Boards Golf Society Rd-5 Rathsallagh – Saturday 20th June 1st Tee: 12:50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 565 ✭✭✭a post punk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Snackbox20

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣, arborist 🤔🤔🤔🤔

Like a lot of amateur golfers, I'm more of a botanist or is it a horticulturist?, my golf balls are attracted to every type of tree 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭tigerwood1

Evening folks,

The weather is looking good for tomorrow – no rain forecast and a bit of sunshine thrown in for good measure. 😎
    To mix things up a little, we'll be playing off the blue tees. Don't panic, they're not much longer! Just a word of warning: be careful not to confuse the blue markers with the black ones... it can be surprisingly difficult to tell the difference. 😉

As of this morning, I'm happy to report that the bunkers are back in play.
    Competitions for the day:
    🏌️ Nearest the Pin – 13th Hole
    🏌️ Longest Drive – 18th Hole

There isn't really a suitable hole at Rathsallagh for Longest & Most Accurate. The 3rd would fit the bill, but ruining someone's card that early in the round seems a bit harsh, so we'll give that one a miss for this outing.

I also checked with the restaurant, and there'll be no issues getting food after the round, unlike last year. The new catering is excellent – I can highly recommend the curry, and the beetroot starter is scrumptious. 😋

See ye all tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,569 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I take it Geography wasn’t your strongest subject in school?

last I knew Rathsallagh was in Wicklow 🤣

Easy there, professor. I never claimed the course wasn't in Wicklow. I was simply painting a picture of the magnificent vista from the 1st tee, stretching all the way across kildare to the Laois border. Put that in your pipe and smoke it. 😎

Just a quick note, make sure you bring a few spare 2euro coins for range ball dispenser.

There's a pot of gold waiting for somebody tomorrow😁.

Also a picture of the par 3 nearest the pin 13th below

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭blue note

Very regrettably, I'm going to have to drop out last minute. Sorry, but I did something to my back last night (sleeping in a chair with one of the kids and then in uncomfortable positions in the bed with another). I'm just back from the range, I gave it a test to see if swinging a club would help. It did not. It was probably questionable whether I was correct to drive there considering I can't really turn my neck, but I really wanted to play.

So best of luck all and sorry to leave you with a 3 ball. Benny, hopefully it gets you to kodaline a few minutes sooner.

Drumroll!!!!!!!

image.png

Well done @bakerbhoy a great score off the blues 39pts.

1st place @bakerbhoy 39pts

2nd place @briansmith54 38pts

3rd place @ a post punk 38pts

Back nine @tigerwood1 20pts

Longest drive @Seve OB

Nearest the pin @briansmith54

Two's @tigerwood1 17th

@RoadRunner 4th

@a post punk 4th

Anyone bump into the fella with the top hat and waistcoat on his Penny Farthing after they left the course this evening. He looked deadly gliding around the country roads

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 2,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Break80 loves the older traditions of the game ...fair play to him , all the way to Cork....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Sorbet

😆😆

I can confirm the penny farthing fella was real! Never saw anything like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

J

He was still cycling the roads when I was leaving which was after 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Probably has to keep going as he doesnt know how to get back off it

Wondering was he part of the wedding or celebration in the hotel???? Walking up the 14th we heard a chorus of Mass Bangers - "Here I am Lord" 😲😲😲😲😲

1000071912.jpg 1000071911.jpg 1000071910.jpg

The only pics I took out on yesterday's outing.

Post match analysis will follow soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭weapon of grass destruction

Well another outing finished and what a great day it was for it. Much thanks to @Seve OB and @spacecoyote for their work after the round and @tigerwood1 for setting up a great day.

I was partnered with captain himself @tigerwood1, @spuddy4711 and @Concerned2. Such a great group was nice and relaxed great craic had all day.

Martin was playing realy well for a couple of holes that did their damage. I love his set up off the tee, you blink and you'll miss it hes so quick up their its something I'd love to be able to do rather than 30 second feet shuffle.

Dennis like myself had 3 bad holes that hurt us other than that we both would've been fighting for top spot. When he connects with a drive he pipes it, his all round iron play really good.

And Tiger started off the front 9 you'd think he never played the course before bar his around the chipping was money think he had a chip in too. But turning the corner the real Tiger showed up, even though he still left a few points out there on the back 9, he played gtest with 20 points.

