranian people resident in Ireland to expect that level of support continuously, they should have been making provisions/plans for how they would provide for themselves if benefits were cut. It's been several years now, and it is inequitable to expect provisions over and above what other people resident in Ireland receive.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”