Ram breakout

• 22-06-2026 02:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, I have a few breeding hoggets for sale later on inthe year, but my ram broke to them the weekend when I was away for a few days

Would ewes be cycling this time of year, I don't want to be selling them in lamb, could be selling in late August

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

They're sheep - if you wanted them to come tipping they wouldn't but when you don't that's when they will 🤣

Scanning them is probably the only way to be sure. If they had any Dorset in them they might go in lamb this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jd06

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭SodiumCooled

Can they get a shot of Estrumate to terminate if they were got by the ram? I know we do it with heifers/cows etc but assume it can be used on sheep also - check with the vet what’s best maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Ye a morning after pill for sheep.. remember going to the vet looking for one for the dog here one time, thinking a smaller dose of Estrumate would work. But no there wasn't anything for a dog. Would guess a sheep the same due to its size.

So I think you will just have to scan them all shortly before you sell the..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Sergeant Bilco

There's a male pill for the dog but it can be fatal 😅😅😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jd06

Often remembered lads leaving rams out with ewes and lambs into summer especially with cheviot type ewes, but not sure when they took the rams from them

Thed be lambing mid Nov, as early as early lambs don't often hear of nov lambs unless sponged,

Maybe I'm talking the situation down😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

In this hot weather it would be doubtful if the hoggets would tip, it's the drop in temperature in the autumn that brings them around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@Sergeant Bilco yes a .22, it is the owner of the male dog I would be more in favour of been on the receiving end of it than the poor animal.

He is one of those lads that every area has, in that if you left a vice grips or hammer lying about he would be off with it. I have him down for swiping a half blue barrel from my new build around Christmas. Its not the value of the item its the fact he took it that pisses you off. He wouldn't bring anything big that you could actually follow him for…

Plus his sheep will be in everyone's field in the parish at some stage over the year.. if there is a free cup of tea going at funeral, wedding, wake or charity walk he is first man there but can never be found when his sheep are in with you... 1 day he told me they weren't even his... but no one else has scraggy looking yokes like them..

Post edited by Anto_Meath on