My own game wasn't bad at all bar a scratch on 1 then bogied every hole bar 2 pars on the front. I messed up from the fairway on according to Tiger the easiest hole on the course every single one of scratched on it😂😂. Thankfully they're signs the game is coming back after the slip at concra.

Looking forward to bunclody bar walking the hill to the 18th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Well, surprised with the win yesterday.. A badly behaving driver for the last couple of rounds has seen the 3 and 5 woods in play from the tee. 1 birdie 9 pars 5 bogeys and 2 doubles and a triple brought 39pts. Good putting /Short game and managing the bunkers were the key to it all.

Partnered with @benny79 and @LinoRichie . Really great soundtrack listening to @benny79 and @LinoRichie swapping festival/concert stories. Benny was a great guide having good local knowledge from his battles there with Captain @tigerwood1. Eratic golf from both cost a good score as there was some really good play from both and probably a few euro going by captain during the presentation.

Really liked the course and the way it is not unduly punishing and while the bunkers were not in great condition, the torrential rain overnight was the main culprit. I had a 3 out of 4 sand save return , the last on 18 via the 10th fairway for a 1 point win.

Well done to all prize winners and big thanks to @Snackbox20 for doing starter duties @LinoRichie for collecting and organising score cards at end. Hopefully will make Bunclody.

Will @ThecHamp26 wear his new crown..

Thanks to @tigerwood1 and @Seve OB, @spacecoyote and all the committee for a great day out in Rathsallagh. Had the pleasure of playing with @awec and @a post punk - both I have played with before so knew it would be a great group. As it turned out @a post punk and I were in the mix for prizes and so I'd say we were in good spirits but quite focused on the game which probably raised the level of golf a little. What I thought definitely raised the level was @tigerwood1's hole by hole guide which I had taken screenshots of and we went through a little ritual of reading them out on each tee!

Have played with @awec I think more than anyone else in the society but hadn't played with him since last year, since his handicap had come tumbling down. We used to have similar handicaps and so I was looking forward to seeing the changes. Although he didn't have his best round on the day you can clearly see the improvement all over his game - but in my eyes his putting is really improved. He probably wouldn't agree as there were a number that didn't drop at the weekend but nearly every putt could have and on another day they will - that's different from what I remember before - looked like a new putter too?

@a post punk came out of the the blocks like a rocket with three birdies in the first four holes! Lovely approach on the first for a tap in birdie, a nice par on the third and then even when he was in trouble on the greenside bunker on four he chipped it in!! Thought he was on for a monster score but back nine went away from him a little. His driving was immense on the day - lovely low piercing trajectory. Great drive on the 18th I think was only just beaten by @Seve OB and poor @a post punk had the heartache of sitting outside the clubhouse as group after group came through without beating it! Great round of golf - well done.

For my own round - was going very well after the front nine with 21 points, had a nice 2 putt par on the 3rd after taking the tigerline from the captain's guide although in truth I had tried to go a little wider left! Nice up and down on par 7th after nearly losing the ball off the tee - thanks to @awec for finding it. On the 16th I had a brain fart when getting ready to address the ball the club slipped and knocked it half a foot - lads weren't there so admitted my mistake (inwardly cursing my honesty) until a wedge into the green over the trees clipped a high branch and slowed it down enough to land within a foot - the golfing god's rewarding me! Came back with 17 but a silly mistake totaling the back nine incorrectly on the card left me with 37 points and lost a few places and jug points - lesson learned 😥!

As to the captain @tigerwood1's course - I thought it was a beautiful track. As @bakerbhoy said after, it's a resort course style - gives everyone a chance with some good but fair challenges. Scored better than my last day there which might influence my thinking but really enjoyed the return. Think the 8th is my favourite hole but it's hard to pick just one. Didn't take many pics as I said above we were fairly focused on the round - but you can even see from the one pic I took the place was in great condition - obviously except for the bunkers but there's apparently a fix on the way.

A Post Punk - Rathsallagh.jpeg

Well done to all the prizewinners @bakerbhoy, @briansmith54, @a post punk , @Seve OB and thanks again to @tigerwood1 and all. Look forward to Bunclody - sounds like a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭paulos53

@Sorbet Can you expand on the mistake you mentioned when totalling the back 9?

Was an incorrect score written down for 1 hole or was the mistake in calculating the stableford score?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 565 ✭✭✭a post punk

First of all thanks to @tigerwood1 for bringing us to his home course in Rathsallagh,for me I knew very little about it before this or the fact it was in North Wicklow…..another to add to a great list of courses in this county.Driving in the clubhouse was unique and loved that wrap around porch where you can see the groups coming through and more importantly finishing up on 18,it must be a hive of activity for any big comp!!

I had the pleasure of playing with @awec and @Sorbet ,2 extremely sound lads to play with and compatriots in the ups and downs of the golf emotional rollercoaster😂. @awec did not have his best day score wise due to loosing a few balls in that real heavy grass with a few blocks off the tee but his game is improving all the time with great approaches and putts that will all drop another day and bring in a well deserved big score.

@Sorbet has really settled ,everytime I play with him he has more and more game and made some really nice pars where we were struggling for bogey or double on various holes.Really a few minor blips towards the end cost him a win and I don't think that handicap will last for long if you keep the foot down.

Onto my own round,I have a new driver in the bag with 4 weeks now and this was by far my most reliable day bar 1 toe hit when we were passing the garden party or whatever it was with that mix of music " The fields of Athenry" to "Here I am lord"🤣….hit it straight OB and could see it but no good had to reload.I started great ,although it was blind for a few holes with a gps watch that had not updated to the new layout (Hole 1 showing 660 yards ….this isn't the US Open Boy!)Hit a great drive down the first ,didnt fully catch my 2nd but hit a great approach to a foot for a tap in birdie.Was playing from my 2nd drive on the first with no gps so scratched that hole…But then laid up on 3 with a 5iron which gave me 161 to the flag I hit a great approach to 6-8 feet and rolled it in again (Dream start). 4th hole then I hit it well but faded into the bunker in standing water so had to drop back in the bunker on a slight downslope…..I knew i didn't want to stay in there so just committed to the shot and it bounced out lovely. I thought great! and then it rolled on hit the flag and dropped again!! Jesus this stuff does not happen to me,unknown territory and from then on in the round returned back to normal for me (Pars,bogeys and doubles)Overall I played really well and left a lot bigger score out there if i kept up the pace.I missed a tap in par on 17 aswell which was silly really.It was great also to have the longest drive until @Seve OB pipped me with us all watching on.

I thought the course was excellent except the bunkers obviously, but they did not cost me anything on the day ..I got out of them well when needed.The greens were great and pin placements must be fun with the tiers.The only thing I would say is the indexes did not quiet match up to how it was playing ,In particular Index 1 with a good drive it was very reachable in 2 from the fairway.One of the earlier par 5's with 2 drain ditches on it was a far harder hole for me.This is a course I look forward to revisiting in the future you cannot beat the feeling of being totally seperate hole to hole going around.

Full disclosure on @Sorbet's card I marked it wrong with 1 error so he corrected it after the round but just filled in the total points and not the back 9 score where the error was,It meant I took third place instead of him so apologies on my part and did not feel great about it either afterwards with the outcome on the day.Hopefully it does not affect the jug standings end of year……….

Thanks again Captain for a great course pick and well done to all winners on the day especially @bakerbhoy there is no stronger competitor on the course. There must be a drop of blood from another county in ya somewhere 😏

PP

All, sorry for any mix ups on the results, but being honest, the standard of what gets handed up on the whole is pretty shocking for a society of 99.9% club golfers.

We've gotten cards with no points, cards with just points, cards where its hard to figure out who's points are who's, cards where the markers points are written as the total rather than the players...the list keeps on going

We're trying to get scores and results in as quickly as we can, particularly when people are on timelines and are trying to leave, etc...

So, we generally are taking the points listed for each 9 at face value, and assuming people have filled in and totalled correctly. Broadly we're primarily checking cards when people have the same points as each other, so if there are two 35s in with the same back 9, we're checking back 6, etc... without going through every individual card with a fine tooth comb.

I know people make mistakes on cards, it happens, but if everyone could just double check and make sure that their card is properly completed it makes life just that bit simpler for a couple of lads trying to lash through it all and get people home and happy.

Post edited by spacecoyote on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Found out.. Ancestors originally migrated up to the Deise from Cork...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 2,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

A very pleasant day out in Wicklow on Saturday. @frankiekk drew the short straw of playing with myself & my brother, quickly learning of our inability to talk to each other in anything other than abuse. He persevered though, played a fine round, and was excellent company to boot.

I wasn't feeling great (end of a cold) and struggled in the heat. A pit stop in the pro shop after the 9th to stock up on water & energy drinks sustained me, and while I didn't play amazingly well I enjoyed my round thoroughly.

Thanks again to all who worked hard to deliver the outing, including @Seve OB and captain @tigerwood1 , and congrats to @bakerbhoy on the win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Richiemaloney

Thanks @tigerwood1 for great course in a great setting

Had a early start Cathal was eager to get there with the sun shining 🤔don't think I ever been first to a outing , it was to have a coffee and a chat next off to hit a few balls , trying out the Robert rock aid , a few good shot out of the bucket, on to the first tee catch a drive down the middle was going on here 😆 bad chip bogey , It's was up and down from here good shot bad one , but the company was top class some great laugh I hope you went straight to sleep @benny🤐,@bakerboy is the best man to dig out a score , not playing well but his short game is so good, we could all learn for you , well done on your win a pleasure playing with you and @Benny , On to the 19 lovely to out side as every one comes up the 18 fairway watch the longest drive great hole to have it on , we all thing The cork man had beaten the cork man only to find out @Seve OB could bend to right his name , watch out for injured golfer ,the food was to class

Till the next day Lino

After all the mileage between Wicklow, Waterford, and the real capital 😏, just finally settling down with my aided scribe and pot of complan to try and remember how I played on Saturday.

First of all huge thanks again to captain @tigerwood1 for the invite back to his home club of Rathsallagh for Round 5 of the boards.ie 2026 tour. Huge improvement on the weather from last year, the weather gods graced us with divine sunshine that even on the 14th fairway the punters or the moshers of the pulpit were blasting out "here I am lord!!!!!" Must have been followers of our Boards.ie Carlow weather man @benny79 and offering up wimmin to the most high to get us our sunniest day. Oh yes, back to the first thank yous (sips the complan) thank you also to the lads on the committee for doing a stellar job on Saturday.

I travelled once again with my good friend @get2thechoppa , we were well ahead of our tee time, so as we did not stop for brekkie, @get2thechoppa enjoyed the breakfast blaa, it was a glorious jumbo roll, like bananaman this gave choppa extra oomph on the drives or settled for the round ahead. More to follow.

In the clubhouse and quick hellos to @LinoRichie , @a post punk , @charlieIRL , and our winner on the day, mr. @bakerbhoy (congrats with a great score of 39 👌👌👌) Captain tiger came to me and asked if I would not mind getting the cards ready and place the labels on, apologies again to @boccy23 for sending your card on ahead before you headed out 🫣🫣🫣.

A few practice putts (I need a whole weekend with Bob Rotella) and on to the first. As well as playing with @get2thechoppa , it was great to play again with @Break80 and @Seve OB . I think it was Macreddin I last played with Break and it was captains in Killarney with Seve OB. A great round of golf, good banter, sneaky jibes, and all round personal highlight reels for us all. Delighted with my drive off the first and proceeded to save a 7 on the par 5, shaky start , but not helped by playing out of the poorest part of the course, the bunkers 😔. I was in the first 4 and last 1 but it was the hardest part of the day. This didn't prove the Achilles for @Break80 as he scored a sublime chip in from the bunker on the 2nd with a great par save. The highlight for @get2thechoppa was an excellently read downhill weighted putt of approx 60ft on the first to make a great 🐦. @Seve OB struggled with a back injury throughout the round, hopefully his golf ball retrievers get a mention 😜, even playing on 3/4 swing he still had golf shots in the quiver, Seve's highlight reel was on the 18th where like packie bonnars grit between the teeth before Quinns goal Vs Netherlands, he mustered everything to win the longest drive.

Great golf played by the lads. My highlight was a stitched 6i to 10ft on the 7th, 2 imminent, the putting was my story of the day.

I'm happy with my game overall, but I need some drills or get my putting in order. It culminated in an absolute stinker on Sunday in the medal.

Anywhoo, as the sun is near setting, massive thank you to choppa, break, and Seve for a great round of golf. 33 points on a sunny day was not as good as my 35 with the rain, but the day was really enjoyable.

Can't wait for one of my top 5 in Bunclody.

See you there golfers.

Snackbox

For the avoidance of doubt, this was entirely my responsibility - no blame on you @a post punk I should have checked the card properly before it was submitted.

It’s a good lesson learned, and I appreciate the work @spacecoyote and the lads put into getting the results sorted so quickly. No issue from my side at all.

No worries Sorbet. Was making a broader general observation, and not a dig at yourself and Post Punk in this case